All KACE Reviews

1-24 of 24 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Easy to log issues

PROS

I use this software as a user to submit tickets and bugs to support and IT and have no issues as a user. I'm able to send an email to the internal IT email address and it opens a ticket for me.

CONS

Sometimes I know IT has issues using this to push software within our org, but I don't know much about that

William

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Excellent tool for mid-size organizations.

We have been able to create labels and queries to organize all of our devices into groups, buildings, rooms, etc. We've also been able to script a lot of mundane tasks that would normally have required a great deal of "sneaker-net" and thusly a lot of wasted time. We've also been able to get our imaging process down to a level where our Tier 1 personnel can perform it, and image entire groups of PC's without having to physically touch them.

PROS

I've been using KACE (SMA and SDA) for the past 6+ years. I've been able to build it up to handle patching, scripting, imaging, reporting, and labelling/querying to my particular use cases. It is easy to learn and easy to implement, and although not very graphical, it does mostly allow you to do whatever you need to do in order to manage your organization. I feel it is in the "sweet spot" of management tools, for organizations that are too large to manage manually, but small enough that they don't need the likes of SCCM/Big Fix/etc. Customer service and tech support have always been wonderful, there have been several occasions when support helped me through a problem, and even admitted that the problem was on their side, and their communication was always fantastic.

CONS

About the only role where I feel KACE is lacking is self-service software distribution. Getting the user to click on the tray icon is a bit clunky, and I'd rather see a browser link to more of a GUI page (like a web page) of software self-service installs that the end-user can perform. Because of this, we've moved towards Chocolatey for our software package management and distribution.

Reason for choosing KACE

Cost and feature set.

Reasons for switching to KACE

Altiris was bought by Symantec and lost some of its quality.

User Profile

Andrey

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Bloated and confusing

PROS

The product is mature and fully featured. Has many bells and whistles. The marking/sales team will always tell you that it can do anything you throw at it. Patching is the biggest workload we throw at it, and it seems to work OK most of the time. Many of the other modules are indeed very useful and fully-functional. Keep reading for the gotchas...

CONS

There is no unity between the different modules, other than the color scheme of the UI. Each modules has its own complexities, and just because you learned how to use one doesn't mean you now know how to use them all. It takes a significant amount of work to configure the appliance to be useful and functional. Training the team to use it is a monumental task, since the trainer has to be learning as they teach.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

DELL KACE K1000 IT Asset Management Tool

Overall, Dell KACE K1000 is a comprehensive IT management solution that can help you automate IT tasks, a wide range of features, like patch management, software deployment, and inventory management,helps us to manage the company assets and remote devices easily and to maintain compliance

PROS

I have used DELL KACE K1000 Asset and Inventory Management to tool for more than 3 years, it's a great tool to manage and keep track of your oranganization assets and devices.Dell KACE K1000 provided Patch management solution which helps organizations to automate the process of identifying, deploying, and tracking patches for their IT assets, using labels to separate the different appliances or devices and patching test machines using labels makes the patching management process easy. Patching devices using DELL KACE patch management feature is easy to use and configure.

CONS

Ticket System provided by KACE K1000, I couldn't bring the ticket system I developed in K1000 to Production as I had intermediate knowledge in SQL Queries.

Reason for choosing KACE

Our organization size was less than 10K, so the IT Director chose DELL KACE over other asset tracking and inventory management tool, he believed for organization whose total assets/devices less than 10K DELL KACE K1000 would fit our needs, in terms of cost and other factors.

Daniel

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

You Get What You Pay For

PROS

Reporting is robust and informative. Inventory automatically includes warranty status for Dell products. It’s probably the cheapest option in this space.

CONS

Page load times will be very high (30+ seconds) unless it’s running on a server with an SSD. It's not possible to view the patching history for a specific computer, only the most recent patching attempt.

Reason for choosing KACE

Price

User Profile

Dillon

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Asset Management Gold

KACE has been wonderful for us for years. We did use it for full issue ticketing with the company for years but have recently moved to another program for this purpose. We still use the product daily as a software repository and asset management. The level of detail that this product provides is exactly what we need for our computer inventory.

PROS

I like how we can run scripts, check software on each computer and implement custom attributes and comments in our computer information

CONS

the GUI for Users is less than optimal. The GUI is more of an administrator view and it isnt very appealing for users to integrate with.

Reason for choosing KACE

Asset management is easily used and custom scripts are also very easy to use to deploy software.

Emma

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Powerful and customizable (but a little out of date)

There was a little bit of a learning curve, and I had to decide whether to use managed installation vs shell scripts vs Kscripts, or whether to do scripted installations vs images, but ultimately I appreciate having that choice and alternative options in case my first attempt at something doesn't go as planned

PROS

I like how easy it is to troubleshoot most scripts and application packages. The "Run Now Status" page in the SMA lets me see where we're at, what's failing, and why.

CONS

It's still 32-bit! Super frustrating when Powershell and Registry scripts don't work, and you spend ages troubleshooting only to realize KACE defaults to the 32-bit versions. For this reason, scripts that work in the SMA might not work in the SDA and vice versa, which makes for twice the troubleshooting. Also, the SDA still doesn't support Windows 11

User Profile

Leyla

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

KACE SMA Review

PROS

The product offers a lot of flexibility with the ticket rule functionality. The software deployment/scripting is very easy and critical to what my team does.

CONS

Could use some additional features on the helpdesk side, but making great strides

Reasons for switching to KACE

It was very cumbersome, hard to use, and didn't have all the features we needed

Elizabeth

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2018

Kace for service desk

My overall experience with Kace is pretty positive. There are some quirks as there is with any software, but for the most part, it is reliable for what I need to do on a daily basis.

PROS

I like that users can customize their tickets (how they are created and responses)

CONS

The View by drop downs/changing views is sometimes finiky

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

Limited functionality

Kace is an IT ticketing system that does the basic job, perhaps you get what you pay for

PROS

Light and easy user interface, works well as an IT helpdesk ticketing system. Patching works well and I like the simplicity of the application. Tracking the tickets is easy

CONS

Overall, the application has limited functionality and works as a basic IT ticketing system. The frequent alerts about restarting the system after the patching is annoying

Vinodh

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

The best tool for IT assets inventory and patch management

Amazing application for IT asset and patch management.

PROS

Wonderful report for each node and compliance, patch management, inventory, and software tracking.We can upgrade Dell physical server firmware too.

CONS

Compare to SCCM few options not available

Reason for choosing KACE

The features and cost

Paul

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2022

Kace gets the job done but basic

It got the job done but now using FreshService and wouldnt go back.

PROS

It gets the job done so if you need less options and features it could save you some money. Depends on needs, we're phasing it out.

CONS

Dated and lacking modern features to save time using automations.

Sean

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Easy to use System Management software with some drawbacks

We are managing all of our Windows systems on KACE. We've been able to manage systems effectively and keep an accurate inventory of all of the Windows devices we manage.

PROS

It's fairly easy to setup the SMA and start managing systems. The scripting and software deployment works very well. The patching mostly works with some bugs.

CONS

The MacOS management is lacking. We mostly had to manually create scripts to do basic MacOS management functions. The agent connection drops out on MacOS as soon as the device goes to sleep. The agent connection can break on Windows connections and it's pretty hard to fix. It often requires a visit to the computer.

Grant

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Long time KACE user, highly recommend this product!

Highly recommend this product. It is one of our most trusted tools.

PROS

We have been using KACE for more than 10 years and have appreciated the way that it has kept up with new trends and technology as the expectations of IT groups change. When we have requested new features they have frequently been added, and the development team really listens to end users.

CONS

The vulnerability scanning section is difficult to use and has not seen much improvement recently. This is really the only major function of KACE that we do not use.

Chad

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

A complete endpoint management solution

PROS

Kace gives us both visibility and remote software management capabilities on all of our endpoints. We can application packages and deploy them both quietly and in a way that notifies users. We can gather a wide range of hardware and software information on our endpoints. We can also lock machines down if needed. It has great reporting features and the ability to schedule reports.

CONS

There isn't really anything I can say I did not like about the software.

iulian

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

A must have

Amazing, from all point of view, from products to customer service.

PROS

The inventory with all its implications. Scripts. Patch management. Notifications and reports. I don't deal with Service Desk directly, but I love it. K2000 is amazing too.

CONS

Kace agents sometimes just stop working, but I set alerts what that happens on the servers.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

A lot of features with a dated back-end

PROS

The software has quite a lot of features and is also able to gather a lot of 'live' information from the clients (with agents).

CONS

The back-end seems a bit dated. Foreign language implementation has been an issues for years, there are options but up until now, it hasn't been working well. The GUI could use some improvement and give it a more modern look.

Takashi

Apparel & Fashion, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2023

Inventory

PROS

Inventory情報が取得できる。バックアップ機能がある。資産項目をカスタマイズできる。

CONS

他製品と比べてサポートが全くない。日本コムシスのサポートが全くサポート業務を実施しない会社。受付完了メールが来たあと2ヶ月間全くサポートしないで放置される。Questに連絡してもサポート保守金額の範囲内のサポート内容との返信。保守金額を支払って保守受付完了だけのメールのみのサポート内容はどうなのでしょうか?

Alaercio

Utilities, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT