All BigBlueButton Reviews

1-25 of 61 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Rubangakene

Verified reviewer

Computer Games, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Perfect tool for video Conferencing and Online Discussions

Throughout my experiences using BigBlueButton i noticed the software works best with computers of RAM starting from 4GB anything below tends to slow down the video real time signal and it freeze

PROS

The best thing I like about BigBlueButton is its integration with the Learning Management Systems. This saves a lot of time and effort since all the necessary tools are available to aid learning sessions. Another thing is also it's customization for example choosing own colors and designs for the online classroom, enabling or disabling features based on your demands

CONS

I think have no issue with BigBlueButton and still hoping to discover more interesting features

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Sessions keep expiring and requires one to renew

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Bigbluebutton, Is it worth?

I have integrated Bigbluebutton for many reputed IT companies in our country and in overall it was very good customer satisfaction than other most expensive products.Hence this is open source and can be customized per companies like their own platform.Also, it was really easy to use and they had only a good experience with this.

PROS

With compare of the other products,such as zoom,google meet; Bigbluebutton is free and open source software with same as payable product features. Also with compare of the other open source products like jitsi, Bigbluebutton has most reliable and feature base product for me.

CONS

As of this product has limitations of the users per meeting in a sessions. As compare with the zoom, this has limitations per session with more than 250+ users. Currently this limitation improved with using mediasoup , but it need more improvement of this limitations per session with lots of users with video and audio on per session. Also it's better to have the remote desktop feature for this product.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

I have choose this bigblueutton , because other products are expensive and some of them had session limitations

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

limitations of the users per session.

User Profile

Islam

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

good software ... but!

overall bbb is good software to manage video conference if develop process continue as it is maybe in 3 years we will have golden product

PROS

bbb is very easy to set , implement and lunch and has very simple view help anyone to manage it , beside it is large community and devloping proccess

CONS

i think the position of developing cycle is wrong i mean bbb need more develop for customer and end user who is not technical i mean for all our teacher how hard it was to manage and customize and that is first; second bbb has weak error view system for example sometimes internet connection is too bad for sharing and bbb loading for ever it will be greate to show error msg "hi your connection is bad" that so simple but i think end user ( no technical user ) is not calculated here.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

bbb is so simple to record and store videos which is not same in other products

Marc

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Like black coffee: Plain and it always works!

Overall, BigBlueButton is spotless and covers the standard use cases for online meeting and online teaching. I would choose BigBlueButton over any alternative product because of its simplicity in use and service delivery.

PROS

BigBlueButton has become a daily companion for me. It is nothing more and nothing less than a simple service for online communication, without attracting attention with desktop applications or data integrity concerns. In the field of academic work, where it is also important that meetings between researchers can be realized worldwide and quickly, BigBlueButton is simple and highly functional. BigBlueButton is simple and to the point in its basic functionality. What makes BigBlueButton particularly elegant is that it can be installed on your own infra structures via Docker and scaled according to capacity. Especially in the field of online teaching and research, it is particularly appealing that BigBlueButton can be used on one's own systems without sharing information with third parties.

CONS

It is often noticeable that BigBlueButton has problems with audio connection. Especially if the browsers used are not Chrome, Firefox or the InternetExplorer it can be that BigBlueButton does not allow a connection to headphones. Often this can cause delays in meetings.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

Compared to Skype and Zoom, BigBlueButton is easy to use from the browser and provides basic functionality that still works and does not bulk up the product. Likewise, users who host BigBlueButton on their own systems have the ability to have full control over data integrity. Compared to Skype and Zoom, which are annoying desktop applications, BigBlueButton does not look like a data sink, but like a tool that provides the most necessary functions. Nothing more and nothing less.

Brian

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Very solid choice

We are a nonprofit, and these folks make life easier. They are great to work with and very responsive. Not a common experience with previous vendors we've used.

PROS

We've been very happy with this product. The Moodle integration is critical for us, and it is solid. It will soon be packaged with Moodle itself, which should only serve to make it even better in the future. The interface is simple enough for anyone to familiarize with it and it checks off the majority of our boxes.

CONS

I think slide navigation could be better. And currently, hyperlinks don't work on slides. These are things that used to be features on their old client versions before rewriting to remove Flash. So I'm hopeful they'll return at some point.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

Friendly licensing, better pricing, great service, LMS integration, friendly interface.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Adobe and their licensing scheme make it really hard to do your job, unless you're willing to throw insane amounts of money at them.

User Profile

Faiyaz

Verified reviewer

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

A free Conferencing system with a lot of features!

It was very easy to install. I had a great conference everytime I used Bigbluebutton. Just when I had clients using mac. I needed to consider another software having multiple os supporting feature.

PROS

I love how stable the video and audio quality is! And a lot of features and functionality it provides like hand raising, file sharing, whiteboard, polls, presentation tools, presentation streaming, screensharing, recording and more. And all of these are so stable and smooth working. I am really very satisfied with Bigbluebutton.

CONS

There are some cons but they're so less comparing to the pros. It's only available in Linux and Windows. Mobile and mac users can't use it. Community support lacks a bit.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

BrainCert have some software issues. The whiteboard loads very slowly. And it's very hard to host. The user experience isn't smooth at all.

Madragule

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

A thought on BigBlueButton

I have personally enjoyed using BigBlueButton, the experience has been okay, except for the fact that when the system seems to be overwhelmed with traffic, it immediately crashes down, I would I definitely recommend

PROS

One of the BigBlueButton’s pros is it’s pricing compared to other options out there I believe it wins the pricing battle

CONS

The only con with BigBlueButton is that whenever there’s a high traffic onto the system it tends crash down and also the fact that there’s no remote control feature but, as long as all other features are concerned it is great

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

We switched from zoom because of its pricing which was quiet expensive

User Profile

Jhon Jaiver

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

The best software for remote study

it gave me a very good experience in implementing platforms on my own servers and organizing meetings in a few steps, the role system is very well thought out it is a great platform

PROS

A complete integration to be able to carry out online classes with an excellent quality of video and sound, a software in constant development that allows integrations with other online education platforms

CONS

The installation must be done by a person who knows what he is doing, or you can also purchase this service from third parties and thus save all these installation steps.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

Because it has all the features I need to be able to offer online classes

Eduardo

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

My review of Big Blue Button

It has been quite positive. I have used it regularly during lockdown when it was impossible to teach face to face at school.

PROS

The ease with which I can handle a Synchronous Virtual Classroom meeting: Uploading Files, Sharing my screen and all the other functionalities enable me to carry out this aspect of Distance Teaching without problems.

CONS

Unless I am mistaken, I cannot upload more than one file. If I upload toe, the first one gets erased.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Information Security and Privacy issued were prominent for this switch: BBBis the platform that Mashic, the company that provides administrative service to the school where I teach has chosen to allow us to use. Ths choice and the settings agreed upon, make BBB safe to use by teachers and pupils. Student Privacy is secured, too.

User Profile

Damla

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2022

Needs improvement

It was problematic. It was nice to use a clean and minimal interface but the icons made it difficult to understand which button is for what use and most problematic part was that you cannot undo simplest tasks (i.e. undo something you wrote on whiteboard). PPT upload for presentation takes too long and you lose presentation screen completely, which causes you to lose control of the class and chat during that time.

PROS

Minimalist and clean looking interface.

CONS

not memorable, error correction is almost impossible, icons do not explain themselves and there are different areas on the presentation screen where functions are scattered, hard to find some of them. Some commands are easily confused with each other.

Ana Isabel

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2020

Carencias del software para la enseñanza de idiomas online

Al trabajar en un Centro de Idiomas universitario, debido al confinamiento,los profesores tuvimos que buscar a toda prisa diferentes plataformas para seguir con la docencia online. Big BlueButton no fue una opción al principio, tal vez pq no fuera la más publicitada ni la de más fácil acceso y rendimiento en la enseñanza de idiomas online. Al implantar una nueva versión de moodle en el Centro de Idiomas donde trabajo, se eligió BBB por su fiabilidad y la seguridad que ofrecía, y por ser una plataforma gratuita.

PROS

Según parece, es un método fiable para implementarlo dentro de la plataforma moodle con la que trabajamos, sin comprometer la información contenida dentro de la empresa para la que trabajo. Es gratuita y permite implementarlo dentro de la plataforma moodle con la que estamos trabajando.

CONS

A pesar de tener las mismas características q otras plataformas de videoconferencia para clases online (audio y vídeo, chat grupal, compartición de pantalla...) hay varios aspectos mejorables para facilitar la enseñanza de idiomas por videoconferencia: - Reducido espacio de pantalla disponible para ver a los alumnos , ya q las notas compartidas y el listado de los alumnos presentes (a la derecha del espacio de presentación e imágenes de los alumnos) es demasiado pequeño. Eso hace q el espacio de presentación tb sea pequeño y tenga q agrandar secciones del texto/imagen etc para poder mostrar la imagen en su totalidad. TODOS LOS PARTICIPANTES, tanto los q se conectan con imagen y sonido, como los q se conectan solo con sonido deberían figurar como participantes en la pantalla principal, liberando ese espacio ocupado al que hacía mención antes. -Tanto las opciones de notas compartidas como las de chat deberían ser botones/espacios opcionales, ocupando poco espacio de pantalla, y usarlos sólo si fueran necesarios. - Al compartir el doc/presentación en pantalla completa, no se ve a los participantes, por lo q hay que volver a pantalla reducida para llamarlos a participar. - Los recursos/materiales a compartir son limitados.Ni audios ni videos q no estén en las plataformas permitidas (youtube, etc); gran handicap en una clase de idiomas. - La asignación de participantes en 'aulas' es engorroso y poco intuitivo. Tampoco efectivo.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Desde el Centro de Idiomas en el que trabajo se decidió que todo el profesorado debía utilizar la misma plataforma para las clases online, ya que era la plataforma que implementaron en moodle.

User Profile

Martina

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Ottimo software per FAD sincrona

Abbiamo integrato BBB nel nostro Moodle per la gestione della FAD sincrona: ci permette di tracciare la formazione in modo puntuale e integrare i dati con quelli della FAD asincrona su Moodle in modo semplice e completo.

PROS

Tra le piattaforme per la didattica a distanza sincrona, è una delle più complete. Ha tantissime funzionalità per il coinvolgimento degli allievi, permette di gestire la formazione in diversi modi. La condivisione di slide e video integrati senza condivisione dello schermo è un aspetto chiave. La presenza di tantissime lingue per l'interfaccia rende la piattaforma molto inclusiva. Si integra facilmente con Moodle permettendo il tracciamento della formazione. La nuova Learning Analytics Dashboard dell'ultima versione è utilissima per avere un riassunto delle azioni durante la lezione online.

CONS

Non è facilissimo da installare e configurare, richiede necessariamente l'intervento di un professionista.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

Rispetto ai competitor, è più specializzato nella FAD (e meno nella videoconferenza) che è lo scopo per cui viene usato da noi. Inoltre si integra meglio con Moodle.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2020

Simple Webconferencing software, but lacking in big name features

Overall works well, but would prefer other competitors such as Zoom or Google Meets.

PROS

This software is integrated with Canvas LMS by Instructure, making it easy for schools already using the Canvas LMS to adopt. It has a robust security system to prevent "zoombombing" as only registered people in each course can access the conference they have been invited to with a unique user token. Certain features such as breakout rooms, shared whiteboard and embedded video player would rival other video conferencing software such as Google Meets, and it most definitely has most if not all classroom needs for most schools around the world. The Learning curve is low, and it runs smoothly most of the time. Private chat works very well, and is intuitive to use.

CONS

The design is a bit outdated, and looks a slightly boring. "Hot" features right now such as virtual backgrounds and full screen tile view is not up to par with competitors, and there are small annoyances such as keyboard shortcuts not working on MACs and the need to do an "echo test" every time I enter a new conference which takes several seconds off my precious time. Additionally, the ability to record a conference after having entered and forgotten to click the "make conference recordable" button while creating the conference results in having to have everyone leave the conference and have a new one created. Lastly, although I like the breakout rooms feature, if you so happen to put a timer for the breakout rooms to be less than needed, there is no option to extend the time without having all the breakout rooms close and reopen - something that happens way too often.

User Profile

Akumu

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

A Light Weight Online Discussion Software for LMS

I have a problem of being limited to one discussion room but when I kicked off with BigBlueButton, I realized I can host as many discussion rooms as possible at the same time.

PROS

I really like this software because of the connection it has with learning management systems and the level of feature flexibilities it offers in terms of customization for example using domain name to host discussions.

CONS

I find the video recordings somehow larger in size.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Videoconferencias para clases y reuniones

Es un software muy confiable en la planificación de conferencias para enselanza clase virtuales y reuniones de negocio y formación.

PROS

Su integración con mutiples plataformas que funciona de manera independiente en servidor propio de desarrollo.

CONS

Los servidores para su funcionalidad debe considerarse de manera exclusiva ya que requiere muchas características para optimo funcionamiento.

Reason for choosing BigBlueButton

Facilidad de Gestión de Videoconferencias

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Free Virtual classroom and Video conferencing

We have integrated BBB with state school LMS of our region. When only the presenter sharing his video this is running very smoothly. Need more resources to open everyone's video. However this product has amazing features specially for virtual classrooms. For me this is very much better than Flagship products.

PROS

+Installation is easy +Clarity of video and audio is very high +Presentations can be uploaded and can present online instead of sharing presenter's screen. +Customizable +Can be integrated with major LMS like Moodle, Jenzabar etc

CONS

+ Resource hungry when multiple users using camera/video + Not all OS/platforms are supported. + Lack of community support.

Maja

Education Management, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Very satisfied with BigBlueButton

I'm going to recommend everyone I know BigBlueButton because it was really easy to use and I had only a good experience with it.

PROS

I really liked the simple way of registration, options in the virtual classroom, breakout rooms that is not that common to have in other software (they were really useful). Whiteboard is the option that is often used in other software but this one didn't have any interruptions and everything during the class was in real-time.

CONS

Customer support was really hard to get, but I think this is due to the situation in the world that everyone is going on online courses.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Because I didn't have enough satisfying experience with Cisco WebEx, so I tried BigBlueButton after the recommendation.

Leander

Government Relations, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Super Software

PROS

Der komplette Server ist kostenfrei, und dennoch ist der Funktionsumfann sehr groß. Auch die Problematik mit geblockten Ports ist durch einen Serverdienst gelöst.

CONS

Die Administration lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig. Nach Versionsupgrades sind angepasste Templates nicht mehr verwendbar.

Heather

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY