idu-Concept Reviews

4.26 / 5 (40)

Our advisors have recommended this product 18 times in the last 30 days

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(12)

4 stars

(23)

3 stars

(5)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(0)

Feature Ratings Breakdown

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Funtionality

4.0 / 5
  • Pros

  • "The Software is ease to use and has an appealing User Interface. "

  • "Ease of use and flexibility to connect to SP online."

  • "The client module. It is really straightforward and user friendly"

  • "That each cost centre manager can access their actual spend against their budget, and it is user friendly for any employee. "

  • Cons

  • "There is no option to create standard reports for various users Inability to copy and paste or duplicate activities for some functions"

  • "Nothing so far, my 2 months experience have been great."

  • "The excel reports do need more tailoring to ensure they are set up to provide the information we need in the format we need"

  • "Nothing really, wish I had more time to spend on IDU to see what it has to offer, that we don't use. Unfortunately I hardly get that time."

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

February 2017

Maria from CRAN

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Journeying with IDU

Started using the system in 2014. It is a user friendly system with amazing functionalities. It has really made our work processes more efficient. The support/helpdesk is very efficient as Users' needs/queries are addressed as soon as possible.

Pros

The analytical reporting and the Recodes and Accruals are excellent functionalities available on idu Version 5. The idu-Concept Administrator is very user friendly which makes it easier for any person to manage the admin environment, no IT/system developing skills required hence no support agreement is needed.

Cons

No cons that I can think of, the system offers functionalities that meet the needs of businesses. It is responsive to business needs especially the latest Version 5 has made a significant move in addressing business needs. The system provides value for money and its implementation cost is reasonable.

May 2018

Amanda from Southern View Finance (Pty) Ltd t/a Capfin

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Best add-on to you financial system

IDU has made reporting, budgeting & forecasting an administrative dream for my department. I would highly recommend IDU for any business, big or small.

Pros

Easy to use for non-financial users.
Ability to adapt and customize system to suit our business on a continuous basis.
Easy to understand system & use it in our day to day business for reporting & decision making.
Admin ability to create, change or update anything, without depending on IDU consultants.
Feedback & assistance from Helpdesk & Consultants are always fast & effective!

Cons

That I cannot see 'back-end' rules to make sure it is in line with my expectations.
IDU is very fiscal set restricted (causing duplication of work & errors to occur).
Structures is also very specific, again duplication of work (would be nice to have a 'main' set up where all structures feed from).

March 2017

Masana from Corobrik

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

IDU User - Corobrik

I have been working on the IDU programme/software for the last four years and i am impressed with the programme and all the functions that are offered. We mainly use it for our budgeting process and i am quite happy with how everything is structured. We recently upgraded to the latest version of IDU and there are some features that are no longer available and most people struggled to find their way on how to go about using the programme but the overall experience has been awesome and the wonderful team at IDU KZN has been very helpful.

Pros

The reports, i think they a have been designed in such a way that they even if a person has never worked on the IDU programme, one can easily interpret the information.

Cons

We always have to email our queries and not communicate our queries over the phone. I think IDU should introduce team viewer to be able to see on our screens what issues we have.

May 2019

Hayley from Royal Agricultural & Horticultural Society of SA Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Moving from Excel Macros to idu-Concept

Using idu-concept in our last annual budget setting process allowed the process to be more efficient. With staff able to concurrently access their project areas and add comments or make changes as needed, a reduced timeframe was needed for the process and as well as being less stressful for all!

Pros

The direct integration and daily refresh from our accounting system into idu-concept allows non Finance managers and staff to proactively monitor and manage their areas of responsibility on an ongoing basis, reviewing results against budget without having to wait until manual excel based reports are run by Finance or month end reports are sent out.


Cons

The excel reports do need more tailoring to ensure they are set up to provide the information we need in the format we need

April 2019

Katlego from Botswana Accountancy College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The Best Budgeting Software

With various departments, IDU has assisted with budgetary control - spend monitoring. Looking forward, we hope to have the managers query financial transactions for more accurate management reporting.

Pros

The fact that its excel based makes it easy to use. The user flexibility and customization makes IDU perfect for reporting.

Cons

Still trying to figure out how the CAPEX tracking can work best for our organisation (reporting especially). If IDU can have the ability to assist in CAPEX spend tracking it will be superb.

Response from idu Software of

Replied April 2019

Hi Katlego Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on idu-Concept it is much appreciated. Your IDU Account Manager will be in touch with you to assist with your CAPEX query.

March 2016

Monty from Cape Consumers


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2016

IDU's great budgeting tool will help make the right decisions!

Pros

The budget & forecast application is user friendly and supports driving responsibility for managing budgets to the budget owners, and assists the Finance team to effectively monitor budgets and forecast accurately. IDU has a great culture - the team have the right skill sets & knowledge / experience, understand the budget process (not just good application developers!), and fully support you from day one through to successful implementation and beyond. This is the experience a customer wants with a product and the service!

Cons

There is nothing to complain about - really! Whilst one can always improve on a product and service, I always get the impression that IDU are already one step ahead planning for the next improvements to their product when as a user you suggest an improvement.

March 2016

Willem from University of South Africa


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2016

A brief testimonial of Idu-Concept

Pros

Proudly South African, developed with our unique requirements and collective character in mind. Keeping up with the latest technological as well as other related developments at all times, responding positively to the requirements of individual clients as well as clients within a specific industry (in our case, the Higher Education (HE) sector). Finally, a helpdesk as well as other technical and client support services operating at the speed of light.

Cons

Nothing, really! I can simply not think up anything!

September 2018

Brenda from LegalWise

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Easier financial results

IDU is very user friendly, efficient response times when we have queries.

Pros

The budget process and monthly forecasting is much easier and efficient within IDU. Monitoring monthly actuals against budgets.
Assets are managed and handled within IDU no manual asset registers anymore.

Cons

There is not really anything we don't like.

September 2018

Annah from Eazi Access Rental

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Finance information now has integrity

Definitely improved our integrity as the finance department. In our current loss of info, analytics developed by IDU came to the rescue as it stored all info from prior years to future forecasts.

Pros

It enhances the integrity of financial information by eliminating manual intervention
Better storage of information
Simplifies the budgeting, forecasting and reporting functions

Cons

There is no option to create standard reports for various users
Inability to copy and paste or duplicate activities for some functions

March 2018

Ramin from Upper Education

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Good product

Pros

Really is not easy to find budgeting and expense application which provides good quality tools like idu-Concept. It's being used for forecasting and budgeting purposes by our organization for 1 and half year. And it was one of the must application in any companies.

Cons

Besides the good features and services, the product has lack of the customer care and email integration. I think with little improvements and updates it can become the beast in market.

October 2018

Katlego from Botswana Accountancy College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

IDU

The benefits of IDU if rolled out properly in the organisation can optimize processes within the Finance office. IDU assists managers in making up to date and informed decisions.

Pros

The fact that the system is excel based.
I can customize the presentation of the financial information to managers understanding.

Cons

The dashboards should allow for more customization to project user beneficial information.

The CAPEX budgeting and tracking could be improved.

February 2017

Esti from FPT Group (Pty) Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

IDU software

Wonderful product with vast applications and functionalities

Pros

It's adaptability - we are not a cookie cutter type business and IDU could still adapt to meet our needs.

Cons

The admin side can be a bit confusing for users.

April 2017

Chris from Kargo Group of Companies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Using the IDU Budgeting Software

For years the budgets were done on an Excel Spreadsheet. With 3 Companies, multiple divisions and about 9 branches, it was a constant nightmare to keep everything in sync. Spreadsheet were send to branch managers to modify. These spreadsheets were then sent back for finance to incorporate it into the main spreadsheet, Sometimes there were multiple versions of the spreadsheets and just maintaining the Main spreadsheet was a challenge. Using IDU now allows all users to work on the budgeting software at the same time. Costs that cannot be broken down into IDU are done on a spreadsheet and referred to from within IDU. The time it now takes to complete the budgets has drastically reduced. Comparisons to live data as well as the past year makes complete sense when users are trying to complete their budgets.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Budget management and monitoring made easier

The IDU system has addressed the major issue of accountability and ownership of the budget by managers in the organisation. It has also forced managers to take the process seriously as the budget team has better tools to analyse all submission.

Pros

Takes the responsibility of costing away from the budget office and makes the cost centres take accountability for their budget. The budget process is reduced as there is no longer a need to utilise spreadsheets. What is also appreciated is that requests for customisation are always accomodated

Cons

No cons, complaints from users relates to mon ability to copy and paste information that was captured incorrectly.

February 2017

Ashraf from Old Mutual

Company Size: 10,000+ employees


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Ashraf Hay Review

None

Pros

I find IDU intuitive and easy to use. Everything is where you expect it to be and also works in the way you expect it to.

Cons

No Cons. With the ever changing landscape, there are always opportunities for enhancements in functionality

February 2017

Hilbert from Intercape Ferreira Mainliner

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Versatility

IDU enables us to really automate the budget process (in so much as it is possible) by providing multiple approaches that work together.

April 2017

Flynn from Rohlig-Grindrod

Company Size: 201-500 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Overall experience was good although the number of cost centres can become very time consuming with any changes that are made.

The system is not very user friendly when working with many cost centers and an expense account across all needs to be reviewed. The changing and creating of reports also needs to be simplified. On certain functions, the number of import files required is very time consuming.

Pros

The structure of the system is good and the multi-user function allows overall teamwork. The different account types contribute to overall control and accuracy of input.

Cons

The percentage allocation option can become very complicated with the levels of calculations required.
The balance sheet and cash flow options have served no purpose due to setup and training.

May 2018

Abrie from Schoonbee Landgoed

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Business Transparency

Pros

Up to date reporting info everyday within GL accounts.
Ease of budgeting process.
Data in easy to read format.

Cons

Speed improvements on SQL queries, loading of data, and capturing data. 13 Companies in total consolidated.

September 2016

Shaun from GPi Slots


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Budgeting made easy

Pros

The user interface is easily understandable and requires minimal training of staff to understand. This does however assume the staff has basic computer skills.

Cons

The administration of the product is a bit cumbersome and the vast number of settings available is a bit daunting at times.

February 2017

Maeez from SACU Secretariat

Company Size: 10,000+ employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

GREAT PRODUCT

It is unusual to find a budgeting system that caters for budgeting and reporting. IDU offers the solution.

Pros

The ease of use and integration capability.

Cons

It is not specifically designed for the public sector, and its presentation design is largely private sector based.