Jitsi Software Reviews

Jitsi Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2020

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.12

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"This tool is an excellent option for making audio and video calls. Just create a room and post the link for anyone to join the meeting."
  • icon"It seemed to be the least costly option for online learning, which is good. Video and chat are nice options too."
  • icon"I like, that Jitsi is open-source and under constant development. The interface has been renewed some time ago and it now looks good on desktop Pcs as well as on mobile devices."
  • icon"Recording is really flaky. It needs external solution (jibri) and it's failing quite often."
  • icon"There's almost always a warning that my microphone is too loud. It's possible to clear it, but it doesn't explain how to lower the microphone level, but it's only a minor distraction."
  • icon"The only negative point is that the messaging area (chat) has few resources. There is no option to share files."

Have you used Jitsi and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Jitsi Reviews

1-25 of 69 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Zach

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2022

Great Free Open Source Alternative for Video Conferences

User Profile

Jayant

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

My Views on Jitsi: An Open-Source Video Conferencing Software

It is very useful for quick meetings as we don't need to download or launch a dedicated software, which often hangs the system. It allows us to record meetings with the in-built recorder. Therefore, we don't need to download third-party software to record meetings. Its UI is very easy to use and friendly, so none of our clients hesitate to join our monthly meetings.

Pros

Jitsi is the best open-source and free video conferencing tool. Where every tool in the market charges a lot just to provide some basic features, it comes with all of the advanced features yet at no cost. We don't need to create an account either; we just need to give a name to our meeting and it'll generate a link for us to share it with the other participants to join. The audio and video output are in high definition quality. Meetings can be embedded almost everywhere or can be integrated with any other software. The UI is neat, and there is a big community backing it if anything unpleasant occurs. This ultimate free tool comes with a bundle of advanced features: live screen presentation, live public and private chat, security option, noise suppression, audio-video sharing, live streaming, etc.

Cons

There are a few drawbacks, which I realized. There is a limit of 100 participants. It won't help if an organization needs to have more than 100 people at a conference. As it doesn't require an account to begin with a meeting, sometimes random people join a meeting if one forgets to set a meeting password. Sometimes voices begin to break for all of the participants if End-to-End Encryption is turned on.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

It was quite costly to use Zoom for one-on-one calls or meetings that take place on a daily basis. Since it is free to use, it doesn't increase our operational costs.

Adonay Andres

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

The best open source for online conference

The experience with Jitsi is overall fantastic. Like I mentioned, it's a little difficult to set it up the first time if you are installing it in your server. But, anyway, there's a docker-compose version (with a very good documentation on their github repository) that takes care of almost everything you need in order to get the software working.

Pros

As a user, the best part about Jitsi is that it doesn't need for people you invite to a conference to register anywhere. You only need to provide them the link to click and Voila! they're in the conference! The audio and video quality is awesome! It also has a feature that makes peer to peer conference in case there are only two people in the conference. It automagically switches to conference mode the moment a third participant joins the conference.

Cons

A con about Jitsi is that, if you're setting it up in your server, there aren't very detailed guides on how to set up each one of the components that it needs to work (although they aren't part of jitsi itself, but would be desirable to have a guide for installing and setting up each component). Also, if you download and want to modify the source, there isn't a very detailed step-by-step that tells you how to do it for each one of the components (there is the mobile app and the web application).

Reasons for choosing Jitsi

The main reason was the interface. Although Openmeetings has better guides to install and has already lots of features, the interface for a first time user is confusing because there's a lot of floating panels on the interface. Those are great, but not for a first encounter. Second important reason is that openmeetings requires each user to create an account. There's no way natively to provide a url for the conference to somebody else and let them join the conference.

Fernando Matías

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

Alternativa a las herramientas de reuniones empresariales

Lo utilizamos durante tres meses en mi trabajo anterior, en el comienzo de la pandemia. Pero terminamos utilizando opciones como Google Meet y discord por estar más acostumbrados a utilizar fichas herramientas, principalmente la suite de Google.

Pros

Cuenta con las mismas opciones que las herramientas del mismo rubro. La interfaz me pareció un poco más cuidada que las alternativas.

Cons

Al momento de utilizarlo nos pareció un poco más complicada la opción de agendar reuniones vinculadas a herramientas como Google Calendar.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Nos pareció más cómodo de utilizar herramientas de la suite de Google.

Jérémy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Un outil de visio peu performant

Pros

C'est une solution libre, qui permet de faire quasiment tout ce qui est nécessaire : présentation, partage d'écran, visio, appel audio, chat.

Cons

Nombreux bugs, avec des utilisateurs qu'on n'entend pas, qui ne nous voient pas, des partages d'écran qui plantent, des options qui manquerait, comme pouvoir mettre en silencieux quelqu'un d'autres.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

High-quality conferencing tool - Jitsi

I really enjoy Jitsi meet, because it is available for free with HD quality Audio, Video, Screen Sharing and chat. For development purposes, it facilitates API to integrate Jitsi with your own product.

Pros

While conferencing with colleges, if the meeting moderator left from the meeting, it automatically assigns anyone to a moderator. It will not end the meeting if the moderator left from the meeting. Another impressive feature is that you can record entire conference or meeting sessions. Along with screen sharing, private chat while conferencing and live chat, it provides high-quality audio and video streaming.

Cons

Of all the features, only they do not support remote access control for the web version, but that is not a major problem. I understand that providing remote access control for the web is not feasible when considering security.

Reasons for choosing Jitsi

In my case, I use the Jitsi for taking sessions for trainees and knowledge sharing sessions for our team. It suits best for me because for instance meeting creation and provides desktop and web versions to allocate or available live high-quality audio and video streaming.

Ramesh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Safe, secure and easy to use and provides full control to host.

My overall experience has been quite satisfying and good and I always found this app upto mark in the area of virtual meeting world.

Pros

Safety features and easy access are most liked features as i don't even require to login to join a meeting and I simply join by joining link and private password.

Cons

I didn't found any lacunae in this app as its safe, secure and end to end encrypted security feature app which also protects privacy of people and professions.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Requirement of work and control of administration.

Nadir

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Jitsi Meet

Las ventajas fueron que durante todos los 2 semestres de cursado nos ayudo a toda la facultad a llevar a cabo el cursado de clases.

Pros

Me gusta su facilidad de uso y su capacidad de ser portable en app móvil. capturar pantalla y poner videos de youtube con solo el link

Cons

los videos en youtube no se reproducen desde el celular y para loguearse necesitas gravar cuando podría ser mas fácil solo con google.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

por que es mas cómodo y podes poner videos de youtube al compartir por link

User Profile

Francois

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

The only VC that respects its users security.

Excellent, easy to use.

Pros

The only solution on the market that is : - Freely and independently auditable for highest security standards (open source) - Server can be installed on premises if cloud does not offer enough privacy - Perfecly works on Linux/Mac/Win/Android/IOS - Do no require you to register/login or send you personal data before using the service. (Does not track you) Interesting features: - Can focus clients on the users that speaks (voice detection on microphone). - Since it can be installed on premises, it's possible to have very low latency. Additionally, it's totally free and open source. Best value in 2020.

Cons

- Some problems with Firefox when presenter, but works with Chrome. FF ok if just client. - Not possible to resize webcam incrustation when sharing screen. (Just on or off).

Reasons for choosing Jitsi

- Better security - Option to run it internally for better privacy and lower latency. - Independantly auditable usually provides much better security, both client & server. (Open Source)

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Better privacy & security for me and my contacts, and for a lower cost.

Carlos

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

Best option for big meetings if you don't want to spend a penny.

Perfect for hosting big online meetings once in a while without having to pay big amounts of money.

Pros

It's free and it's awesome! It falls from time to time and you cannot depend exclusively on it if it's a super-important meeting, but for big gatherings in some situations it's perfect: completely free, reliable and easy to use.

Cons

You have no control on other people when hosting a room, neither on your own room once you leave it. Anyone can write your company name and create an open room and that's something I wouldn't like to happen. We just use it in some occasions.

Fray Agustin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

October 2022

Una alternativa ligera para videollamadas

Nos pareció una alternativa llamativa.

Pros

Nos ha agradado la interfaz y la opción de reducción la calidad de vídeo, esto facilita la conexión y evita el consumo de datos.

Cons

Cómo otras aplicaciones de este tipo, suele tener problemas de conexión cuando son grupos grandes.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Por la rapidez de conexión.

Roland

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

DSGVO konforme Anbieter für Jitsi in der EU

Die Jitsi Software ist ausgezeichnet, sie sollte jedoch in der EU selbst gehostet werden. Es gibt auch Anbieter, die Jitsi in der EU hosten, einer davon ist fairkom, der eine leistungsfähige Videobridge Infrastruktur betreibt und mit fairmeeting "jitsi-as-a-Service" inklusive Telefoneinwahl oder Recording im Portfolio hat.

Pros

Jitsi besticht durch eine einfache Handhabung - die URL ist einfach der Raumname. Der Funktionsumfang entspricht gängigen anderen Videokonferenzsystemen, inklusive Hintergrundbild oder Breakoutrooms. Es muss nichts installiert werden, aber es gibt auch Apps für Smartphone oder Desktop wenn Jitsi häufig verwendet wird.

Cons

Die Ursprünge der Entwicklung von Jitsi sind zwar in Europa, aber es wurde von 8x8 in den USA übernommen und der Servcie wird über AWS Infrastruktur betrieben. Auch sind Google Analytics oder CallStats als externe Dienste aktiviert, die IP Adressen auswerten. Somit ist der Service meet.jit.si nicht DSGVO konform.

Reasons for choosing Jitsi

Andere Videokonferenzdienste wie Zoom oder WebEx sind ebenfalls nicht DSGVO konform - der Einstieg erfolgt über Server in den USA, womit IP Adressen übertragen werden.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Der Service meet.jit.si ist nicht DSGVO konform - fairmeeting basiert auf der selben Software und ist in der EU datenschutzkonform gehostet.

Erik

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Jitsi - a more private alternative to Zoom

I would definitely recommend it as a more private alternative to Zoom for teams.

Pros

I use Jitsi for daily call conferencing with 6-12 participants. Jitsi makes it easy for all users to share video. It shows active call quality for each participant based on their connection. Active chat feature is very useful for sharing links to projects. Active speaker's boxes are highlighted with a blue border. Anyone not sharing video is shown by their initials or first letter of their first name. Very accessible and user friendly.

Cons

Sometimes, Jitsi does have outages, slow connectivity, or turns everyone's videos black which can be annoying. Overall though, it is a great product and a private alternative to Zoom or other similar products.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Privacy and data security

Christoph

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2021

Quick, easy, free

Jitsi is an easy to use, free and good working software for video conferences, that offers a good amount of features and is constantly developed.

Pros

I like, that Jitsi is open-source and under constant development. The interface has been renewed some time ago and it now looks good on desktop Pcs as well as on mobile devices. The video quality is also good. You can now also use polls to have realtime votes. Jitsi offers a lot of features and is also able to run big conferences now. What I like as well is, that anyone can use it for free and easily invite other participants by just sending a link.

Cons

Jitsi has some trouble working on older computers. This is why the system that is used should be pretty new. Also breakout-rooms are not integrated yet. The developers say, that it will be implemented soon.

Reasons for choosing Jitsi

Because it's easy to use, free and available for everyone. Also nobody needs to install software for using it.

User Profile

Clyde Eugene

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

The open-source video conferencing platform of choice

We have been using Jitsi to conduct meetings and virtual classes for our students. Overall, we are very satisfied with the user experience. I am constantly delighted to see new features being added to the platform (e.g. virtual backgrounds), and the team even upgraded their user interface.

Pros

Jitsi is free and open source and that is the biggest Pro that I can think of. However, this does not mean that it has a subpar feature set. We have been using it consistently for conducting virtual meetings across the University since the early days of the pandemic and here are a few pros that I can highlight: - It is very user friendly, even non-techies can figure it out without much training - Jitsi integrates well with Moodle (our LMS of choice) and this allows Faculty to host virtual classrooms right from their course page - The DropBox integration allows users to record their meetings and share the recordings easily with others

Cons

Although it is difficult to fault an outstanding project like Jitsi, there are a few areas that still need to be polished up: - At certain times users join a meeting using the supplied link only to find that they are alone (although others using the same link are in the meeting room). This is usually fixed by leaving and rejoining the meeting - Jitsi often struggles with poor connectivity and this matters in not-so-well-developed settings like where some of our students stay

Julio

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2020

Virtual meetings tool

In general, Jitsi is a great option to have virtual meetings or webinars and avoiding having to install or having to do all the hassle from most of the rest of the tools which do the same.

Pros

I really like the fact that this tool is really easy to use, you just need to access the website, chose what you need, and as easy as that you can create a room to have a virtual meeting with co-workers, prospects, or even with your family. This is a great tool when chosing from other options, and specially because time is important for me and my clients.

Cons

I don't like the fact that I need to write a name for the room meeting, I think is a good idea but it can be created automatically, and not having to write something that might sound weird to the participants at the meeting.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Because I needed a user friendly option to have virtual meetings with my prospects, with Jitsy I dont need to do a lot to have a great experience and this allows me to save time and be in contact with my clients.

Andreas

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Free and good alternative to other meeting platforms

Pros

Very easy access, high quality, hardly no connection problem, easy to set up meeting rooms and to share the access details, free software to use without log-in or creating an account

Cons

limited features in the free version, but still sufficient for the required scope of use

Reasons for choosing Jitsi

Easy access without creating an account, access for any number of other people

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Sometimes low video quality, problems with screen sharing, connection not stable

Arnaud

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT