All Teachworks Reviews

1-25 of 47 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michael

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Great scheduling and billing software

PROS

I like that the software keeps track of invoicing and running balances for clients. It definitely cuts down the leg work of having to go back through person by person and creating invoices.

CONS

Sometimes we want to see all math tutors that are available so I'd be better when filtering if you could select multiple instructors at once so you don't have to bounce between calendars to find open times.

Vendor Response

Hi Michael, thanks for the great review! We're so happy to hear that our invoicing features are useful for your business :) I would recommend using our Tutor Calendar's "Day" view to see availability for all tutors at once. This calendar displays a list of your tutors on the left with their unavailability greyed out. You can click on an open time slot to quickly add a new lesson.

Replied August 2019

User Profile

Joyee

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Lots of functionality -- No live support options

All in all, it took over 3 months and over $2000 of external support to be able to switch my CRM over to Teachworks and figure out how to use it. Now that we have a handle on it, it is finally starting to function to become a part of our business. I am saddened that this process could have been smoothed over by an onboarding call that I would have gratefully paid money for. Instead, we were left to fend for ourselves because of the lack of intuitiveness of the system.

PROS

Teachworks has a lot of functionality. It allows users to customize based off their needs. Users can bill hourly or in bulk packages. Lots of options for allowing clients to schedule all at the click of a button. I had seen teachworks years ago, but didn't want to transfer my business over because the platform seemed intimidating. Now, after 3 months it is not so intimidating.

CONS

Onboarding was took three months and $2000. This is largely because TW does not offer any live phone support or onboarding training as do many tech platforms. I was absolutely flummoxed for 3 months and hired VAs and admin to help me transition to the new platform. I begged the company to provide some sort of customer support that I would have gratefully paid for, but they said they couldn't help. Instead, I had to stumble through for two to three hours, figure out what my question even was, then ask support for help. Most of the time, I got redirected to a long help page which often didn't answer my question. There is functionality within the program, but when the documentation doesn't clearly indicate such, then the user is left to wade through pages upon pages of documentation and/or fast forward through videos to find the exact answer to the question. This is not useful for somebody who has limited time or for someone who isn't comfortable with technology. A lot of the functionality is unclear unless you explicitly ask support for help. Ex., Does the system send a message upon scheduling an appointment? Ex., Does cancelling an appointment send a message? In other platforms there are little question marks you can hover over, but in TW you're left to do some trial and error until you figure out exactly what each little thing does. I also dislike that it does not two-way sync with any calendar programs.

Reason for choosing Teachworks

Ability to track packages, and referrals by colleagues.

Reasons for switching to Teachworks

There was no package tracking ability.

Rami

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2020

Doesn’t work

Last 4 years have been fine up until the last 4 months, full calendar doesn’t work which is the one I regularly used. I can’t view names, can’t view the whole day, and frankly sick and tired of following up on their issue and still having nothing done

PROS

I liked it when it worked properly, now it doesn’t.

CONS

Having to follow up on fixing their issue for couple of months and still having same problems. Missed out on 3 classes because the calendar can’t display times and students properly. No attempt made to fix things on their end when I’ve done everything on my end.

Vendor Response

Hi Rami, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you're frustrated. Based on the messages you've sent previously to our support team we understand that you're referring to the appearance of the calendar. The calendar feature hasn't changed in the past couple years, but it sounds like you've changed the default calendar view from month to week. Fortunately, it's very easy to change the default calendar view on your profile, so you can go back to enjoying the feature as you've done in the past. I have personally emailed you with the same instructions we've provided previously.

Replied February 2020

James

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Fantastic

Brilliant

PROS

Easy to use, has streamlined my scheduling and invoicing. integrates well with other programs via zapier

CONS

Calendar can be a little fidly - the ability to copy/past entire days would be fantastic - at the moment you can only copy paste individual lessons

Vendor Response

Hi James, thanks for your review! We really appreciate the kind words and great feedback.

Replied December 2022

Jonah

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Couldn't imagine life without Teachworks!

Teachworks is an integral part of our operations. It is highly intuitive and easy to use, prevents errors in accounting, and offers a high level of transparency in billing and payments to both our students and teachers. Best of all, it saves huge amounts of time. Tasks that took a full two days of work pre-Teachworks now take under an hour, reminder emails we used to send manually are now automated, and payments are collected faster with easy card payments right from the invoice. The add-ons are fantastic and very useful. The support is great, and the developers are constantly at work - it's amazing to see how the features keep improving! The only thing left to desire is more direct integrations with other apps and services, but we get around this easily by using the excel spreadsheet data exports, which we can import into our other business apps as needed. We've been using Teachworks for two years now, and can't imagine doing it any other way.

PROS

- ease of use - lesson cost/wage tracking - email automation - invoice creation - employee wage statement creation - reports

CONS

- no integration with google apps - no integration with zapier - invoice automation isn't customizable enough to be useful for us - custom forms are not customizable enough to be useful for us

Vendor Response

Hi Jonah, Thank you for your review! We will continue to work hard to enhance the features and integrations! Regards, The Teachworks Team

Replied July 2017

Yarin

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2017

Drastically simplified our day to day operations, constantly expanding and actively maintained

great platform!

PROS

Includes almost all of the basic functionality that an tutoring organization needs. The core functions that cover billing and scheduling are robust, flexible and reliable. The site is reliable, performs well on any device and is intuitive. Features and integrations are expanding, great platform!

CONS

Lack of custom API integration prevents us from building on top of this platform. We want the ability to leverage APIs to push/pull client and staff data. Lead generation/management is lacking and really needs to be managed outside of this platform. No integration with social media. Ability to blast SMS to select tutors for client matching while managing responses. Chat bot type functionality would be awesome! Integration with e-signing platform like signnow would be great. Currently need to manage e-signing contracts separately.

Vendor Response

Hi Yarin, thanks for the great review! We¿re happy to hear that Teachworks has simplified your day to day operations. Our API will be available soon, but we¿ll let you know as soon as it¿s ready. Your SMS suggestion will be a good addition to our existing SMS features and we¿ll definitely consider it for a future update.

Replied September 2017

Joel

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Teachworks Almost Five Years Later...

We have been using Teachworks for managing our tutoring business for almost five years and it continues to exceed our expectations. It's made us more effective and efficient across all aspects of our business. The system is easy to set up and use, and if needed, help is readily available. Teachworks lives up to its marketing promises. We recommend it highly and without any hesitation.

PROS

Teachworks is easy to use. It's intuitive and well-thought out. It continues to make us more efficient across every aspect of our business and has allowed us to scale up easily. Integration was easy and help was readily available as it has continued to be throughout our experience.

CONS

The product truly is intuitive, easy to use and help is readily available, if needed.

Reason for choosing Teachworks

Easy to use and help was readily available

Reasons for switching to Teachworks

Needed a new product for a new undertaking

Vendor Response

Hi Joel, thanks for your review! We really appreciate the kind words and great feedback.

Replied September 2022

ashlee

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Life saver for our business

Excellent

PROS

Ease of use and intuitive process for our tutors.

CONS

There is a big learning curve to optimize the use of the product. I would prefer and in-person trainer

Vendor Response

Hi Ashlee, thanks for your review! We really appreciate the great feedback.

Replied July 2022

Loretta

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Time Saver

PROS

Teachworks keeps us organized and up to date on schedule changes. It's great for all staff members, regardless of location, to be able to access client and schedule information.

CONS

It would be nice to have a bar graph for the services breakdown report in addition to the pie chart. Service categories AND subcategories would also be helpful for quick management reviews.

Vendor Response

Hi Loretta, thanks for your review! We really appreciate the great feedback.

Replied August 2022

Elon

Primary/Secondary Education, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Review of Teachworks

Excellent!

PROS

The product is very easy to use and I depend on it to schedule appointments, organize client information and streamline business processes.

CONS

I can't think of any right now! All the kinks have been worked out!

Vendor Response

Hi Elon, thanks for your review! We really appreciate the great feedback.

Replied September 2022

Dana

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2023

Behind for Todays Clients but Excellent for 10 Years Ago

We have been using TW for 7 years. We like many things about it but we have been VERY frustrated by how slowly things change and improve and that it is impossible (even when we have offered to pay) to get additional support.

PROS

It is robust, consistent, well established, reliable. The ability to have tutors invoice from their completed lessons and for us to be able to pull reports etc. is all very good.

CONS

Two main issues - The biggest is the online booking featurs for clients. It is difficult to set up and customize. Changes have been very very slow. It is not very intuitive for clients so it often causes problems for them and makes the process more work than it is worth. The second is the lack of in person help and video tutorials. There could be way more videos on their online booking features. A third is that while TW says they sync with QBO, the sync does not work well.

Reason for choosing Teachworks

We have stuck with TW because it is a good product but more so because it takes a lot of time (and therefore money) to change systems once you have 25+ tutors. If we were to start again, we would not go with Teachworks due to the sub par online booking features and the lack of live support.

Vendor Response

Hi Dana, thanks for taking the time to submit a review! When we prioritize features to add, it's based on the number of requests we receive. Unfortunately we don't add custom features for individual companies. We're actively adding new features to Teachworks and over the past year, we've added 192 new features and improvements. You can find a list of these in the Change Log (click the "i" icon in your account to find it). The Teachworks API allows companies like yours to build custom integrations. You could use our API to create a custom booking plugin that meets your specific requirements.

Replied March 2023

Erika

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Great CRM for small business!

It's a great CRM for the price but don't expect a lot of help. They do however update the software from time to time and they send an email describing the new updo.

PROS

Teachworks is a great CRM because it is easy to use and it is affordable. Teachworks is a great choice for small business because of this.

CONS

The only issue we have had with Teachworks is trying to integrate a store with to allow customers to gather their information and schedule multiple sessions when purchasing packages from our website.

Vendor Response

Hi Erika, thanks for the great review, we really appreciate it! We're always here to help, so if you have any questions please email our support team or use the widget in your account to submit a message. You can typically expect a reply within 2 hours on Weekdays (9am - 8pm Eastern Time). We also offer support over the weekend :) We add new features regularly and you can find more information about them in our Change Log. You can find our Change Log in your account by going to Account & Settings > Change Log. Thanks again for the great review!

Replied August 2019

Jill

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Overall Positive

It is cost effective and really alleviates organizational issues when scheduling clients.

PROS

I like that this company provides a feedback / review page; however, I think it's strange they base the priority of each review by votes from customers.

CONS

The software makes it difficult to fully use it's customer access feature. We use Teachworks for scheduling appointments and it would be nice to allow out clients to login; however, we have not found a way to disable our clients from seeing other client's appointments and that crosses our confidentiality for them.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review, Jill! Client user accounts only display the client's own lessons and information; however, for non-lesson events when you set the audience to "Everyone" or "Families & Students" those events will be visible on all clients' calendars. You can contact our support team and we'll be happy to show you how to set up your appointments with the correct audience.

Replied March 2018

Burdett

Music, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2022

I wish I didn't sign up

It's okay, but honestly My Music Staff was easier and features were more time saving. Teachworks is too manual, and slows down productivity.

PROS

The calendar system is fairly easy to use, and I have been able to set up an online booking system, but the booking system is by the teacher, and not by time.

CONS

THEY DON'T HAVE AUTOPAY IN THE SOFTWARE! You have to manually charge people for service.

Reason for choosing Teachworks

Teachworks was easier.

Reasons for switching to Teachworks

I needed a booking system on my site

Vendor Response

Hi Burdett, Thanks for your review. Regarding client payments, I would suggest using our Bulk Invoice Payments add-on, which you can use to charge all unpaid invoices rather than manually charging individual invoices.

Replied April 2022

Meena

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2016

Review from users end

Overall, it's a good system, although there are actually a lot of bugs. I've had major problems with invoicing this term. Direct debit is only sometimes automatic - you have to do it manually for some customers, and for others, it's automatic. There are some things that are a bit fiddly with a lot of going back and forth. It syncs with Quickbooks, which is good, but not everything - this requires a lot of manual process. Invoices frequently have bugs, and requires a lot of fiddly manual adjustments if there are lesson changes - it's not all automatic. Calendar changes aren't always updated automatically either. There's a lot of backwards and forwards. It's the best student/teacher management software I've come across for a tuition business, but to be honest, it's not perfect - still a long way to go. They don't do updates frequently enough - improvements are not very frequent. Basic functions like freezing panes for easy view of calendar is not available and the scrolling functions don't carry the subheadings so you don't know to which it's referring to. I've used this for about 6 months and it's ok for the time being.

Vendor Response

Hi Meena, We're sorry to hear about the difficulty you're having getting started with your account. Teachworks has a lot of features and customizable settings, and it sounds like you may need some help with using some of them. We encourage you to get in touch with our customer support team whenever you're having difficulty configuring any of our features. I'll touch on a couple of your comments: 1. Teachworks doesn't have direct debit, but it does allow you to save client credit cards and charge those - so you have to save a credit card to a client's profile in order to charge it. 2. Invoices with lessons that have been changed on the calendar are flagged, and you can follow the prompts to update the invoice. 3. Calendar updates are available as soon as any lesson is changed - you just need to refresh the calendar. 4. We typically add new features & improvements every week which you can view in your account and on our blog.

Replied July 2017

Mike

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: