Bloomerang Software

4.66 / 5 (529) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 36 times in the last 30 days

About Bloomerang

Created in 2012, Bloomerang is a solution for small and growing nonprofits. It enables users to view an organization's donor records, track the best time to contact each donor and measure a donor's engagement level to make it easier for users to know when someone should be contacted.

This proactive approach can help simplify maintaining and increasing donor loyalty, as well as revenue. 

Donor retention rates can be accessed at a glance from the Donor Retention Cockpit, where each donor has a profile of their giving summary. Engagement levels are ranked by “cold”, "cool", "warm" and “hot.” 

Bloomerang is a cloud-based system and allows for unlimited users. The system is a particularly good fit for small to...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000

529 Reviews of Bloomerang

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.66 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(371)

371

4 stars

(138)

138

3 stars

(13)

13

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(6)

6

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 529 results

November 2019

Jeff from American Venous Forum

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Excellent for Most Non-Profits

At a prior non-profit, I switched them from Raiser's Edge (desktop) to Bloomerang. I gained a ton of features and saved quite a bit. The conversion was painless. I've only had to contact support a few times and they have always been extremely helpful. In my current role, I set them up with Bloomerang as their first database. I have also recommended it on multiple occasions.

Pros

Bloomerang is intuitive and easy to use. Creating and reporting with custom field has never been easier and really allows you to customize it to your needs rather than using a standard field for something else. The ability to create embedded forms is a lifesaver. The integrated email capabilities save me from having to purchase another solution like Constant Contact. Plus, these interactions are automatically recorded in the donor/prospects data file. The integrated DonorSearch option is convenient, useful and cost-effective.

Cons

If my organization ran a ton of events, I'm not sure this would be my optimal solution. Currently, there is only one level of access - so I can't let a Board Member in to look around because any accidental changes they make would be permanent. I know that Bloomerang is working on this though.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

Ease of use, integrated forms/email/DonorSearch, custom fields

November 2019

Lindsey from Simmons College of Kentucky

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Best Bang for Your Buck

Bloomerang handles not only our team's contact management but is also the financial hub for all of our donations. It is now a tool essential for our department's analytics and fundraising team. We can't live without it!

Pros

I like that this software is extremely user-friendly. There is a multitude of tutorials, articles, and narratives of explanation of functions of this product. You will never question how to use this product!

Cons

I do wish this product had more add-on features such as texting, social media tracking, and a mobile app.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

After trying out several other products, the team and I decided on Bloomerang because it was the most user-friendly and was the most comprehensive for the small price.

May 2020

Dorothy from shalom community center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Bloomerang for Small Shops

In a word, great. We really appreciate their graduated approach for pricing. They have a set rate for certain number of records and don't raise the price until the organization increases its donor numbers, thus same price until organization is better able to pay for increased services. They seem to be open to customer feedback about additional features that would improve the product as they do make upgrades.

Pros

Moving from FileMaker Pro to Bloomerang.

Cons

We just figured out that their server can't handle a HUGE increase in users as what we experienced with Giving Tuesday related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

Bloomerang offered more features for not more money. We liked the graduated pricing approach. We really appreciate the personal communication with Bloomerang staff. Bloomerang has great customer support and wonderful training options!

Response from Bloomerang

Replied May 2020

Thanks, Dorothy! We love product/feature feedback, so keep it coming! Since Giving Tuesday, we've beefed up our servers. Would you believe we had 10x the usage as we did the last GT? We're covered for that now, and more!

March 2016

Fernette from Dyslexic Advantage

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2016

Limited Options and Poor Customer Support

Pros

We sought this vendor because of its simple platform and reduced cost.

Cons

There are so many negative experiences, it's hard to identify what I liked least. 1. Revolving door customer support. Sales was very attentive, but after we purchased, we had difficulty getting ahold of our customer support. At one point she said she only worked 2 days a week, and then she called from a noisy street. Customer support didn't know about integrations with other products or setting the platform for automation, so it took weeks to allow her to put me in contact with engineering. He answered in a helpful email that took 5 minutes. Constant Contact support is much better than this - it doesn't matter to me who I get on the phone if they are knowledgeable and nice. Other platforms definitely have their support personnel better trained to answer questions. 2. Inadequate documentation for support - Videos, no Texts. As is common I think for startup companies, Bloomerang filmed short videos, but neglected proper text documentation. Our donation director would watch videos, then have trouble finding appropriate parts if she had any questions. Good tutorial documentation has text (that can be searched) and also screenshots to help people know what to do. 3. Poor default donation forms - the donation forms were ugly and not what someone would expect for a donation software. We had to go with MailChimp anyway and so there was the added cost. Bloomerang is definitely not a good option for emailing your list (others have mentioned). 4. Poor search of the donation database. If you wanted to select a list by a certain demographic - like donors of a certain amount or from a different state and some other feature and then email them, then Bloomerang couldn't do it. Although they will take some customization of the donor entry, we often found that adding different client details couldn't be searched. What is the point of adding more details if you can't find them later? We had used another platform with better search capabilities. 5. They do not search for duplicates or common typographical errors. As a result, you may be charged for a much higher number of people that are not truly in your database. Other mail lists like Constant Contact search for duplicates and also make corrections in email addresses (like a missed period between gmail and com). Nothing like that in Bloomerang. 6. They do not stand by their product. There is no customer satisfaction guarantee. Although we stated a desire to cancel the product entirely after the first year and asked the rep not to process our direct deposit, she did it anyway. Bloomerang told me that their policy is not to refund any money even though we will not be using their product at all. I was not contesting the 1 year that we already paid into, what I didn't want to do was pay for the future year because we would not use it because it had so many missing needs. Just using an integration with Mail Chimp would serve us better than Bloomerang. The communication piece with Bloomerang is extremely weak.

Response from Steven

Replied March 2016

Hello, Software Advice community! I'd like to address you, the reader of this review, directly rather than the author, whose review is largely punitive rather than constructive. Bloomerang absolutely stands by its product, which is why we did not allow this customer to break their signed agreement. We did, however, offer to pay for their third year in full. You can see from the feedback on this site that a vast majority of our customers (whom this reviewer condescends) are satisfied. I'd like to address individually some of the more dubious claims found in this review: "Revolving door customer support." Our support team currently consists of seven, US-based internal staff members. Their schedules are as follows (all times are eastern): Jason: 9am-6pm M-F James: 9am-6pm M-F Diana: 830am-530pm M-F Kristen: 830am-530pm M-F Daniel: 11am-8pm M-F Ron: 9am-3pm (3-5pm in another department) MTRF Susie: 11am-4pm T-F Our last turnover in the department was voluntary and occurred in June of 2014. Furthermore, our phone system routes support calls to a dedicated phone on each of our reps's desk. They do not give our their cell phone numbers to customers and do not take calls after hours. Calling from "a noisy street" would have been impossible. Lastly, our support reps are incredibly knowledgeable, not just in the Bloomerang product but in the nonprofit sector overall. For example, Ron has been working with nonprofits since 1987 when he became Executive Director of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame. Kristen holds an MPA in Nonprofit Management from Indiana University. "Inadequate documentation for support - Videos, no Texts." This is simply untrue. Our knowledgebase is filled with text-based documentation, including screenshots and videos. Anyone wishing to see for themselves can visit https://bloomerang.freshdesk.com/support/home and log on with the username: "demo.wayne" and the password "grace123". As for the rest, I invite anyone interested in Bloomerang to learn all that they can about the product's functionality by reaching out to customers who have left constructive reviews here. Transparency is one of our core values, and anyone wishing to discuss this review further - or any of our business practices - can reach out to me or our CEO, Jay Love, anytime day or night. Contact info is readily accessible on our website. -- Steven Shattuck, VP of Marketing

May 2020

Alicia from Code Platoon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

A great option for any nonprofit!

Bloomerang is a pleasure to work with! Their customer services is topnotch.

Pros

Bloomerang is an excellent donor management tool for our team. After careful research of many options, Bloomerang stood out for its ease of use, library of video tutorials, and functionality. It was easy to set up and has been integral in growing our development pipelines.

Cons

Every once in a while we run into a feature we wish was available. Our team is able to quickly open a ticket with the technology team at Bloomerang and many times the feature can be added!

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

Bloomerang was easier to use and we really liked to video tutorials available.

Response from Bloomerang

Replied May 2020

Thanks, Alicia! Keep those product/feature requests coming; we love it!