User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The fact that you can start videochat without an account is very nice for communicating with different clients"

  • "Jitsi Meet is a fully secure, scalable, easy to use, customizable and feature-rich solution, perfect choice for remote everyday use. "

  • "Fairly intuitive and easy to use, and so far reliable"

  • Cons

  • "I don’t like the number of bugs I have run into at times. I have had to restart or find workaround solutions after having audio or scheduling issues on the platform. "

  • "Once or twice I had problems changing audio settings, though not clear if that was the software."

  • "We can´t send gifs with it and it is quite limited in other aspects as well. It makes it hard to send certain types of files."

Browse Jitsi Meet Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

May 2020

Marina from Grapevine

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great Free Video Conferencing Solution

Jitsi allows my team to work from home and successfully communicate. We use it for meetings, one-on-ones, brainstormings, updates, and general communications. Also, I've started to use this software much more often to chat with my family and friends amid pandemic.

Pros

Jitsi Meet is a fully secure, scalable, easy to use, customizable and feature-rich solution, perfect choice for remote everyday use.

Cons

I have not come up against any weaknesses yet. The one thing I can remember, once I've noted an audio delay during the meeting.

May 2020

Adonay Andres from Geckode

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

The best open source for online conference

The experience with Jitsi is overall fantastic. Like I mentioned, it's a little difficult to set it up the first time if you are installing it in your server. But, anyway, there's a docker-compose version (with a very good documentation on their github repository) that takes care of almost everything you need in order to get the software working.

Pros

As a user, the best part about Jitsi is that it doesn't need for people you invite to a conference to register anywhere. You only need to provide them the link to click and Voila! they're in the conference! The audio and video quality is awesome! It also has a feature that makes peer to peer conference in case there are only two people in the conference. It automagically switches to conference mode the moment a third participant joins the conference.

Cons

A con about Jitsi is that, if you're setting it up in your server, there aren't very detailed guides on how to set up each one of the components that it needs to work (although they aren't part of jitsi itself, but would be desirable to have a guide for installing and setting up each component). Also, if you download and want to modify the source, there isn't a very detailed step-by-step that tells you how to do it for each one of the components (there is the mobile app and the web application).

Reasons for Choosing Jitsi Meet

The main reason was the interface. Although Openmeetings has better guides to install and has already lots of features, the interface for a first time user is confusing because there's a lot of floating panels on the interface. Those are great, but not for a first encounter. Second important reason is that openmeetings requires each user to create an account. There's no way natively to provide a url for the conference to somebody else and let them join the conference.

April 2018

Amanda from SeatEngine Ticketing

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Great phone solution for small companies working remotely.

Pros

The system in convenient for companies that have employees based remotely. You can easily access calls and voicemails from your laptop or smartphone.

Cons

Sometimes the connection isn't great. There's also an audio delay once in awhile, usually this is resolved by restarting the system.

March 2020

Francois from Catella Bank S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

The only VC that respects its users security.

Excellent, easy to use.

Pros

The only solution on the market that is : - Freely and independently auditable for highest security standards (open source) - Server can be installed on premises if cloud does not offer enough privacy - Perfecly works on Linux/Mac/Win/Android/IOS - Do no require you to register/login or send you personal data before using the service. (Does not track you) Interesting features: - Can focus clients on the users that speaks (voice detection on microphone). - Since it can be installed on premises, it's possible to have very low latency. Additionally, it's totally free and open source. Best value in 2020.

Cons

- Some problems with Firefox when presenter, but works with Chrome. FF ok if just client. - Not possible to resize webcam incrustation when sharing screen. (Just on or off).

Reasons for Choosing Jitsi Meet

- Better security - Option to run it internally for better privacy and lower latency. - Independantly auditable usually provides much better security, both client & server. (Open Source)

November 2018

Iris from 1099/W2 Contractor

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Good

I don't see what sets Jitsi apart from its competitors, but it has all the functions you want in a meeting app.

Pros

Does the job - sometimes have connection problems, but I use Jitsi integrated in third-party app so I do not know which app causes the connection problems. It has all the basic functionality - muting, sharing meeting link, screensharing, easy to use mobile app, ...

Cons

I would like the functionality to share the full screen instead of only individual windows. I assume this will be implemented some day.

January 2020

Robson from Kalos Services Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Jitsi SIP Communicator Review

Jitsi works really good at what it does but I chose another product with more features.

Pros

Jitsi is a strong SIP Communicator especially since its open source but it's a little bit clunky to use and setup.

Cons

The number of steps it required for setup.

April 2020

Kim from King County Metro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Encrypted, open source, SAFE platform for virtual meetings

Jitsi is the free, secure, open-source version of video meetings that WON’T steal your information!

Pros

Jitsi has a lot of the features that you would expect for virtual meeting - chat, raise hand, video capability, screen share.

Cons

As far as I can tell, you can not necessarily set up a future meeting, as in the meeting only begins when someone starts it. I’m not sure this is really a con though, just different from other platforms!

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Simple chat without account

Pros

The fact that you can start videochat without an account is very nice for communicating with different clients

Cons

Some connectivity issues once in a while

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Videoconferences made simple, free, and private

Pros

Jitsi offers videoconferences with all the expected features (group calls, screensharing, rise hand, chat, streaming, recording, encryption...) without the need to install specific software (it works from the web browser, although there are specific apps) nor create an account, for free and preserving your privacy. What else?

Cons

I have not found a single problem or glitch with jitsi, I am, though concerned about their business model (none) what makes me wonder about its long-term future.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great platform for video conferencing

Overall I am happy with Jitsi as a helpful tool for quick video conferencing with a client or meeting with a group.

Pros

Jitsi is a great open source platform for video conferencing. It has been a helpful tool for connecting with clients or team members. It is also very easy to add additional people to the call.

Cons

I don’t like the number of bugs I have run into at times. I have had to restart or find workaround solutions after having audio or scheduling issues on the platform.

August 2019

Daniel from World Vision International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Good simple, video conferencing system

Used as part of participating in Focusmate - reliable and straightforward video conferencing.

Pros

Fairly intuitive and easy to use, and so far reliable

Cons

Once or twice I had problems changing audio settings, though not clear if that was the software.

April 2019

Samwel from Billbored Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Jitsi Meet Review

If you are looking for something different that is not attached to the tech giants, or moving to open source products, this is definitely the video conferencing software to use.

Pros

Open Source. What does this mean to you? You can tweak the software to your liking and even contribute to its development. Its lightweight. It is stable even in low bandwidth. It has a nice user interface and is easy to use. You do not need an account to start a chat room or meeting. You just navigate to https://meet.jit.si/ and start a meeting. For others to join, you just share out the link to them. Jitsi Meet integrates well with different calendar service providers such as google calendar and so can be used to plan meetings just like any other video conferencing software.

Cons

None so far. Try it, you will definitely love it.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Good open source conference software

I would recommend it to all of those who want to use alternatives to google hangouts, Skype, or Teams.

Pros

Very intuitive, I like that it has some features specific for conference meeting software. It meets its purpose.

Cons

I’ve had some connectivity issues while using the software, it might be related to my other programs running in the back like Adobe which are very heavy and might interfere. But I haven’t made any probing on this.

November 2019

Caterina from Brigham Young University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Daily communication - Slow

It is good overall but it is not the best. It is a bit outdated.

Pros

I have used Jitsi to communicate with coworkers and family It is a good tool and we like it very much but there are others that have replaced it technologically.

Cons

We can´t send gifs with it and it is quite limited in other aspects as well. It makes it hard to send certain types of files.

April 2020

Erick from GESUAS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A great video conference software

Since the COVID-19 quarentine we've been using it to meetings and classes and it has worked fine.

Pros

I really liked the function of choosing the video quality, and the usability. You don't have to download it to be a part of the conference.

Cons

I honestly had no problem with it, the video quality wasn't the best but it did no damage to the meetings.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Jitsu review

Pros

Its speed in setting up,and its ease if use

Cons

Not many of my colleagues are open to the idea of using jitsu

April 2018

Seth from AdvisorServe

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Best webinar software!

Pros

Absolutely love jitsi. Not only is it free but it's so easy to use. My children even connect.

Cons

No cons as of now. Screen sharing is easy, talking over computer mic is solid, adding room passwords is easy