User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.53

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I absolutely love this site. I love brainstorming sites, but this one is so different."
  • icon"Allows me to assign things to deadlines which is great for me. I like how I can copy cards over to other storms, makes organization super easy."
  • icon"The ease with which I can keep track of my tasks."
  • icon"The fact that there is a limited color pallet for the cards."
  • icon"The education pricing was a bit confusing. They say if you are using it for administrative work between faculty you have to use their regular plans instead of the education plan."
  • icon"So far, there's nothing I can say that I don't like about it."

Browse all Stormboard Reviews

  • Have you used Stormboard and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 38 reviews

wendy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Genuinely useful

Just a joy to use. The reporting is excellent, especially a one click full suite report in Excel and the Wordle is far more useful than it might first appear, I've been able to get a high level overview in one chart. I've pretty much trialled every project management software, from Agile to Waterfall but I've not found anything as useful as Stormboard for daily task tracking and reporting. Plus the templates are excellent for using a number of different methodologies.

Pros

It's just a genuinely useful piece of organisational software. I can organise not only my personal life but also management and work tasks with ease. The reporting is the unsung hero here.

Cons

There's not really anything to dislike.

Reasons for choosing Stormboard

As I said above, it genuinely has everything I need to be able to work with different clients, stakeholders and methodologies. It's pretty much the only one size fits all solution I've found.

Reasons for switching to Stormboard

Reporting on Clickup wasn't great. And whilst it's a good piece of software, the lack of customisation wasn't great either.

Hanah

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Sticky Notes and Whiteboard -Beautiful Combination

Overall, this site is clear. I have to admit that it’s constantly helping me figure out my project ideas. I don’t like sites that look rushed or put together too fast. This site allows me to get my project ideas done and sectioned out in segments with my team. I wanted a site where I didn’t have to add loads of people or teams to my project. I work on small projects, so this is so helpful. I love how this has helped me grow and also it’s also a learning tool. I get to work with other people with this which is really neat. This helped me get my plan and project done. No headache so I am super happy.

Pros

I absolutely love this site. I love brainstorming sites, but this one is so different. It’s different in a good way. I love how I am able to pick a theme for each stormboard I pick and it’s set up the way I want. Each theme has sections where I can plan out my idea. I can work on each stormboard with my team and assistants. I don’t have to do it alone. I also like how I can set my stormboard for private and only certain members of my team can see each stormboard. I love this site! I also enjoy how I am able to move this site around by just clicking on it. I don’t have to scramble to look for the button to move the screen or move each stormboard. I also enjoy how under each section I am able to put different sticky notes for each one. I am able to put loads of sticky notes with simple steps or ideas under each section. I also love how each section has new, to do, what I am doing currently, testing, and done. The done section helps me know what part of the project is completed. I don’t have to figure it out. Each part that’s done is in the done area. Simple! The next part that I like is how I can share my stormboard with my team or I can share it with someone that needs to look at it. There are buttons for that as well.

Cons

There are certain areas of this site that I don’t like. I wish that certain options were available for the free option. In order to really go through this site you have to upgrade. This is the only thing that I wish they would fix. If you have more options this would help so much.

Sharon

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

A simple, intuitive product

Pros

It's easy to use and intuitive. I use Stormboard mainly for interactive workshops with clients and it's a great way to jot ideas down quickly and collaboratively. Participants learned how to use it quickly without problem.

Cons

The look and feel are a bit dated. I also wish there were more colour options for the sticky notes.

Response from Edistorm

Hi Sharon, Thank you so much for your review and feedback! Great to hear that you find Stormboard intuitive and that it helps facilitate collaboration. P.S. Stay tuned for a huge update that is coming soon that will significantly improve in-Storm performance and will reduce lag when collaborating with larger teams.

Replied January 2022

Graciela

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Stormboard to have a great organization

My experience was really good, I really like the differents tools and functions that we have with this software.

Pros

This software provide us a great environment and a great number of differents tools and functions, this software it's really useful and friendly for new users, this software provide us differents tools and functions to organize in a really good way.

Cons

This software doesn't have a serious problem, just some things with the graphic interface, those problems can be solved and give a better look to the software.

Santino

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Stormboard Review

Pros

The ability to collaborate and see changes in real time with Stormboard makes it an excellent option for meetings or group projects. The software is very easy to use and the aestethics are pleasing. Having customizable templates is a great option for creatives. The substorm feature makes breaking up larger groups a breeze.

Cons

There is occasionally some lagging when large groups collaborate but overall there are no major issues.

User Profile

Jonas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Experience of using Stormboard in corporate training

We used Stormboard with large groups of participants in corporate training. In one session we first collected hundreds of questions via Mentimeter and then we imported those to Stormboard and let the participants answer their colleagues' questions (as comments). In another session we first presented a process and then the participants wrote notes in Stormboards of how they worked in this process.

Pros

It enabled large groups of training participants to co-create Q&A or process descriptions in real time. Participants learnt how to use it quickly and could focus on the exercise, not the tool.

Cons

With more than 20 parallell users in the same Storm, the software sometimes gets a bit slow.

Reasons for choosing Stormboard

RealTimeBoard has other advantages, but Stormboard fitted this training set-up best. Mainly due to the ease of use.

Paul

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Stormboard saved by bacon....

This transformed our business Onboarding and Demo process, we connect better with our users, they see the value our our workflow mapping faster. It is a game changer for us, and I love the work the team do on Stormboaed I highly recommmend it.

Pros

I was struggling with in person card sorting and post it note workflow mapping, I had to be in person, I had to transcribe or photograph my work, it If sucked up heaps of time. Now with stormboard, I just book an online meeting, it is easy and fast to map out our workflow over stormboard and a call. And I save around 2 hours on every demo.

Cons

It seems too simple, so you don’t realize it’s potential, I had to just get in and try it with some potential customers and it blew my mind.

Julia

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Reasons to use Stormboard

For education usage it is great for the following: Use as a calendar for assignment due dates Teacher can assign tasks and assignments Use the task reports to track progress Collaborate with classmates and teachers Utilize chat, comment, and voting options Receive feedback and input on projects and assignments

Pros

Stormboard is one of the leading project management, team meeting, and brainstorming tools on the web today. It is a premiere communication and project organizer tool that is multi-faceted and works for you not against you. It lets you use sticky notes to designate tasks or create workflow patterns and you can create mind maps, brainstorm, or organize thoughts through flow charts .

Cons

I didn't really dislike anything. The education pricing was a bit confusing. They say if you are using it for administrative work between faculty you have to use their regular plans instead of the education plan. So what is this faculty also teaches? There isn't really a black and white between administrative and teaching faculty, some do both. Wish they would just say anyone with a .edu address qualifies for education pricing.

Travis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

A game-changer

We use Stormboard to develop schedules with project teams. Each team member is able to work simultaneously to incorporate their tasks into the larger picture of what it takes to launch the deliverable. They can represent both their work, and how their work depends on others.

Pros

Stormboard is very easy to use, and yet there are layers of capability that can be unfolded as needed. Stormboard has THE BEST reporting mechanisms of any virtual whiteboard/brainstorming tool.

Cons

In the interest of simplicity, they have had to make a trade-off; there are fewer options than one may be used to.

Reasons for choosing Stormboard

The choice of Stormboard really came down to the ease of collaborative input, combined with the ability to export the information from Stormboard in several formats, including MS Excel, and PNG.

Azariah

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Collaboration and Teamwork with Ease

We have designed action plans to make our agency more diverse, inclusive, and equitable, and have used ideas accumulated from brainstorming on this software that have impacted a cultural change.

Pros

I love that this software is so easy to use, and that multiple users can access and see changes being made in real-time. This makes collaboration and teamwork much easier as we are able to brainstorm, categorize, and create action plans all at one place. There is also the feature that allows for the ideas to be captured and summarized to send out to the team once the meeting is complete, and to refer to at future meetings.

Cons

The one feature that is my least favorite is that when you scroll on the page it zooms in and out. You have to actually click and hold to move around on the board. However this is an easy adjustment compared to the many great features this software offers.

Response from Edistorm

Azariah, we are so glad to hear that your team has not only been able to take advantage of Stormboard to Work Better Together, but also to affect real, meaningful change - that is our vision for all of our users!

Replied May 2022

Paul

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Great way to collaborate remotely

Overall - very positive. Great tool. Stormboard team accepts feedback and seems to be working hard to improve the platform.

Pros

Customizable templates and the ability to send users into substorms or different "rooms" to collaborate is very useful. Simple, intuitive interface.

Cons

Had some early issues with performance due to the large size of workspaces being used. Dark fonts on dark note colors make no sense - very difficult to read. Only applies to a few dark colored notes.

Reasons for choosing Stormboard

Ability to customize templates easily and the use of sub-storms for break out teams.

Response from Edistorm

Paul, thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you are taking advantage of Substorms - they are one of our favourite features too. P.S.: Stay tuned for a huge update that is coming soon that will significantly improve in-Storm performance and will reduce lag when collaborating with larger teams.

Replied December 2021

Scott

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

Early Adopter of Storm Board

Stormboard allowed the team to quickly in a digital manner see the bigger picture of a project plan, the tasks that were dependent on each other and be able to adjust and move quickly as the plan refines.

Pros

Stormboard worked great as an online digital version of long sheets of paper and sticky notes that are traditionally used in project planning sessions. It quickly and easily allowed similar function to create swimlanes for the various cross functions, associated tasks and risks and then link the tasks that are dependent of each other.

Cons

As a new user I was trying to increase the space of a column and accidentally actually added a line in reality. I wasn't able to find a way to remove or undo my row add and now its there forever. I would also like the ability to designate via color or for tasks those that are critical path.

Kelly

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Great tool for organizing thoughts and brainstorming

As a market researcher, it’s my job to distill a huge amount of information into focused and actionable insights and recommendations. Storyboard helps me bring structure to the effort, which saves a ton of time.

Pros

I can take notes quickly in real-time discussions, capturing unique ideas on each sticky note so I can organize into themes later.

Cons

Hard to customize at lower subscription levels. I’m an individual user, paying for it myself. I haven’t been able to make a business case yet for adoption by my whole team.

Reza

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Stormboard user review

It is a very useful platform for an agile work style.

Pros

It bring a very organized platform to put your ideas and plans and share it with rest of the team

Cons

Applying some search, sorting and statistical analysis is not 100% convenient yet.

Rhiannon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Finally, a way to take our in-person process online

The customer service is amazing, we find a bug and it 's fixed the next day.

Pros

I like that we can use the templates as a structure but be flexible about how it works, and that we can color code and shape code so we can have a range of information expressed.

Cons

We sometimes write longer stories than it requires and want more flexibility about how we group information

Kelly

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Great tool

Pros

I use Stormboard to organize, thoughts, ideas and projects

Cons

Removing and adding custom templates to word and ppt reports.

Elijah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Awesome

Overall this thing was god sent for me. i am an up and coming film maker and being able to create Sub Storms, is perfect for character details and back story. Storm Board allows me to put my mind into vision and multitask on different projects. I also love the way you transition into sub storms, just a personal joy for me

Pros

Allows me to be as detailed as I am in my mind Allows me to assign things to deadlines which is great for me I like how I can copy cards over to other storms, makes organization super easy

Cons

I would like more colors for sticky notes The legend description doesn't translate across computers There are some things that can't be backtracked with cntrl Z

Lauren

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5