About Pushpay


Pushpay is a cloud-based online payment solution that helps organizations like schools, churches and education providers to centralize donation data and manage payment operations. Key features include transaction import, donation statement generation and reporting tools.

Users can import data related to funds, transactions and other donations from third-party sources. Additionally, users can upload files through the Pushpay portal and match imported data with available funds.

Pushpay lets users maintain a database of gift entries and donor information including contact details, amounts, payment methods and dates. Donors can also send recurring gifts. Pushpay provides users with giving reports that include the total number of donations, unique donors, new donors and total gift amounts received in a week. The solution offers integration with QuickBooks, Elvanto and MinistryPlatform.

Support is available via an online knowledge base. Pricing is per month, billed annually. 



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

74 Reviews of Pushpay

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.53 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(45)

4 stars

(25)

3 stars

(3)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(1)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

August 2017

Monique from Good News Chapel

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2017

great if you do not have your own application

ease of use, great reports, excellent customer care

Pros

Our donors loved the different modes of giving: weekly, bi-weekly, bi-monthly, monthly. And, once they had registered, which took about 1 minute, they could subsequently give within 10 seconds, without re-entering their financial information. As a bookkeeper, I enjoyed the different online reports downloadable in Excel. For each donation, the report included: date, time, donor, amount, donation category, donor's email address, mobile number, credit card type.
We also received monthly reports on the transaction fees incurred. For the American Express transactions, after 1 month of usage, we were given the choice of having the fees withdrawn directly at payout of deducted at the beginning of the following month.

Cons

Service provider did not respect their promise to refund subscription fee.
At the time of signing, the service provider guaranteed a 5% offering increase. If the target was not met, they would refund the annual subscription fee.
After the contract had ended, they denied us the refund on the premise that we had nullified the guarantee because we had started advertising an alternate service provider 2 weeks before the end of the contract.

Response from Pushpay of Pushpay

Replied August 2017

Thank you for your response Monique! We appreciate your feedback.

January 2019

Stephanie from Elevation Church

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Pushpay makes transactions easy!

Pros

The Pushpay app allows a user to interact with an organization easily to process payments. We use this for a non-profit organization and it streamlines all of our gifts into one simple platform. A customer can make changes and set up recurring payments at any time. Pushpay has been great to work with!

Cons

The is not a way for an administrator to help a "customer" adjust their payment while on the phone- it requires the customer to login and make those adjustments. In a day in age where customer service is of utmost precedence, this would definitely add a layer of top notch care to their experience. Another con would be the limited options for a customer to pay recurring payments. The 1st and 15th are good options, except for those who want to ensure that their paychecks clear before they process their payment. These customers need to set up two recurring payment options to work best for their financials.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

Pushpay Hype & Followup

On a whole, the experience has been a positive one. However, moving forward, we now have specific items we will ask about when inquiring with other businesses to better fulfill our desired experience for users.

Pros

Pushpay has allowed our organization to move into this century. We were behind and now have the capabilities that the younger generations are looking for in terms of interacting with our organization. From electronic giving to development of a mobile app; we are incredible thankful to now be functioning in these areas. And within the app, our favorite function is the ability to send Push Notifications.

Cons

We would love the ability to better update our app from a mobile device. Currently using the web browser on a mobile device is extremely difficult. Even if we had the capability to send Push Notifications alone, that would be helpful. And then, another major frustration is the notifications do not show up on mobile devices as notifications for the app. Users of the app have to search within in the app for Push Notifications, instead of being reminded that they have a notification from our organization with the red bubble with the number of notifications remaining unseen.

July 2018

Drake from Gateway Alliance Church

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

We loved PushPay but eventually had to move on

Pros

PushPay has a great support team that wishes for you to succeed. It has a great infrastructure that has an extremely easy way for people to give with multiple options. It was our first real online and digital giving option and we loved working with them. They helped bring us into the 21st century.

Cons

Though we loved working with PushPay, when we took them on there was not much option in Canada for online giving and as other options came out we landed on a system that was integrated into our church database software better. It was not due to our displeasure of PushPay that we left but for our systems to be under one umbrella. Only real complaint is PuahPay can be a bit pricier than other options.

January 2019

Brent from CedarCreek Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Moved a large church to Pushpay about a year ago

Pros

They are very flexible and knowledgeable with regards to setup/migration/install, etc... We've had zero problems but have had to get most of our users migrated on our end. We did a rapid change over the course of a few months (they recommend 6) and all went well. We sync it to Rock RMS for giving records and it works great too.

Cons

Cost was a hike over what we were used to, but the feature gains and the ease of mobile giving and setup of recurring online givers helps make up the difference. A lot of competitors also include claims of 5% boosts in income with their solution, but we really did see that with Pushpay. Not sure what is attributable to Pushpay's system vs normal growth, but it was nice to not see a drop across a major system migration!

June 2017

Michael from Desert Vineyard Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

June 2017

We use pushpay for all of our online church giving.

Increased users.

Pros

PushPay makes giving very simple, gives you a free app you can use along with their app and software. They are very helpful in terms of customer service and very responsive to inquiries and problems. We also integrate pushpay with our Rock RMS database, which has been very nice,

Cons

The price. It is a steep price you pay to use pushpay. A monthly + fees and percentages, it all adds up to quite a bit. They do make giving much easier for your church so some cost is offset by the addition of new and first time givers who were maybe turned off from the previous system. We are still working through some of that and considering if in the end it is ultimately worth it for us.

Response from Pushpay of Pushpay

Replied June 2017

Thank you so much for your review Michael!

May 2018

Earle from Heartland Community Church

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

May 2018

Excellent Giving App... Giving Kiosk experience is horrendous.

Pros

Push pay is an excellent giving platform. It encourages online and automated giving. The app and txt option are easy and straightforward! We are getting ready to launch this at our campus and cannot wait!

Cons

As an I.T. support team member, I am hyper sensitive to providing a positive user experience. We currently have 2 giving kiosks deployed in our atrium. They are extremely easy to use. A gift can be completed in less than a minute. There is no typing involved (outside phone number and amount of the gift. Pushpay does not have a giving kiosk experience. The solution (for them) is a one time gift, and the user has to type out all of their information (name, address, phone number, email address, etc.) Then, on the next page they have to input their CC information (number, expiration date, security code), and this info is not redacted on the screen at all. This entire process (with an above average typing speed) takes about 3 minutes. This is not a good experience. It is not secure. Shoulder surfing becomes a major concern! That is why I have given a 2 star rating on the features and functionality. I understand Pushpay is trying to encourage giving on an app or automation, and I am all for that! However, if this is the case, they should not offer this "in-between" solution that is neither an app nor a kiosk. When we contacted support about the non-redaction of the CC info, we were met with indifference at best. It is almost as if they are wanting to punish the user for wanting to walk up to a kiosk to give their hard earned money. At least, this is how I felt when I was testing the system.

July 2018

Philip from BeaconBaptist Church

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

It's an option, but don't forget there are more and possibly better solutions for your church

The benefit is an online giving solution, but I found a better solution for our church.

Pros

The best feature of PushPay is their customer service. They are willing to take the time to answer every question you have. I set up a phone call/demonstration for our team to review PushPay as a possible vendor for our church. They gladly worked around our schedule, took plenty of time to teach/explain it to us, all the while, they knew we might not be using their product in the future. Their eagerness to assist was unparalleled.

Cons

It doesn't provide the easiest end user experience. In my research, there are other companies that provide a better experience for the end user and at a cheaper price. PushPay does a phenomenal job marketing their company and making sure you know who they are, but just because you know the name, that doesn't mean they are the best for your purposes. Check around before making the decision. They might be the best fit for you; they might not be.

November 2018

Robin from Tulare Wayside Church of the Nazarene

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Great for online giving

I believe it encourages generosity in our church because it is incredibly simple. It's not just techies who give through pushpay!

Pros

It is simple to use, either online or by text. The auto withdrawal is invaluable. The daily reports I receive on giving are easy to work with

Cons

They send a lot of emails with a parent organization (I think). I will receive emails from Church Fuel or something that, at first glance, I don't associate with pushpay.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

PushPay; The Best Giving Software.

We feel a safety and security that we won't experience any sudden issues with our giving whether that be in regards to people not being able to give, glitches, or security when they give.

Pros

If you want a software that makes giving easy to handle behind the scenes, and offers an experience for users that's effortless? PushPay is the option for you. Not only can you give online, but you can give from your mobile device with the touch of one button. They use leading security standards to make sure your accounts are safe from any intrusion. The process of implementation is incredible, they walk with you step by step in moving from other giving platforms and it makes everything feel like a breeze.

Cons

We are currently using F1 as a church and we have integrated F1 with PushPay, this can sometimes cause a headache, but eventually we plan to move from using this integration and use PushPay alone.

July 2018

Robbey from Redemption Church

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

A must software that pays for its self quickly.

Pros

For a church that meets once a week corporately, this is an awesome giving solution. I've spoken with pastors who think they can't afford it and in minutes of showing them the weekly stats the pushpay give you they understand they were wrong.

The mobile app is great, text to give feature works wonderful, and it integrates well with your website.

Cons

There is no reason you should not do business with this company and grow your giving today. 1/3 of our giving comes from this app.

September 2018

Moses from VNA of Southeast Missouri

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2018

Great for our monthly tithes

Pros

We absolutely love this product for paying our monthly church tithes. It has made everything so much easier now that we set it up for a weekly draw on our account and that's it!! Also, if we are wanting to contribute to any other fund at the church they simply add it to the drop down menu and we can easily go in and pay whether we are in church or not. Makes everything much more simple and keeps our tithes on track so that we don't miss any.

Cons

The only con I have noticed is there aren't many people in our church using it right now. I think the 55 and older crowd still prefer to write a check so we haven't seen the full benefits of implementing it just yet. But we are going to set up "stations" at events to have some of the youth set it up for people who might not be as tech savvy.

October 2018

John from New Life CVA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

Great giving platform

We use pushpay for our giving platform at our church. Pushpay makes regular giving easier and more consistent.

Pros

Great giving platform for non profits and churches. Give made easy.

Cons

The platform is helpful and makes first time giving and recurring giving easy but the cost for a non profit/church can be a little expensive.

July 2017

Liam from Harvest Vineyard Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

July 2017

LOVE this improvement from our old platform!

Great software - easy to use - slick!

Pros

Our office staff find this to be not cumbersome - much more intuitive! Very slick looking and we LOVE the free app that came with it! Also, customer service was fast, friendly, and helpful!

Cons

A pretty decent cost up front. The roll-out process was time-consuming and some what rigid, but I guess it makes sense. Other than that, price was about the only "con" - as we had a little sticker shock at first

Response from Pushpay of Pushpay

Replied August 2017

Thank you for your response Liam! We appreciate your feedback.

April 2018

Jake The Film from Good Video Productions LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

I use Push Pay to tithe, and I have been for a few years now.

Peace of mind, ease of tithes, and a nifty record come tax time of my charitable givings. Thanks Push Pay!

Pros

Simple, large buttons without a lot of "noise" on its landing pages. Checking out should always be simple, and while I'm not "checking out" when I tithe, it's still a point-of-sale system that I use to remit money. Push Pay has been exceptional at removing the barriers, and it's far safer than dumping cash in the offering bucket.

Cons

I have zero complaints about Push Pay; the only suggestion I would offer is for Push Pay to encourage its churches who use the system to create more sub-funds to tithe to. That responsibility lies with the churches themselves, yes, but if you really want to over-deliver, I suggest talking to these decision makers and encourage them to expand their tithing options. E.g. instead of just "missions" and "building fund," have several options.

December 2017

Aaron J from DesignWorks Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Great software to organize finances and giving

A great way to combine a multitude of services into one!

Pros

Pushpay makes offering/tracking/reviewing finances incredibly easy from the admin side to the app side. We used to have separate services for text-to-give, online giving, etc. Now, we've centralized everything with Pushpay and can't imagine doing it any other way. Customer service is great as well!

Cons

I wish the transactions filter was more user-friendly; having time limits on lookups make it difficult if you're searching for a rogue gift or looking at long-term trends. Besides that, it's hard to complain.

Response from Pushpay of Pushpay

Replied December 2017

Thank you for your review Aaron!

February 2019

Robert from Lakeshore Christian Fellowship

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2019

Giving made easy

Pros

The two things we like best about Pushpay is the end-user experience has been very easy and positive. We also opted into a deal where they created a mobile app for our church. That was very helpful

Cons

We still have had a few issues learning the text to give but that’s more on our end. We will reach out again and are sure that their tech-support will help us

February 2017

Leah from Cedar Hills Community Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

February 2017

A new addition to our giving experience

We recently added PushPay on in addition to a new church app. We previously had a text-to-give system that was wildly unpopular and a waste of our investment. Incorporating a new church app which uses Pushpay has made it easy and convenient for attendees who do not carry cash or check to give easily during the services. Sure, you have to set up an account initially, but once you're past this process, giving is super easy. The only feature I wish it had was the ability to create a link to pay a certain amount with a 'fund' option already selected. For instance, when registering for the women's retreat, it would be awesome to be able to link to a pushpay page that had "$" already in the dollar amount and "Women's Ministry" already in the 'fund' click down menu. As it stands now, we have to direct people to the app, tell them to manually enter in their registration fee, and to remember to select the current fund to pay it to. There are always 'the few' that cannot follow these simple instructions. If that feature were available, we'd love it that much more!

Pros

Ease of use after initial setup.
The new feature of being able to add your own categories to the 'fund' menu.

Cons

Unable to create payment-specific links for special events and registrations that have the dollar amount and fund already selected.

November 2016

James from Irving Church of Christ

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2016

False Promotion of Fees

When our church signed up (Irving, TX), we were assured that the credit card processing fees were cheaper than other options (PayPal was specifically mentioned) and would run 2-2.5%. We used Push Pay for nearly two years. Our last several months, the credit card processing fees were 3.5-3.8%, far more than other companies. Then they raised their monthly fees from $75-99. All total, factoring in ACH, we paid 2.9% on our $13,000 of Push Pay revenue in October ($380). That is not acceptable. Most of all, I am disappointed in the deceit perpetrated in the pricing.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Limited to one bank account in processing. Overall fees are misrepresented and quite high.

Response from Pushpay of Pushpay

Replied November 2016

Hey Jim, I noticed you posted about about this yesterday as well and I have personally taken your complaint up to our processing team. They explained the reason why the CC processing fee was high (due to the types of credit cards used) and they would love to talk with you about it. Would you like someone to call you today? -Stephanie

December 2018

Angela from Mt. Carmel Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

We use Pushpay for our app

The price is high but the app is good.

Pros

Professional company. The salesperson, onboarding person, and customer service were all very nice. They are pretty responsive when I send an email about a problem I'm having. I've never called.

Our app is professional and modern and has tons of features. We don't even use them all.

Cons

The price. The app is WAY more expensive than any other option out there. We went with pushpay because we heard they are the industry standard. Well I guess you pay for the industry standard. We could get the same features with a little company. I just can't switch our whole congregation again.

Also the designer side of the app is VERY confusing. I have set-up websites, online forms, graphic design, etc. and I struggle to figure out all the little nuances you have to do with the app designer. That would be my #1 area to upgrade if they asked me.