User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(27)

27

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse AppFolio Investment Management Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -4 of 46 results

May 2021

Daniel from Aeon Partners

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Aeon Partners Impressed with AppFolio Investment Management

Working with AppFolio Investment Management daily has been a favorable experience. AppFolio IM has the functionality we need and the features our investors require. Moreover, we can ask a question and AppFolio IM support staff (an actual person!) will respond quickly with a solution(s).

Pros

In addition to the outstanding customer service that accompanies the software, the software is user-friendly with the functionality we require. Between calculating performance metrics, calculating waterfalls, investor management, asset management, and fundraising capabilities, AppFolio IM is a full-service software package that meets and exceeds our expectations as Investment Sponsors/Asset Managers and the expectations of our investors.

Cons

Zero--continue innovating and adding functionality based on user feedback. We are impressed with the software and would recommend to anyone.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

AppFolio Investment Management is a world-class investment management platform at a fraction of the price compared to RealPage IMS and Yardi. AppFolio IM is constantly adding new features requested by its client base to capture the needs and wants of real estate investment professionals. More importantly, our investors are impressed with their investor portals and the functionality it offers.

February 2020

Will from Fairlawn Capital

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

AppFolio IM Provides Tremendous Value at a Great Price!

The biggest benefits of AppFolio Investment Management are that we now look and feel more professional to our investor group, and implementing the solution was neither time-consuming or costly. On an ongoing basis, the platform reduces the time required to keep track of our growing investment and investor base, enhances our investor communication methods, keeps us closer to and more constantly in contact with our investors, and helps ensure data accuracy via integration with AppFolio Property Manager.

Pros

My investors love the portal and it makes my life exponentially easier versus manual and scattered investment tracking methods. My firm already uses AppFolio Property Manager, so it was an easy decision to add Investment Management, and the integration is seamless. We also felt that the price point was very attractive compared to other stand-alone programs, but without making any real sacrifices from our "must-haves." The customer support has been tremendous and I feel as if the software is continually evolving for the better.

Cons

Some features and functionality are still lacking, although the product team is constantly in contact for feedback and advice on new features. For some minor items, we had to create workarounds until newer functionality is fully built-out, but nothing has held me back from becoming fully operational in the platform. That said, we appreciate that the system is getting better-by-the-day and that we have a voice in future versions of the product.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Cost and seamless integration with our operating software

July 2021

David from Channing Realty Advisors, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Would recommend AppFolio to anyone!

Pros

AppFolio has been a great value for our company. The investor portal has made communicating with our investors more effective, faster and easier. The AppFolio support team is stellar!

Cons

Customizing some of the "canned" emails for standard investor emails should be easier.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Ease of use, price, customer support.

November 2020

Giulietta from Access Financial Group, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2020

Time Saver

The initial experience converting data could have been better managed. We were provided with limited information and had to rely on customer service to get through the early stages. Our experience with customer service has been exceptional. They are attentive and respond back quickly. Over the past year we have worked with members of the different product teams. They have been able to adapt IM so it meets our needs. We have a few more outstanding items but with time we know these too will get resolved. Overall great product.

Pros

Saving so much processing time. Our quarter end process and K-1 year end reporting went from days to hours/minutes. It is so beneficial having all our investor information consolidated in 1 system compared to many separate excel spreadsheets. We also use AppFolio Property Manager and both systems work well together for accounting purposes.

Cons

Not having all the capable functionality available to us. We have an active fund and the functionality we would benefit using is only available to "New Offerings" The Investor Statements still need work before our company can utilize them.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

We were already using AppFolio Property Manager (APM). APM is a great product and felt confident in trying another of AppFolio's products.

December 2020

Peter from International Capital, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

On the way to a great product

We got rave reviews from many investors. It is a great platform and (still as of this review) costs a fraction of the leading products out there who have a few more features and are a bit more mature. However, AppFolio has been awesome in listening to reasonable requests which make the product better and hence they roll out new features often. This to me is very valuable. Try to have any of the 2-3 "leading elephants" move or change something .... Good luck. So I am very happy with the decision to go with AppFolio. It does 95% of what we need for 50% (or even less) of the price of the others.

Pros

- The Investor view is very good and easy to understand for the investor. Good overview with easy drill down. - You can send out new investment solicitations from within the system - Integration into Email

Cons

Still a bit rough in some aspects like file management, if you have A LOT of files. If you only have let's say up to 10 or so files per investment, all is peachy. You can have an endless amount of files, but it is not that easy to display. They are working of making that easier on the eye.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Price to Feature ratio and a motivated team to race to the top with this product. And they deliver!

December 2020

Nicholas from Dreamstone Investments LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Love our AIM portal

My team and I love using it

Pros

Ease of use, easy to find items, the flow to setting up new deals is much easier. Investors enjoy using the platform

Cons

Could use more waterfall options, not being able to change docs once the investments goes live to investors.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Pricing, customer service, ease of use

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

IMS was too expensive, too confusing and lacking in certain areas

September 2020

Raffaella from Remida Management LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Appfolio a great discovery

It is a great product which helps taking care of tenants and finances. I daily use it and the more I do, the more I like it.

Pros

I find easy to search everything in the top bar, the help center has been of great help during my training and solved every issue in a blink of an eye.

Cons

it is not easy to understand reports that split rents and prepayments. I wish there was a way to customize reports according to the data I need to get to fill out my monthly statistics.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

We needed a more complete product to be able to cope better with multifamily properties and had asset investments features to create a portal for our clients .

May 2021

Alicia from Whitestone

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Great Support Team

I'd say a 7+. AppFolio has a great support team, however I do find hangups with the software from time to time that I think could eventually go away. It's not perfect but for the price it's pretty good.

Pros

I like the immediate support responses. I like how this software is also utilized as an effective CRM.

Cons

I'm not the biggest fan of the docusign functionality in this software, I think it could be a LOT better. Need to include international bank accounts.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Juniper Square was WAY too expensive and too many bells and whistles.

May 2021

Daisy from JMSred

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Great All-In-One Investor Management System!

Appfolio has been great when it comes to customer service and helping us get the system all set up properly. They have even offered solutions when it comes to replicating some of the complicated structures in the system. They have also been open to any feedback that would make the system easy for us and our investors to use.

Pros

The Appfolio Investment Management software allowed us to consolidate all of our various spreadsheets into one system. This allowed us to have one go-to place for investor information. It will also allow our investor to check their investments and access docs whenever they need to. The system has been very easy to use overall!

Cons

There are a few changes that need to be done on the back-end. However, every Appfolio associate I have talked to has been really helpful and quick with the turn around time.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Compared to another software we were approached for, Appfolio was at a much better pricing point. We were using the Appfolio Property Management software already, which we really liked, so decided it would be great to just have everything in one place. Also, we loved that Appfolio would take our feedback and possibly make changes to match our reporting needs.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Top Tiered Investment Management Software at a Reasonable Price

I'm a very happy customer and would definitely recommend this solution!

Pros

AppFolio Investment Management integrates seamlessly with AppFolio Property Manager, enabling seamless accounting. Additionally, the ability to easily create distributions and print checks via Property Manager is a big plus for us. The support team is super friendly and helpful as well!

Cons

Some items require the AppFolio team to adjust them and the system is pretty unforgiving if a mistake is made (i.e. a data entry error is hard to delete without contacting support and having them do it via the backend).

May 2019

Jeremy from Argo Property Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Greatest business enabler so far

We were using email and conference calls to communicate investment information previous to AppFolio IM. Every time we had a call or sent an email different content was shared and it was a labor intensive process that we couldn't keep up with. Even worse, our accounting team managed investor reports via Excel reports which were cumbersome, time consuming to create, had errors, and we weren't always sure which was the latest version. Using AppFolio IM we can add all investors to a prospective opportunity and launch fundraising with one distribution... and we never attach files to emails that used to get forwarded far beyond where they were intended. And our accountants save whole days worth of time. In numerical terms, we have probably 10-20x our equity raise from the time we started to just 4-6 months forward. And we were able to hire new staff to help raise capital and know they could rely on our pushing information out through the portal consistently and quickly to their new prospects. We've quickly moved past 6-figure investors and well into 7-figure investors.

Pros

Very intuitive and user friendly from an administrator's perspective to get up and running quickly and with only limited time available. Our customers report back we are a stand out among peers and everyone has commented that accessing the site and using the features was simple. The support from the AppFolio IM team is unparalleled; they adapt the program in response to feedback and are always available to help answer technical questions. You never get a "help desk" type experience!

