Blackbaud Church Management Software

3.80 / 5 (5)

Our advisors have recommended this product 4 times in the last 30 days

About Blackbaud Church Management

Drive vitality and care for your church with an easy-to-use, customizable solution for churches of all sizes. Deliver a connected church through one holistic system that connects your staff, volunteers, and congregants. Use software that strengthens relationships by welcoming visitors, retain regular attendees and engage members more deeply with automated processes that make it easy to ensure no one falls through the cracks.

Dive into your community and increase engagement with multichannel communications, small group management, and events that work for your church. All of this plus deep insight into your church community with unmatched analytics and reporting.

Make your ministry more effective than ever by leveraging specialized software capabilitie...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

5 Reviews of Blackbaud Church Management

Average User Ratings

Overall

3.80 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(2)

2

4 stars

(1)

1

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1 - 5 of 5 results

Do you use this product?Write a review

December 2019

Domingo from Passionate Life Church

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Loving it!

From implementation to roll out this has been a wonderful experience for our team!!

Pros

What we like most about the software is how easy it is to use and adapt to our specific needs as a church. Every church is little different and this system is very flexible.

Cons

I have not experienced any cons. I have had moments where I need assistance as the application is new to us, in each instance Blackbaud support has been quick and wonderful to work with.

Reasons for Choosing Blackbaud Church Management

Customer Service and products for the price.

Response from Blackbaud

Replied December 2019

Hi Domingo, Thank you for your review of Blackbaud Church Management. We are so glad to hear you are having a great experience so far and look forward to our continued partnership! Sincerely, The Blackbaud Team

December 2019

Chris from Crossroads Bible Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Almost a great ChMS

The overall experience has been good. We, too were coming off of Seraphim Church Management through the acquisition. So the transition has been a little frustrating and a long process. We were also part of the Early Adopter Program so was able to give a lot of input into what the final product will look like. Blackbaud has been very receptive and appreciative of our suggestions. Some suggestions they have taken and implemented; some suggestions have been a not now but in future development; and some suggestions have been not now or the future. Overall, Blackbaud ChMS is a much better product than Seraphim was and I'm looking forward to all the new features going live in the future.

Pros

Customer Service is amazing. I've been able to build a relationship with the customer service and I'm not just a "number" but they actually know who we are and very good at following up with our issues and needs. I haven't had to call them on a Sunday yet, but hoping they are just as responsive since Sunday is our biggest use day. We have access to a community where we can ask questions and get response pretty quickly either by Blackbaud or by others on the community. The child check-in is very user friendly and we have gotten great feedback on how easy it is to check kids into the system. Live attendance is amazing because our directors are able to pull it up on the phones to double check numbers against actual kids in the classrooms.

Cons

It's not a complete product. I titled my review Almost a great ChMS and rated it a 6 on my likelihood to recommend the product mainly because it's not whole package. There are still a few things I'd like to see developed sooner than later. Notifications are the next feature on our list of things needed. We have to be able to have push notifications (text or email) sent out to our pastors when tasks are assigned; to our volunteers when assignments have been made available; and auto-notifications to our small group leaders, like "Please remember to take attendance" or notifications our small group leaders can send out to their group. The bulk email/newsletter designer is a little clunky. The app is still underdeveloped (only includes a giving aspect) so there is no way to invite the masses to the ChMS because once the download the app, they are only able to give. We've been able to invite small group leaders with a small group leader link they created but they only have access to their group and none of the other aspects in the ChMS like a directory or our events calendar.

Response from Blackbaud

Replied December 2019

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Blackbaud Church Management. We are so glad to have you as one of our early adopters and are thankful for all of your valuable feedback. It's great to hear that child check-in and live attendance have provided such a positive experience so far. We look forward to continuing to work with you now and in the future! Sincerely, The Blackbaud Team

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2019

The death of our CMS

See above cons to understand the overall experience. In short, it felt like they were a thief in the night.

Pros

We were a church using Seraphim as our Church Management Software (CMS) up until the day they were bought out by Blackbaud.

Cons

My biggest con is not the software but the company itself. Maybe it is wrong to blame them when the blame actually lies on the banks of Seraphim but the whole acquisition was in a cloud of secrecy to us end users.

Response from Blackbaud

Replied December 2019

We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience. We welcome the opportunity to work with Seraphim customers to migrate to Blackbaud Church Management and would be happy to talk with you at any time. If there is anything we can to do to assist, please reach out to solutions@blackbaud.com. Sincerely, The Blackbaud Team

June 2019

Josh from West Acres Baptist Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great new Church Management System

I've had a great experience so far. Blackbaud's staff has been extremely helpful and eager to build the product. I am impressed with Blackbaud's communication and resources to deliver on their promises. I've been a part of their Early Adopter Program, and it has been a positive experience. They are thorough, organized and plan our their roll out phases well.

Pros

I am reviewing this product as it is being developed. I'm excited about Blackbaud's vision for the product and what has been accomplished so far. In terms of Church Management Systems, Blackbaud is attempting to deliver a broad scope of ministry-based tools via technology. I am pleased with what has been developed to date. It is intuitive and flexible. I like the look of the system and how to access church member and small group information. I believe it will be a powerful database for our church that will allow us to access information provide reporting that we have not had in the past. Our church staff and membership will have access to the system. It's slick, well designed.

Cons

It is too early to tell what I like least about the software. Many of the features are not available yet, but should be soon.

Reasons for Choosing Blackbaud Church Management

I chose Seraphim which was purchased by Blackbaud. I chose Seraphim because they provided an app that could be used by our entire membership. They also offered workflow and ministry management tools that I had not seen in other Church Management Systems.

Response from Blackbaud

Replied December 2019

Hi Josh, Thank you for leaving a review for Blackbaud Church Management. We are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience so far and are glad to have you as a Church Management customer! Sincerely, The Blackbaud Team

October 2019

Caitlin from Cedar Creek Cowboy Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

culturally driven

Overall, this software appears to be user friendly, but needs to focus on projecting a church member more and what needs are there, what spiritual gifts do the church members have that can be used to love others versus what can someone do for you.

Pros

What I like most about the software is it's focus towards member connection and not losing members.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that it's too driven towards members demands, requesting actions, and not focused on serving others but what the church (as a physical place) can do for you.

Response from Blackbaud

Replied December 2019

Hi Caitlin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Blackbaud Church Management. Our records indicate that you haven't used our Church Management solution before, but we would welcome the opportunity to talk with you to clear up any confusion and learn more about your church management needs. Please feel free to reach out to us at any point via email: solutions@blackbaud.com. Sincerely, The Blackbaud Team