All New Relic Reviews

1-25 of 170 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Darshan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

One stop solution for all your APM need

I been working with New Relic for quite a while now i am not able to find any replacement for it till now

PROS

Relic is one of the best Application performance management tool available in market, It helps Application support team to review the performance of application and suggest the best way to optimize it

CONS

New Relic is an enterprise tool which means it comes with licensing cost which makes it tough for small scale business owners to buy the license

User Profile

Gagan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Good tool to monitor your application and it's performance

We're using NewRelic to monitor our application's performance. It's a great tool and it provides plenty of features in a free version as well but if your application is big you might need an upgrade.

PROS

The best thing about this software is that it provides really good deep insights. They provide a feature called 'VM' it provides information regarding garbage collection, heap, memory allocations, object allocations etc. Error insights and alerts helps you to stay updated with what is currently happening with your application. Their app is also good which provide same features. So, even if you're travelling you can get insights directly on your phone. Appdex score, RPM and other parameters really help in finding bottlenecks and optimising it. It also tells which database query is taking more time and which is taking the least & which part of your application is taking more time which actually helps you in building an efficient application.

CONS

Sometimes, the metrics they provide in the VM section seems incorrect, although hard refreshing the page solves this problem.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

UI/UX and Pricing models have improved but deployment is a nightmare

We had evaluated NewRelic several years ago but the product was too complex and unstable. At the time, pricing had also became very complex and it was hard to predict how much you would pay. We were excited to give it another try, and were happily surprised by the improvements, both in terms of pricing transparency and UI/UX (only if you use the "new" design though). However, once we started the deployment, and despite the fact we were having a very simple infrastructure (Linux + PHP + MySQL + Node), it became a nightmare. The agent installation was buggy, multiple services were not discovered properly. We had to install the MySQL agent manually, and the step-by-step guide was outdated. After a successful installation, we still did not receive any MySQL-related data. After all these headaches, we decided to part ways with NewRelic, but then discovered you cannot actually close your account online. Instead, you have to go through a knowledge-base, and kindly ask assistance from a moderator (e.g. you don't even have access to a Support ticket system). Our understanding is that NewRelic did their best to revamp their product but they are suffering from 10 years of product additions/modifications and most likely the only way to resolve that would be for them to start a brand new product from scratch or acquire a smaller player in the space who gets it.

PROS

- Clearer and unified pricing, easier to understand than other platforms - "Clean" UI if you use their new design

CONS

- Deployment was a total nightmare - Documentation is not up-to-date - Can't close your Account nor reach out to Support to do so - Uninstall guide is incomplete and actually messed up with our systems

Reason for choosing New Relic

Pricing transparency

User Profile

Satish

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

New Relic observability and monitoring tool review

I have been using New Relic as monitoring tool since 1 year. It is very easy to use and monitor the services of organizations. We are monitoring near about 218 applications about our organization. It helped us to monitor all the applications.

PROS

I like New Relic Real user monitoring. Its monitoring include APM, Browser, Synthetic, Mobile, Infrastructure, etc

CONS

The least like about New Relic is its updates. It can update User interface drastically. We need some time to understand the changes.

Happy

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Best full stack observability tool

One of the best tool I have came across.

PROS

Best Things About New Relic:Application Performance Monitoring (APM)Infrastructure MonitoringReal-Time InsightsEnd-to-End VisibilityAlerting and NotificationsIntegration and CompatibilityData Visualization and DashboardsScalability and FlexibilityInsightful Reports and AnalyticsDevOps Collaboration

CONS

Limited Free PlanData Retention PoliciesSupport Response TimesIntegration Limitations

Reason for choosing New Relic

Easy to use.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

One Stop Server/App/Website/etc Monitoring

PROS

I love this product! I have always had the free tier and it has so much many features. I don't know how they do so much for the free tier. I use the realtime app monitoring (APM) the most, to see current traffic as well as checking for slow apis and why they are slow. The second most used tool is to monitor my actual server (Host). Then of course I can't forget the essential and anxiety removing notification system that will tell me as soon as whatever I don't want to happen and set up an alert for, happens. This has saved me and my customers a few times already. Thank you for a great product! :)

CONS

I would love to upgrade to the paid version, but, so far, it is too expensive. I wish there were a starter tier, or even a supporter/love your product tier.

User Profile

Daniel Mario

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Good enough monitoring

Overall positive, but it could be improved with better and more intuitive configuration and more flexible pricing.

PROS

I like how we can centralize and customize all our monitoring, get alerted when anything goes down, including servers, processes etc. We can also keep an eye on the performance of our web application and detect problems before they become serious. Takes a little setting up but it's very helpful.

CONS

The page where it runs often hangs and needs to be reloaded. The setup can be tricky, removing assets is also kind of complicated and not very intuitive. Seems to me a little bit pricey, I wouldn't mind a base price close to what we pay and then having the ability to add or remove assets easily and for a lower extra price. I currently keep all the testing and staging infrastructure out of this because it would cost too much to have it on.

User Profile

Dilraj

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

System analytics made easy!

Overall experience was really good with us identifying the system bottlenecks using New Relic and then optimizing those and checking their improved performance in New Relic again.

PROS

New Relic can be used to monitor system performance by integrating it with your system, written in any programming language, so that New Relic can gather variety of system metrics available. The APIs being used in the system can be profiled using New Relic or be it the queries happening on the system database. This analysis can later help in optimising the system performance by making sure all these slow api hits or db queries are working efficiently.

CONS

User interface of New Relic can be enhanced and made more user friendly for new users so that they can start their system analysis straightaway without having to get familiar with the UI first.

User Profile

Max

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Know the issue before your customer

Together with Zabbix, New Relic enables us to detect and fix issues on our production servers faster. Insightful reports help to analyze the efficiency of our updates: we can see whether the update fixed the performance issue it was supposed to or not, and perform analysis of our codebase in long retrospect.

PROS

- Integration with our technology stack helps us to set up monitoring for most critical issues in our software; - Integration with Zabbix allows to push errors to our OPS team communication channels and fix issues before customers have to notice and report the issue to support.

CONS

Nothing in particular, New Relic does a great job of monitoring KPIs for our SaaS app.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

One of the Best monitoring tool

It is great tool for both monitoring and alertingLogs feature is also greatWe are using the full new relic with logs, apm, etc...

PROS

Alerts and notification can be set upLog can be queried Easily with NRQL and Grok can be used to filter logsData visualisation differently (lines, pie charts, graph, area, etc...)APM is greatTransaction time has specifics suchas PHP, database, external calls which helps in identifying issuesThere's also a stack trace for code which helps in identifying problematic codeBrowser analysis is available

CONS

I have not found anything to dislike about New Relic

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Best Application monitoring tool around !!

PROS

Ease of use is the best feature about this tool, you can get started with very minimal training. Dashboarding perfromance report capability is also good, helps us to keep on top of our applications perfromance. Another feature that we love is the integration with Jira which enabled auto-creating of tickets on violation of certain thresholds. Overall, this is used by developer community on daily basis.

CONS

The licensing is per node, whcih makes it expensive to turn it on non-prod infra. I hope this changes in future.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Performance Monitoring made easy

I would rate my experience with New Relic as very good. It's easy to setup and use with the exception of a little learning curve about all the corners where information is stored. I highly recommend New Relic.

PROS

The feature I enjoy the most about new relic is their individualize transaction monitoring from ruby threads to JVM processes. The Transaction/full system monitoring new relic offers can make any developer feel like a super hero with debugging/speeding up queries and processes or anything at all.

CONS

To me the UI can sometimes be a bit complicated where you can find information. The New Relic UI is mostly a single page application with multiple layers you have to click into. This is nice for some but sharing links is often not possible because of where you have to click to get to the same information.

Pieter-Jan

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Peace of mind for your production environment.

New Relic gives us the ability to monitor both our cloud servers, backend services and frontend applications. It alerts us when resources are scarce or when the application reaches a treshold of errors. As a bonus for paid accounts, you also get the ability to trace down into the code to see if there is a specific bottleneck in your application. It even has the ability to trace the queries to databases or external services. It's alerting system can be integrated in a variety of other tools like Slack, pagerduty, Geckoboard, ... By using New Relic, we have regained peace of mind because we know New Relic will alert us before things start to go wrong. If you are looking for a monitoring / alerting solution, it's definitely worth checking out!

PROS

Application traces. Transaction level monitoring and alerting. Availability monitoring. Integration in other tools (Geckoboard).

CONS

None so far.

Gaspar

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Great server and application monitoring tool

We use NewRelic (integrated through Heroku) to monitor our site

PROS

The comprehensive set of unique features it has

CONS

The price, I think is kind of overkill, mostly given that there's a lot of competion out there.

Reason for choosing New Relic

Ease of integration with Heroku

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Awesome, well rounded real-time monitoring suite

PROS

This software package does it all! I'm mostly using APM, insights and infrastructure functionality. APM is standard APM, works great. Insights are really interesting - you can figure out some weird issues much easier when you have access to a lot of data - and easy way to process/query it. Infrastructure functionality is great for keeping track of all of your servers.

CONS

Not much. There are two views for errors in APM (old and new one). Sometimes it's a pain to switch between those - hopefully they will get merged soon.

Jeffrey

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Amazing server and app reporting tools

Completely satisfied with this toolset.

PROS

Instant alerts on server issues. Performance testing may be performed with analysis of every service running on the environments. System uptime is being reported on daily with the toolset being most easy to use without slowing down performance. Training provided by new relic team was amazing, from our testers to engineers, everyone benefitted from understanding how to use the tool. We are currently running it on our UAT and Prod servers and the information gained has allowed an increase in performance via optimizations and a decrease in debugging.

CONS

Not many cons that i can mention. The tool has been a rather good addition to our tech stack. A strong machine is needed which can be costly if the server will be sitting in the cloud.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Great software monitoring

Overall new relic has been a very handy monitoring tool, we have it on all the time to keep an eye on the servers and the alerts are very helpful as well.

PROS

Once set up new relic is easy to log into from anywhere and monitor your various systems, keeping an eye on load times, errors and server health.

CONS

The error logging could sometimes be a bit better with a complicated app, but generally the errors are helpful in at least pointing us in the right direction.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Solid APM capabilities and a cloud-native approach to monitoring

APM vendors are a dime a dozen, New Relic is one of the most experienced and it shows in the product and support.

PROS

New Relic has been around for a while, they were founded in 2008. That's over 10+ years in delivering application insights to customers. I started working with New Relic while with VMware, they were overkill for infrastructure but really shone when it came to applications. The ecosystem is active, there are plugins for many popular applications and solutions. They run big data analytics on the backend to provide insights based on patterns observed. Dashboards are easy to setup and customize, and the UI performance is snappy.

CONS

There are a ton of different products within their portfolio so it is somewhat daunting to figure out what works for you. Even worse, pricing varies on multiple factors so it's not straightforward to predict your costs. They do offer a free trial though, like many similar products. While there are many plugins available for New Relic, they are often maintained by partners or other users and are not directly supported by New Relic.

Mugurel

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY