All Windscribe Reviews

1-25 of 178 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ryan

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2022

Great site that works as it should, effective way to browse anonymously

User Profile

Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Package/Freight Delivery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

The true anonymity

I have a very positive experience with windscribe. Being able to access different IP addresses allows me to get better purchase prices for my clients. In addition, it allows me to enter pages that are normally blocked. I must emphasize that the connection speed is very good.

PROS

It is an effective software, change your ip address instantly without generating connection problems. It has a wide range of geographical addresses which has helped me greatly in my work to get the best prices and products for my clients. The customer service is immediate and at the request of a new address act quickly

CONS

More than a counter, I consider it a point to improve. Even, I consider it a kind of utopia for this type of software. In my personal experience, I would like that Windscribe can be anchored to several browsers, including browser windows, and that in each one it can offer a different ip address. This would improve my times incredibly.

Reason for choosing Windscribe

I saw a review of the product

Reasons for switching to Windscribe

Nordvpn on occasion turned slow

Aydin

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Overall review

PROS

a stable vpn application that is free, fast and offers the opportunity to connect to many locations. The connection speeds are high and the delay is very low, the best part is developers are so funny :)

CONS

I think the application does not have any bad features, they can only add a little more locations that can be connected as a recommendation.

Reasons for switching to Windscribe

Because windscribe has so many free possibilities

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Best VPN in the market

Windscribe will give you a remote location anywhere you wish to be. Enjoy the free 2GB monthly and you can add it as an extension on Chrome and Mozilla

PROS

They offer you free 2GB to use in a month and pay when depleted. Who doesn't like free stuff? they are the best. This can be treated as a free trial. Ability to choose locations easily on cruise control. They will cover your ass wherever you are. Friendly and fun emails from the CEO about new developments and feedbacks keep users engaged. Relatively cheap

CONS

Their downloaded software keeps on popping up on the background of your computer requesting you to sign up. This can be annoying as you will have to keep closing the popup.

LTD Hunter

Online Media, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Worth every penny

Extremely satisfied with the purchase. Use it every day on every device.

PROS

Never disconnect, unlike many other VPN providers. Super fast to connect and disconnect. Affordable. Compatible with Chrome OS which is a huge plus because not many VPN apps support Chrome OS.

CONS

I can't think of many cons. Maybe at the very beginning, I was having some issues installing the client on my Windows PC but that was because I had another tap software which conflicted with Windscribe. So my advice is to uninstall any other VPN before installing Windscribe.

Reasons for switching to Windscribe

VPNunlimited was disconnecting very frequently.

Solomon

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Windscribe is amazing

Very positive experience overall

PROS

I liked that I can top up a few dollars to access a VPN in any part in the world

CONS

Sometimes the connection to several VPNs (Eg Japan) are quite slow for video streaming

Reasons for switching to Windscribe

NordVPN was more expensive and less flexible in terms of pricing plans

User Profile

Danny

Verified reviewer

Internet, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Excellent software to stay anonymous

The experience I've had with windscribe has been positive, my privacy is always protected and I can connect to public Wi-Fi without having to be afraid of hackers. Now I can visit web pages that are blocked in my country and without noticeably slowing down the browsing speed. As the Pro plan is quite accessible, I was able to hire it and benefit from all the tools offered by Windscribe.

PROS

Windscribe has many features that I like, for example, it offers a free plan for new users where you can surf the internet up to 10 Gb of data monthly and with access to 11 countries. As I have the Pro plan (which is quite economical), I can surf the internet safely and unlimitedly, I can connect to more than 60 countries and the speed is really good. Security is strict, I can use Windscribe on my cell phone and also on my laptop simultaneously, that way I am protected from hackers that can steal information. Its interface is excellent very intuitive and easy to understand and the technical support always respond quickly when I have a problem. Without a doubt, a real wonder.

CONS

Windscribe works perfectly, I just wish it had more Latin countries, such as Peru, Ecuador, Venezuela and Panama, since it has very few.

User Profile

carl

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

VPN service with good browsing speed.

Excellent software to have more freedom and protection when we are on the Internet. It is effective to avoid the cookies that our metadata and spam collect.

PROS

Internet browsing speed is fast on the main servers offered by Windscribe. It works smoothly when unlocking pages that have streaming subscription.

CONS

In recent months we have experienced drops in the connection that last more than 24 hours. The support service takes many hours to respond. The location of some countries does not match the address and IP indicated by Windscribe.

Vendor Response

How these geo-location sites work is they have a database of IP addresses that map to locations. Many of these "ip checker websites" have very outdated databases, so it may still be showing IP location from many years ago. IPs get transferred from host to host all the time, so the IP of that particular server must have been in the detected country in the past. Our servers are physically in locations that they are claimed to be in, you can verify this empirically by performing a traceroute to the server itself. "Drops in connection" relate to your ISP. All VPN servers are independent, if one goes down there are others to pick up the slack.

Replied July 2019

User Profile

Ruthis

Verified reviewer

Animation, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Most used VPN

I recommand this VPN. It is easy to use.

PROS

This is the VPN I use the Most . You can access to more than 50 servers around the world.

CONS

Sometimes, downloads are a litle slow when using the green version. You must update to the paid version to access to all the features

matt

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Windscribe - Review

PROS

This is my favourite VPN. It secures any device with the press of a button. The UI is very easy to navigate and lists out in a simple way all servers available. Never had any issues.

CONS

Like any VPN the Internet speed can drop depending on the server in use.

Albert

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

BEST VPN FOR FREE or PAID

My overall experience was great. I honestly wouldn’t choose another VPN.

PROS

What I like most about Windscribe is that they offer a free plan as well as a paid plan. It’s such a cool perk that paid plan can be paid by referring people or with money, which is great to have so many options

CONS

What I like least is that if you link your email, then you get very few gigs of VPN.

YURY

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

I use Windscribe VPN for a long time and this program has proven to be on the good side.

This VPN allows you to use the Internet without worrying that the data can get to the provider. It will easily unlock websites blocked in the country, as well as allow to use services unavailable in the country. All servers support anonymous torrent download and nobody will know about it. If you want to access is banned in your region site to block tracking activity and make sure that your actions are not logged by the ISP, then VPN Windscribe is a great choice. Windscribe VPN has a high level of protection and is easy to use.

PROS

Windscribe VPN is a secure VPN service designed for anonymous surfing on the web and circumventing regional restrictions when visiting blocked sites and allows you to absolutely anonymously visit pages on the Internet without the risk of tracking advertising modules. Windscribe VPN has an easy to use VPN client, convenient, modern and intuitive interface. In the desktop application developed built-in feature of the firewall that allow you to disable all connections that are established not through the VPN. Thus, Windscribe VPN provides an extra layer of protection, preventing leakage of your real IP address. The program offers three different connection modes that use different ports to circumvent any limitations of your Internet service providers. Windscribe VPN does not store any logs about the connection. Connection of the selected server takes a few seconds. There is a browser extension for Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Opera, which allows you to hide information about your browser, remove ads from the site, remove social buttons, remove tracking on sites and so on. If necessary, you can create secure links. I like that they have servers in many countries of the world, and even in Libya. Windscribe VPN is a cross-platform service for computers, browsers, mobile phones, TV, routers, NAS and torrent clients Windscribe VPN has an unlimited number of connections and you can use one account for all family members.

CONS

When installing simultaneous connections from two locations can seriously slow down the speed of the Internet. Sometimes, when you disable the service, my real IP address is not restored for some time, even after the restart. Shows the subsidiary provider. We have to wait a while. The big cost of a lifetime license.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Easy to Use VPN Service with Vast Amount of Servers

PROS

With security being of our top priorities in our office, we have Windscribe installed on each one of our office computers. While it would be reasonable to think that any VPN would have a massive effect on the connection quality to our computers, with Windscribe that effect is minimal to non-existent. They have an extensive server farm that ensures that regardless of your location, you will be able to connect to a server that is within a short distance, especially in the United States.

CONS

One thing that can be frustrating at times, is the feature on the software that is supposed to connect your device to the closest possible server. This feature, at times, can fail to connect to the closest server but this typically happens when using a mobile device that is consistently connecting to different cell towers. While the effect of connecting to a slightly further server is small, it can get quite annoying to have to manually select the best server location.

Prabhjit

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Best VPN for all your needs!

This is a reliable software for maximizing my security. It allows me to change my IP Address and that helps me to take my internet browsing game to the next level. The overall experience has been great and I've never faced any problems or disconnect issues.

PROS

Everyone like us who works hard in an office encounters days where they are blocked from some websites they really need it for their work. In situations like this, Windscribe VPN comes to the rescue. With support for multiple countries, and the ability to connect to any selected country in mins Windscribe VPN is truly the ultimate solution for all your needs. You can use it to access a blocked website or just to change your IP Address if you need it for doing something. Would definitely recommend never had any problems with my connection and everything works flawlessly.

CONS

Even though the pricing is mid level, the company can work on providing more options or giving access to more countries for free so that more people can join the platform. Other than that I have no complaints!

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2021

An Underrated VPN

Overall my experience with Windscribe has been overly positive. For the first year I used my 60 gigabytes of free data per month without much problem. Unfortunately that case may not be the same as yours, and you may only have a maximum of 30 gigabytes of free data per month, but the packages that you can build are very versatile for any income. As of right now I'm paying $2/month for unlimited data for VPN which is a great price.

PROS

One of the things I liked about this software is just how simple it is to use. I created an account, installed the program and with one click of a button it did what I needed it to do. It's as easy as flipping a switch, because that's exactly all that was needed to get it to work. It's also free to download and create an account, and on top of that I was given the chance to get more gigabytes of data by doing small things like adding a phone number or referring people. I have about 60 gigabytes of data to use every month without spending a penny. But it's also fairly cheap compared to most VPNs. You can build your own plan as cheap as $2/month for unlimited data usage.

CONS

What I liked least about this software is its limited data usage. Normally you would get about 20 gigabytes of data per month for a free account. There's also few worldwide servers to connect to for a free account, only one or two Canadian and American servers.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Securely surf the net even in repressive areas

PROS

It works even in regions where VPNs don't, I was in an asian country that has this thing against VPNs and it was just working, was in Zimbabwe and social networks and VPNs were once blocked and it was still working so that's definitely great Their free data is great and the unlimited data is much better It's still just as fast unlik some connections that slow down when it's vpn No configuration hassles just username and password and you good to go This is besides the point but I like the memes they send in their emails lol

CONS

At time the firewall the blocks traffic can just turn on while I'm not connected and I can spend a bit of time not knowing why my browser keeps saying Blocked Access My PC would crash when I'd turn it on, on a network with Sophos equipment, I don't know why... maybe it was a Wifi drivers thing also.

Amir

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Windscribe Impact as a VPN

I've been using it for a long time, maybe 4-5 years. Unfortunately I ain't planning to renew my subscription anymore because it can't hide your identity enough on internet.

PROS

Windsribe has a neat UI, you can almost figure out what's going on. Windscribe VPN protocols is higher than most of VPNs, also gives you different ports to try. There is many location to connect.

CONS

There is no ping refresh option in the PC app so you can't refresh and see fresh pings to diffrent servers. For doing that, you must completely close and reopen the app. There no way to connect to a location which is unavailable for you.

User Profile

Damilola

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Windscribe

PROS

I first saw windscribe vpn on a friend's phone he explained he had being using it for a while that it's a great vpn, then i was convinced to install it on my phone firstly I love the fact that they give free 10 GB of data per month with unlimited connections, the mobile application is user friendly and easy to use. selection of regions is really easy on application.

CONS

After I decided to upgrade to their pro version, their customer support is just too slow in responding to message. I notice the browsing speed is slower compare to some top vpn in the market.

Paul

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Windscribe VPN

Using Windscribe enables me to check customer's visibility of our website and various tools from outside our intranet. Using Windscribe as a personal user gives the freedom of unlocking all content on such apps as Netflix

PROS

Both desktop and browser apps very simple and intuitive to use and changing settings very clear. The graphical interface is a nice touch.

CONS

Having bought the software purely for the VPN features, the added extras bought in are a little confusing - maybe some more descriptions and instructions for these?

Rail

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE