All ActiveBatch Reviews

1-25 of 59 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Keerthi

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Active Batch - New best Automation Tool in market!

Basically, it helps me to automate scheduling, monitor all my servers, and look after logs and alerts!This has been very time-saving and because of this now I can focus on larger targets!

PROS

Many services, Noticeably some are-Workload ProcessingScalabilityIntelligent AutomationAdministration ConsoleWorkflow Management

CONS

The only thing I least like is pricing and apart from that this is the best tool.

Reasons for switching to ActiveBatch

Because the above tools perform only particular functions and Active Batch is a combination of everything so, in turn, helps me to perform all the functions at once.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Overall Best Tool for all sort or monitoring and scheduling task tool !!

Very good user interface and best event-based automation for real time accurate data. Good Customization for all alerts. Due to version change, old jobs running had few issues' apart form that, all seems good.

PROS

The good features of Active batch is real time processes and accurate data capturing on tool. Very easy to use , good user interface, Not much pre-requisite needed, very handy. Very good user interface and best event-based automation for real time accurate data. Good Customization for all alerts. Due to version change, old jobs running had few issues' apart form that, all seems good.

CONS

The data cannot be easily exported out easily to a excel format making it a bit difficult to extract data. Also getting other users to manage their jobs was getting difficult.

Reason for choosing ActiveBatch

Good tool for startup, Cost friendly, Very easy to get started, quite less effort required initially for usage of tool. The easy user interface helps boost the quality of experience in using the tool.

bhasker

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Active Batch to orchestrate your workload

The product is well thought, well priced, offering lot of features, I can understand with such a lot of features it is hard to introduce a change without breaking other functionalities, but if they can tighten their testing before releasing it covering all scenarios, that will be great.

PROS

lots of features..flexibility on how to orchestrate your workload.

CONS

sometimes, the behaviors are unpredictable. not a major blow up so far. but it can get on your nerves as why certain things work the way it works and why would it not work for other cases given both are similar situations.

Reason for choosing ActiveBatch

Each of the software are scored against the following categories. The scores range from 1 to 10 with 10 being most favorable and 1 being least favorable. Total score High total score is favorable. Software \ Categories ease of use licensing cost maintainability Learning curve functionality Support Total score BMC - Control-M 9 4 8 9 8 8 46 Advanced Systems - Acive batch 7 7 7 6 9.5 8 44.5 Helps Systems - JAMS Scheduler 4 9 7 8 5 6 39 Red hat Ansible ( IBM ) 2 5 5 4 2 4 22

Reasons for switching to ActiveBatch

price, features.

yogesh

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

ActiveBatch is the ideal solution if you want quick and complete automation.

we at Justwicks used active batch for making our product more reliable, since we started using it our ROI nearly increased to 80% within short span of time, and reliability or our product is also increased to a great extent

PROS

In our organisation we have implemented activebatch into our end to end automation, we have utilized the real time analytics and alerting feature a lot which gave us more insights ahead and able to fix the issue before the clients report it.

CONS

The documentation and initial setup was bit fuzzy it could be been more details and few more video tutorials would have reduced our time a lot.

Reason for choosing ActiveBatch

Since i have previously worked with activebatch software in my previous organsiation, it was my first goto software so we choose activebatch.

Reasons for switching to ActiveBatch

All the different tools we used were jumbled and required lot of resource to maintain them, but using active batch a single resource can handle our end to end automatin.

User Profile

Arjuna

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Capterra: The Leaders in establishing relationship between the buyers and the IT industry

My overall experience with active batch to date is very good and it provides smooth and it is user-friendly.Any user who uses this for the first will be able to understand it very easily without any difficulties.

PROS

it's an automation tool that helps the administrator to schedule, monitor and view the logs without or with very less manual intervention.

CONS

The cost is the only factor that i would like to highlight. However, it is worth it.

Reason for choosing ActiveBatch

Obviously, the cost factor and the user-friendliness.

User Profile

Khoa

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Automating manual, repetitive tasks have never been easier!

Active Batch handles all of our nightly batch jobs including but not limited to file transfers between SFTP sites, SSRS report generation, file encryption/decryption and much more. We have several use cases for using Active Batch but one of the main drivers was having a solution to house all of our Windows Task Scheduler jobs, while task scheduler is great, it was a pain to manage and support. With Active Batch, we now have a single solution where we can see which jobs are running, how long they are running for, if they failed, and when they would run next, etc. We currently have about 1000 jobs in different Active Batch environments.

PROS

ActiveBatch treats all items as objects; this allows for object reuse when building jobs and also reduces the overhead of maintaining and supporting multiple objects.

CONS

Having to upgrade each of the execution agents, there needs to be a process where the agents are automatically updated when there is a new version available.

