Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.71

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"I really love to work with Boomset because it is a user friendly system where you can win time and focus more on your event. Afterwards you can retrieve reports and analyse your event."
  • icon"Simple, straightforward and easy to use, the BOOMSET product was one of the easiest set-up experiences we have ever had."
  • icon"What I love most is how easy it is to use and the time is saves for other members on our team to accomplish the other million tasks the day of event."
  • icon"Confusing for new staff. We could not have the badges preprinted as there was a hard time integrating it with other software."
  • icon"There is also a lag time when you click on the check-in button before you can print another badge, which can be frustrating when you've got a line backing up."
  • icon"Can't really think of anything I dislike About this software."

Have you used Boomset and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Boomset Reviews

1-25 of 45 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jennifer

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Great Attendee Registration Experience

Using Boomset removed the headache of printing and alphabetizing badges, gave us multiple branding opportunities, and allowed us to up our game when it came to the attendee registration experience.

Pros

Boomset made our registration process smooth and seamless for our attendees. The extra functionality of being able to ask custom questions at check-in averted a last-minute headache for our registration staff. Boomset's customer service was readily available to walk me through the set up process in advance of our event and while on site.

Cons

The software is easy to use but not necessarily intuitive. Customer service did an excellent job of helping me out when I needed it, but I did need to rely on them for extra help.

Response from Boomset

Thank you for your review, Jennifer. It¿s amazing to hear that Boomset could resolve some of these pain points and manual processes for you and your team. The Customer Success team strives to deliver top-notch support and Boomset works hard to make changes/updates to the system so it gets easier to use each and every time.

Replied October 2018

Danielle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

On-Site Badge Printing... I'll never go back to pre-printed name badges (if I can help it)

The use of this technology has revolutionized the way I think about running registration for events. There was a significant reduction in the number of staff needed on-site for the purposes of registration. This allowed us to pay attention to other things that required assistance. You know, things like, the internet isn’t working, the presenter is having issues with the microphone, the room is too hot/too cold. Typical event manager issues to solve.

Pros

We utilized Boomset to customize the Welcome screen for participants. From the time the participant pushed start until the time the badge printed 10 seconds may have passed and that’s being generous. After the badge printed, the most common reaction was, “Is that it?” followed by, “That was so easy!” We even got a tweet that read, “@NCDLI2019 self-service registration desks - how come no one has thought of that before! I love it. #nolineups #ncdli2019”. And what happened when a participant wanted to change the name of their company? Or their name was misspelled? They simply talked with one of our staff standing by, who logged into the Boomset app, made the change, and pushed reprint on the badge. There was even a setting that could allow participants to change this before printing!

Cons

The technology of course came with a price tag. However, I would make an argument that the approximately $4 you’re spending per name badge to have the technology is drastically reducing the staff time it takes to print name tags and stuff them into holders prior to your event. Not to mention that you don’t get a chance to reprint them, produce clean looking name tags for walk-in registrations, or eliminate the registration lines.

Response from Boomset

Danielle, thanks so much for this detailed feedback and your kind words. We¿re thrilled to have been able to ¿revolutionize¿ your event experience - and that of your attendees. Our team is always working to resolve pain points in the event lifecycle by continuously improving our features and services. Thanks again!

Replied April 2019

K

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2016

App crashed on android devices, valuable leads lost

Used Boomset for a tradeshow and the app crashed over and over again on android devices and we lost all of our leads.

Response from Boomset

Thank you for your feedback and apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We've been in contact with the event organizer who had purchased the licenses for the vendors at this event. They have been updated and are aware of this particular case. For any questions, please feel free to reach out to us directly!

Replied November 2016

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

The Boomset Way: A Single Solution for High School Hackathons

When we set out to organize MatadorHacks, a 24 hour high school hackathon, we knew we wanted to take a different approach, one that aimed to create a better experience. One of the biggest challenges we faced was how to track our participants and how to ensure that all our sessions, panels, and meals accommodated them in the fairest way possible. When we reached out to Boomset, it became immediately apparent that the "Boomset Way" was one in which our vision could be realized with Boomset's platform.

Pros

Boomset's online portal and iOS app from the very beginning presented a clean interface allowing our staff to quickly access necessary information, settings, and guest lists. Their integration with hardware manufacturers such as Infinite Peripherals enabled our staff to use barcode scanners to check in guests, both into the venue and into sessions. Furthermore, Boomset's Smart Sessions allowed participants to view open sessions and register for them all from their online ticket (Which saved paper too!). All in all, leveraging the Boomset platform allowed us organizers to put more focus on our hackathon to create a better experience for our participants.

Cons

Boomset's various products, features, and integrations make it hard to choose any other event solutions provider. We had no issues whatsoever.

Response from Boomset

Daniel, thank you for this glowing review - proud to have been a part of your high school hackathon! We're looking forward to your future events and working with your community of talented young professionals.

Replied May 2019

Alexis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2017

Best event registration check-in platform

Creating easy event check in and avoiding lines. Hands-down the best event check in product I've ever used.

Pros

Boomset has the ability to wirelessly print a name badge from your iPad or iPhone in seconds. It's amazing for large events or small events and minimizes lines. The interface is super user-friendly and would recommend to anyone.

Cons

The only con of this product would be the integration to other registration platforms and manually uploading lists.

Response from Boomset

Thanks very much for your positive feedback Alexis! We work hard to make sure that our interface is easy to use and assures our customers successful events. Boomset currently integrates with a number of leading registration platforms with many more planned for the near future. Please feel free to reach out to support@boomset.com to inquire further.

Replied September 2017

jeni

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Excellent Event Management Software

We have one large event per year where we register and badge up to 1000 individuals. Our issue was finding software that would integrate with the registration vehicle we were already using (Eventbrite) and print badges on demand with or without preregistration and to find an affordable and reliable way to do it. The product worked great with the hardware we already owned. It actually works great on phones - both iphone and android- which is a huge bonus. It was easy to purchase additional compatible equipment like badge printers that worked as expected. It's very easy to use, therefore easy to train temporary staff to use. Last year, our first year with it, we had a small glitch during the event which Boomset resolved over the phone very quickly. They were easy to get in touch with and very quick to understand and fix the issue. This year we had zero issues. We move the setups we have created between three venues with no issues at all.

Pros

Integrations are great Setup is easy Implementation is easy Feature rich Very well supported

Cons

Honestly, I don't have anything even remotely negative to say.

Reasons for choosing Boomset

Fair pricing, reactive sales staff, ease of use. Works on both Apple and Google products.

Reasons for switching to Boomset

More and better features and the confidence of a supported well tested product.

Response from Boomset

Thanks very much for sharing your experience and providing your feedback regarding our product and support. We're looking forward to your future events!

Replied December 2019

User Profile

Alicia

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2018

Boomset is the perfect addition to our events. It completes our visitor experience in so many ways.

Boomset is the perfect addition to our events. It completes our visitor experience in so many ways. I really like Boomset because it is a user friendly system where you can win time and focus more on your event. Afterwards you can retrieve reports and analyse your event. The service and support is top notch, wouldn't want to work with any other Event Software.

Pros

I really love to work with Boomset because it is a user friendly system where you can win time and focus more on your event. Afterwards you can retrieve reports and analyse your event. The service and support is top notch, wouldn't want to work with any other Event Software.

Cons

Would just be easer for us if we could also order all hardware (iPods, printers, badges ...) with Boomset because of their great service.

Response from Boomset

Thank you very much for your feedback here, Alicia. We work hard to offer a great product so event professionals like yourself can save time and keep creating great experiences. Feel free to reach out to your account manager for more details regarding the hardware component.

Replied August 2018

Rebekah

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Easy Event Check - In With Boomset

Boomset is a huge asset to our event planning, by providing the QR codes for our check-in process.

Pros

Easy to use and great customer service.

Cons

The e-mailing customization for badge printing can be finicky.

Reasons for choosing Boomset

Price

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2018

Great Experience with Boomset

Boomset allowed our registration process to run smooth. This had been a challenge for us so having this easy to use software made the experience great for our attendees. The kiosks also looked clean and professional.

Pros

It was very easy to use. Our registration lines moved quickly and guests had an easy time checking-in. Our staff was able to help those that needed it with ease.

Cons

There are a minimal number of ways to search for data, just name and email. Would have been nice to search by an ID # or company name.

Response from Boomset

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so happy to hear how easy and accommodating Boomset was for your event . Our team works diligently to provide the functionality and features that are most helpful to our customers and we very much appreciate your feedback.

Replied September 2018

User Profile

Katie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

Excellent software for large events!

Pros

Very user-friendly, fast and easy to check-in many people at once. Their dashboard is very easy to read and refresh to see current attendee check-in stats.

Cons

I do wish they were integrated with Cvent, that would be a huge help! It can be tricky to have to manual add new people from Cvent when there are many people waiting to check-in.

Response from Boomset

Thank you for your valuable feedback, Katie. We¿re thrilled to hear you enjoyed using Boomset¿s user-friendly check-in and reporting. In regards to integrations, we like trying new things - let¿s discuss this directly with your Customer Success Manager.

Replied January 2018

Kristin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Perfect fit for my organization

Using Boomset has brought our badge printing process into the 21st century. It has not only streamlined registration (and reduced lines!) for our members, but has made it possible for staff in the office to help manage events that are hundreds of miles away, enabling our on-site staff to focus more on the event itself.

Pros

This software has a simple but very efficient user interface. I love how few clicks/taps it takes to get from one screen to another, and how simple troubleshooting (usually) is. Even the least tech-savvy users in our office find it easy to use. It is very portable, works with a variety of printers and devices, and customer service has always been prompt and helpful. We'll never go back to the way we used to do things.

Cons

There are times when their updates have bugs themselves, which interferes with our use of the app at events. There is also a lag time when you click on the check-in button before you can print another badge, which can be frustrating when you've got a line backing up. Setting up the Zebra printers can also be challenging if you aren't familiar with all the printer settings lingo.

Response from Boomset

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback, Kristin. We¿re so happy to hear how using Boomset has changed your events for the better! We¿re constantly working to improve the functionality and solutions, though we try to provide as much notice and documentation to ensure the experience is as seamless as possible for everyone involved.

Replied February 2019

Kelley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2016

Boomset for Annual Conference

We used Boomset for the first time in March 2015. It was a huge success and many of the conference attendees were complimenting us on our new on site registration system. We began the process about 6 months before our event and found that Boomset was not only the most affordable solution to updating our on-site registration needs, but it also was the most user friendly! After choosing to use Boomset, we were able to quickly get set up even though our event has some "unique" needs and scenarios that we had to work through. The team at Boomset spent their time listening to our needs and helping us come up with the easiest solutions. We then were off and running and quickly learned how easy it was for our conference team to learn the software and then train others that would be using it on site. Once we were on site, everything was seamless. The badges printed quickly to keep traffic moving and no one stood and waiting in line for anything! This is was a first for us! We also were amazed with the QR codes on the badges and how easy it was to scan everyone into a program and it was wonderful being able to see how many people were already in the program on the scanners (without having to do a head count). Overall, our organization would highly recommend using Boomset. They are also always keeping up with the trends in the meeting industry to better improve their software and keep your organization on the cutting edge with on-site registration technology.

Pros

User friendly

Cons

Not much, but Boomset is always upgrading the software to fix any issues large and small

Response from Boomset

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your Boomset experience, Kelley!

Replied December 2016

Doly

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Boomset Saved My Life

We use Boomset for check-in and registration onsite at our events. We love that we have moved away from pen and paper and toward a more professional look with iPads and printed name badges. On the last day of an event in October, I deleted my entire guest list with check-in data by accident. I had a minor heart attack when I realized what happened. I had just lost all of the information for our event. I called Boomset's customer support line and the representative was very calm and let me know she would look into it. She called me back not even 20 minutes later to let me know their tech team was able to restore ALL of my data. I cannot describe the relief I felt. One of the representatives and the Boomset team are my heroes.

Pros

It is very easy to use and works well for our needs.

Cons

Sometimes updates are made to the system and we are not made aware of them. We use Boomset three times a year for our events. If an update happened between events, I may not know I need to change my process until the day of the event. Which can be stressful.

Response from Boomset

Dolly, thank you for this valuable feedback. We strive to deliver products and services that are easy to use with stellar support to ensure you've got everything you need. We are consistently making improvements to our system to make each and every experience better but will do our best to inform you of updates.

Replied December 2018

Angie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

AWESOME!

I am a person that comes from an event planning background and almost every event has the issue of checking people in and keeping a tally of who is there and who hasn't shown up yet. I hate the whole "name tag" and "check the list" thing its so outdated and ugly so this was a great solution to that. We had over 150 guests that we had to check-in in a 15-30 minute window and then have everyone board a bus which they also had to find out after checking in with us and it was all so seamless. Everyone was happy in a good mood and wasn't at all annoyed by the process. CSR was amazing and give us a really easy tutorial of the app and we were on our way. It's very user friendly. Overall a great app and i love all the little features like adding the picture of the newlyweds at the start page and having guests make little finger pictures when they sign haha. Awesome software!

Pros

I was actually working with an event services company that used this app for a wedding and it changed my life. It made checking all the guests in so much easier and fun! My favorite part is having the guests take pics once they check in- I can only imagine how much the bride and groomed loved going through all of those funny "mugshots" of their families.

Cons

In the time that I used the app for the wedding my team and I came across no issues. As many of you know there are so many things that can go wrong in a wedding and this was our first time using this app so we were worried that there would be so many first time user issues but there were none! Everything went smoothly and seamlessly.

Response from Boomset

Thank you for your kind and energetic words, Angie! It's an honor to collaborate with those planning great experiences like you and the entire team of The Ride. We're always working on making our apps and platform efficient, easy, and fun, and we're very much looking forward to working with you again.

Replied September 2018

Katie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4