Smokeball Software

4.64 / 5 (59)

Our advisors have recommended this product 13 times in the last 30 days

About Smokeball

Smokeball is a complete cloud-based legal productivity software to automatically record time for you, allowing you to increase your firm’s profitability and productivity by over 30%. Whether you bill hourly, fixed fee, or on contingency, Smokeball provides you the insights you need to run a more profitable law firm. Plus, with over 14,000 automated forms and a robust MS Word and Outlook integration, managing your firm has never been so consistent - and easy. Access all matters on the go with Smokeball’s mobile app built for iPhone and Android. Smokeball is a premium practice/case management product and only for PC computers running Windows 8 or 10. Smokeball is a practice management software with dedicated, award-winning customer support and consulta...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 8, Windows 10

58 Reviews of Smokeball

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.64 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(44)

44

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 58 results

March 2018

Jay from Law Offices of Jay H Chie

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Our firm use to use timematters, but this is way better. It's like driving a chevy vs. mercendes!

This software makes our office more efficient which means I need one less secretary. I have access from my phone and tablet which makes it easier for me to work outside of the office.

Pros

It's very integrated for every need possible as a small law firm. This software links all my emails into the file. It's just a powerful system.

Cons

Since I'm a baby boomer, it's too much to remember, but that's my fault and not the software. I wish every time I get a phone message, a separate window would pop up to call instead of me looking for it or getting it thru email.

January 2020

Natasha from LONH

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Great product but still lacking in essential features!

I have really enjoyed using this product and a have been a strong advocate from day one; however, I am concerned that they have not fixed this problem and I do not have the one capability that I need which is being able to get my emails and task while Im in the car.

Pros

This software is easy to use and all of my staff love it! It improves our workflow, makes us more efficient and makes every day more enjoyable!

Cons

This software is lacking in one essential area you are unable to get your emails and task while on the go on your phone. I was told this app and feature works when I signed up for three years only to find out later that it does not work and the calendar is not very good either

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

I chose Smokeball because all the features, the efficiencies and the workflows. Overall I am pleased but disappointed and not having this major feature

February 2020

Edward from Coyne Stahl Jansen, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Execellent Case Managment System.

Since I started using Smokeball, my profitability has increased by almost thirty percent. It keeps everything in one place and can make even a complex practice more manageable. The customer service is very responsive and Smokeball is constantly evolving new features and products to facilitate the needs of their customers.

Pros

I have been using Smokeball for almost four (4) years now. The document assembly and integration with Microsoft Office are fantastic. It stores everything about the case, contacts, documents, emails all in one place. Since I have been a user, they have added a billing program, which has increased our profitability.

Cons

Some of the billing features can be cumbersome at times, but if you train your staff to work within the parameters of the program, (i.e. making sure that payments on invoices are actually applied to the invoices), these minor issues can be managed.

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

I chose Smokeball because it provided the most comprehensive case management system I could ask for. Further, Smokeball continues to improve their product, and a result thereof,continues to evolve and improve my practice in terms of profitability and efficiency.

February 2019

Lee from Lee Pugh & Associates, PLLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2019

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Response from Smokeball

Replied January 2020

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access. (2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

December 2017

Theodore from Theodore Alatsas, Esq

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Most complete case management program available.

Pros

The software is easy to use, intuitive, and loaded with features that are easy to customize to practice needs, the billing integration, with the recently added auto activity trackers, make billing simple. Just when they make an improvement, they add additional improvements and enhance,ents with integrations to make practice management even more efficient. Example, they just added law pay and QuickBooks integrations to the Boost billing portal, making accounting, and collections easier and faster. The support team is responsive, and is always looking to learn from customers how to make the program better. Just spent have an hour with them on a call in which they were looking for suggestions on how to make the mobile app better. Whenever they make enhancements, they provide support instantly to train, if necessary, but usually the changes are so intuitive, that very little training is ever needed. I can't say that I have experienced better customer service. Well worth it.

Cons

My only complaint would be price, but that is really a nominal complaint. I have paid so much more, per month, for other types of software, research and other types of programs and services, that the pricing really isn't bad at all.