What are Datadog users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Datadog software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.55

119 Reviews

5
71
4
43
3
4
2
1
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"So nice to have that event stream and subscriptions. And it's very easy to share your findings with colleagues."
  • icon"It is friendly user.interface, it has very good customer support. It allows create flexible dashboards."
  • icon"Good customer service easy integration to the platform for its use and do not need a lot of work to understand it easy to configure and very personalized."
  • icon"Metric types takes time to understand. Sometimes it is very difficult to understand the graph report and it is bit technical to use."
  • icon"Pricing can get confusing as there are multiple tiers per feature set."
  • icon"Some of the detailed views of where bottlenecks are troubling a system can be lacking. Something we've seen a lag getting data refreshed in the dashboards."

Jump to:

Browse all Datadog Reviews

  • Have you used Datadog and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 119 reviews

User Profile

Mauricio

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Great platform for logs analysis and cloud monitoring

Choosing to use Datadog made my work so much easier to accomplish. The logs analysis is one of the best thing that I can have in order to monitor my projects performance and health. This tool performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well. Definitely a must have.

Pros

I think that the best features that Datadog has is that you can track and follow logs in real time, something really important to have if your project is live. I like the idea of creating custom views of sets of logs (with custom filters, data parsing and a lot more) and that you can share them with your team.

Cons

It is a bit complicated to set for the first time. Is not quite easy to use or know at first about all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky and can be a blocker sometimes. Following that, if your fields are not mapped in the right way, filters are not that useful.

Ankush

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Datadog Review

Overall it's great monitoring/visualizing tool for any organization and I'd recommend, it would have been great if it had great learning resources to explore it more.

Pros

- The filter functionality is great which lets you filter out errors for quick analysis, can easily create custom dashboards. - Great Visualizations, easy to set up dashboards/monitors with options do maths like ratios, rates, average, interval. - It can be easily integrated with other apps like Slack to set alerts for failed jobs. -

Cons

- A slow learning curve, lack of resources on how to get useful functionality from UI or APIs. - UI sometimes be bit slower although not bad if you've integrated with multiple external apps.

Reasons for switching to Datadog

Splunk is very competitive too, Splunk's free version only allows one user. Also paid version of splunk is bit expensive and doesn't have many variations of paid version. Creating/Customizing your dashboards could be bit hard in Splunk, unlike Datadog which allows you to do it easily.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2022

Solving most of our logs need

Solving lot of debugging problems and close track of our infra system using the alerting mechanism.

Pros

good integrations with collectors. Open text search. Alerting systems. custom downtime for deployments.

Cons

Aggregation and APM metrics. More of alerting. New features to aggregate fields

Reasons for choosing Datadog

Limited setup time, easy to use interface, less technical savy person can also use it

Craig

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Couldn't install

If you can get it running I am sure it's good.

Pros

Looks like it should do the job, less log limits than other products.

Cons

Spent days trying to get it working on a pretty vanilla Windows VM but never could get it up and running. Support pretty much just told me to read the documentation which wasn't really helpful after going over it ten times already. Had similar problem with another product and they could tell me the exact lines of the config and registry that needed changing.

Reasons for switching to Datadog

Price

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

A must in the monitoring toolbox

the customer experience is perfect, we are assisted every step of the process, and the support is reactive

Pros

Datadog is a very powerfull tools, it allows you to gatehered lot of differents metrics, and create very powerfull dashboard to monitor everything that append in your app (server side) but also to monitor your API or your network. it's a very powerful tool !

Cons

It can be a bit tricky at the beginning to setup your dashboard, there is a learning curve to understand how to implements everythings

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Great for working with AWS

We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Reasons for choosing Datadog

better / easier integration with our current development stack

Reasons for switching to Datadog

searching logs was too slow and difficult to get the results we desired quickly (especially to track down recent customer problems)

Satbyul

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Reasons for switching to Datadog

I believe subscription cost was the biggest factor

User Profile

Rayla

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

I was hoping this would be a Splunk alternative

Pros

Datadog is useful for visualizing and monitoring your cloud applications. If you have agents on you devices, it can analyze a ton of information coming in and show it to you, but that's where it ends, at least, as far as I could figure out in my free trial.

Cons

I was very hopeful of this software, but I didn't want to throw agents from a product I've never used before on my servers and instances, so I tried to upload a data pull ( about 500,000 log entries) to Datadog, to see what it could do, but there's no way to upload a csv/txt file to the software. It has to be via agents on your services. I know that metadata would be missing from a csv, but it seems like a major oversight to not be able to accept a csv of logs for a new user to experiment at low risk.

Reasons for choosing Datadog

My company decided to stay with Splunk and not switch to Datadog. It has a lot more capabilities.

User Profile

Yaniv

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Good service for logs management and analysis

We used it for querying and analyzing logs in case of problems in our platform (bugs, stability, performance, etc.)

Pros

The searching and filtering capabilities where quite convenient

Cons

The stability issues in the last year got more often than usual, which is quite problematic when you need access to you logs in real-time

Reasons for switching to Datadog

Mainly due to Splunk's stability problems that occurred more towards the end of our contract with Splunk

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Log Analysis and Monitoring Tool for Application Performance

Pros

we can trace the request from end to end. we can track application performance and visualize it at its perfection

Cons

something it is difficult to read the reports and for beginners, it is not easy to set up although documentations are also not straightforward.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Analytics tool which helps customers and users always get the product you want them to get

Overall, having Datadog monitor our apps' performance and customers/users' pain points is invaluable. It's an amazing tool which lets us identify bottlenecks and better serve our users. Although the initial learning curve of utilizing Datadog's plethora of data analytics tools is steep, it's well worth the effort and price as there is much value to the metrics Datadog provides.

Pros

Datadog is probably one of the most notable analytics tool out there for large companies. It's easy to track users' flow in terms of what routes they're hitting, when they hit a snag and 404, or other metrics like how performant certain requests are which allows us to identify bottlenecks and get rid of them immediately.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve I will say with this software and needs an expert to help lead tutorials or sessions to get the ball rolling with new tool users. Although there are many built in functionalities and easily customizable features, it can be overwhelming and hard to pinpoint exactly what type of analytics you're looking for. It's one of those softwares where you have to play around with it to get the stars to align and find a model or metric that works best for your customers and use cases.

Reasons for choosing Datadog

Datadog seemed to be more data intensive and specifically geared towards products like ours which really relied on app throughput, performance, and availability. Getting our product straight to the user, in a quick and efficient manner, is our priority and Datadog helps clear any blockers or issues that gets in the way of that.

Henry

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

New Aged way of Monitoring

Overall experience has been great overall as our account managers will always do their best to try to meet our requirements and needs. They have done a good job at planning out all meetings with senior engineers when required.

Pros

I truly enjoy the integrations that datadog provides. It allows us to view more metrics that are more of a deep dive into specific applications. These metrics help us understand what is widely monitored in the industry that we did not think about monitoring ourself. Another key item is that datadog comes out of the box systematic checks that we normally had to add in manually for a newly onboarded host.

Cons

The item I dislike least is that when you decommission a host the application requires up to 24 hours for that host to officially disappear from the list rather than being removed immediately.

Caroline

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Powerful tool for monitoring business applications

Datadog has been really efficient and useful since through its implementation you can monitor all business applications and thus be aware of its operation whether the same is appropriate or not and if not, you can take the appropriate measures so that the same is again the appropriate performance, that is why having this tool is a great advantage at the business level.

Pros

Datadog is a tool that I like for several reasons, because implementing it does not require technical knowledge, has a series of metrics that allow you to read whether the performance of applications or servers is appropriate or not, so if you find a failure or something out of the ordinary in these applications the user immediately receives alerts that notify him of this problem so that it can be resolved in the shortest possible time, these alerts being received at any time since Datadog works continuously 24/7 and the best thing is that it is a software that is very easy to use and implement, in addition to being extremely flexible because it allows you to choose the monitoring parameters that you want to apply.

Cons

Datadog is not a perfect tool because it has some drawbacks and is that the more applications are integrated with this software the performance or speed of information delivery tends to slow down which should not be since the integrations are to improve even more the performance of said tool.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Must have for your application monitoring and infrastructure management

Overall we are using datadog for application performance monitoring on daily basis an it has really helped us resolve application incidents.

Pros

Application performance monitoring, server and database monitoring, dashboards & reporting, proactive incident management

Cons

Sythentic queries are difficult to grasp. Need support for more geographies for application performance Monitoring

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Great service for monitoring

Pros

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage. It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Jahiezer

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

Pros

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

Neyda Jose

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

User Profile

Diego

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Great server monitoring

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Monitoring for senior developers / platform people

We use it as a primary monitoring system. I'm a senior developer in charge of my team and I use it a lot. Dashboards are used daily in order to monitor what's happening, usually when deploying new features or changing some endpoints. We can trace the improvements we do by measuring response time, amount of errors, etc. I, as team lead, also use notebooks a lot to elaborate the QBR (quality business review) each quarter. I can create custom reports easily using the custom metrics we have configured across all the microservices. In comparison with New Relic, from my personal experience, Datadog is much better.

Pros

Dashboards. Custom metrics. Ruby integration. Notebooks. Monitors & alerts.

Cons

It takes time to understand each part and understand how to use it. It's a complex thing and if you're not familiar with monitoring systems it could be difficult to figure it out how you can find what you need.

User Profile

Damian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

Pros

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Great metrics and monitoring

Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Great first step for data tracking and incedent monitoring.

Pros

I use this tool on a daily basis for handling errors both in our live environment and for testing. It allows me to see where an error may be coming from and follow it through to its source. I could not do my job effectively without datadog

Cons

The filtering of data is not as comprehensive as I would like. I sometimes need to search through the results to find what I need. Displaying a record in the chronological order is not always perfect and I sometimes don't get the context I want.

Amiril Rahmi

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2022

Good tool for APM

It is very useful tool and we hardly getting any downtime issue with the Datadog itself.

Pros

We use Datadog mostly for our infra monitoring and log management. These features are very useful as they are real-time, helps to make sure our services are up and running, provide alerts whenever there's anomaly, and we can always trace back using their logs.

Cons

Pretty pricey and their UI is not easy to understand, first time user will need more time to adjust.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Datadog Sniffs Out Problems Fast

Datadog is an amazing cloud monitoring solution that provides great insight and alerting for our platform.

Pros

Datadog provides a great, easy-to-use and extensible interface for displaying data out of your own systems, providing you the insight to sniff out issues as they arise.

Cons

No matter how many integrations Datadog builds in, there will always be gaps, and some of those gaps hit our needs. As such, we need to use several monitoring solutions to cover our whole platform.

Showing 1 - 25 of 119 reviews
Datadog

Datadog

4.55/5 out of 119 reviews
Learn More