ImportOmatic Software


ImportOMatic is a data integration solution for Blackbaud's Raiser's Edge and Raiser's Edge NXT fundraising solutions. It is deployed as a plug-in for the Raiser’s Edge platform.

ImportOMatic allows users to filter and transform data from a variety of sources before exporting it to Raiser’s Edge. Supported third-party applications include MailChimp, Classy, DonorDrive, Luminate Online, Artez and more.

Additionally, ImportOMatic offers features such as duplicate record management, engagement scoring, imports scheduling, an open technology framework and a data mapping grid.

Services are offered for a one-time fee that includes support over the phone, via email, a community forum and an online helpdesk.



37 Reviews of ImportOmatic

Overall rating

4.46 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 37 reviews

December 2017

Karen from MultiCare Health System

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

We spend more time with donors and less time with spreadsheets

Reduced hand-data entry. Reduction in errors. Increased flexibility.

Pros

I no longer have to prep my spreadsheets for my regular imports. I occasionally forget how amazing of a statement that is. Virtual data fields and dictionaries can be set up ahead of imports, including the ability to skip records that meet certain criteria. It matches or creates records, addresses can be old or slightly different--I choose when to update or ignore It matches on "close" names, if I want it to. I have fewer multi-pass imports, because so many more things can be done with each pass. But the biggest thing is that we are able, with the same number of staff members, to better customize our donor solicitations because we don't have to spend hours and hours pouring over column over column in thousands of lines of spreadsheets. Omatic lets us customize based on what we already know about our donors, which gives us time to continue learning more about them.

Cons

It's sophisticated and robust. Which means if you're someone who hates instructor-led training and just likes to click around to learn, it will take you ages to learn everything it can do. It's SO incredibly customize-able--it will suggest but not dictate for many fields--that people who want full functionality without a learning curve are going to flat-out miss out on all the things it can do for you. If you are constantly in a work environment where you feel it's easier to do something the slow, hard way than figure out an easier way--if there is never an opportunity to slow down and learn something new--you won't realize its full benefits.

December 2017

Jamie from Rocky Mountain Children's Health Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

ImportOmatic is vital for Raiser's Edge

The ability to import records into Raiser's Edge more easily and seamlessly than with any other product or Blackbaud feature.

Pros

ImportOmatic is the most flexible and precise importing tool available for Raiser's Edge. It integrates seamlessly and makes possible the importation of both new and established records in Raiser's Edge at the same time. As a Raiser's Edge power user and consultant, my first order of business before beginning any major project in Raiser's Edge is to make sure I have ImportOmatic available.

Beyond the base package of ImportOmatic, the ImportOmatic connector for Luminate Online to Raiser's Edge is the best connector available. I prefer to use this connector over the Blackbaud version as it is much more flexible.

Cons

I wish ImportOmatic did a better job of matching phone NUMBERS to established constituents, rather that just phone TYPES. It is my biggest aggravation with this product, and I hope it is resolved soon. I also find the address scoring feature (for matching an incoming address to a constituent's current address) annoying at times because a +4 on a ZIP code will significantly impact the similarity score between addresses, thereby requiring more "touching" of the record than necessary. That said, ImportOmatic is still way better at both of these types of processing that other products.

December 2017

Crystal from Jewish Family Service of San Diego

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Fantastic tool & it makes my job much easier. I can work smarter not harder. The staff are amazing.

ImportOmatic allows me to work smarter not harder. I can import files in minutes and know that the information is coming in just the way I want it and not creating duplicate records. I don't have to spend time cleaning each import file because I created a profile once and know that it will take care of the mess for me.

Pros

Setting up the profiles is fun and the tools (dictionaries, virtual fields, automation) are so helpful. I can add or update constituents within minutes with ImportOmatic instead of spending days doing it manually or worrying about issues with the standard import tool in RE. I can setup and change the matching criteria for profiles depending on my trust issues or trust in the file that I am importing. Being able to assign functions and proper casing within the profile means that I don't have to spend time formatting my spreadsheet every time. The training from the Omatic staff is great. Their training method of showing you how to create a profile, creating one with you, and then a following up call for any questions about additional profiles you created is perfect.

Cons

It is hard to think of cons because just in the past year Omatic has expanded the features that I had complaints about before. I miss being able to process a whole import no matter what the size under the validation mode. It just added another safety net to the process.

March 2018

Susan from Oregon Health and Sciences University Foundation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

Allows me to import easier than just thru RE7-also has some drawbacks, updating, exceptions report

Easier Importing!

Pros

I love that I don't have to create ImpID's for every field. I love that it imports so quickly. I love the ease of it.

Cons

Unable to update. Exceptions report has changed since we started using Connector and now I don't receive why something has exception'd out (list the id that it doesn't see, or if it exception'd out because someone has the record open). During a simply import like adding only an appeal code to an existing record it exceptions out and then wants to add as a full constituent.

Response from Omatic Software of Omatic Software

Replied March 2018

Hi Susan- Thank you for taking the time to respond! I am sorry you haven't been able to update. I see that you had an open ticket with our Customer Support team regarding this issue but it has been closed. I will have someone else on the team reach out to help resolve this issue. Thanks, Marcia Hightower Customer Success Manager

December 2017

Carlene from Dexter Southfield School

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

I want more than a one night stand with IOM. I want a long term relationship.

I've saved time, money, and headaches from this! Using IOM has allowed me to solve problems which were previously unsolvable!

Pros

ImportOmatic is totally dreamy. It has revolutionized my job and allows me to import data in ways that I could not even have imagined in the past. It is incredibly flexible and saves me time, headaches, and money, while increasing data integrity through decreasing human error. I've never wanted to make out with a piece of software until I met ImportOmatic. After the demo and trying it out I realized that I didn't just want a one night stand with IOM - I wanted a long term relationship. And here we are.... more than 7 years as a client and two different institutions. IOM and I are still going strong. I have no plans to end my relationship. :)

Cons

Because the tool is so powerful and flexible there are a LOT of options to set. It is important to go through each of the settings when setting up an initial template to ensure that it is doing everything one wanted from it. But, when it gets tricky, support is there to help as are other users via the forums.

December 2017

Regina from University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation, Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

December 2017

Overall, I love the product. We've had our issues in the past on various things, but support helps.

Time saver is the biggest thing. Because it's easier to use than RE Import, it saves time on a lot of various tasks, from the use of virtual fields and dictionaries, to easily reloading errors. It's a great product.

Pros

It's a lot easier to use than RE's import and it's move efficient. I love the use of virtual fields. Dictionaries are so helpful too. I appreciate that I don't have to frequently manipulate spreadsheets. Plus, it loads much faster than the RE import and produces errors and makes it easier to identify and import the errors.

March 2018

Nancy from New Mexico State University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

We've used Importomatic for 5 years...configuration was difficulty, but now easy to use

Streamline out daily import/updates

Pros

Reliable, bug-free product. Adding/configuring multiple data points/record types makes this a much better solution than the standard Import function of RE.

Cons

Error messages are non-user-friendly, not easily diagnosed. There is a current bug in 3.5.1.2 that no longer renames the import file after the import is complete. We've had to change our processes until this bug is fixed.

March 2018

Krystal from Society for Science & the Public

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

Wonderful experience using this software.

Pros

The profile creation is pretty much seamless. I prefer using ImportOmatci versus the classic RE import option.

Cons

I wish support had a chat option- creating a ticket is often not the option best suited for my needs at times.

Response from Omatic Software of Omatic Software

Replied March 2018

Hi Krystal- Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. We are thrilled you've had a great experience with ImportOmatic. Our Customer Support team is always interested in making our clients lives easier. They have some great things on the horizon for 2018! Thanks Marcia Hightower Customer Success Manager

December 2017

Vicki from American Ballet Theatre

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

THANK YOU! It's a dream product!

It saves us hundreds of hours a year. Plus, the deduping while importing is awesome!

Pros

1. De-duping while importing. 2. Easy mapping. I like the fact that you don't have to type more just to get to the minimum number of characters. I am a database administrator and we value the number of keystrokes. Less is more!

February 2018

Katherine from Children's Cancer Research Fund

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2018

We have been using IOM for 6 years now and have loved how easy it makes transferring data by import.

The ease of use, fantastic support, and ability to move data in and out of my database with ease.

Pros

I love that if I can get the data in a .csv, I can get it into my database. The opportunities are endless.

Cons

Sometimes trying to figure out error codes and what they mean can be hard, but support is always there to help.

February 2018

Rolly from Cathedral High School School

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2018

Good, does what is says it will do.

Pros

basic and simple, straight forward. Integration with Google is as we hoped. We hope to continue using this product as it evolves

Cons

renewing the license causes some hickups. As features are added, we needed to change our licenses which caused some issues.

February 2018

Beata from Lynchburg College

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2018

Importing Phonathon gifts and appeal responses into RE

Pros

The ease and effectiveness of getting a large amount of data into Raiser's Edge. No need to clean the data prior to the import

Cons

No clear explanation of errors when import doesn't go as expected. Pretty complicated way to set up an import profile.

December 2017

Tom from Monmouth University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

ImportOmatic is an essential piece of software for anyone organization that uses Raiser's Edge.

By using ImportOmatic we're able to save an incredible amount of time during our regular imports and we've had a few cases where we could ONLY import data into Raiser's Edge with ImportOmatic. It improves our data consistency and accuracy by automatic scrubbing and correcting the imported data in order to fit our needs and wants. It's a *must have* for every Raiser's Edge institution.

Pros

The software makes importing data into Raiser's Edge much easier and provides a ton of different data scrubbing and logic options. The various functions can end up saving an organization hours, if not entire days of work, depending on their import needs and data file. When we've had questions or suggestions they've quickly been addressed and new functions are being added all the time.

Cons

This is a serious data import program, so with that comes a certain amount of complexity. It takes a while to get the gist of how it all works and navigating through the various menu systems and options can be a little daunting at first.

February 2018

Renee from Hillsdale College

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2018

ImportOmatic helped us to overcome challenges we faced with appends and updates that are more comple

Pros

Ease if use! Simple field selections allowusers of all levels to adjust to their departments needs.

Cons

Minor compatibility issues with Blackbaud products. Stellar staff at ImportOmatic helped us to overcome.

December 2017

Helen from The Nature Consevancy of Canada

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

Ever since we got IOM, we've been really enjoying what it can do for us.

I save time and apply consistencies importing data from multiple sources.

Pros

I like the fact that it uses Raiser's Edge term, therefore it's very user friendly. And it's easy to share and train others.

January 2018

Brian from American Ballet Theatre

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2018

Omatic has saved me so much time in importing data, but it is somewhat confusing to get a hold of it

It saves vast amounts of time and is quite a robust operation.

Pros

I love the vast amounts of data it can handle at once-- it has saved so much time in importing both gifts large and small, and constituent information.

Cons

Getting your feet wet with this software is somewhat daunting, as there are many intricacies in the software and imports cannot be reversed. It is also difficult in that some missing fields lead to constituents and gifts with information that need to be corrected.

December 2017

Lisa from John Ball Zoo

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Best software to import mass data effectively with flexibility

capabilities to connect 2 databases and analyze more effectively our customers

Pros

Ability to customize all fields, create virtual fields, score data and preview import before committing

Cons

minor thing is that the view on certain importing fields is small and training others to create maps and set up is difficult

February 2018

MichaelAnn from Denver Rescue Mission

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2018

ImportOmatic has been a great investment for our organization

Pros

You can import data from basically any source and you get to customize the import profile to fit your needs.

Cons

The only thing that is inconvenient is updating profiles and/or dictionaries after a version update.

December 2017

Jennifer from Crisis Assistance Ministry

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

I love Omatic! The software and the company are tremendous!

Improved accuracy, merged dupe accounts with ease, bring NCOA changes into my database in minutes, track relationships between donors my mailing use to generate 100s of returned mail - now I get one piece returned in a 10,000 piece mailing - because of Omatic!

Pros

The software is so powerful! It can handle almost any field in my database - it handles more fields than the database can! Omatic software improves the functionality of my database.

March 2018

Jack from UNSW

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

It's very useful software, however local support in Australia can be lacking

We are able to setup imports to RE without having to do too much work on the incoming files

Pros

It adds a lot of great functionality that isn't in RE but should be. It's also probably quite a bit easier to use than the Blackbaud Import, however we're well trained in that so we still use it at times

Cons

Mainly the lack of Australian support, and that I always feel like we aren't taking full advantage of it