User Profile

Mahesh

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Very impressive and Best software worked on

Overall experience working in this software felt life changing tool which almost do everything you required for any organization you work (IT, manufacturing, logistics etc) This tool has made our life so easy that, we can easily look after inventory stock and take decisions for future procurements and under customer orders and plan accordinglyAs an IT it became so easy to procure electronics items required by having approved supplier list and tracking it

PROS

As a logistics company, activebatch is very useful in planning your daily activities, providing the purchase order for raw materials, track the activities from supplier side, easily generate the reports as required and plan for customer orderOther good feature are good display, has enormous options to work, under interface is excellent

CONS

The only cons i felt in this software is that, it should been a bit user friendly with detailed user manual how exactly different functions works, also by having a authorization for customization options to tweak the software as per our requirements

User Profile

Praveen

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

The tool that enhances automation workflows to reach their peak level is ActiveBatch.

As per my experience this tool became one of best partner in my office, this made my work in easier by alerting and by self re-run capabilities. because of this robust automation workflow automation this made our team proud in the organization by deploying our project on time.

PROS

ActiveBatch tool has been incredibly beneficial in elevating my testing efficiency to its highest level, thanks to its strong monitoring and scheduling features and this automatically re-runs failed tasks, this provides timely completion alerts, and also suits for various project types, saving me from the burden of learning new tools for the different assigned projects.

CONS

Barely touchable for start-up companies.

Madhu

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Perfect software to improve Accuracy and reduce Manual Intervention

PROS

It is a powerful and reliable tool, which helped us to streamline and improve the Efficiency of our Workload. Automating the wide range of tasks across the organization reduced the time consumption and increases the productivity. ActiveBatch has an advanced features that makes it easy to create and manage the complex workflows, without the technical knowledge. Scheduling the batch jobs daily, weekly, monthly and generating the reports to track the task's status is simplified.

CONS

Enhancing the trigger and notification module would be appreciated, Product articles and training videos should be improved to gain more knowledge on the tool. Some times Help and support teams are Inactive, need to be focus on assisting the users facing Issues. Cost of the product should be reduced by considering the Small Industries.

Jyothi

Logistics and Supply Chain, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

It’s a brilliant tool, which makes scheduling powerful.

Even with minimal programming knowledge one can easily schedule jobs by using this software. With PowerShell knowledge you can work on this software tremendously to solve complex schedules or tasks.Active batch provides end to end solution for manual tasks using automation. Initially we need to create different complex scripts for automating things, with the help of centralized one software app the workload automation made our work simpler.

PROS

This automation tool works brilliant to schedule, monitor and view logs with minimal manual intervention.Job library is fantastic, can use different job steps basically mix match job steps from different built-in jobs which can solve complex tasks.User Friendly, easy drag and drop feature which helps best for new users.

CONS

The only downside is cost for annual license upgrade is higher, apart from that it provides solution to all the manual tasks.

Lourens

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

My experiences over the years in ActiveBatch

We have used ActiveBatch for the last 5 years and are we happy. So happy that we have moved all our Automation and scheduling to ActiveBatch and that shows the trust few have in the product

PROS

Previously we have used a few scheduling systems but in recent years we have moved all our automation and scheduling to ActiveBatch. Which shows the confidence we have in the product The central location of all our workflows and an operation to view running, failed and successful jobs make ActiveBatch an outstanding product. The execute agent and job scheduler is very stable. ActiveBatch scheduler is brilliant and the use of custom dates and calendars makes scheduling powerful. The PowerShell script option in AB makes scheduling of PowerShell scripts easy. Reuse and reference of scripts in workflows make development quicker. The use of variables on Jobs, schedulers, folders, triggers and task gives us a lot of variety and flexibility. The support team is very good and always eager to help. The only issues we have is the difference in time zones in response from the support team due to that. But it has imporved over the last few months.

CONS

What I found over the years is when a new version of AB has been released, jobs that were working in the previous release not working in the new version. The new GUI of v12 looks good but is a lot slower and crashes more often than the previous version. To do a simple task and using the internal steps like reading a from DB, loop through the records, setting values to a condition can be a confusing thing. Lately, we have been switching all our jobs that were using job steps to PowerShell scripts because we have more control and options in Powershell.

Tyson

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Top Notch Automation Capability

Overall, ActiveBatch is a very solid and capable package that gives you almost everything you could ever want in automation.

PROS

ActiveBatch is the backbone of our automation operations. We use it to automate a wide variety of tasks from running our own custom data processing software to retrieving FTP to monitoring server status. * The scheduler has amazing variety and flexibility for automating tasks: jobs within plans, variables that change parameters dynamically, constraints on other tasks, triggers for other tasks. * Monitoring status of jobs and plans can be done in a variety of ways, through a UI, through email or other communication, even automated reporting. Almost however you want to look at status, ActiveBatch has you covered. * Great support for integration with other technologies and services. They have a number of packages for integration with third party systems. You can fairly easily integrate with command line tools, custom libraries or web APIs to create custom links. We've even used Powershell to automate ActiveBatch itself. * Their tech support has always been quick to respond and genuinely willing to dig deep to help solve the problem.

CONS

Only a couple cons come to mind. * With increased flexibility and capability come increased complexity. It's easy to get a couple jobs going, but there is a learning curve to use the full capability. There is no free training (like self-guided course), though perhaps that's changed since the last time I looked, and the documentation is difficult to wade through. * We do see quirky behavior indicative of small bugs that will manifest themselves after weeks of operation. Although I would consider it stable, every now and again something strange happens (weeks between occurrences) and it's time to restart the service. It's not the same thing every time and support has always helped us navigate unexpected behavior.

Daniel

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

I have been using ActiveBatch since 2015. This is the best Enterprise Job scheduler on the market.

We now have a better Enterprise Job Schedule in our IT shop.

PROS

I was tasked to find a Enterprise Job scheduler for LA Metro. I evaluated many job schedulers such as Redwood, Cisco Tidal and Activebatch. Activebatch was the one that stood out the most because of its ease to use and its features and functionality. I was able to setup the software and started to use it in 1 day. The user guide is really helpful specially the case studies. I was able to create jobs at no time. What I like most about this software is the ease of use and the versioning control. To ease the transition from other job scheduler to Activebatch, I created job templates allowing various group in ITS to convert existing jobs or create new jobs based on a template and then modify them accordingly to meet their needs. This has cut down the job creation/conversion time tremendously instead to creating them from scratch. This approach helps quickly bring ITS staff member up to speed and give them the confidence to start using ActiveBatch right the way. Finally, I would like to commend the customer support desk. They provide excellent services. I always learn something new every time I call them up. The problem resolution turnaround time is impeccable.

CONS

Maybe, more advance case studies should be provided on the user guide such as Crystal Report, email workflow, ActiveBatch Web Service examples, etc...

Jonathan

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

The Only Automation Tool You'll Ever Need

Our experience has been great, we have never had any major issues with the tool in the 8+ years we've used it. ActiveBatch has been very reliable and we continue to find new ways that it can improve our workflows.

PROS

The software is extremely flexible out of the box without needing to rely heavily on scripts to accomplish tasks. The GUI tool is very straightforward and allows complex jobs to be created quickly and accurately.

CONS

The flexibility and comprehensive toolset are great, but it can also be slightly overwhelming for new users, especially if the users have never used an automation tool before.

Reason for choosing ActiveBatch

ActiveBatch provided everything we needed at a price that we could afford. Many of the other options required knowledge of scripting tasks and/or a programming background which many of our team members did not have at the time. ActiveBatch did not (and does not) require that knowledge to create automated processes.

Reasons for switching to ActiveBatch

Our prior tool was not reliable, it would frequently fail without explanation and would not keep a history of prior job runs which caused us to look for a new solution. After reviewing several vendors we decided to move to ActiveBatch and have never regretted it.

sampath

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

One Place for Flexible Business Automation Anytime

ActiveBatch Workload Automation have reported positive returns on investment in terms of increased productivity, improved reliability, cost savings, improved compliance, and increased agility.

PROS

Visual workflow designer: ActiveBatch's drag-and-drop interface allows users to easily create and manage complex workflows, without requiring extensive programming skills.Advanced scheduling engine: ActiveBatch's scheduling engine can handle complex scheduling requirements, such as job dependencies and conditional logic.Cross-platform automation: ActiveBatch can automate processes across multiple platforms and technologies, allowing organizations to manage their entire IT environment from a single platform.Real-time monitoring and alerting: ActiveBatch's real-time monitoring capabilities can proactively alert IT staff to issues, reducing downtime and improving system reliability.Compliance and security features: ActiveBatch includes features such as audit logging, role-based access control, and encryption to help organizations meet regulatory requirements and maintain a secure IT environment.Integration with third-party applications: ActiveBatch has integration with over 500 third-party applications and technologies, making it easy to automate processes across the entire IT environment.

CONS

ActiveBatch Workload Automation has many benefits and features, some users have reported that the product could be improved in terms of complexity, documentation, licensing, support, and price.

Preetham

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

ActiveBatch: A Symphony of Workflow Management and Automation in IT Company

PROS

What I like most about ActiveBatch is its unparalleled flexibility and ease of use. The software's intuitive drag-and-drop interface makes it easy to create and configure complex workflows, even for those with limited technical expertise. The extensive library of pre-built components and connectors also makes it easy to integrate with a wide range of systems and data sources, significantly reducing development time.Another aspect of ActiveBatch that I appreciate is its powerful automation features. With ActiveBatch, we can easily schedule workflows to run at specific intervals or trigger events, ensuring that our processes are always up-to-date and running efficiently. The software's real-time monitoring and alerting capabilities also allow us to quickly identify and resolve any issues that arise, minimizing downtime and maximizing productivity.But perhaps the most impressive aspect of ActiveBatch is its scalability. As our business needs change and grow, ActiveBatch has the ability to scale with us, handling even the most complex workflows with ease. The software's flexibility and scalability have been a key factor in our ability to remain competitive and stay ahead of the curve in our industry.

CONS

New users may find it challenging to fully understand and utilize all of the capabilities of ActiveBatch due to its numerous features and functionalities. Furthermore, some advanced features may require technical expertise to configure and customize, posing a potential barrier for less experienced users

Haripriya

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY