About Busuu

Busuu is a language learning platform that helps students and corporate employees learn various languages such as English, Polish, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and more through integrated courses and training programs. It allows teachers to assign tasks to students, track progress and generate custom reports in real-time. Employees can use the application to access translations of keywords, grammar tips and instructions, audio recordings of vocabulary items, multiple-choice questions (MCQ) exercises and pronunciation lessons. Features of Busuu include single sign-on (SSO), access control, user engagement, communication management, reporting and more. Additionally, it allows users to practice real-life conversations and receive feedback from native speakers using co...

Busuu Pricing

Busuu offers a 30-day free trial for new users, after which the software is available across 2 pricing tiers, details of which are outlined below- Premium - € 9.99/month (Billed monthly) or € 5.83/month (Billed annually) or €5.41/month (Billed every 2 years) Premium Plus - € 10.99/month (Billed monthly) or € 6.66/month (Billed annually) or €6.24/month (Billed every 2 years) The basic version of Busuu can be accessed free of charge.

Starting price: 

9.99 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Available

Close

Image 1 of 3

Busuu account settings and placement test

Busuu User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4

Customer support

4

Functionality

4.5

Showing 10 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Well structured for learning

Very well structured and perfect user interface.

Pros

My first user impression on using Bus is how well structured it is. Everything for language learning is perfectly organized and offers a lot of flexibility in how I learn Spanish. I took the placement test at the start which fitted me in the right step. I am able to schedule lessons to fit my daily routine. What I like most is the interactive material and video of local Spanish speakers

Cons

The program is relatively cheaper with a longterm subscription but a bit expensive on a month to month premium subscription. I found that I am able to do more with the basic/free Duolingo than Busuu.

Reasons for switching to Busuu

Cost. Doulingo basic is adequate and free

Francisco

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

A more professional way to learn

Learning languages is like learning an instrument, you have to and it comes with great benefits for mental work and productivity. Also givin the freedom to choose any offered language is very attractive.

Pros

We all love good apps and services that help you practice languages, but the thing I love the most about Busuu is the interaction with other actual native people, something that doesn't have any other app I know. The cources are complete and you can get certifications from McGraw-Hill.

Cons

I think this is the first time I have nothing to complain about a product.

Reasons for switching to Busuu

A more professional approach.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Quick and Easy Language Learning

Pros

The exercises repeat to ensure that you learn words and phrases. The interface is clean and easy to use

Cons

The number of languages is fairly limited compared to others, however it has the popular ones that you need.

Julien

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Bad way to learn a language and very bad customer service

Honestly, if you really want to learn a new language, don't use this kind of app. It can be fun, you feel like you're improving but you're not. It's like a social network, they're using different techniques to get you "addicted" to the rewards but in the end, you're just wasting your time.

Pros

The interaction with other students. You can help others learning your native language and be helped to learn a new one.

Cons

The customer service. I didn't use this app for 6 month and stopped my subscription before the renewal but it didn't work. Still, the customer service wanted to charge me for another year.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Great application for learning languages

Pros

The thing I enjoy the most is the easy sequence of lessons that makes you master the content and master the language in all respects

Cons

I did not like that the evaluation of exercises did not receive much attention among the other learners, so I hope that a reward system will be developed to encourage them to evaluate

Orhan

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Busuu

I can communicate with my students in fluent English now that I have this app.

Pros

People from all over the world and speakers of several languages can be found in Busuu. People who speak the language we want to learn become our friends. These friends have a lot to teach us. For example, in some exercises we write short texts or make sound recordings.Our errors are corrected by our friends. They assist us in properly speaking and writing.

Cons

We learn succinct sentences through the software. I wish the sentences were longer. There aren't any stories on the app, which is a problem because I'd like to read some in the language we're studying. and also we can't talk to friends I 'd like to talk to my friends on app

Emirhan

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Is it worth your money?

It is one of the rare platforms where I learn the language that I enjoy taking lessons in.

Pros

The fact that the courses are carefully selected and act according to a certain level encourages you to be more disciplined and more educational.

Cons

Sometimes the excitement of the lesson is gone. And it needs to be more stimulating. Unlike other language courses, it may cost a little

User Profile

Osarumwense

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Brilliant for learning new languages

Pros

I used the free version and it was pretty cool. The user interface is nice. I like that the lessons are interactive, and engaging.

Cons

Their subscriptions for premium service are billed upfront, but the ads say otherwise...that's not fair. Few times, I encountered some glitches...the app is nice anyway.

Lawrent

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Excellent program with a few shortcomings

Busuu allows me to quickly go through the guided lessons and follow my progress. The community is also great for helping others progress (when you help, you learn too.) The program also focuses on blended learning and makes learning fun and engaging.

Pros

Its comprehensive learning path, engaging lessons, track report, and goal setting feature. The placement test to know where you should start.

Cons

Three main issues: 1. Sometimes, questions in a lesson do not help with understanding. For example, you have to choose between WILL and IS GOING TO, but Busuu corrects the syntax instead. 2. Non-native speakers. I understand that English does not belong to one variety of English; however, for learning purposes, only native speakers of English should be used in the program. 3. Corrections (community). Poor correction skills can lead learners to make mistakes. Corrections should be reviewed.

Reasons for choosing Busuu

Because of user reviews, and the price.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Meet with native speakers to learn a new language!

Pros

I love that they offer live 1-to-1 lessons or group classes.

Cons

Wish they had more language options like Korean