All TraceCloud Reviews

1-25 of 66 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Pawel

Verified reviewer

Maritime, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Excellent tool for systematic approach to requirement feasibility.

Lined up understanding and focus of the team working on the project.

PROS

By structured approach keeps team on focused development path. This is the biggest strength. Allows to avoid misundestandings and serves a common discussion / collaborations online platform for dynamic team. Linking with other systems (such ticketing system) is great. Helps relate the requirements to actual development work. Also helps to have a messy discussion away from the requirements, yet still accessible if needed. Exporting, cloning, children, importing of requirements is great. Keep things lined up in solid tree / folder structure which can be customized to what is needed. The tree structure (folders) can be called to match the business nomenclature which was helpful for us. Filters and reports are great help to manage the project, gives instantaneous snapshot of requirements progress.

CONS

The editor is not that intuitive, but has many great features to manage requirements like cloning and children.

Jeffrey

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Requirements Tracing without the large price tag or high learning curve to get started

The overall experience has been very positive and product.

PROS

The ability to begin using the tool productively right away - and without a large expense up front. The pricing model enabled us to take advantage of RTM without passing the cost on to our customers. Response to support issues has been very fast.

CONS

The interface is basic (but has provided everything we have needed to manage the requirements for our initial project). Improvements are being made quickly (several new features have been added since we began using TraceCloud)

Reason for choosing TraceCloud

Lost cost of implementation, cloud based, low learning curve to become productive, quick response to support issues

Julian

Defense & Space, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Exceptional support and responsiveness for Customization

At CONAE, the Argentina Space Agency, we are evaluating TraceCloud to support the Requirements Engineering process, using an actual case, for the development of a whole Launch Vehicle, starting from Agency/Stakeholder needs through mission requirements down to system and subsystem levels, including topics such as payload, rocket propulsion, structures, avionics, range safety, among others. Beyond the conventional functionalities expected from such tools, I want to underscore the remarkable flexibility and responsiveness exhibited by the TraceCloud team. Their adeptness at identifying, developing, and deploying requested features in a timely manner stands out as a significant advantage. This agility enables us to tailor the platform to our team's specific needs, organizational nuances, and requirements management policies swiftly, often within weeks. This, in my opinion, is where TraceCloud truly shines – not merely as a tool but as a collaborative partner seamlessly integrated into our organization. As an illustration, to represent our approach to team collaboration we requested a comments/Request for Action management feature, which empowers any team member to issue comments and track its resolution, and participate in accepting or rejecting the proposed resolutions. The resulting threaded comments foster online discussions akin to a social network, facilitating seamless collaboration among requirements owners, system engineers, project managers, and other stakeholders. Moreover, in response to our needs, the TraceCloud team promptly introduced a feature to trigger an approval workflow reset when specific changes are made to a requirement context, for example in case an up trace is modified or deleted. Additionally, we were able to configure the tool to enforce prerequisites, such as prohibiting the initiation of an approval workflow if at least one upstream trace is undefined. This capability proved invaluable in addressing certain challenges unique to our operations. Our discussions with TraceCloud also encompassed potential integration of the platform with other tools we utilize. These discussions further underscored TraceCloud's commitment to adaptability and interoperability, reinforcing our confidence in its suitability for our diverse needs. In light of the above, I endorse TraceCloud for its versatility, responsiveness, and collaborative approach, making it an invaluable asset in our Space/ Aerospace System Engineering endeavors.

PROS

Exceptional support and responsiveness for Customization

CONS

We keep testing it. So far, all those features that were not already available and could be considered a con, have been solved.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2019

Capable, but gets some of the basics wrong

It was chosen for our team, so we use it. It gets the job done with respect to satisfying audit requirements, but the relative "pain" for the casual user means that we don't take as much advantage as we probably could.

PROS

Good for creating an auditable set of linkages from "customer story" through requirements to test artifacts.

CONS

Blows it on simple things. Every time I get logged out due to inactivity, the web client goes to a dead "Confirm form resubmission" page which doesn't actually work if you refresh. I have to manually reset the URL back to tracecloud.com or the login page. After login, I have to manually navigate back to the project I was using. Creating test records or other artifacts not always intuitive to the casual user.

Jeanne

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Very good value - a lot of features and functionality at very reasonable price.

Traceability is the primary value from this software (among standards, user needs, requirements, risk controls, interface control documents, test protocols). Previously performed all tracing via Word and Excel tables which is very labor intensive, fragile and error prone.

PROS

The feature for connecting projects (=user defined database areas) facilitates organizing data in logical, manageable groups with appropriate user permissions. Even though separate areas still achieve full traceability between related requirements. Customizable attributes and folder views allows tailoring to suit our needs. Can merge database output with a Word document template when exporting data. This allows for database output directly into Word doc with custom company header and footer. Trial license allowed me to explore and become comfortable with tool before purchase. At point of purchase I was confident it would do the job. The interactive Trace Map view of trace relationships is very nice. You can follow it down a path and expand/contract the information as needed. Plus you can click on any requirement in the Trace Map and go directly to that requirement detail in the database. Exceptionally fast response from support team on questions. Often get a response within a few minutes.

CONS

User interface is not as polished or intuitive as some other requirements management tools that I've previously used. However, once you explore the tool and understand how it is organized and the functions, then not an issue. I think it helped to have used other relational databases before using TraceCloud. For example, nearly all filtering and selection of data is done via the "Report" function which essentially means via database queries, rather than vi a more interactive user interface. The reports can be saved and run again later, which is good. The on-line documentation and 'how to' videos do not match the current user interface. All the features and functions are there but are presented in the User Interface differently than in the documentation. Word template feature doesn't support .docx formats, so you have to remember to create Word templates as .doc (Word 97-2003 files).

User Profile

Gurunathan

Verified reviewer

Medical Devices, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Very useful cheap requirements management tool and a great support team

Overall, for the price, this tool is a great one to have though it has some limitations. If you're looking for traceability and version management as your primary asks, then this is a go to tool for requirements management.

PROS

The traceability (Trace Tree feature) is what I like the most in this tool. Once you export the tracetree into an excel file, what you see is different heirarchy of requirements and test cases and reports neatly organised and is a visual treat.

CONS

The reporting feature needs customisation and client's documentation templates friendly

Reason for choosing TraceCloud

Price

Reasons for switching to TraceCloud

Price only

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

TraceCloud for Transit System Infrastructure Porjects

TraceCloud has been overall a great tool for implementing practical Systems Engineering practices into the transit infrastructure industry which has not traditionally accepted practices such as requirements verification and validation, and interface management. The customer support has been very helpful as well, and we look forward to expanding this SW across our company's infrastructure business line.

PROS

TraceCloud enables civil engineering users without any SW development experience to easily develop a custom online environment. TraceCloud's flexibility (and customer support) is also extremely helpful for projects that span multiple years, transition through various phases and experience large volumes of user turnover.

CONS

The layouts could be optimized to reduce white space and condense information. SW developed for a web browser should be better customized to maximize usable space and adjust for various browser window configurations (half screen, full screen, etc.)

Justin

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

Useful but not the easiest to use and could use better features

This does help to solve construction management purposes. It records information for all parties involved.

PROS

I do like the record keeping of information for construction management and how it can be found for all of the document management purposes.

CONS

I wish there were better ways of reporting structure. Also finding a better way to use it as a method to store documents and view them easier. Its also a little buggy and could be modernized.

jason

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Simple, easy to use product!

PROS

TraceCloud is a simple and easy to use product! It allows us to collaborate and track our items in one location! It has been quick to deploy and easy to adopt. Training is also easy since the platform is well laid out. Its highly customizable too!

CONS

i wish the change history for admins could be an automated report

Bill

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2016

Good tool, great service

Every question or problem is resolved immediately. Any requested features are eventually added. This is a living, improving software tool with a good team behind it.

PROS

It does what I need it to do. The reports and dashboards are simple and informative.

CONS

Tools, functions and features "are in there", but some are a little hidden and require a question to customer support to find it.

