User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.95

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The reason why we started using HighGear is because it's flexible, customisable and suitable for large volumes of prjects."
  • icon"The greatest benefit is the ability to create exactly what we need and to make changes quickly."
  • icon"Clearly defined roles and responsibilities on their teams have ensured that at each touch point we are able to get an answer quickly."
  • icon"We are quickly running out of fields and the character limitations on the titles do not work well for building checklists."
  • icon"Manipulating the reporting features (BI Module)."
  • icon"Learning how to create forms, workflows, etc. is a bit difficult."

Browse all HighGear Reviews

  • Have you used HighGear and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 19 of 19 reviews

Alexandra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Turning Point Financial

Fantastic - the team has been great, always available to answer any questions. It's changed our business completely. For the first time, ever, we have complete transparency into our business processes. We feel very supported and thankful to have HighGear!

Pros

Very easy to use overall, provides amazing transparency and accountability.

Cons

Building workflow is easy, but users and permissions can be tricky!

Reasons for choosing HighGear

It was the only system that was fully customizable the way that we needed it to be, and could handle the wide variety of workflows that we needed to build and manage.

Kathy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Game changer!

They are a well run, conscientious company that wants to truly deliver value. That's the impression I get with every interaction. If they don't know something they find out. Also, the software itself is super unique. For example, when the head of my Operations Department wanted to explore linking it with data from another program, they worked with her to find the best solution for the best cost (i.e., building an integration). Ultimately this was cost effective and allowed us to utilize the software in more of our process areas. Working with them was the bright light for us during this horrid year (2020). They allowed us to become entirely virtual, innovative, and lower costs all at once.

Pros

This software allows us to finally do what we've wanted to do for 10 years - create SMART workflows and processes that save our operations people TIME. Also, now that we know of the software's capabilities we are adding new development to our list of process improvements. This would equate to hundreds of thousands of dollars in traditional programming costs, but we are paying a very tiny fraction of any development efforts in the past. And our return on investment was immediately measurable. IT IS SO INTUITIVE AND FLEXIBLE.

Cons

In the beginning there is a learning curve, but in the grand scheme of things that is a small price to pay for what we got.

Reasons for choosing HighGear

We wanted to control more of the development and had the staff to take on the challenge. Their platform allows this.

Benoit

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Implementation and ease of use

The impact of this tool was almost immediate and the level of adoption by our users was very high. As we involved most/all our functional teams in the design and development, they all understood and contributed to the design and development and testing and deployment, which made this a successful project. The whole "Change Management" is a key element of how a company will deploy this solution. One should really design their implementation carefully to consider all these non-technical elements seriously to make the project and HighGear implementation successful

Pros

I think the implementation went fairly for our company. We have implemented over 6 new processes across our organization and our employees (USER) have been able to adapt quickly and are now using the tools everyday with ease.

Cons

I'm not sure if it is a CON, but rather ho to deploy effectively the HighGear application. To be successful in deploying HighGear, there is a fair number of efforts in the development and design of the process you want to automate. We use Design Excellence tools (not included in HighGear offering) to help use design and develop our process and eliminate nonvalue added work and make sure all the appropriate functional group were involved throughout this effort. The duration of this preparation is far longer than the configuration testing and launch of the HighGear process. I say it takes 66% of you time to design and develop and 34% to code/configure HighGear, test it and deploy it! I wish there would have been a process or best practice available with the product to help us develop our HighGear solutions.

Reasons for choosing HighGear

Ease of use, capabilities and price

Reasons for switching to HighGear

Did not have a god mean to involved effectively the entre functional groups needed through the process and it was difficult to have real time dashboard. Also, we have multiple processes that all interacts within each other and in the pass (using Excel) we have to do a lot of manual entries to replicate what we are currently doing automatically within HighGear environment.

Edna

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

HighGear got our Company Organized!

Pros

HighGear took our company for very disorganized to a company that had added structure. We were dealing with a company growth spurt and needed to add structure to our growing company. We could no longer do business the way we were before. HighGear helps multiple departments communicate on day to day tasks as well as larger projects. We are currently looking into expanding our use of HighGear. Overall this product is great!

Cons

There is no answer generator. Example: If the user answers yes to a question certain fields appear or become applicable on the same form.

Reasons for choosing HighGear

Price and what the features that it offered.

Brooke

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Highgear has automated our business logic and provided fantastic customer support.

Highgear’s software has been invaluable to our organization with regards to removing the complexity of managing projects.. We are required to capture pertinent information to provide at the State level, and the automation of that process has helped us achieve the requirements seamlessly.

Pros

The organizational structure of Highgear’s team has been a huge plus in our experience. Clearly defined roles and responsibilities on their teams have ensured that at each touch point we are able to get an answer quickly. At the onset of utilizing their services, the requirements elicitation and scope of our needs was thorough and precise and has only needed tweaking as our organization has grown. Their assistance with understanding our business model and clearly defining outcomes in workflow was impressive. Any questions to the support team are answered quickly and efficiently. At each release of new features we have found the assistance from product managers, trainers and solutions architects to be thorough, with an option for self-paced learning through their LMS that would be useful to administrators as a continued resource.

Cons

There are helpful features that might be missed without a fully engaged team or admin pushing them, and to identify the full scope of what HighGear offers requires a time commitment to attend training. In our experience, this investment of time has resulted in improved organizational project management and clean business logic process.

Sammye

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

HighGear delivers

HighGear is not just a vendor - they are a valued business partner. Everyone I have worked with at HighGear exceeds my expectations on a continuing basis. They listen and deliver.

Pros

The greatest benefit is the ability to create exactly what we need and to make changes quickly. My experience with other software solutions is that we had to make adjustments to our processes in order to use the tools as they were designed. With HighGear it's completely opposite. We've been able to customize every component - fields, forms, statuses, reports and workflows. As a result, we have extremely efficient and effective tools for managing our work.

Cons

Some users have indicated they are a bit overwhelmed by the amount of available information. I think the new release, 8.2, will help the user experience with the introduction of reporting on the fly. As an administrator, I can't think of anything. Any time I've run into an issue or a problem HighGear has come with up a solution. They actively seek (and implement) user input.

Stephanie

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Customizable Solution with Great Support

I think our overall experience with HighGear has been very positive! We have been able to increase our productivity and measure performance and results. The processes that we have put in place through HighGear keep us organized and on track and with the many projects that we have. The Customer Support team at HighGear is amazing as well and always ready to help us out and talk through and suggest ways to help and improve!

Pros

What I like most about HighGear is its ability to change to meet the needs that we have as opposed to us changing to conform to the software. We are able to make changes and updates relatively quickly and with minimal fuss to make the software work better in our ever-changing workplace.

Cons

I think that there is almost too much in HighGear and that can make it overwhelming and confusing. There are a lot of built in functionalities that we do not use (i can't imaging someone using them all) and that creates some complexity in not being able to hide or remove the parts we don't use.

Vincent

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

HighGear Review Demand Manager Pty Ltd

Demand Manager is extremely satisfied with the use of HighGear and we have had a great customer experience since we started using this software. I has exceeded our expectations.

Pros

The reason why we started using HighGear is because it's flexible, customisable and suitable for large volumes of prjects. HighGear hasn't disappointed and we would not be where we are now without this software. The service we have received from HighGear has also been exceptional.

Cons

There were some features missing when we first starting using HIghGear, but through new releases these have now been well and truly implemented and exceeded.

Reasons for choosing HighGear

This was the only alternative projects we tested and we were happy with it.

Reasons for switching to HighGear

The database we were using was out of date, it's use was time consuming, had limited capacity, and was inflexible in terms of making changes.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

HighGear was a lifesaver!

Excellent! Customer support is the best of any software company I've ever dealt with.

Pros

We recently had an employee leave the company unexpectedly and without HighGear it would have been so much more difficult of a transition. Because we work in various locations, the collaboration that HighGear provides was a lifesaver! No one had to go to her desk and search through paper files to figure out what was outstanding. We could easily assign the tasks to others within the office. Updating the workflows was simple. It was also very helpful for us to understand all the various tasks that she was responsible for so we could reevaluate and streamline processes.

Cons

Assigning permissions takes some getting used to. Once you wrap your head around it, it's not a big deal though.

Nathan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Great Job Managment System

The use of HighGear in my business has been game changing. I have used it for many years and would not have been able to run my business or have the confidence that my processes are working smoothly without it.

Pros

HighGear allows you to create a job flow system for the most complicated processes.The visual job flow creator allows you to move projects through your team and make sure no projects get lost. Automatically assigns tasks based on rules, sets due dates, email jobs straight into the system all makes it the best job/project management system I have seen or tested.

Cons

While Highgear can be integrated with any system you like, it is not plug and play like others. It requires the tech team at HighGear to set it up.

Elaine

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Fast changes

Pros

Since purchasing High Gear, every meeting that I am in where we are trying to solve project management issues, the answer is usually "Let's just create a task or add a checklist item in High Gear then we don't have to worry about it getting done." This is something that literally can take as little as a few minutes sometimes! No getting quotes and waiting to get with a custom programmer to write code. I have to also pay tribute to the Customer Support...better than any other!

Cons

I would like more functionality to make task forms look and feel different to the end user with the use of colors, shapes, fonts, etc.

Dan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

High Gear Is Excellent as a Work Order Management System

High Gear allows me to manage and report on progress toward meeting customer demands. We have established approval processes for customer requests, status reporting for work in process, and management reports and processes to manage workload. We utilize a small percentage of High Gear's capability, but what we do use is extremely beneficial to us.

Pros

We use High Gear to manage over 20,000 deliverables per year on a Government Contract. The system is highly configurable and developing work flows is a very intuitive process. High Gear support is exceptional and their video and in-person training programs are well done.

Cons

The system is highly configurable and requires a good bit of knowledge and expertise to maintain.

Larry

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

HighGear review

I am highly pleased with the product. I am exceptionally pleased with the support we receive. If we want to do something that is over our head we can ask for additional support and the HighGear team is always easy to communicate with and I feel that their pricing for extra support is fair.

Pros

HighGear allows us locally to design and implement our workflow and job tracking needs as they evolve. Without being reliant on a development team, waiting for code pushes, dealing with poorly designed tools for tracking. We can control what we do and when we do it and make it work for our needs.

Cons

Sometimes for running reports it can be slow.

Reasons for choosing HighGear

Because HighGear had a professional support service.

Ellie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Still Learning

Overall I have had a positive experience with HighGear. I am very excited to learn more about how to make it more efficient within my workspace.

Pros

The software is very customizable which is critical in my area of business.

Cons

Learning how to create forms, workflows, etc. is a bit difficult. It take time and effort to learn, which sometimes isn't an option for those in a fast-paced environment, which results in delays during the work day in using the software to its full capacity.

thomas

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Workflow solution

Pros

Allowed our organization to do more with less. In addition to keeping staff counts down, our teams are now more organized with their work, as well as improved process flow and task management.

Cons

The minimum license counts to purchase the software were higher than our organization needed out of the gate, which translated to a more expensive solution for we had hopped.

Robert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

HighGear Review

Exceptional. The software is really good bu the people are better.

Pros

Functional for what we do - it allows us to capture all the info we need about our cusotmers and the activities we perform.

Cons

Nothing really...they have been attentive to all our needs

Chirag

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5