About Smartlook

Smartlook is a cloud- and mobile-based quantitative analytics solution that helps businesses of all sizes with user behavior and insights. Smartlook answers the ‘what’ and ‘why’ behind every user action. Primary features of the software include visitor recordings, event tracking, funnels and heatmaps.

Smartlook provides the option of replaying video sessions to identify customers, see Javascript errors and share recordings within the team. It also features a visitor journey module, which helps users with app integration and recordings segmentation with right filters. Automated event tracking enables businesses to know how visitors perform certain tasks, and conversion funnels provide reports on leads.

Primaril...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

119 Reviews of Smartlook

Average User Ratings

Overall

/ 5 stars

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(0)

0

4 stars

(0)

0

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1 - 20 of 119 results

Do you use this product?Write a review

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Cynthia from Conduent

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Smartlooked for awhile now

Smartlook has given time management a new definition. It allows us to save tremendous time and work more efficiently.

Pros

So we've been using Smartlook for some time now and I always thought it was a decent program. Having just gone through an entire tax season with almost every call utilizing this tool, it deserves a second view so to speak. Smartlook allows tech support or agents (in my company) to share screens with their customers. We can see their mouse movements, help them to navigate through the various options and features and troubleshoot errors by literally putting our eyes on it. It works by having the customer provide a code given on the website and this code allows access to their screen through Smartlook. Agents and customers alike have come to rely heavily on Smartlook to help get the support they need and get it in a timely manner. It makes a world of difference when you can see the screen, identify the issue and solve it all at once rather than take precious minutes and hours trying to describe what is going on and another hour trying to describe how to fix it.

Cons

The only thing I can say I least like about this software is that you can only screenshare within the website. Unlike another competition, you cannot screen the customers complete computer screen. If a customer wants to minimize a screen so you can see a document on their computer, for instance, you can't. In my line of work its not a deal breaker at all because the majority of the workflow is within the website.

Response from Smartlook

Replied April 2019

Thanks for your review! This review is not related to Smartlook but more to Turbotax. Please change this, Lukas

November 2020

Chryso from Stronde

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great for UX optimisation

We are generally loving so far the functionalities it offers to our team to be able to understand the digital behaviour of our users with our beta tool

Pros

The functionalities it offers, especially when starting as a freemium user. The UX is simple, automatically tracking important events that can be used to set up a funnel, the fast forward option and the highlighted elements you can review, etc.

Cons

We are not using the Heatmap functionality, and we believe there can be an improvement on that feature. We are using a separate provider for that.

Reasons for Choosing Smartlook

It had better options as a freemium user and also better UX for the video tracking element

Response from Smartlook

Replied November 2020

Thank you for your feedback and nice words! I will share it with our development team. - Tomas

May 2021

Courtenay from Software consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Great free trial and even the free tier is awesome

Seeing the precise actions taken on a website is amazing

Pros

Its so easy to install, works great, shows exactly how someone interacts with an app, and provides easy filters to see what you need.

Cons

Sharing specific recordings isn't as easy as sharing a YouTube link, but I can understand why!

Reasons for Choosing Smartlook

Free trial, ease of implementation

May 2021

Prokop from DX Heroes CZ s.r.o.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

DX Heroes review

Smartlook has a clean UI and it's easy to set up. I wouldn't say I like the blocking page after the trial ended because I wanted to show SmartLook to my colleague first before we decide if it has enough value for our business.

Pros

It's better than HotJar and I want to support Czech startups instead of foreign startups. :) The UI is much better than in HotJar.

Cons

I am still not sure if the first plan has suitable value for the money. I really appreciate the extended trial period.

Reasons for Choosing Smartlook

Czech company, friendly UI/UX and good value for the product (but not yet for us).

Reasons for Switching to Smartlook

Support Czech startup; better UI

March 2021

Sagar from House of Being Technology Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

First tool to use if you're creating a mobile app

Great app to do qualitative analytics in user's natural environment helping faster product development. This enables better prioritisation decisions.

Pros

Ability to view each session and understand UX issues without having to wait for user feedback

Cons

Inability to create custom tags for users for easier identification in case where we want to view the recordings anonymously.

Reasons for Choosing Smartlook

Better focus on Mobile apps with good pricing

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Michal from CDN77

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great qualitative analytics tool

Smartlook is a great addition to Google Analytics. It provides answers that you can't get from your quantitative data. A must-have for marketing analysts and UX designers.

Pros

Smartlook doesn't sample their recordings in comparison with most competitors. Their support and account management is top notch, wouldn't even consider a change because of them.

Cons

There are some bugs now and then but nothing too annoying. And I always get answers whenever I report them, it doesn't get unnoticed and they work on fixing them. User management is a bit clumsy at the moment but it should get better in the future.

Response from Smartlook

Replied June 2019

Hi Michal, really thank you for your review. Actually we are working on a new user management , to make it more clear. Thanks for your review, Lukas CMo at Smartlook

February 2021

Alvin from Cyrkl.com

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Trial User for Heatmaps

Pros

Our main focus was on heatmaps, it was the reason why we implemented it. It give us great insight into our customers behavior and it is nicely visualized in Smartlook.

Cons

It would be nice if there will be some opportunity to download done heatmaps

February 2021

Colton from Mortarr

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Smartlook provides a Smart Look at Users

Smartlook as enabled us to be more knowledgeable about our users, and thus prioritize enhancements that truly benefit the user.

Pros

I appreciate how easy it is to start getting user insights from your website. Immediately we could see places on our site that could be enhanced because of being able to see our user's pain points more clearly.

Cons

The "Pick an event on page" feature would have been nice to use, but didn't work with our Google Tag Manager implementation.

November 2020

Sean from MediumInteractive.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Easy setup, reporting, and sharing capabilities — even on the free version!

Overall, I feel this is a great tool for gaining insight into how users are experiencing websites. Within a few minutes, I can now spot where users get confused and our team can think of ways to encourage action.

Pros

I like that this product makes me look credible to my clients. Many people fear using screen recording because they think it is hard to do, but I can easily set this up and share recordings with my clients in minutes... for free. Also, the ability to set up filters is great; which is also free.

Cons

I do not like that all data is blocked after 1500 monthly visits on the free version — for all websites contained in one account. I would like it better if this number were specific to each website.

Response from Smartlook

Replied November 2020

Thanks you for your review

April 2021

Maranda from Mortarr

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Useful + Insightful

Smartlook has provided us with great information on how our users are interacting with our site.

Pros

Heatmaps, Detailed click information, and the opportunity to funnel events to track where churn is happening.

Cons

There's a small learning curve to get the information set up and flowing correctly.

August 2017

Márton from Tancvalaszto.hu

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

The idea to look how our customers use our websites is brilliant. I'm always very excited to replay.

Pros

I have spotted out several typos and failures on my site just by looking what my visitors had seen. It provides the best insight as well regarding the customers behaviour, it is not comparable to anything else I was using (google analytics, path recording). I ve discovered a new world with Smartview and can't help spending hours playing back then recordings, and checking what and hiw the visitors were doing.

Cons

On a smartphone the right panel (offering other other recordings if the same visitor ) takes up a considerable amount of space, and it takes too much clicks and precise zoom to hide it. Itwould be better to be able to switch it off from the profile settings, (or simply deactive it for the free package) Its also a big painpont, that there is no option to filter out the recording from direct (not facebook, google etc), as this info is also not visible on the smartphone listing

Response from Smartlook

Replied August 2017

Hi Márton, thank you very much for your review. We will change Smartlook in future and it will be much more mobile friendly. You can filter the visitor recordings in the advanced filters. Under Visitor behaviour is the option referer. Enjoy Smartlook Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook

June 2019

Laura from Fathom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Perfect blend of qualitative & quantitative analysis for our measuring our product

Pros

Smartlook is the perfect blend of qualitative & quantitative analysis for our product team. It's given us a new perspective on how users are experiencing our product — from how quickly users can achieve key goals, to what our product looks like on all kinds of weird and wonderful resolutions. The true power of Smartlook comes from how it captures every event that occurs, and then allows you to search seamlessly across all past events. You can also use these events in funnels and analyse where your users are dropping out of key workflows. Since the events are all automatically tracked, we can ask "I wonder how many users have used this feature since it launched?" and get instant answers by searching the pre-recorded events. It's truly mind-blowing! And last but not least, the support team at Smartlook was AMAZING! Our product uses a few layout attributes that the Smartlook recorder wasn't capturing correctly at first. The Smartlook team worked with us over 2 days to quickly resolve the issue to support our use case and now it's all working perfectly.

Cons

There's nothing I'm disliking about Smartlook, although I'm looking forward to more flexibility with pinning stacked event charts (where I'm comparing multiple events) as a single dashboard tile. This would make tracking our key metrics really slick. Mostly I'm just excited to see where they take the product!

Response from Smartlook

Replied January 2021

Hi Laura, thank you for your review! Lukas CMO at Smartlook

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Discover how your users browse your website.

I activate Smartlook on my website once a week to collect hundreds of videos and review them during the week. In this way I discover possible failures or improvements and apply them.

Pros

Smartlook is a great tool that helps to know how users use your web page. Smartlook records videos of how users navigate, giving you basic information such as what browser you use, the country of origin, the device ... Thanks to these recordings you can discover possible improvements or failures in your web page. You can understand better because users can not complete a process and work to give them a better experience. In addition to the recordings, in Smartlook you can create heatmaps and funnels to have a better control of objectives.

Cons

In the SPA web pages the heatmaps do not work correctly. In addition, by default the CSS cache is activated and if you make changes to your web page it takes time to update them, because of this, you may be watching recordings that apparently have errors but in reality it is the fault of the cache.

Response from Smartlook

Replied January 2021

Hi, thank you for your review! Lukas CMO at Smartlook

August 2018

Philip from Hair Loss Ireland

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Smartlook helps me look smart

Seriously this is a tool you should be using so you know how your website works for your customers, it's all about finding what works and where you may be going wrong. It's cheaper than a consultant and this online consultant works 27/7

Pros

Smartlook is easy to use it helps me see how people interact with my website so I can improve user experience. I have also been able to make contact with customers who have had difficulty placing an order so this software has helped me in more ways than one.. It can also be used a a good anti fraud deterrent also.

Cons

Price I think the price could be lowered to help the smaller business ,you know the one man band who works from home.

Response from Smartlook

Replied August 2018

Thank you for your review!

July 2018

Azad from MerchShark

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Really really easy to use and perfect to know how visitors use our store.

Watching how i can make my site better for my visitors

Pros

That it has a free version of the product. I wouldnt have tried it if it was paid at first. I was one of the first to try this product when it launched.

Cons

That the play button is 0.5x speed. Also that alot of the elements on my site not loading on the recorder. I have cleared cache multiple times and made my friends go on my site, and they always load every file, but for some reason it wont load in the recorder. Most of the time its the image thats not loaded but other images are.

Response from Smartlook

Replied January 2021

Hi Azad, thank you for your review! Lukas CMO at Smartlook

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Kevin from Glasscubes Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Clever software shame about the after sales service

I found it very disappointing that I was only offered a credit and not a refund of the VAT that should not have been charged to a UK based business. After several emails to their support team they no longer even reply. BEWARE!

Pros

The insight to offers to client on boarding is invaluable.

Cons

If you are a European customer and don't want to be charged VAT that you cannot recover the sign up flow is very misleading. Although the VAT is offered as a credit note they refused a refund.

Response from Smartlook

Replied September 2018

Hi Kevin, we are sorry for misunderstanding in communication with our customer care team. After checking ticket where you discussed the issue with VAT, we came to a conclusion that this problem was caused by not filling VAT ID in your order and thus VAT 20% was automatically included. In case our customers forget to add VAT ID and later on ask for a refund, it has an impact on our accounting and thus we try to agree on credit settlement. However, when a customer doesn't agree with credit, we refund the VAT back to the credit card. In your case, we have already sent you credit (we cannot undo this operation), but we understand this was not accepted by you and thus we just sent a refund on your credit card too. Thank you for your understanding. Dalibor Houfek, COO at Smartlook

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Big brother helps you sell better

Overall very very recommended especially if you are in a debugging or Beta stage.

Pros

I LOVE this software as it has really helped us track down user issues that get reported. In the past when a customer reported a bug we would test and try and wouldn't always find the issue as it can't always be replicated. Could be the customer had an issue because of some Server load or because some process was running, we were never really sure. With Smartlook we know! We can find the customers session and find where they had trouble and watch the user experience. We can check if there were JS errors that don't normally occur for them or if there were glitches for a specific browser, all with ease.

Cons

The geolocator doesn't always match the geolocator we have on the site which means that it isn't always easy to find someones session.

Response from Smartlook

Replied May 2019

Thank you for your review, Lukas CMO at Smartlook

August 2017

Madalin from estudio3d

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

I am freelance developer. I am using Smartlook to follow the projects for which I am bidding.

Reliable clients and cost-effective projects. I am freelance developer. I am using Smartlook to follow the projects for which I am bidding. It is very simple to guess what the customer is looking at and how adapted is the interface to customer requirements and experience. This way I get to focus on important projects and push the right price.

Pros

It is very simple to guess what the customer is looking at and how adapted is the interface to customer requirements and experience. This way I get to focus on important projects and push the right price.

Cons

I often use canvas and iframes. I know it's a security rule but I need a minimum information about that content.

Response from Smartlook

Replied August 2017

Hi Madalin, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook

August 2019

Freedom from Nethrial

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL

We are solving IT issues, abandoned carts, seeing heat maps. Smartlook should be a piece of software that every company has.

Pros

I absolutely love smart look not only for the amount of features that it packs into it but how good those features are, we generally use it for spotting technical issues or seeing the heat maps but its also allowed us to see the main points at which people abandon carts and although we can see that through GA, Smartlook allows us to see what they are looking at when the do it which helps us to narrow down why they left. All of the other features are phenomenal and I just cant fault the support and everything to do with them

Cons

I had no issues with Smartlook at all

Response from Smartlook

Replied August 2019

Hi Doran, thank you for your review! Lukas CMO at Smartlook

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Shawn from Self-employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great asset!

I got Smartlook to help build my conversion rate. I wanted to see what customers are clicking on and what they are not so I could improve my website to increase sales.

Pros

I loved how you can see heat maps on what visitors click on the most and what they avoid. I like that it literally records the visitors session to show you how to make improvements. I also like the fact if you pay for the entire year you get 2 months for free.

Cons

The only thing that can be changed is a lower price, maybe a smaller package. I have a small Business and it can get costly.

Response from Smartlook

Replied September 2019

Hi Shawn, thanks for your reviw. Lukas CMo at Smartlook