All Adaptive Reviews

1-25 of 27 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chris

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Must-have augment to your project software - also stands on it's own for financial management

Really innovative financial tools that are super easy to use. Great customer service (although I don't need it much because the software is quite intuitive). New and thoughtful features that obviously consider the pain builders feel with the challenges of construction accounting.

PROS

Adaptive is hyper focused on solving a critical and neglected issue with construction finance: smart and efficient day-to-day bookkeeping. Collecting cost transaction info- check. Paying bills easily via ACH - check. Tracking budget vs. actual and syncing beautifully with Quickbooks - check. The BIG SHOWSTOPPER with Adaptive though is the quick invoice/draw creation process. I can create a draw including all cost backup (i.e. images of bills and receipts) literally in under a minute. This used to take maybe an hour for really big invoices/draws, and for sure 10-20 minutes on smaller invoices/draws. Huge time savings. Big gains in reporting.

CONS

I hope to see some more development around A/R payment collection (actually collecting customer payments via the app) and around predictive budgeting (helping predict project financial outcomes mid-project).

Reason for choosing Adaptive

Best in class automation of financial processes and reporting

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

I needed construction specific budgeting and A/P solutions. There are good A/P solutions out there but they don't cater to Builders' needs. There are good construction management softwares out there but they aren't dialed in enough on the financial side of things. It's great to have really good financial tools that I can bolt on to project management software.I am an expert in construction finance, having previously served as CFO of a large production builder and now running an accounting firm focused on the industry. We recommend Adaptive as an augment to tools like Buildertrend, CoConstruct, Buildtools, etc. or as a stand alone tool for those who aren't considering using the project management features of the bigger software packages.

Mark

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Tranformative software upgrade

I'm more impressed at their INCREDIBLE customer service and efforts and passion about helping US as a construction firm. They CARE deeply that we succeed, make money and manage it seamlessly. This is a big sales tool as well when explained to not only our team but also our clients.

PROS

The ease of use and accessibility to our entire team is a game changer. Everyone loves how simple it is to use and see at a glance what is happening. Its just so intuitive that even if you don't know what your doing your instinct leads you to the right thing because of how its laid out.

CONS

That they were not around 20 years ago when I started!!

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

They were not updating their software and were ok with the status quo. Adaptive is constantly innovating and helping us solve our issues as they arise.

Adam

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

8 Month User

Very positive. Great and fast support. Enhancements regular.

PROS

Workflow Approvals and Cost Code Accounting Accuracy

CONS

Cost - I find it expensive compared to full service construction project management software

David

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Project financials put on auto-pilot

Very happy with the experience thus far. The team is more than willing to work with us on items that we feel could be done more efficiently and are very responsive to our requests and questions.

PROS

We moved all of our financial management from Buildertrend to Adaptive because of how much better, easier to use, and streamlined Adaptive is. The automated AP cuts the time required to manage bills from our subs and get people paid.

CONS

I would like to see a client portal, but this is something they are working on

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

There were some critical areas of the BuilderTrend side of things we couldn't get full circle. We ARE still using Buildertrend for daily management, scheduling, daily construction logs, to do's, etc.. however we have moved all of the financial management into Adaptive and are very happy with the decision.

Brooke

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Easiest way to stay on top of the books

I really have enjoyed Adaptive. The ease of the software and the team has been great at being receptive to things we are working on or certain reports we need.

PROS

I used to spend hours upon hours tracking down receipts from employees and bills from subcontractors. Now, with Adaptive, me and my team just forward everything to the system and then all we have to do is review and approve. It keeps our books up to date on a daily basis, and we can run quicker reports to see everything at once.

CONS

There is a lot of things coming up with future releases and it's hard to keep up with all the changes. They are good changes coming, but I haven't been able to keep up with them all.

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

Adaptive had the ability to process AP invoices as well as credit card receipts, where Abacus was only credit card receipts.

Hunter

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

The cost plus draws save me days of work per month

Adaptive has proven to be a fantastic addition to our business. Has allowed us to cut out our accounting processes and paperwork and half . Our billing and invoicing has become a breeze with Adaptive. Adaptive has become a huge asset to our business and allows us to capitalize on our time and efficiency. Love Adaptive and can't speak highly enough.

PROS

I signed up for Adaptive because I loved how the automated bills and receipt capture would sync directly into my draws. Not only does the software produce a formatted draw in just a couple of clicks, but all transaction backup is included

CONS

I have requested a few additional features, and they are working on them!

Reason for choosing Adaptive

We chose Adaptive because of its ease of use and its intuitive software that does half the work for you.

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

Adaptive has allowed us to cut our bookkeeping time anon half and our billing processes have become simple

Kim

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Outstanding Financial Tool for Builders!

I was frustrated with Buildertrend's capabilities and switched to Adaptive to manage my financials. Adaptive's product is superior without a doubt, and their team continues to roll out new features that make it even better. With Adaptive I feel confident by books are up-to-date and accurate.

PROS

There is a bunch of built-in automation and the interface is very clean. The intuitive nature of the product saves me hours of work each week. The search feature is incredible. Onboarding was simple and fast. The support team is responsive and knowledgeable.

CONS

I want a lien waivers feature! I've been speaking with the founding team, and they are working on it.

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

I don't like Buildertrend's financial features. They are clunky and don't allow for customization.

Peter

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Streamlined bookkeeping built for construction

Time is money, age old saying. Our clients only have so much time to commit to the critical financial functions of business.... Adaptive has empowered them to completely manage their finances, with less time required of them.

PROS

his is the automated bookkeeping platform purpose built for construction. There are tons of features that make life easier for construction companies--things that other companies will never think of nor do. For example, a common issue we see happening is that expenses are coded to the wrong cost code or the wrong job and then it's a pain to recognize this and re-code them after the fact. Adaptive organizes all costs by job, and then while you're reviewing your budget, it's easy to reallocate costs to the right line item (and this updates in QB as well). Another example would be that when paying bills, they allow you to sort the entire list by project. Finally, they have the ability to build custom reports that can be sent to your team on a recurring schedule, so if you want to automate your weekly reviews, you can build your reports and get those sent out

CONS

Adaptive has an ambitious goal to build a full financial management program for construction. They have moved extremely fast to build out multiple features, but I am still waiting on certain things. For example, lien waivers and a client portal. They are working on these features and they should be live soon

Chloe

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Game changer for construction accounting and budgeting

PROS

I run a consulting firm that helps builders set up best-in-class processes across their businesses. As part of this, I focus on opportunities to automate the process as much as possible. Adaptive is the best financial automation platform for construction that allows for easy job cost and budget tracking. The software itself is incredibly simple and easy to use. We use Quickbooks, which is incredibly painful for construction job cost tracking and job P&L tracking. Adaptive allows us to quickly see where funds have been incorrectly coded, saving tons of time we used to spend tracking down errors in Quickbooks. It also makes it very easy to see what costs have not yet been drawn for. When you forward documents to Adaptive, they read all of the information including the job code. You can then set up workflow rules so that bills for certain projects (or vendors, or cost codes, etc.) go to certain people in your company for approval. These approvals can be done from the computer or from mobile. Finally, approved costs are automatically added to budgets and you also attach them to draws. When you're paying bills, you can see which bills have been added to a draw and whether that draw has been paid yet. Our clients have been thrilled to see the detailed reporting that comes out of Adaptive which we can now easily send weekly along with their invoice. It shows them a detailed breakdown of costs, what we've drawn for, and what expenses remain. In addition, the team at Adaptive is top-notch. They respond to any and all issues within minutes and are quick to help. You can sense that they really care about understanding their customer's pain points and developing solutions.

CONS

Adaptive is a startup and they are working to roll out new features as much as possible. When they are moving this fast, there will naturally be kinks in their releases, but the support is great and they resolve any issues very quickly.

John

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Do yourself a favor and get Adaptive NOW

PROS

Adaptive’s AI is a game changer! We have all of our suppliers and contractors submit invoices directly to adaptive via email. The AI gets all the necessary info such as amount, invoice number, name, etc and inputs it in the system. We used to have to do all of this ourselves and it was a huge time suck. After the invoice comes in there is an approval process and once approved we pay directly through adaptive direct deposit to the payee! We used to scramble every week to meet up with all the various contractors and get them checks. Not to mention we had to write or input all the checks into the system. Another task that is streamlined by Adaptive and we have now taken 3 time sucks for our company and consolidated them. The feature I love most is budget tracking. All through adaptive you can set amounts for each line item and track those totals vs invoices and amounts paid. It gives you a real time look into where you stand financially in a project. Now what really wraps a bow on all of this is it AUTOMATICALLY synchs with QuickBooks! Yet again another step that is automated which we were manually entering before! All in all Adaptive has been incredible for our company. It feels like we hired a whole new team for financial consulting, invoicing, and accounting but without adding any additional overhead to the company! I HIGHLY recommend Adaptive. Just get it and thank me later!

CONS

It makes me feel stupid for having done all of these things in the least productive way before we implemented Adaptive!

Jim

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Easy to use bookkeeping and subcontractor payments

We have been able to streamline a lot of our backend systems and processes thanks to Adaptive. I have found a substantial time savings for both myself and our office staff which has allowed us to focus on more important tasks. The support is top notch, any issues have been resolved quickly and the team is very open to suggestions and feedback to improve their product. This is a breath of fresh air after dealing with most of our other software products.

PROS

Before Adaptive, we were struggling to stay on top of bookkeeping. We went through a few bookkeeping firms and had a hard time making it work. We now use Adaptive to run all of our AP, expenses, and subcontractor payments, and we are starting to use the invoicing functionality as well. The product is very easy to use and automates a lot of processes for us. It pushes data to our quickbooks account quickly, which then is pulled into our Buildertrend project management software. This helps our team in the field stay on top of our budgets for each project in real time.

CONS

I was one of the earliest customers of Adaptive. I signed up after looking over the product at the IBS show this past February . As with any new software, there have been some kinks. However, their team is very responsive and has always fixed any issues rapidly.

Gabe

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Adaptive is a game changer

AP / Draws are now lightning fast, which has shortened the pay cycle to vendors and subs, which in turn has sped up the construction schedules.

PROS

Adaptive saves our team large amounts of time, taking the brain damage out of construction accounting and allowing our in house accountants to focus on more complex and important tasks.

CONS

that they didn't implement it 10 years ago

Brian

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Adaptive is a gamechanger

All of the issues that comes expenses & accounts payable, It has really streamline our company for maximum efficiency and accuracy.

PROS

The software has drastically reduced our employees time on accounting & keeping cost current/ accurate. The Adaptive team is amazing as well!

CONS

I'm ready for the next feature, they cant get here fast enough!

Reason for choosing Adaptive

It was clear they had a superior system that would change our accounting for the better.

Reasons for switching to Adaptive

Frustration with the limited well functioning products on the market. Just about all where not solving the real time issues with small business. We needed something better so we could spend less time on mundane accounting activities. This is where were introduced to the team at Adaptive and we have not looked back!

Kendall

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Best way to manage cash flow

PROS

Managing cash flow is all about understanding your costs vs. your income. Sounds simple enough, but staying on top of the day-to-day costs is actually quite difficult. Enter Adaptive. All my team has to do is forward documents to the platform and Adaptive does most of the data entry. Additionally, all documents are stored on the platform for future reference (or for providing back-up). It has helped us to streamline our financial processes and get pay apps pulled together much faster

CONS

I'm looking forward to their upcoming release of % completion billing

Reason for choosing Adaptive

No risk and all reward. We were able to add on Adaptive to our existing Quickbooks. The software sync perfectly, so anything done in adaptive go into Quickbooks. All my existing reports remained and just added on better reporting and invoice processes.

Tausha

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Dramatically simplifies AP/AR

PROS

I am an accountant that works with construction companies. One of the most difficult parts of the job is managing AP and AR. Before Adaptive, my clients were using project management software + spreadsheets + quickbooks. All data entry was manual and then information needed to be manually moved from one place to the other. With Adaptive, we just forward all AP and expenses to the platform, route them to the right approvers for each project, and then add them to the draw. It is saving an enormous amount of time

CONS

This is a new product and the team is building fast. There are certain features I'm very much looking forward to that will make this even easier to use. For example, the team is working on allowing me to customize the mark-up on each change that happens on the draw schedule

David

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Approval workflows, budgets, and draws have improved our processes dramatically

It's been a wonderful overall experience. They have a great team that is truly interested in solving problems for contractors.

PROS

The ability to customize our payment approvals have been a game changer and the cost-plus draw functionality have improved our cash flow significantly.

CONS

We were an early adopter so there were some challenges initially, but the direct communication with the management and development team allowed for direct input on changes to the platform that met the specific needs of contractors.

Reason for choosing Adaptive

Funtionality, specificity of use, adaptability.

Shane

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Shane Monthend Review

Very satisfied and will continue to recommend to anyone in the building/finance industry

PROS

I really enjoy the multiple integrations Adaptive has and its ease of integrating into your company, I also have never had an issue getting in contact with an Adaptive rep to discuss any questions or concerns

CONS

Adaptive is continuously getting better but one area I originally struggled with is the UI navigation and understanding where to find certain things, with training and exposure it has gotten much easier but originally was a bit of a drag to learn

Chelsy

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE