All Mattermost Reviews

1-25 of 145 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Emily

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

Reviewed October 2021

Not the best collaboration software

User Profile

Joerg

Verified reviewer

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Excellent open and free solution to team communication

Setup was smooth, server operation is transparent, user management trivial and everything just clicked into place when we were looking for a simple yet functional solution to team chat

PROS

Mattermost was absolutely trivial to set up and maintain, which was a huge plus back during the first dawn of Covid where we struggled to find a solution to team chat that allowed us to host on-premise, keeping all our data local - a must for many projects which have complicated data privacy regulations that are a nightmare to work around with cloud based products

CONS

One of the paid feature is unlimited search, and as a free user (10,000 line search limit, I think), it is often unclear whether you can't find what you're looking for because you hit the limit or because it's just not there.

Reason for choosing Mattermost

Pricing, ability to self-host, ability to keep data on-premise, fantastic personal data policy

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Mattermost: Self-Hosted Superior Alternative To Slack

Mattermost allows us to quickly keep connected to our colleagues across the world. It allows people to form groups and chat easily to many different teams, all within the same desktop app, web app, or mobile app.

PROS

This software is very easy to install and supports a simple Docker install, which makes it easy to keep up to date and secure. There are multiple examples on installing and running Mattermost in different cloud hosting environments, and the user community is also very helpful. Running the software locally means you can keep a much better eye on its security and usage. Its user management and directory integration is superior to Slack's. The desktop and mobile clients are fast and easy to install/configure/maintain.

CONS

There's not much that I dislike about Mattermost. Its open source nature may put some people off, but paid support and enterprise licensing solve that issue immediately.

Reason for choosing Mattermost

Mattermost simply works far faster and more smoothly than Microsoft Teams, its apps are far more lightweight than the Microsoft offerings. Discord didn't have the features and open source nature that led us to Mattermost.

Reasons for switching to Mattermost

Slack's pricing and features were simply onerous and drove us away.

Jon

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Almost really good.

Slack with AD integration at half the cost. But I still wish I could afford Slack.

PROS

Slack integrations just work on Mattermost. The theme choices are very nice. The ability to host my own on-premises server is very nice. Technical support staff is very knowledgeable and competent. I'm not made to feel like an idiot if there is some specialized knowledge that I don't have.

CONS

The Android client is extremely buggy and fairly slow still. Selecting a push notice to open Mattermost to view and respond in the thread does not always open the right thread and is always slow (even on LAN, with the latest gen of Android phone!)). The client MUST be snappy and it just.. isn't. The Windows client becomes slower and slower the longer you have it open, so it must be restarted every day or two. It's a little buggy; sometimes new messages make your view scroll up instead of down. But it works well enough most of the time.

Mateusz

Sporting Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

An excellent messaging alternative

We moved a large team of users in a very short time. Since we only need the communicator 99% of the time for communication between users, we reduced the cost of paying for another tool by 96%. With a similar look and functionality to other instant messengers, the transition was quick and painless. The team very quickly implemented and accepted the new tool.

PROS

Convenience of installation, practically free for most users, quick and easy implementation, very similar in appearance and functionality to top messengers, so it is very easy to move even a large group of users. Works fast and does not consume a lot of memory. Lots of add-ons and plug-ins being developed.

CONS

A few UX issues, but not significantly affecting the user experience. For example: No ability to search for users directly from the search bar, no preview of more than 1 image file, no internal media player, linking to YouTube instead of playing right away.

Reason for choosing Mattermost

The ability to put on your server.Quick installation. Visually similar to the tool used before. Free version completely sufficient for team communication needs.

Reasons for switching to Mattermost

Too high a cost for using only the communicator function. Free option with very short message history is not very functional with larger teams.

Sergio

International Trade and Development, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Best alternative to SLACK

I really liked the platform. My team found it easy to learn how to use it. Now we are replacing email communications with Mattermost.

PROS

It's free, it's open source, it has very easy to follow documentation. It's safe and secure. It works smooth.

CONS

It could have sub-channels and addittional options to configure. Could give native option for audio sending.

Reason for choosing Mattermost

It's free, open source, well programmed, nice interface, easy to learn install and use. Safe and self-hosted.

Norah

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Mattermost 2023 Review

PROS

I like that Mattermost not only offer instant messaging tools but also allocate web conferencing capabilities.

CONS

Searching keywords on chat doesn’t hide messages on private chats.

Emily

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Mattermost for Internal Communications

Screen sharing enhances large file sharing via drag and drop.Business instant messaging.

PROS

I like how Mattermost has a lot of features:- internal communication, screen sharing, web conferencing, business instant messaging and chat all in one place.

CONS

For nearly a decade now Mattermost has been a useful program, with no drawbacks in business matters.

Caroline

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Mattermost for 24.7 BIM, Live Chat & PM

File sharing, team collaboration, BIM and live chat.

PROS

Ever since I started using Mattermost, it has never been daunting to send large files online, collaborate via unlimited communication channels and manage projects automatically.

CONS

I do not like how Mattermost can’t function in absence of mobile data or WiFi.

Jack

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Mattermost Matters Most in Our Agency

PROS

Mattermost boost productivity by unifying teams in my organization in one single workspace through corporate communication channels.

CONS

Video conferencing isn’t robust enough that’s why it demands to be integrated with external web conferencing systems like Zoom Meetings.

Clarke

Farming, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

A Must Have Tool for Web Conferencing

PROS

Mattermost boost performance by unifying team in one single integrated repository via unlimited communication channels.

CONS

Mobile application lack offline access unlike alternatives such as daptiv Changepoint.

Silvan

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

A good alternative to Slack

We ended up looking for an alternative to Mattermost because of Slack's price-performance ratio and would switch again today.

PROS

Mattermost is constantly being developed and you can tell that it's going further. In addition, as a collaboration tool, it provides the most important information. No more and no less.

CONS

At the beginning (approx. 2018) it was still a bit unstable and some important features were still missing. This has gotten much better in 2022. Over the years, with many users, maintenance and upkeep should never be neglected. Otherwise it will be slow and have long loading times when changing channels etc. Plugins work, but not all are mature (e.g. Jitsi caused problems for us)

Reasons for switching to Mattermost

using more open source software ...

paata

Computer Networking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

mattermost review

I use mattermos mohr than one year, but still can not used to it. main reason is that when I get the new notification, I don't get some signal, or beep. it doesn't appears on screen. mattermost is in my company main communication system. if I would asked, I would changed it with skype for business, or lync

PROS

mattermost is our companies inside network. we use it everyday to communicate. I like it because I have it also in my mobile. now when I work remotely, i am not always nearby computer and with mattermost I am always in touch.

CONS

I use mattermos mohr than one year, but still can not used to it. main reason is that when I get the new notification, I don't get some signal, or beep. it doesn't appears on screen.

Reasons for switching to Mattermost

our company financial interess

Tobias

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2017

Very intuitive and solid software which is perfect for running a slack replacement on premise.

A super and ready to use Slack alternative.

PROS

* The replacement of slack * Mattermost has almost the same features as Slack * You can host and run your own instance on your own server (For companies which hate clouds) :) * You have a good overview of logs and you can see what goes around * The statistics gives a good point when a dev team is productive * You can easily create unlimited integrations which some internal stuff

CONS

* The lack of integrations (Slack is here over the top) * The incoming hook limitation of maximum content length is the hell (Mattermost don't inform the customer about a message which was higher above the hard coded message size limit) * UX in Slack is a little bit better (Slack is massively using websockets and eventstreams to fetch the actual team messages) -> You see always whats going on * A 'Unread' channel (like in slack) would be a pleasure ;) * A step by step guide for creating an integration would not bad for not advanced users

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Mattermost

Very good. Prefer it to slack as it can be self hosted

PROS

Self Hosted, easy to use and implement on our own servers.

CONS

Needs Manual intervention to clean up old files

Reason for choosing Mattermost

Self Hosted, Nice UI

sherrie

Retail, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Communication for the masses

Mattermost is a great software to use with the virtual employee situation which allows the sharing of ideas, answers to customer facing issues, and the ability to communicate privately with leadership and/ or teammates. The chat is instantaneous, which allows for faster responses than emails.

PROS

Interactive media that allows instant communication with teammates and leadership, whether it was a question or just sharing of daily life. The ability to host channels that was based on teams, programs, and specified topics. All individuals were able to have private groups to chat with friends, co workers, or teams.

CONS

The scroll in chats often moved so very quickly that questions and responses were missed. Inability to customize responses such as color, fonts, etc.

Adam

Internet, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

I don't know what I'd do without Mattermost

tool is great, and from this users perspective is a fine alternative to slack.

PROS

It's very easy to use, and as far as I can tell works alot like slack. I'm not sure if it has as many plug-in options but that's not something I'd use anyway. Great for team collaboration and general communication.

CONS

I get LONG LISTS of rooms and chats and there is no easy way to search for people aside fom doing a control-f. I can search within chats, but I think it needs to be easier to search FOR chats

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

BIM Program of 2023

Real-time file sharing.Team collab.Business instant messaging.

PROS

Mattermost boost internal and external communication through creation of unlimited communication channels.

CONS

At the moment, Mattermost has no bugs and accomplishes all my daily needs.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY