All SpiraTest Reviews

1-25 of 102 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Val

Company size: 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

January 2023

SpiraTest, a one stop shop for Quality Management

Xavier

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

You don't need to spend a lot of money in a Test Management Tool - Use SpiraTest

Pros

Great usability. It has a lot of features, easy to configure and customize. We need to migrate our projects from HP QC/ALM to SpiraTest and it has a great tool to migrate everything (releases, traceability, requirements, test cases, executions, ...). We've tested in some projects and works great.

Cons

It needs only more BI or reporting customization, but I think is enough now for most projects. Some other integrations will be great, like some tools for exploratory or acceptance testing (Microfocus Sprinter, ...).

Howard

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2008

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications. SpiraTest beats Quality Center in the ability to create different workflows for multiple incident types, and workflow customization is based on a simple interface rather than on VBScript. The ability to link project artifacts together seems much easier and intuitive the Quality Center. Best of all, SpiraTest has a tool to communicate with Quality Center if you need to work in both applications. SpiraTest also compares well with Pragmatic Software Planner. Information is much more accessible in SpiraTest, and everything actually works. Software Planner loses points for having a more rigid workflow, a non-intuitive interface, and for features that just don't work, like custom reports.

Pros

You can't beat SpiraTest without paying a lot more (and even then you might be disappointed). - Surprisingly easy set up. - Fantastic ease of use once you get used to the workflow paradigm (change status, verify newly required fields, then update). - Traceability: We love how all project components can be linked together. - Test case management: Create individual steps for each test case, and link steps from one test case to another to prevent step duplication. Create a test run, and send information to your automated testing software. Software testing heaven. - Workflow management: custom workflows by project or even by incident type. Cusomtization is implemented by interface, not language. - Support: Inflectra support has been fantastic in helping us migrate data into SpiraTest from our previous system. - Meets our needs: Our consulting firm needed a one-stop app that would work for multiple long- and short-term projects. We found SpiraTest, we tried it, and we love it.

Cons

Enhancements to current features, rather than new features, seems to be the rule: - ability to create and administer user groups on a project level instead of only at the application level. - mass updating of multiple artifacts (change all incidents with this type to that type) - update workflow transitions by user type instead of altering each transition. - Workflow takes a little getting used to; transitions must be performed in the following order - 1. Select the desired status, 2. Fill out ALL the newly required fields (check all the tabs), and then 3. Update. - Custom fields are hidden on their own tab in the lower half of the main pane. It would be nice to have the option to place some custom fields on the main pane. - Would be nice to be able to hide fields that aren't desired for a certain project. - Would like the ability to assign certain SysAdmin rights on a project level. - Would like a few more report cusomization options.

Alejandra

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

April 2009

Spira Test Version v2.1 has many functionalities of a Robust Testing Tool.

Spira Test Version v2.1 has many functionalities of a Robust Testing Tool, it is complex and has what a project needs to start testing, but it is difficult to implement and I can see project monitoring a little bit weak if the test execution was not correctly followed from the start. It would be good to see a few more features and clean up the UI to be able to have a better feeling of the projects you are currently working on. A concern is the security when using Jira integration, I don't think we need to personalize and configure every bit of the tool specially in installation files adding sensitive information should be left optional (like in other project settings). New features in the configuration management would also help to identify the items we are working on. Thanks for all your continuous support. Alejandra Gonzalez

Pros

- Defects will open new ticket in Jira ( with new ID ) email notification will be set to Spira Test ID - Integration with documents from MS Office available in HTML, XML, Word and Excel formats. - Integrated with third party software: Available Jira Integration - Available to Import test cases from excel with provided SpiraTestImporterTemplate.xls - Highlights changes to requirements and test cases in History - Changes can trigger e-mail alerts or notification of users set up. - Updates are available for download in the website. - Monitor Environment and Resource Usage: Available in Application event logs from server to administrator - Can add attachments to requirements and test cases, but need to click on it to open it and the description is an alt tag to the name of file. - DB Backup options available to db administrator. - Tool support resources: Comprehensive on-line help, email, and examples supplied in demo trial.

Cons

- Would like the User interface to be a little more friendly and easy to use. - Spira Test implementation needs to configure too many sensitive user information in the configuration file, would like to see another version that does not need this - Was not clear if the history of execution status is saved after many executions just saw some saved. - Email sent from Incidents created from Spira test makes tracking difficult, the subject of project. is not in the title of email, only the id, that is the next ID available for all projects. - Server performance issues, Spira Test requires too many resources. - Record and play not available in this Software version. - Need to update installation files (*.config) for each user that is using the tool. User setup and access process is too long.

Dave

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Way better than Excel, Testuff, and other lower price point Test Management tools.

Test data management without the risk of irreversible or unaudited changes. A cloud accessible test management tool for my test team

Pros

The ability to group test cases, the folder hierarchy, test sets and test runs per release. So glad the all tests with tests steps view was added (Table view) Customisable reports are very useful once configured/scripted correctly (although the interface/mechanism is too complex for non-developers/non-technical people. It is far from intuitive)

Cons

Data imported to the Excel template via the Excel add-on should arrive in a format that could be immediately exported back to Spira. This would facilitate faster creation of duplicates with minor amendments, such as copying large tests sets to be rerun in a new release. Reporting. It's difficult to find the report you want without having to run one to see the story it tells. A snapshot of the report with generic data would be handy. Failing/blocking a test should start creating the incident. These should be seamless. Select existing incident should be an option there also. There should be a way to clear results from a step, not just select a different result. There needs to be a X by Y grid matrix of requirements to tests in Reports The Export to Excel option should work for multiple selections The data structure should be made available within the Reporting UI to facilitate customised report writing. A drag and drop UI would be a big improvement, as would a sample view to see the impact of your changes with dummy data without having to run the report The name of the current test should remain on screen while the steps for it are visible. As the last step scrolls off the screen the next test name can then appear.

Hanna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2017

Overall it's good an makes test management and running a lot smoother

Pros

The history features of test cases are nice. The ability to link requirements to test steps is nice (allthough could be improved as it is lost on clone). The tracking of progress is nice and ability to create incidents from a specific test steps helps a lot. All the different types of reports that are available to generate are also quite nice.

Cons

The lack of branching/versioning of test cases. This is a big con for us and we're hoping that it will be looked at in the future. Another problem is the linking of requirements to test steps, it feels like it's lacking a bit; it should be possible to 1. Clone a test case and keep the requirements on the test steps (currently they're lost) 2. If a requirement is just linked to a test step the result should be possible to link to that, currently if a step not at all related to the requirement fails the requirement will also fail. Also we'd like a report where it's easy to see the traceability and result of test run and requirement, e.g.: REQ1 PASSED REQ2 FAILED Currently it is possible to get the requirement and what Test case it is tested in and then print out all of the test cases to see the results. We'd just like a bit of an easier report/tracking here. If possible it would also be nice to add a comment to FAILED, maybe what test case failed (if it is tested in more than one) and perhaps even incident numbers of some sort.

Response from Inflectra

Thanks for the positive feedback on SpiraTest, including the ability to link requirements to test steps (most tools limit the link to just test cases). We do plan on adding requirements/test case baselining functionality, we already support test case and requirements versioning and history tracking. The linking of requirements to test steps and the corresponding reporting was added recently and we shall be enhancing its reporting and tracking in future releases. You can report a reason when a test case / test step fails (in fact you have to), and we already include built-in defect creation and linking during the test execution process, so we're not sure what the reviewer meant by that part.

Replied June 2017

Ambrish

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

Nice Product. Easy to use ,everything can be tracked in one application..that's awesome.

Its simple and reliable use as compare to industry leaders in this field. Good value for money and excellent support. Also its capabilities to integrate with other tools.

Pros

1-I love the feature to track the bugs. Its so simpler and the enhanced feature of embedding screenshot makes my job lot easier. 2-The reporting section is also good and the available formats to extract reports make my team as well as dev team more comfortable to understand the generated reports. 3-Enabling us to manage the requirement also plays an important role in putting this ahead of some competitors . Its very easy to track requirements either by release or by test cases. 4-last but not the least. Excellent customer Service.

Cons

As I do not see any major flaw in this but yes something needs to be updated/enhanced to make it more user friendly: 1-Allow to delete User. Currently it only allows to disable the user. 2-Flexibility to add our own status to Requirements. 3- few UI issues in reporting.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

Serves the purpose

Pros

Cloud and in house hosting options available. Customer support is quick and effective. Product is upgraded frequently. Roadmap is clearly communicated. Lots of customization options for reports if you know how to do it.

Cons

Copy, edit, clone and drag and drop are not that user friendly. Need more integration options like EA.

Isabell

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2013

Spira Test Review

Pro: - covers Requirements as well as Test Cases - compatibility with automatic testing tools - possibility to create Test Sets - execute Test Sets separately from the Test Cases they contain Con: - "keep me logged in" doesn't work (sometimes changes are lost) - sometimes the lists aren't displayed correctly (then after selecting "Show Level 1" it works again, but it's annoying) - mixed language (German and English - wouldn't care if it is only English .. maybe depending on the language of the browser?) - the tree list view to the left when editing one Requirement or Test Case is often not displayed correctly which makes it difficult to navigate - moving of list items sometimes doesn't work - "Administration" link is only displayed if a project is opened for which someone is Project Owner, even if he is an overall administrator - if text is copied from a Test Step and the whole text field was selected, a grey background is pasted Nice to have: - Maybe it isn't possible - but it would be nice to have the possibility to link a Test Case to an automatic testing tool for each Test Set which contains this Test Case. Because we are testing automatically with Smart Bear's TestComplete and we also use the possibility to have one Test Case in several Test Sets, if they are the same. Due to some slight differences we can't use the same recorded test (in TestComplete) for all of the Test Sets. - It would be nice to have a choice if an item is pasted before or after the checked item in the list. - We would like to have the possibility to link a Test Case folder with a superior Requirement. If then a Test Case is created from a Requirement, the new Test Case should be in the linked folder. It is annoying to search for a new Requirement at the end of the list and moving it up into the corresponding folder. Or maybe you can provide a choice into which folder the new Test Case should be created. Overall: We are happy to have a tool which provides the possibility to manage Requirements, Test Cases and Test Sets. Also the feature to test automatically is great! But we were a little bit disappointed that the last update just brought some changes regarding design. The buggy functionalities influencing the usability were not fixed (e.g. displaying the list). Or maybe we recognized only the design changes. Overall, we put trust into the Inflectra team that those annoying usability issues will be fixed.

Sandie

Verified reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp 

November 2014

Good Test Tool plus Excellent Support

Having undertaken a lot of research, I found SpiraTest to be a very good balance of cost vs. functionality. The trial period proved very useful to truly test that the product met all our needs. Also, as the trial version could be included in our purchased copy, we didn't lose any of the data we'd input. I found the support team to be excellent, they replied quickly and cheerfully to all my questions and was one of the deciding factors in buying this product.

Pros

Flexible, easy to use system Offers integration with other products Provides a lot of functionality, some of which we will use at once and some we can introduce gradually

Cons

Have not found any yet

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

review

Pros

creating and and reusing test case is very simple, thus, Cloud and in house hosting options available, it makes organizing and managing your team easier.

Cons

Tracking modules can be improved. it would make this software perfect!

Chris Deaton, ASU

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp 

March 2014

this is not my first test management system

I come from more than a decade in Quality Assurance and I normally use Mercury Test Director or QTP. I am sure if you touted out feature lists one of the big guys would win and maybe a little bit in usability. I looked at more than a dozen products and the bottom line is that SpiraTest is a hugely superior value over everything I evaluated. We installed 9 months ago after an extended trial where we used it on a small cycled project. The staff was a tremendous help and a big part of our decision. We manage testing cycles for various projects across many departments. We are able to train quickly and let people take over as their own project owners in many cases and just stay in touch and help them along the way. Other projects we manage internally. One repository already has 13,000 test cases in it from a previous software import.

Pros

The value was great. Nothing came close. The flexibility is great with the plugins. We are attached to our hosted JIRA service and are working on Selenium right now. The support staff has always been great, from the first day of our trial on.

Cons

We have had a few down times. It was never enough to warrant a phone call, but a minor frustration. Image use is limited or at least not how we would like it. Its not perfect. :)

SR QA Engineer

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

June 2012

Excellent Product with Very Low Cost (ownership) backed by Top of the line Support.

Very highly recommend, especially to small teams (may be upto 50). We are a small team and this product seem to top our evaluation of about 15 products. We wanted something that works with JIRA; then selenium and TCL scripts. And this does all of those with good QA test management. This may be our product of choice.

Pros

Has all the features we need to manage our SQA dept. Excellent integration to bug tracking tools. Great integration with automation testing for our needs - web, api as well as shell scripts. Excellent product, superb customer support. Very easy to setup and use. Great documentation. Excellent support - we are still evaluating this tool (along with bunch of other tools) and these guys respond to every question (even small) with very detailed explanation and very promptly. Customer service rating is 10 STAR not just 5 star.

Cons

None. Yes - none that are holding us back. In this budget range their reporting features are more than what we could expect (very good), though few additional improvements may be made. Note, we have not tried to customize them yet.

Graham

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2013

Great Test Management Tool

If looking for a test management tool that integrates with other tools well and provides the basic tools required for test planning then I can highly recommend SpiraTest.

Pros

Great at test management. Especially useful to use is the automation client and integration with unit testing. We use NUnit (also support MsUnit) for our unit testing and having the results reflected straight back into SpiraTest is amazingly useful. We also have TestComplete on a testing machine and can schedule Tests within Spira Test to run on the machine under Test Complete. Makes regression testing much easier. Also integrates with a wide range of bug trackers.

Cons

Installation/ Uninstall of 3.2 was problematic these problems seem to be fixed in the latest installers and the upgrade from 3.2 to 4 was simple. Great customer support with a commitment to getting things working.

Peter

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp 

July 2013

Working synchronisation with JIRA

Spiratest is a complete test management software that works well together with JIRA. We were looking for a test management software that can be used together with our locally hosted JIRA system and for a specific project. We couldn't install a test management plugin and a local installation of a test management solution was either too expensive or to complex. Spiratest Hosted Service offers the possibility to synchronize with a local JIRA via a desktop tool. With the help of Inflectra support we got it running.

Pros

- Have a complete test management solution for the time needed - Working synchronisation with JIRA - Easy-to-install desktop utility for synchronisation - low setup and operating costs.

Cons

- The synchronisation runs only with a desktop utility - You cannot selectively synchronise JIRA-issues, e.g. certain issue types or issues from a defined start date. - Usability. The user interface needs improvement.

Celeste

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

April 2015

Easy and intuitive to learn with helpful documentation and exceptionally prompt support

Quite different from Test Director that we had been using so obviously need to get used to it, but as it is so easy and intuitive to learn, and not too difficult to soon remember how to do things without having to refer to any documentation, it is hopefully going to be quite straightforward to use. All the documentation provided has been very useful and easy to follow and I have found the support to be exceptional, with all of my queries being automatically logged pretty instantly and answers provided within 24 hours without exception, I believe. I even found it easy to follow the instructions to install the Import/Export Excel add-on and successfully exported a test and test steps into SpiraTest on the first attempt! No issues at all so far that I can think of! :-)

Kristiaan Davies

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp 

October 2013

SpiraTest Review.

I'll keep this short as i don't think i need to write paragraphs. This is a fantastic piece of software, it was easy to put in place on our own server, has run faultlessly since its initial setup and any problems we encountered were taken care of by Inflectra's support very quickly.

Pros

allows multiple ways to setup tests to match different workflows. provides a very good reporting overview to help clarify what is going on with testing.

Cons

integration with bug tracking systems could be easier to get working and provide a better feature set, but this is not the end of the world as for what we want it works fine.

Bryan

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

February 2009

I would recommend SpiraTest without any reservations to large and small companies.

I would recommend SpiraTest without any reservations to large and small companies who want to take testing seriously.

Pros

SpiraTest is a lightweight and affordable but full featured testing tool. We use it extensively to manage requirements and test conditions with a full integration with our JIRA issue tracking implementation. I must compliment Inflectra/SpiraTest on their incredible support services. They respond quickly to issues on the few times I have needed to use them and have provided answers extemely quickly and with minimal fuss.

Cons

Only works on Microsoft SQL and Windows at the moment.

Shitalkumar

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2018

Manage your tests with Spira test

Spira test is good test management tool. This gives good flexibility to manage your whole STLC at a place. You can link your defects to your tests. One can run test set multiple time for regression.

Pros

-Ease of use, easy to understand -Manages whole STLC together -Can be linked with requirements -Managing of test suites is very easy -Test run within tool

Cons

-Less possibilities of customization -Support for upgrades can be improved

Gabby

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

February 2010

Good product, some cons

For a company how had no test management tool before this is a good step in the right direction with reasonable ROI. For an organization with methodology and reporting needs and large amount of users, this is not good

Pros

Very easy to use - self explanatory The basic dashboard and reports are ok Easy to install Good documentation

Cons

Limited customization options No documentation to reports customization Poor response time when the DB starts to get loaded - the client performance is poor while the srever resources are hardely consumed.

Frankco

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

December 2009

Don't under estimate

I have worked on Test Director v8.0 for several years and this tool was good as gold. When I joined the Health sector, the hospital just purchased SpiraTest and I really under estimated Spira. Giving it benefit of the doubt, I was really astonished using Spira. It is really a one-stop tool and meets all the requirements from Project Manager to Tester. The support I got from Spira was excellent and looking forward renewing our contract. Frankco

Pros

I really appreciate the Dashboard, as it provides a one stop shop.

Cons

Performance is a bit slow and not sure, because of IE6.

Becky

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3