User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I love that in addition to its many built-in functions, it can execute scripted steps in any language using a simple XML config file. "

  • "lots of features..flexibility on how to orchestrate your workload. "

  • "Reliable no nonsense scheduling that just works. "

  • Cons

  • "I wish the in system help was a bit more detailed with examples included."

  • "Maybe, more advance case studies should be provided on the user guide such as Crystal Report, email workflow, ActiveBatch Web Service examples, etc..."

  • "It can be a bit complex to understand once you are working under the layers. Some UI and flow functionality can be improved."

Browse ActiveBatch Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -38 of 12 results

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Active Batch Is One Of The Greatest Software Applications Ever Devised!

This application is the driving force at First Rate Inc. It flawlessly runs all of our overnight processing jobs and helps us to see performance trends. It help us to meet our SLA's wit our clients. Hands down one of the greatest software applications ever devised and keeps getting better!

Pros

If it's digital this application can probably create an automated task to do whatever you need, and do it extremely efficient. We have come up with some very complex plans/Jobs and I doubt we have even scratched the surface on what this application is capable of doing. I cannot stress enough how Active Batch can transform your company! The ROI on this application is astronomical. Once you see how powerful it is you will agree. I'm not being paid to say these things, I like and breath Active Batch almost every day and I always say, how did we stay in business before we started using Active Batch!

Cons

It's a complicated piece of software and we found it a little difficult to wrap our brains around the creating of jobs, and variables, however, ASCI support is the best in the business and they worked with us to get like the first 10 jobs working and from those 10 we were able to really branch out quickly.

June 2019

Lourens from Coronation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

My experiences over the years in ActiveBatch

We have used ActiveBatch for the last 5 years and are we happy. So happy that we have moved all our Automation and scheduling to ActiveBatch and that shows the trust few have in the product

Pros

Previously we have used a few scheduling systems but in recent years we have moved all our automation and scheduling to ActiveBatch. Which shows the confidence we have in the product The central location of all our workflows and an operation to view running, failed and successful jobs make ActiveBatch an outstanding product. The execute agent and job scheduler is very stable. ActiveBatch scheduler is brilliant and the use of custom dates and calendars makes scheduling powerful. The PowerShell script option in AB makes scheduling of PowerShell scripts easy. Reuse and reference of scripts in workflows make development quicker. The use of variables on Jobs, schedulers, folders, triggers and task gives us a lot of variety and flexibility. The support team is very good and always eager to help. The only issues we have is the difference in time zones in response from the support team due to that. But it has imporved over the last few months.

Cons

What I found over the years is when a new version of AB has been released, jobs that were working in the previous release not working in the new version. The new GUI of v12 looks good but is a lot slower and crashes more often than the previous version. To do a simple task and using the internal steps like reading a from DB, loop through the records, setting values to a condition can be a confusing thing. Lately, we have been switching all our jobs that were using job steps to PowerShell scripts because we have more control and options in Powershell.

June 2019

Tyson from Ensign peak Advisors

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Top Notch Automation Capability

Overall, ActiveBatch is a very solid and capable package that gives you almost everything you could ever want in automation.

Pros

ActiveBatch is the backbone of our automation operations. We use it to automate a wide variety of tasks from running our own custom data processing software to retrieving FTP to monitoring server status. * The scheduler has amazing variety and flexibility for automating tasks: jobs within plans, variables that change parameters dynamically, constraints on other tasks, triggers for other tasks. * Monitoring status of jobs and plans can be done in a variety of ways, through a UI, through email or other communication, even automated reporting. Almost however you want to look at status, ActiveBatch has you covered. * Great support for integration with other technologies and services. They have a number of packages for integration with third party systems. You can fairly easily integrate with command line tools, custom libraries or web APIs to create custom links. We've even used Powershell to automate ActiveBatch itself. * Their tech support has always been quick to respond and genuinely willing to dig deep to help solve the problem.

Cons

Only a couple cons come to mind. * With increased flexibility and capability come increased complexity. It's easy to get a couple jobs going, but there is a learning curve to use the full capability. There is no free training (like self-guided course), though perhaps that's changed since the last time I looked, and the documentation is difficult to wade through. * We do see quirky behavior indicative of small bugs that will manifest themselves after weeks of operation. Although I would consider it stable, every now and again something strange happens (weeks between occurrences) and it's time to restart the service. It's not the same thing every time and support has always helped us navigate unexpected behavior.

December 2019

Sandesh from The Helpcard

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Active Batch Automation

Installation was eazy. Also their support team helped us quickly to get all the issues fixed. Also, upgrades were simple to manage.

Pros

1. Ease of use 2. Get lots of work done without intervention. 3. Faster so saves time. 4. Sends Alerts so we can manage the issues quickly and efficiently 5. Allows to setup hierarchy of jobs to run. 6. Can setup multiple Execution agents which can run multiple jobs simultaneously and get the work done faster.

Cons

Nothing comes to my mind at this time other than pricing.

December 2019

bhasker from Flagship Credit Acceptance

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Active Batch to orchestrate your workload

The product is well thought, well priced, offering lot of features, I can understand with such a lot of features it is hard to introduce a change without breaking other functionalities, but if they can tighten their testing before releasing it covering all scenarios, that will be great.

Pros

lots of features..flexibility on how to orchestrate your workload.

Cons

sometimes, the behaviors are unpredictable. not a major blow up so far. but it can get on your nerves as why certain things work the way it works and why would it not work for other cases given both are similar situations.

May 2019

Anthony from Exela

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

All the tools you need under one roof

Biggest problems solved are scheduling and job dependency issues. ActiveBatch allows you to make sure jobs run in the order you need them to. Building a workflow on job step dependency where on job kicks off the next as expected. Or utilizing constraints to not run a job multiple times a day if it has already run. It also has a great feedback alert system. to send emails, text messages, etc to let you know when a job has succeeded or failed. New apps allow you to manage jobs from your phone.

Pros

It has tons of features, and options to integrate it's automation into many third party platforms for backups, email, sharepoint, tracking systems. The options for coding automation in your comfort zone is also great. Whether you script in ksh, bsh, cmd, bat, powershell, js, or vb; you can take existing workflows and start scheduling them into ActiveBatch seamlessly. Or do as I do; and integrate all those skills into a jobs library and create a custom ActiveBatch workflow.

Cons

Some of those third party integration point cost extra. Probably expected. There is some challenges with security tokens when migrating to new systems.

April 2018

Karsten from LEGO

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great Automation Tool

Pros

I like all the possibilities for automations, scheduling and managing tasks to be carried out automatically. Additionally, service and support from ActiveBatch is fabulous. They are really helpful and responsive.

Cons

Since the product is so diverse and can do so much, it can be really hard to get started using the product. Documentation is plenty, but not, at least to me, always easy to understand. However this is definitely made up for by the help and support offered by their support team.

December 2019

April from SS&C Eze

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

ActiveBatch is scalable and has the flexibility we needed

We use ActiveBatch for everything from simple file movement to system administration. Thanks to the automation this tool provides, though our company has quadrupled in size, our team has not had to add any members.

Pros

I love that in addition to its many built-in functions, it can execute scripted steps in any language using a simple XML config file.

Cons

Some advanced features such as failover have external dependencies, and can't auto-recover in all circumstances.

May 2019

Brent from The Walt Disney Company

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

ActiveBatch Orchestration Software Works Well

Pros

It is easy to use and they are constantly innovating and adding new features. The scheduling functionality is reliable and consistent. It makes it easy to automate software.

Cons

Customer support could be better. This reflects them being a pretty small shop without a lot of resources to put into support.

June 2018

Rowan from Vail Resorts

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Rich features with access to variables in stream and API config allows us to replace other ETL tools

Cuts down time spent creating custom solutions with other tools using critical features right in the tool (API, file trigger, constraints)

Pros

Rich features and flexibility Access to variables in stream, can replace other ETL tools API config is straightforward File triggers work well Constraints and SQL based variables Decent documentation

Cons

Some bugs in UI Some features in UI are confusing and documentation doesn't always help

March 2018

Daniel from LA Metro

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I have been using ActiveBatch since 2015. This is the best Enterprise Job scheduler on the market.

We now have a better Enterprise Job Schedule in our IT shop.

Pros

I was tasked to find a Enterprise Job scheduler for LA Metro. I evaluated many job schedulers such as Redwood, Cisco Tidal and Activebatch. Activebatch was the one that stood out the most because of its ease to use and its features and functionality. I was able to setup the software and started to use it in 1 day. The user guide is really helpful specially the case studies. I was able to create jobs at no time. What I like most about this software is the ease of use and the versioning control. To ease the transition from other job scheduler to Activebatch, I created job templates allowing various group in ITS to convert existing jobs or create new jobs based on a template and then modify them accordingly to meet their needs. This has cut down the job creation/conversion time tremendously instead to creating them from scratch. This approach helps quickly bring ITS staff member up to speed and give them the confidence to start using ActiveBatch right the way. Finally, I would like to commend the customer support desk. They provide excellent services. I always learn something new every time I call them up. The problem resolution turnaround time is impeccable.

Cons

Maybe, more advance case studies should be provided on the user guide such as Crystal Report, email workflow, ActiveBatch Web Service examples, etc...

June 2019

Jeanette from Equitable Life of Canada

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

ActiveBatch is Easy to Use

With ActiveBatch it is easy to design and schedule jobs for regular and repeated processes. Our batch runs are reliable on this system, and I have been able to find the functionality needed for all of our scheduling needs. The system is easy to learn and maintain.

Pros

As a developer, I like the option of using the Job Steps editor. There is so much flexibility in the editor. The preset job step types make designing easy, while the jobs steps that allow scripts and code to be run allow for a wide range of additional functionality.

Cons

I wish the in system help was a bit more detailed with examples included.