User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(28)

28

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Microsoft Whiteboard Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -4 of 46 results

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Ignitius from Wise Owl Group of schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

An awesome platform that allows for collaboration and also cloud saving.

Great platform for exchange and display of skills and capabilities under one window

Pros

In the education sector where kids need to showcase their work and work together remotely, Microsoft Whiteboard is the most ideal. This has compatibility to be embedded on School Management Systems

Cons

The control credentials of the host or initiator have to be tightened so as to allow monitoring especially on the part of collaborating on the canvas

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Whiteboard

Ease to use and at economic cost.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Whiteboard

Cost factor

February 2021

Maisarah from Digi Telecommunications

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Best to pair with remote software

We are very happy to use it at the first, but after a while we start to see there are some lacking with all the feature that are offered by this software. I have opted to switch to other digital whiteboard software that can fit our work needs better.

Pros

Microsoft Whiteboard is best to be paired when me and my colleague are having an online weekly meeting or online ideas sharing. Sketching ideas and project process and idea map is very easy to do with this whiteboard and help us to interpreted our ideas into visual.

Cons

Microsoft Whiteboard is lacks of details in the feature and the tools. Like the shape option, they only has basic shape and if i need any other shape, it has to be drawn manually and it is very time consuming to do it all from the start.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Whiteboard

Miro can fit all our needs better more that Microsoft Whiteboard has offered.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Ryan from Temple University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2021

Half-baked and feature-free

For a product that is ostensibly part of the Office 365 suite, Microsoft Whiteboard is probably the weakest and least useful product that I've worked with so far. Yes, it's easy to create a new whiteboard; yes, you can even create a (long, ugly, hard-to-read) URL to share your whiteboard; and yes, you can even export your whiteboard as a PNG. But those aren't features--those are basic requirements--and Whiteboard barely manages to pull even those off.

Pros

The core features are competently executed--it's mind-numbingly easy to create a new whiteboard, and there is no confusion possible as to what the (very few) available tools in the toolbar do.

Cons

The list of missing features is extraordinarily long, so I'll focus on the most glaring omissions and limitations. The tool palette is quite limited; while at first glance it appears there are four different "pens," they are in fact just four copies of the same pen, all of which can be configured only minimally (width, from "1" to "6," and your choice of 15 colors). There is a highlighter tool which has similar configuration limitations and doesn't even include opacity adjustment. The eraser tool is overzealous; one errant click and giant portions of your diagram vanish. The text tool has one pre-set "handwriting" type font that I find to be practically illegible; this can't be changed. There is also a redundant "note" tool that mimics Post-It notes, but it is unclear what the purpose of these notes is intended to be, since there is no visibility control toggle, etc. The drawing experience is awful as well; the interface automatically attempts to "smooth" your drawings (you can't disable this either!), meaning that any fine details that you draw that Whiteboard interprets as errors are obliterated.

September 2021

Omar from Telepath.io

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

This is the best FREE software out there for whiteboards.

I think that overall it is an extremely useful software and I have used it a great deal for many things including tutoring. I would recommend Microsoft Whiteboard despite some of my critiques of the software.

Pros

One of its best features is that it is fast and extremely easy to use. You can get up and running very quickly with it and also it supports digital pen usage which is fantastic especially if you are diagramming or explaining something to someone. I love this application. I think one of the best things about it is how visually pleasing it is. I would recommend Microsoft Whiteboard overall. In short it gets the job done.

Cons

I have problems with the fonts. I do not like the lack of fonts in this application. I don't like that you have very little control over the size of the text and the size in general especially within notes. There is a lack of colors to use, there is only a small amount of colors available for usage.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

An Ideal Platform

I have had a good experience with the software. It helps me express my ideas clearly as I can use a range of mediums like images, text and sketches.

Pros

Whiteboard is an amazing software to use for any kind of professionals. It is easy to use and provides a lot of help during presentation and meetings.

Cons

The only disadvantage I felt is that there are not many options of pens and brushes available. I wish there was a little diversity in colours and types of writing tools.

July 2021

Hope from Paris ISD

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Microsoft Whiteboard is an amazing teaching tool.

I will definitely continue to use whiteboard in the fall with my students. It is an easy way to show math problems virtually and then share the notes with the students. I really enjoy using it.

Pros

I love how versatile the whiteboard is. It has many different colors. It has tools that make sharing notes with my math students easy. For example, if you want to draw a circle, it will auto correct your circle so it is perfectly round. There are wonderful templates as well as backgrounds for your pages. It is simple to use and worked well over Zoom.

Cons

The learning curve was the only thing I didn't like. It's pretty easy to learn the basic tools of whiteboard on your own, but if you want to use everything the whiteboard offers, there are many tutorial videos online.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Chirag Malhotra from Mazars Business Advisory Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

MS Whiteboard - simplest way to make

If you wanna use it in your professional world, then go for it. It will help you in meetings and presentations.

Pros

Its easy to use and there is no better way to express your ideas than by writing it on MS whiteboard. This is a digital whiteboard which helps us to create drawings, write text, insert image, explain anything we want to, etc. It looks like a magical wand that allows you to do whatever you want to create on a white board. I am using t for my official presentations and totally in love with it.

Cons

I face some issues in inserting icons or resize the notes but other than that whiteboard software is totally useful and easy to use. I don’t have any major concerns with it.

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Just what you need in times of virtual meetings

Not everyone is good with verbal communication and when writers and designers communicate, you need to draw to explain and get your point across. This is what I've been doing and it's been so effective.

Pros

It solves all the issues that comes with virtual meetings. Previously explaining something verbally would be a pain but now with this whiteboard, diagrams, and charts can be drawn to better explain things in a meeting. Honestly it's a life saver.

Cons

Nothing. I love it. I'm very glad Microsoft came with this product. It is absolutely essential during Covid-19 when all meetings are virtual.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Muhammad from inforealnow

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Share Your Ideas!

Overall software is nice and it is becoming a must in virtul meetings.

Pros

Microsoft whiteboard is a very useful tool. It has many helpful features which make collaborating fun.

Cons

Sometimes the software lags while drawing, and it needs some more features like we should see who collaborated.

December 2021

Muhammad from FAST NUCES

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Whiteboard for detailed explanations

Overall helped me a lot in delivering my lectures.

Pros

The best thing is that using this software you can easily explain equations and related charts/diagrams. Using different colours you can more effectively present your work.

Cons

Creativity limitations, less number of brushes and brush sizes.

June 2021

Daniel from Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Great drawing software

It is a great software that may be useful for some basic drawing and idea organization

Pros

I like that it offers you some really useful tools to represent your ideas, either handwriting, text and image. Also the fact that you can change the type background in diferent styles you can configure is ver useful. And finally the export to pdf, word or even power point option comes very good in some cases

Cons

I think that if they add more types of pen styles it would let the user make way more types of draws. Also if they could implement a better way to organize the boards that you made would be awesome so you dont have it all in one place being difficult to find an specific one

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Whiteboard

At first i was good with whiteboard but after some time it start to get pretty limited so i change to Sketchbook because of the more extends features it offer

May 2021

Sonya from DRIDECHE Sonya

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Ideal for your virtual meetings

If you wanna use it in your professional world, then go for it. It will help you in meetings and presentations.

Pros

It is easy to use and there is no better way to express your ideas than by writing them on a MS Whiteboard. It is a digital whiteboard that helps us to create drawings, write text, insert images, explain anything we want, etc. I use it for my presentations and I recommend it 100%.

Cons

Some problems with inserting icons or resizing notes. I didn't have any big problem, nor any bug.

June 2021

Wasim from WaspTutours

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Another great product from Microsoft

All in all, Microsoft Whiteboard is a very useful application which I use very often. Provide that the minor kinks are ironed out by Mirosoft, this application would be perfect.

Pros

The greatest pro about Microsoft whiteboard is its simplicity. The few controls and options that are built in, are very easy to use and manipulate. As a result, one does not get lost in searching for menus, and options.

Cons

Currently, I use a Microsoft Surface Pro 7 with the Surface Pen. Despite Microsoft claims that the whiteboard app is supposed to be well integrated with the device, in reality, the software lags quite alot on my Surface Pro. For instance, when it is required to pan the whiteboard, the software often lags/ delays after moving the mouse or pen. Also, there is some delay between the pen stroke and the line being drawn.

July 2021

Daniel from No one

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Effective and attractive

Very good experience, because I had no idea that it was such a functional tool and a great help in my environment. It can be used in school, work and more settings.

Pros

A good tool that allows you to improve all types of meetings. Easy and comfortable to use, it greatly improves the productivity of work groups and allows everyone to collaborate. It contains user guides for different cases and a great support for doubts and suggestions.

Cons

I have no complaints with this app, everything is very simple and functional. Highly recommended and supported by such projects.