Cons

No complaints yet. New features are added all the time which is great. We are also a user of the AppFolio Property Management site. We evaluated many options and this was the easiest and quickest way for us to launch.

December 2020

Jon from Access Financial Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Real Estate Investment Fund Servicing Software -

Our company is a smaller private real estate investment company, and have one fund at this time. We have about 100 investors in the fund. This software allowed us to have an online presence for our investors, which is not perfect, but has been improving over the 12 months since we started using the software. Software also allows us to take care of a lot of the back end accounting and tracking for our real estate investment, membership capital, quarterly distributions, as well as communication hub.

Pros

Cloud based Built in CRM to track all client information. Can email directly from software to borrower. Includes Investor portal that allows investors to track balances, history, transactions for investment account. Appfolio customer service is great This software works directly and integrates with Appfolio Property Manager software, which we have used for 8 years. We have reduced our need for spreadsheets for tracking purposes by about 80% Ability to pay, reinvest, distribute, track dividend payments right in the software- we do this quarterly, so this is a big time saver.

Cons

Improvements are needed as far as ability to customize certain areas of the investor portal, and the investor statements. Ability to add, or remove information, headings, titles, categories from investor portal and investor statements. Appfolio does take support requests seriously and has made some adjustments based on recommendations.

December 2020

George from Headwall Investments, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Excellent Centralized Platform

Pros

AppFolio Investment Management enables our firm to tie property management, accounting, investor reporting, and fund raising all into one platform in an incredibly efficient manner. Our favorite feature is the investor portal which allows us to keep our equity partners up to date on all of our properties. We love being able to offer our partners features such as this which prior to AppFolio would have only been available to firms much larger than ours.

Cons

We have run into very few problems with the software and anytime we identify an area of improvement the AppFolio Investment Management staff is quick to assist.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

The initial reason for the decision was cost. We have since seen beyond just the baseline cost savings.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

Moving from four platforms into one was more cost effective and integrated more seamlessly.

November 2020

Brian from Four Oaks Capital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Software you can shape...

Pros

While AppFolio's Property Management software is the industry standard, they've only recently introduced their investor management software. With this you get the resources of a juggernaut with the nimbleness of a startup. We've been using AF for over a year and have seen the UI grow by leaps and bounds. For us the 2 greatest aspects of the platform are the ability to request features, edits, requests (big or small) and actually see them get implemented. The other is the customer service. Hands down the best experience we've had with a software provider. Their responsiveness, knowledge and overall thoroughness is critical. Pair all this with a reasonable price and you can't lose.

Cons

Whatever bells & whistles other providers may offer....AF has either implemented them or has them on their horizon.

May 2021

Angie from Enclave Property Management

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

AppFolio IM Implementation

It is amazing to have a place to safely keep all of our investor information that can then be used to calculate distributions.

Pros

Not only does IM integrate with AppFolio, but it eliminates our reliance on clunky error prone excel workbooks for calculating our distributions. It saves us time, and gives us peace of mind that that calculations are accurate, and it saves us time in entering them in a separate step.

Cons

Hard to say there is something we didn't like about the software; One place that we continue to see need is in reporting. The team has been great taking our recommendations and continually adding new functionality, especially in this area. There is so much useful information that we have in IM, that we utilize for other calculations, the more reporting options the better.

December 2020

Jerry from Watermarq Capital Partners

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Watermrq Capital Partners

We were very impressed with the smooth transition, customer service is outstanding. A big shoutout to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] always responsive and attentive to my concerns. A great team to work with!

Pros

The ability to be transparent with our investor and have all our investment history neatly in one place added a tremendous confidence that our investor have with our firm.

Cons

Would love to see more built-in option to make larger distributions. Would be great to have more internal reporting features for current and past deals.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Much cheaper and we were familiar with their other program and had confidence that they would provide a quality product

February 2021

Tristan from Birgo Capital

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Appfolio IM for Real Estate Investment Funds

Overall it is a very positive experience. One of the best things about using any Appfolio software is the great team at Appfolio. I have used many cloud based software solutions, and the Appfolio team really goes above and beyond for their customers.

Pros

Appfolio IM is constantly being improved and developed. I see new features added constantly, which increases the value of the product for us. If you are an Appfolio PM customer the syncing between IM and PM will significantly cut down on your administrative time recording information in your accounting system and your investment management system. As far as the investor facing portals, they are clean and easy to use. I have never received any negative feedback from an investor on accessing/utilizing their portal.

Cons

Nothing major to note here. There are minor inconveniences that I stumble across sometimes while using IM; however, this is to be expected when using out of the box cloud software. I'm really impressed with how Appfolio responds to feedback, asks questions, and is honest about whether or not the feedback can be implemented.

May 2021

David from Cove Investments

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Appfolio Investment Management has worked well for me

Very good service and support.

Pros

The software is easy to use and helps me provide an attractive front-end to my investors. They have a single place to view all of their investments with my firm. The software actually has a lot of great features that I don't have the need for today, but it's great to know that I'll have the tools when I'm ready. The email and CRM functionality has come a long way. After a rocky start with the editor, I've started to use IM for all of my investor communication.

Cons

It's all easy to use but I wish it could integrate with other partners who also operate with their own Appfolio IM license. There should be a way to share that info.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Value for price.

March 2021

Morgan from Emmett Ochs Investments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Extremely Intuitive and Excellent Value

Excellent experience from day one. The migration/onboarding from our previous platform couldn't have been smoother. The user interface is intuitive and thus very easy to learn and make changes. Workflows are smooth and we feel like we can trust AIM as our system of record, full stop.

Pros

The seamless integration with AppFolio Property Manager has saved us countless hours and headaches. The level of automation AIM provides (e.g. K-1's) has saved time and made us look smart to our investors. Processes that used to require a lot of manual setup and back-and-forth with investors have been reduced to a few clicks of the mouse with virtually no need to hold investors' hands. The reporting will save us additional time in the future.

Cons

We'd like to see a bit more functionality with regard to sales and transfers, but AIM has informed us this is in the works so we have no complaints.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

The integration with AppFolio Property Manager saves us valuable time and reduces the possibility for errors. The intuitiveness of AIM simplifies investor communication so we can spend time on business development.

September 2020

Natalie from The Ritchie Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Amazing Experience

Once we are completely on line this software will allow all our investors to be able to see what is going on with their investments and will cut back on the calls I receive.

Pros

The investment features are very important to our business and upon educating myself with the help of [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Team and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we are working toward utilizing the software and also having all of our investors use it. An amazing software that is transitioning as needed.

Cons

The only real problem we experienced was our upload that did not work due to comas and periods in the upload. I have worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] a lot with getting this process completed. This is minimal to the need for this type of software.

May 2021

Mike from M&M Ventures

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Appfolio Investment Management Review

Overall a very good tool for our real estate syndication efforts. Also the support is excellent.

Pros

This investment tool is very user friendly, enables our team to efficiently collaborate with each other on equity fundraising & CRM responsibilities and allows us to present a very professional image to our committed Investors who have online portal access their investment details, ownership %, cash distributions history, year end tax K-1 information and more.

Cons

We haven't used the application long enough to discover many negative aspects of the software.

June 2021

Carrie from International Capital, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Review of AppFolio Investment Management

We have had a very positive experience with AppFolio from implementation to daily operations. The customer service is exceptional and the team is always open to our ideas. New features are implemented often.

Pros

I like that the product provides our clients with easy access 24/7 to their investments. It improves communication and streamlines the reporting process. AppFolio puts key information at our fingertips as well making asset management more efficient.

Cons

There could be more CRM features and more document sorting categories.

June 2021

Mitchell from A8 Capital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Customer Service is the Difference

AppFolio Investment Management has been a significantly effective tool to create, promote and manage our offerings.

Pros

Customer Service Offering Setup Investor On-Boarding Investor Management

Cons

Third-Party Accreditation Management Capability

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

While the basic features of investment management software are generally covered by every company, the people and dedicated customer service we get from AppFolio make all the difference in the world!

December 2020

Morris from NWCREI

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Investment Management Software

Pros

It makes me much more efficient in what I do everyday. It has transformed the way I do my business and how interact with my customers

Cons

Can't think of anything. Appfolio is always improving the product....it seems almost weekly they and new features

June 2021

Jon from Moneil Investment Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Love Appfolio and their whole team.

In a nutshell, Appfolio is a very versatile and adaptable investment management software. I've really enjoyed that it is a one stop shop. It even has a docusign like feature!

Pros

I love how easy appfolio is to use and the support from the team.

Cons

I wish the software could be a little more customizable around which questions to ask when someone signs up, and then it could segregate them based on their answers. Other than this, we love the software.

December 2020

Trevor from RanchHarbor

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

RanchHarbor

Pros

The platform is extremely affordable. I am impressed with the constant upgrades and improvements that are being added as Appfolio continues to improve the program. The customer service is excellent, responsive, and quick to help solve issues or answer questions.

Cons

More user functionality on the back end would be nice rather than having to rely on submitting a support request for the Appfolio team to solve the problem on their end.

February 2021

Andrew from Presidio Capital Partners

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Great Product Development Team

Pros

Great user support and a very responsive product development team. The platform has robustly boosted our efficiency and streamlined our investor communications.

Cons

Like most platforms, a continuing work in progress; the development team behind the product is though, is on it... they are very responsive to user feedback and constantly adding and enhancing features.

May 2021

Carlos from Norden Realty Investments

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Customer Service flattens the learning curve

AppFolio Investment Management has been easy to implement, to use and to disseminate among our investors. The customer service for Investment Management has exceeded expectations making any questions easily understood.

Pros

The organizing and uploading of the data needed to serve the clients was easy. From that point any additional uploads and investor notifications/messages have been user friendly activities.

Cons

What is probably for compliance reasons, there are a few things that can only be changed by the service. So, a quick email or phone call resolves the issue in minutes. When there has been trouble it has come from the sister software of AppFolio Property Management

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

We made the decision in tandem with the AppFolio Property Management software. The value proposed was worth it. Other competitors were not a fit for a boutique commercial real estate investment firm like ours.

February 2021

Mike from Magma Equities

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great Value

Not only has this portal improved and increased communication with our investors, it demonstrates a level of professionalism to them that usually only large companies can afford.

Pros

The setup was fast and effortless and the portal is very user friendly. Customer service has been 10/10 every time I have reached out. But most importantly it has made it easer for us to communicate with our investors, so we do it more often, which they value.

Cons

We have funds and properties on the portal. And sometimes a fund invests in a property. Investors in our fund have a more limited view of the property than someone who invests directly in the property.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

It was really a cost based decision. I was impressed by the demo I saw, but figured the price point would be closer to some of the competitors we looked into. I was so happy with the proposal I signed up that day.

February 2021

Karri-Lynn from Island Estate Group LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great Company

Easy to use, support is super helpful with a quick response time.

Pros

Keeps all of our investors, their information, their documents all in one spot.

Cons

When you are in for example investing entities and you are working with someone with the letter P and need to go back to S, you have to go back and scroll through the entire list.

February 2021

Amy from Emmett Ochs Investments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

User-friendly and Intuitive Design

The onboarding process with AIM's team was incredibly easy and efficient. We've also received wonderful feedback from our investors regarding the owner portal.

Pros

AIM is extremely user-friendly, and the software's intuitive design made the onboarding process a breeze. The integration with AppFolio Property Manager also allows for increased efficiency and accounting accuracy. AIM offers a wide range of functionality without over complicating the backend process. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I could do in the software with minimal training.

Cons

The waterfall calculation could use some added levels of complexity.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

As a long-time user of AppFolio Property Manager for our accounting software, the integration with AIM is what initially got our attention. We were updating two different systems with our previous investment management software and catching various oversights. However, the ultimate reason for our switch is AIM's capital account statement functionality and the ability to include current net equity in our IRR calculation.

February 2021

Gary from Woodside Health

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

AppFolio is great

Pros

Easy to use. Intuitive. AppFolio team is very responsive and implements my feedback. Secure way to distribute K-1s and other sensitive info.

Cons

It's a new thing, so they're still working out some kinks and bugs, but nothing big.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Worked well for what we needed and was competitively priced.

September 2020

Devin from DJE Texas Management Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Happy we made the switch

Pros

Pricing, ease of use, responsiveness of support

Cons

Digital signatures were very basic when we started, they have since been improved

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Pricing, features, and support

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

Technical issues

May 2021

Mallory from Tango developments

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Love appfolio team

Wonderful customer service. Can’t rave enough about their great customer experience and their ability to listen and adapt to the needs of their clients. We are all so pleased with appfolio.

Pros

Quick responses to all questions and inquiries! They listen to our feedback and makes changes/updates to the system based off our feedback which is huge for us as a small growing company! We are so happy with appfolio being our investor portal.

Cons

Sometimes there are tasks I don’t have the ability to do on my own. The appfolio team always handles the task on their end within minutes of me emailing them, so it’s a very minuscule con.

November 2020

Frank from Frank Kurre

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Real estate portal

Pros

Great customer service! Administrative burden significantly reduced through on-line portal with electronic signatures on documents.

Cons

Could improve the ability to remove investors and put investments into active status.

June 2021

Jay from Collins Group LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Satisfied User!

Pros

Relatively easy transition, professional and friendly support team!

Cons

Would like if the software offered better ACH integration in order to pay distributions.

June 2021

Alexander from Amity Companies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

AppFolio review

The software has been hugely beneficial in communicating with our clients and tracking equity and distributions. We also believe that our clients really appreciate having a portal where they can go to view all of their investments with us. Overall, AppFolio has been a really great asset to have for our business!

Pros

Client contribution/distribution tracking and client communincation

Cons

-Better waterfall customization would be a plus. -Exporting excel in CSV is pain point. Would appreciate option for XLS

March 2021

Daisy from Greenwood & McKenzie

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Simple and Easy to Use

Pros

Transfer Position is my favorite feature. Transfers can easily and quickly be done within minutes.

Cons

I think reports can be improved. With time, I am sure they will improve.

October 2019

Jerry from JMG Capital Investments

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

great investor software

Pros

Appfolio being new to this field gave us leverage and flexibility as we already used their property management software. Since we started using the software in March they have made dozens of changes to add additional features and features.

Cons

Basically, nothing as we new to automating investor management

June 2021

Mihir from Philly Capital Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Thoughtful Tool

Love it and it’s easy to use, our investors love it as well.

Pros

AppFolio is a well thought out software to help manage our project investors.

Cons

Price point is a bit high. And can’t control the other users as much as I would like to give more access or reduce access as I need.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Easy to use

May 2021

John from Evergreen RE LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Great for growing investors

Pros

It allowed us to scale our investor management and have one software for many functions.

Cons

Difficulty in adding Notes as an investment type, though it is possible, its a little more complicated than equity.

May 2021

Juan from GenWealth Capital Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Excellent Platform

My overall experience has been great. The customer service for Appfolio has been extremely helpful and very willing to answer and address any questions. I've reached out to them for recommendations on improving the platform and they have listened and adopted the changes. I would certainly recommend Appfolio to anyone looking to grow and systemize their business.

Pros

What I like most about the platform is that it's simple to use and it's appealing to the eye compared to other platforms.

Cons

There are still some small kinks to address but the team is doing a great job improving the platform.

June 2021

Alex from AZ Investments Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Powerful, Functional and Easy to Use

Pros

Investment Management, tracking returns and the investor portal

Cons

financial reporting of operations and integration with 3rd party property managers

June 2021

Bradley from Sym Investments

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Great Platform at a great price

It was and continues to be a great team to work with.

Pros

User friendly and great customer service.

Cons

It would be nice if the software was more robust.

May 2020

Atticus from Montecito Venture Partners, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Outstanding Product

After spending an hour or so driving the features with the assistance of an AppFolio representative, it became easy to use and navigate. Whenever I have questions I receive thorough answers promptly, which is very helpful.

Pros

Easy to use, investors love it, and it is a great and efficient way to communicate with investors and distribute tax information.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to send emails from a no-reply address, but not a big deal, and Appfolio is constantly improving the features and functionality.

March 2021

Ryan from Third Coast Development LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Great Customer Support!

Had an issue with a couple of property set-ups in AIM, and Customer Support responded quickly. They took care of things so I had very little to do on my end.

Pros

Integrates nicely with Appfolio Property Management, so there's very little duplication of work.

Cons

Nothing, very few issues thus far.