Doc.It Suite Software

4.06 / 5 (18)

About Doc.It Suite


Since 2001, Doc.It Suite, a document management platform, has been available to accounting and tax professionals. Doc.It Suite offers the user a variety of applications including document management, document capture & image-processing, and records management. The software addresses the 4-step process in a document’s lifestyle: gather, process, store, and deliver.

The web portal gives clients the ability to share documents and reports. Clients can also send files for processing. The policy manager feature ensures uniformity across the firm by applying the file naming and location policy to all documents as they’re gathered and prepared for storage.

Doc.It Suite integrates with other accounting applications, and is available as a monthly subscription service. Customers can log in to request support and gain access to resources and training videos, or they can call customer care during business hours to speak with a team member over the phone.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 10

18 Reviews of Doc.It Suite

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.06 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(5)

4 stars

(10)

3 stars

(2)

2 stars

(1)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

May 2017

Dan from Weiler & Company

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Doc-It supports our accounting firm in using documents in pdf form, scanning, creating and archiving

The Doc-It software allows a mid sized firm to support all staff with an effective way of moving documents, and work with them without print to paper. Doc-It has supported our growth in scanning and archiving client data in an effective way. We insist that all staff use Doc-It in the approval of time reporting, so all staff use Doc-It daily and it has become a trusted part of every day in the office.

Pros

Doc-It delivers the tools that let our staff work with reduced print. We have archived over 15 years worth of documents, and the archive allows for immediate access to the document you want, be it tax, correspondence or financials without having to open Word, Taxprep, CaseWare or CTF research while the client is on the phone.

The Doc-It pdf editor and Doc-It scanner software organizes pdfs we create and let's us edit and work with pdfs effectively at a low cost per staff person.

Our clients like the portal software, where we host the portal in-house using secure SSL transport stra

Cons

We don't utilize most of what Doc-It can do. Work Flow software is our next piece we will implement, so I can't comment on that.

We do not try to scan all personal tax documents, and the scanning to tax returns is not cost effective for us at this time.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Dan: Thanks for the feedback. We will be hosting a webinar on workflow near the end of June. (invites going out next week) This is an opportunity to see what our workflow can do for you and your firm. There is configuration and training to follow.

May 2017

Jason from CPA Group of Laramie, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Favorable and productive

Efficient workflow.

Pros

Helps our firm work more efficiently. Keeps us more organized and on track. I like that rules can be set to lock files down so they can't be edited or deleted.

Cons

I really wish files could be edited without having to open them up in the PDF editor. It would be so useful and a time saver to be able to edit documents in the preview window. I also really wish email files could be drag and dropped into the application easily without having to print them to my inbox and then save them over. I also do not like the roll forward process. It's cumbersome and requires a lot of our staff resources.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Jason: Thank-you for your feedback. We have heard the previewer one before. We will be making that a true previewer (including MS office document formats) and then the behavior will be consistent across all types. That is why we have resisted. You should be able to drag and drop from Outlook. Please contact our customer care team for assistance. Noted on the roll forward process. I think we can make that more efficient. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Stephen from J. K. Boatwright & Co., P.C.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Doc-It continually makes a better product at a better price and supports it well.

Ease of looking up items (just a few clicks and we have what we need), central repository, ease of scanning and sorting items. A lot less paper. Logging and tracking work.

Pros

Once set up it is very easy to use and maintain. Customer Support is stellar. Offers more features and functionality without add-ons than the competition. They take feedback well and generally put in the features we ask for or help to resolve any issues we have - features, functionality and/or troubleshooting new items.

Cons

Not fluid integration with all CCH and ThomsonReuters products - due to not being part of their suites. Would like it to be a little faster - recent improvements have helped, but it still needs to be faster.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Stephen: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and it guides our development. In addition, we are always looking for ways to reduce clicks and speed up the system. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Debbie from Somerville & Company, P.L.L.C.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2017

The updates have made the software less user-friendly.

The paperless feature and the quick accessibility of documents. There is no more searching for lost documents.

Pros

The best feature is the quick accessibility of documents. It is very nice to be able to access information while talking with a client on the telephone. This is a good program, but there are several areas that need improvement.

Cons

The updated calculator is horrible. Also, the program has become less user-friendly after the updates. There should be a copy feature from other documents.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Debbie: Thank you for your feedback. I'm surprised, and disappointed to hear that you feel our latest updates have made the product less user friendly. Also, search is still part of the feature set. Please contact our customer care team so we can address your concerns. Kevin COO

May 2017

Andrew from Green Webber Company

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Significantly changed the way our practice approaches client services.

Organization and efficiency provided our firm a game changing experience in how we can service our client base. Work flow platform should be developed further.

Pros

Upfront support was invaluable in setting up our firm in Doc It. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can have access to client information regardless of type of engagement or period to speak directly to with the client during a meeting or phone call.

Cons

I believe there is an opportunity to incorporate a CRM to capture the total client service experience. There may be an strategic alliance with say Client Track that could be incorporated to provide users an even more powerful tool.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Andrew: Thanks for your feedback. We continue to build out our offering based on feedback and will consider your suggestion wrt Client Track. In terms of WF, please contact our customer care team and insure you have the latest update. There are a number of enhancements to WF in V4.5.

May 2017

John from Hyatt Lassaline LLP

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Long-time doc-it user

Pros

The integration between Scanning, OCR & archive is useful. Work in process binders helped clean up and organize document storage.

Cons

Difficult to access files remotely, pen input laggy, PDF editor not compatible with some of the common PDF files that we download & use and have to use a competitors product.

Still confused in the UI why you can access an archive via the archive explorer or binder explorer, and both can be made to have the same layout.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

John: Thanks for your feedback. As you know, we continue to evolve our product based on feedback from you and other users. The best practice to access the archive is through the binder explorer. For most users, it is the more efficient way to get where you want to go. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Shabir from KBH Chartered Accountants

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

steadily declined over the years as Docit grew. Standard answer from support is "the next update"

At one time the benefits were big - especially when we went paperless. Today, i'm not sure the benefits outweigh any other PDF archiving and markup solution.

Pros

The integration with caseware for each of printing and the ease to which PDF documents can be marked up. Works well in the field as well.
Once the setup matter are dealt with on Portal (see below) use of portal is simple and easy.

Cons

Lack of ability to use with multiple locations having access to the archive other than over a terminal server.
Every time something is wrong and we talk to tech support - the response is "we hope that is in the next update"
The software crashes A LOT. Daily for some people. Especially when trying to email a document from Inbox - or trying to combine a number of documents. Or opening a document and turning on bookmarks.
The portal setup for a client and related instructions are utterly useless. Support knows this and nothing has been done - looks like the instructions are printed on a dot-matrix printer. I would NEVER want to send my client a document that looks like that, so I have to create my own document with instructions for my client. The automatically generated email says that the instructions are in the PDF. In fact, the PDF only has a username and password. No instructions, no link or web URL for the client to navigate to and certainly no instructions at all. This might be one of the most poorly designed things in Doc-it.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Shabir: I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We recently heard you were having some problems and I know my team has reached out to you. Please respond to him and we can attack the issues. I am confident we can turn this around and re-establish your confidence in us, our product and our support team. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Angela from Collins Blay LLP

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Superior Product and Customer Support Team

Very user friendly and reliable client document organization.

Pros

Doc.It does what it is designed to do, and does it very well. Very intuitive navigation, and definitely makes your life easier if you make use of all the wonderful features offered. Autofile is your best friend! The Doc.It team has proven to be very responsive and helpful. Highly recommended software.

Cons

Unable to customize portal delivery email. Clients tend to disregard the notifications as spam. Job Queue could be more user-friendly and offer more options. We would LOVE to see an option to Autofile based on the client's Social Insurance Number.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Andrea: Thank you for your feedback. I always appreciate hearing the team is executing the way we hope in supporting our clients. We continue to evolve our software based on client feedback and yours is in line with feedback from others. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Jeffrey from Thomas, Head & Greisen, PC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

The Doc.It Suite of products works very well in our environment.

Among other things, Doc.It allows us to better adhere to our retention policies.

Pros

The PDF Editor is top-notch. Great stamps, abilities to modify size and shape of document and include notes and diagrams.

Cons

The workflow product seems to be the weakest link in the suite. But to be truthful, we haven't used it a whole lot.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Jeffrey: Thanks for your feedback. We have added to the workflow significantly in the last year+. We are hosting a webinar for existing users to show the latest workflow at the end of June. I would encourage you and others from your firm to attend. Invites will be going out next week. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Cynthia from R L M Professional Corporation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Doc It has been an excellent tool in our office as we have moved to a "less paper" environment.

Document management, filing efficiencies, and ease of use are all benefits.

Pros

The best part of Doc It is its document organization. The archive and the editor are also excellent tools for any office . Software support has also been excellent.

Cons

I can't think of any truly negative aspects of Doc It perhaps doing updates? It's difficult to criticize a tool that is so valuable and effective.

Response from Doc.It of Doc.It Inc.

Replied May 2017

Cynthia: Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to hear from a satisfied client. We continue to strive to make our update process seamless to the user community. Kevin, COO

May 2017

Danny from Dudley & Associates

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5