July 2021

Ridhima from O'Neil Langan Architects

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

Gives you freedom of expression

Pros

Whiteboard gives your imagination a free roam . You can design from scratch ,also import photos and it is the ideal platform for promoting collaboration .Sharing the end product is also really simple ,especially if you do it via Microsoft 365 .

Cons

The program is overall slow to load and from time to time it crashes with no apparent reason .Whiteboard is also not optimized for mobile use .

July 2021

Alicia from Crossroads Prison Ministries

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Visual Collaborations

Whiteboard has been extremely beneficial in the sudden onset of remote work. We've used it for collaborating and sharing concepts for web design, product development and project planning.

Pros

The features are simple and easy to use. Within Teams meetings, it becomes a virtual whiteboard for organizing, sharing and explaining ideas visually. This allows more teammates to participate and understand concepts being discussed.

Cons

Becoming fluent in navigating inside Whiteboard was annoying while I was learning; it wasn't as instinctual. For example, if you don't remember the size of the box around the text, you might accidentally click to move the screen and end up moving the text box instead.

April 2020

Nisitha from 3twentymarket

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Best tool to teach(No doubt about it)

It's really good for users I will highly recommend for others as well

Pros

It is user friendly software which is very easy to make my task in a perfect manner as I think.

Cons

Need to check with more personalize service to the customers.

April 2021

Kevin from Rockwell Automation

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great way to make virtual meetings more engaging

Overall a very easy tool to use and it meets basic whiteboarding needs.

Pros

Whiteboard is a great way to move away from slideshow presentations and create a more engaging discussion for your audience. The desktop version offers a lot of functions and is very easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes it can take a while to load. If you're collaborating with others, there is no easy way to tell who contributed what to the whiteboard.

September 2021

User Profile Picture

Kurt from Surgical Care Affiliates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Great for quick meetings and collaboration

We loved this tool and made brainstorming sessions fun. and then the ability to share throughout our Office 365 environment with ability to build on and expand the boards is great!

Pros

We used with an actual smartboard and had the ability to draw on the screen and automatically save presentations and brainstorming sessions to Office 365.

Cons

Learning curve to a little bit as well as setting everything up with the actual smartboard.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Issac from Toyota Tsusho Steel Services India Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

A whiteboard tool that allows users to collaborate and brainstorm

An essential tool to brainstorm share ideas and collaborate interactively with multiple users. Great integration with office tools

Pros

Comes as package with office 365 An extremely crucial tool for brainstorming virtually for users accross different locations and plotting ideas in an interactive manner

Cons

Screen aspect ratio should be improved for desktop vs mobile app experience Needs features such as video snipping.

August 2020

Amanda from Itron

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

In a Remote World, It's an Inexpensive Resource

Overall it was a free tool as part of our existing Microsoft Office 365 solution and has given remote teams an option to brainstorm and collaborate virtually. It will take some learning either through their free training resources or if internally created to your organization.

Pros

It was easy enough to download the desktop app and start using immediately. A nice option for team brainstorming sessions while all remote. Collaborative capability with multiple users simultaneously.

Cons

As with most Microsoft products there's a learning curve - takes some time playing around with it to discover how to accomplish the task you had in mind. Still discovering new options and ways to make it more user-friendly within our team. Hard to see everything at once, need to zoom in and out and move around the page a lot if you have a lot of content on one board.

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

Easy and free whiteboard cloud-based Software

I use Microsoft Whiteboard to prepare simple slides to use in my tutorials.

Pros

I'm glad that Microsoft Whiteboard is also available for pc. I downloaded it for free on Microsoft Store for Windows10. It is a simple whiteboard on which I write using a digital pen easily. On my board I can also load different types of documents, as PDF, Word or Power Point document, and photos. I can draw using different colors, and underline, or cancel. I can save my work as PNG o SVG. Being is a cloud-based software, I can also work with others, giving them the link to my board. Microsoft Whiteboard is easy, fun, and free.

Cons

Surely many features could be added. I can't say it's a competitive product, but it is free, easy, with basic functions. That is enough for a quick work.

July 2021

Rakesh from Sri Sri University

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

The best Whitebook and digital drawing app for Windows devices

Pros

Pros of Microsoft Whiteboard: - Easy to use - Multiple colours, brushes, pens, are available. - Works best on touch screen and stylus.

Cons

Con of Microsoft Whiteboard: Does not work well on non-touchscreen devices or large drawings.

July 2021

Md from Emory University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

A solid choice

Overall the software is good it needs some tweaks though to become great.

Pros

The software is a great choice for collaboration. It is very easy and simple to use. Being free in the office A1 pack in also great. The software can be used in many different scenarios.

Cons

The software has some creativity limitations. There are not enough brushes and brush sizes. Along with the lack of colors.

May 2021

Basava from Self Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

It's best if you use remote apps.

I am excited to use this software, I am begin to notice that some of the features provided by this program are missing. I recommend whiteboard programming that better suits our needs.

Pros

When my Employer and I are having an online weekly meeting or exchanging ideas, Microsoft Whiteboard is the perfect tool to use. This whiteboard makes sketching plans, project processes, and concept maps a breeze, and it aids us in visualizing our thoughts.

Cons

In terms of features and resources, Microsoft Whiteboard is lacking. For example, in the shape choice, they only have basic shapes; if I need a different shape, I have to draw it manually, which takes a long time.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Great for meetings

Overall, this is a great software to have as we have hibernated to more virtual meetings!

Pros

This is a great tool for meetings especially since things have gone virtual. Usually use the whiteboard to do make it more engaging than a slideshow and this helps to make more discussion. There are a lot of functions available to use making it fun to learn about the features too!

Cons

There is no way to distinguish who contributed on the whiteboard and this can be confusing and frustrating if you have a lot of participants in the meeting. Some of the tools need to be expanded to include more options for example the shapes.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Michael from Cerner

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Organizational Change Consultant

I have enjoyed using this tool and frequently show it to colleagues as a way to make their virtual meetings more interactive

Pros

My team and I had a lot of fun using this tool for team building and brainstorming. In our meetings we leverage Whiteboard for ice breakers as well.

Cons

Functionality is limited without launching a separate app, which can be impossible for those not using Microsoft or just too complex a workflow for those less technology literate

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Bastián from Universidad de Santiago de Chile

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Microsoft Whiteboard a tool to explain

I found out about this application thanks to my university professors, who during the pandemic used it to explain concepts in class, the truth is that I liked it a lot and I began to use it to explain my ideas in group work at the university.

Pros

What I like the most about Microsoft Whiteboard is its shape recognition, I love it, as it speeds up drawing time and improves its quality. Another thing that I also like is the option to create lists that it incorporates, it really is super well designed and has quick access.

Cons

What I like the least is that it does not have diagrams or figures that facilitate drawing

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Buddika from D & L Creations

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Presentation Made Easy

Overall experience is good.If developers can add some other options which can helpful this product will be more useful

Pros

One Of the Good Pdesentation Tools i have used.With The Options Like Diagramming And analytics I Could Easily Arrange My Weekly Presentations. I would recommend this to any who need a product to manage presentations for business or personal

Cons

It does bot have enough presentation tools and project planning options.we have to create everthing manually with separate sources.If the developers can make solutions for these problems it will take this prodict to a high level

January 2021

Alexandru from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

The best software for brainstorming

From my point of view it is a great tool for productivity

Pros

What I like the most it is that we can use it in meeting to share ideas, design diagrams and to just brainstorm

Cons

I don't have anything that I dislike about this software

July 2021

Valeria from Universidad de Costa Rica

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Microsoft Whiteboard is everything you need!

It has helped me a lot to study with my classmates and teachers, especially in subjects such as mathematics. I would recommend her to anyone involved in education.

Pros

Now that we are in a pandemic and most classes are virtual, it's biggest advantage is that facilitates communication and learning.

Cons

Sometimes it can be difficult to understand how to use it.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Whiteboard

Because Microsoft is a company I trust.

May 2021

KELLY from Self employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Best digital whiteboard app!

Pros

It’s very easy to use and I love that it connects with my Microsoft account!

Cons

Sometimes the pen tool is hard to get properly selected

January 2021

Chris from The Forge

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

A Collaboration Dream!

Like I said above, it's perfect for working with a bunch of people at once. It gives everyone a voice and helps everyone work together on whatever project you may be focused on.

Pros

If you're a part of a team that works together then you have to try Whiteboard! It's so easy to use and perfect for allowing everyone to get involved on a project together. A must have if you do any collaboration at all.

Cons

Nothing so far. It seems like a pretty easy program to learn and definitely easy to implement. So far so good!

December 2020

Özen from Turkish Petroleum Refineries Co.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Helpful but Should be Improved

It would not be fair to have many valuable feature from a free online tool but when we check the alternatives on the market, Whiteboard has a long way to reach current market standards but with the positional power of Microsoft, they will be able to improve their software in accordance with customer expectations.

Pros

Being cloud based makes it easy to use with various users simultaneously. Its adoption to tablet or tablet like touch screen devices is quiet helpful.

Cons

The software shall be modified with additional features especially to be an effective tool for crowded workshops or training activities.

June 2021

Anthony from Siemens Healthineers

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

MS Whiteboard is a powerful tool, once you learn how it works.

We love Microsoft Whiteboard! I highly recommend it.

Pros

Easy to navigate and use. It is very similar to other whiteboards on the market. (I.e. ConceptBoard)

Cons

It's not a true con. However, there are so many options within Whiteboard that can be overwhelming to first-time users. The templates are very helpful and helped us ideate new formats to use.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Maria Teresa from Century21

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Excelent whiteboard tool

I am still learning how to make the most out of it, but so far I think it is great and would recommend it.

Pros

Recently started using this software and found it very fun and useful. Has a lot of features that make it a great tool to show information.

Cons

It can be difficult to learn, especially if you are new to touch screen computers.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Delightful addition to remote meetings

A delightful experience and great addition to a remote world of collaboration.

Pros

Truly brings the live whiteboard to the desktop without the dreaded chance someone will erase your great work.

Cons

Can be difficult to see the whole screen and make sense of it, but the user can easily manage that once they get the hang of it.

June 2021

Savanah from GCM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

A fun tool

Fun and easy. Good for collaboration and easy to come back to

Pros

I like how easy and fun it is. It's easy for collaboration and for sharing. We've been using for meetings for teams and it's been great

Cons

Zooming in and out is a little annoying, and trying to get it to load since I use it on the web vs the app

July 2021

Agustinus from SD Pangudi Luhur Yogyakarta

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Microsoft Whiteboard, an Interactive tools for learning

Overall experience with Microsoft is good.

Pros

I like the feature interactive tools in Microsoft Whiteboard. It really helps students and teachers to interact during teaching and learning.

Cons

The interactive potential for teaching and learning. It's easy to use also.

November 2020

User Profile Picture

Aaron from NSW Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2020

Very limited whiteboard tool

I was excited to discover MS Whiteboard within my workplace's office suite, however it is too limited. Not enough templates, poor functionality. It had so much potential as an integrated solution to the MS Office suite.

Pros

Whiteboard tool integrated into Microsoft suite of tools, shareable, online (browser based) whiteboard.

Cons

Limited feature set, templates and functionality that makes for a poor choice compared to other online whiteboards such as Miro, Mural

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Superseded by OneNote

I trialled this product and ultimately found it unsuitable for team collaboration. OneNote is a far better choice for that.

Pros

The ability to doodle thoughts, ideas, plans on a virtual whiteboard and share them to the wider team for further consideration. Having access to a tablet or touch-based device also enables you to capture your thoughts in finer detail

Cons

Seems overly focused on replicating a physical whiteboard into a digital space along with the lack of flexibility when it comes to entering in content. You're hamstrung if you attempt to use a desktop PC instead of a tablet.

August 2021

Martin from TLAC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Microsoft Whiteboard is a great platform

Solid product overall. I would recommend it.

Pros

Well thought out and mature platform for any business that needs to create.

Cons

Some typical Microsoft experiences when it comes to support.

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Whiteboard

Vibe digital whiteboard

June 2021

Radwa abdelhamed from Royal

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

My experience with whiteboard

Good

Pros

Yes, it is full of pens with different colours and points

Cons

Nothing it is great to contact with students online

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Easy way to collaboarte

Pros

That you can instantly see the annotations on the board

Cons

It is hard to download the app for the desktop

February 2021

William from MTNMD

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

A fun, engaging meeting tool

I enjoy using Microsoft Whiteboard for my intended purposes, but will continue to look at alternatives. I am tied to the O365 cloud though.

Pros

I use whiteboard for client meetings and find it very easy to draw up simple diagrams while presenting. It's also great to be able to export an image of the entire whiteboard if needed.

Cons

While I understand it's meant to be a simple tool, it could use more features to become a more functional collaborative tool.

October 2021

Rachel from CAF

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2021

Simple Tool for Visual Collaboration

Pros

Simple display of collaborative material. Multiple users can interact and update at the same time.

Cons

Very limited visual features so hard to customize the way you want, still some issues at our company of some users not being able to edit, especially when viewing online.