User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse AlternativeSoft Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -36 of 14 results

April 2019

Chris from Voyager Management

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Hedge Fund Analytics Software

While we only use a small portion of the tools AltSoft has (Database, Portfolio Management, Peer Groups), each have been helpful to our reporting processes and portfolio modeling.

Pros

Breadth, ease of use (for those familiar with investment stats), customer service/technical help, and customization.

Cons

Export times take a little bit long on some reports, but it's seconds, not minutes, and it can run in the background while I do something else. Also, would like them to introduce an "undo" feature during performance entry.

April 2019

Joe from Artivest

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Alt Soft Review

It has helped tremendously with automating or semi-automating a number of reports. The excel plug in was a fantastic idea and more importantly, works very well. As a comparison tool for screening funds, it's second to none

Pros

Very intuitive, thoughtful UI, powerful backend, great datafeed plug ins, constant evolution

Cons

Too difficult to filter funds you do not want when importing from ODU, leading to reimport of previously deleted assets. I understand the impetus for charging for the cloud option, but with a larger provider it would likely be provided at no additional cost. Morningstar Direct made this available at no extra cost and, given the comparability in cost between the two softwares, it is difficult to justify spending more on a cloud option.

August 2018

eugenia from Alpha Leonis Partners

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Capital Markets

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

AS Review

portfolio monitoring, peer group and watch lists, monthly portfolio reporting to clients

Pros

ease of use, in-depth analyses available

Cons

Many analysis, charts, etc. not available/easily exportable in excel.

April 2019

Daniel from Vontobel Asset Management

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Good tool

We use AlternativeSoft for analysing hedge funds and hedge fund portfolios and are quite happy with the flexibility and functionalities.

Pros

Easy to use and easy to customise Good functions for analysing hedge funds as well as automize reports Good Excel add-in

Cons

In our version 5.0.3.41311: Portfolio Management Tool could have more analytics like contributions of assets and strategies In Database, there should be a good possibility to save user entered fund specific data like in the old "Holdings" tab. In the Asset Analysis Form it should be easier to compare two Funds agains each user with regards to performance, risk, etc.

April 2019

Matthew from CPPIB

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Extensive Feature Set and Strong Support

We use AlternativeSoft to manage a complex hedge fund portfolio, as well as a centralized source of performance and market data.

Pros

Great feature set, very responsive support team, and excellent APIs enable us to build highly customized solutions.

Cons

We've experienced a bit more instability and issues with new version releases. Hope that the quality control of updates will be improved in the future.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Fund Manager Analytics Software

Overall, I have had a great experience with AlternativeSoft. It has made my job much easier because return data is automatically pulled from our prime broker and I can run reports that give me key insights into our fund performance.

Pros

I enjoy how easy the software is to use. I can easily pull up fund level return data and find key data points, such as correlations and volatility. Also, I can compare easily against key benchmarks and peer groups.

Cons

Sometimes, when using the software it can get a bit laggy when typing in fund information, causing a delay.

April 2019

Lorenzo from Monsoon Alternative Investments LLP

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Logical, intuitive and a sound quantitative tool

Good tool for comparing managers’ performances, creating synthetic benchmarks and building portfolios within specified risk boundaries. Help desk team always helpful and knowledgeable. Good value for money.

Pros

Easy to learn. Great support team. Very solid quantitative models behind the tools.

Cons

Not sure. It offers a solid and intuitive portfolio construction method. There is little to fault.

June 2018

Farès from Investment Management

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Very satisfied overall. Some features still need to be implemented in our view.

Pros

Very dedicated and helpful customer support. The software is quite complete but would need small enhancement to make it fully efficient.

Cons

Some features are missing to reflect our true portfolio. I'm confident that this will be implemented soon by the team.

September 2019

Stefana from Social Buzzing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Excellent

Very good experience, very happy with this - I think it was a good investment for the company!

Pros

Really good feature set, always available support team and excellent APIs with highly customized solutions.

Cons

Some minor issues with new versions but the support team has sorted that our quickly!

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Review

Pros

Ease of running reports and updating analyses.

Cons

Wish there were more excel templates that cover a larger spectrum of the software.

March 2019

Bari from Gonet & Cie

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Gonet Review

We were still working with Excel to compute performances... So for us it is a big step and a much higher level of analysis. Even though I know this software is mainly used by fund managers, I am sure it will be fine for our portfolio management.

Pros

Link any sources of data with the program Flexibility of the programming team Analysis of the portfolio is very impressive and the live update with time window's adjustments is very important and useful.

Cons

It looks a bit outdated in terms of design but it doesn't matter. I already used the program so I was familiar with it, but for a beginner, it is not so user-friendly. In portfolio construction, time-window often is often re-based and adapted to the initial date when reopening a portfolio, and do not save the last time window used. So it makes me often check my weights (model 2) over the time line to see if there is no data missing...

April 2019

alex from rcm

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

good software fo my purposes

portfolio construction / time series analysis

Pros

ease of usage overall- time series management

Cons

stability of system overall- but seems to get better

September 2019

Caitlin from Self Employed

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great for performance review

Pros

Super easy to use and great IT support . We will definitely be continuing to use their performance review software following our free trial.

Cons

No issues have arisen yet, any confusion was cleared up by their support team .

April 2019

Soon Kit from Temasek Holding's Fullerton

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Good software for buy side

Pros

Good layout and feature. Good product base for futher extension

Cons

nothing so far. need more GTM positioning and you can increase market share easily