Stanley

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2016

Requirements Management - Medical Device

TraceCloud looks and feels like a product that is early in it development. It has a good core and the customer support is very responsive. The interface is mostly intuitive with a few features in places where you might not expect them. Once found through, they work work as expected.

PROS

Very flexible. Allows you to transition from a paper system to a true trace application without leaving your legacy methods behind. We were able to upload our Word and Excel document into tracecloud and create templates that draw the information from tracecloud in a format that is familiar to our users. This allows us to transition the organization in steps which has resulted in a higher acceptance rate. Also like the ability to do group changes (rather than individual changes to each requirement). This makes updates much easier.

CONS

Some quirks in importing and exporting Word and Excel files. Tracecloud has been responsive in addressing these quirks.

Arvin

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Simple, Effective, and Powerful Task Management Software

I have found Tracecloud to be a very simple tool to use, and effective at task management. It is a software that I would strongly consider when selecting a tool to manage large volume of tasks with large groups of people.

PROS

It is simple to setup, with great flexibility for user-defined roles and attributes. Tracing and change logs are accurate and easy to access. Organization of tasks is very structured and intuitive.

CONS

I would like to see more dashboard features, with presentations ranging from high-level to low-level for different users.

Peter

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

TraceCloud used for Requirements Management of Light Rail Network

Overall, a good experience with very capable software. Emphasis should be on user training so they gain maximum benefits

PROS

It was easy and logical to use. It allows for good traceability. Reports were easy to use. Easy to acess via a number of devices

CONS

In the introduction phase it took a while for our team to get used to its features and how to explain to others.

Reasons for switching to TraceCloud

cost effectiveness and ease of use

Deepa

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Customer Support

We use TraceCloud for requirements management where we elicit the requirements and capture them in the tool. We also use the tool for capturing verification evidences. The tool is very useful and user friendly.

PROS

1)User friendly 2)Good support to understand the features 3)Immediate response to any queries 4)Very good customer support when new features are requested

CONS

There are some hidden features which we need to explore and and ind. Probably a tool manual/Guide describing all the features can help.

Reason for choosing TraceCloud

Client requirement

Angel

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Used TraceCloud to manage a library of cross-linked specifications.

PROS

The ability to trace requirements is very useful to manage and control change especially for documents that impact a range of lolcations in the reqs library

CONS

Search and navigation could use some improvements Could use more versatile fields types and rich formatting of attributes

Peter

Environmental Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

From good to even better

My Project Manager reviewed this 5/5 in April 2016. Since then it has got even better. Exceptionally attentive support and willingness to enhance the product in line with its philosophy. We use TraceCloud heavily in our project and have found it to be flexible, powerful, simple to use and a project backbone in a multi-disciplinary, multi-dimensional requirements collection process that has stretched well over 1 year now and now leads us to purchasing. We will continue to rely on TraceCloud during evaluation, negotiation and implementation of our new system to be.

Fahad

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

TraceCloud User Review

Overall my experience with TraceCloud has been great. Its a very efficient and powerful program and easy to use.

PROS

TraceCloud is an EASY TO USE, and POWERFUL Requirements Management & Traceability solution.

CONS

Sometimes I receive repeat notifications for the same item.

Dana

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2017

Frustrating and confusing tool.

0

PROS

I do not like much about this tool at all; I've used DOORS for years and it is great. It's accessible, easy, clear, etc. whereas TraceCloud I feel is not.

CONS

TraceCloud is a bunch of folders, with requirements in them, with no context (they are not even in the appropriate order of the contract? There are no headings to tell what section you're in? It's extremely confusing). No one should EVER change the contract requirements text, and that has happened. No one should have access to other people's requirements either, but they do. There is no unique Identifier, which makes it extremely hard for traceability as anytime the requirement changes (which again shouldn't happen?) it gets a whole new ID (Tag ID) number assigned to it. That could be an issue with the RM Process as well, but from my experience with TraceCloud, it's frustrating and I am hopeful that I don't have to use it again in the future.

Bharat

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: