IDU-Concept

IDU-Concept Reviews

RATING:

4.34

(79)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.34

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"A very user friendly software, versatile, great for both financial and non financial managers."
  • icon"Product is easy to use, and i love that it can easily export into excel."
  • icon"Easy to use, easy to make changes and great support team at IDU."
  • icon"The admin side can be a bit confusing for users."
  • icon"The set up seems very complicated, especially as an admin user. It is sometimes confusing as the same wording appears on different menus / sub menus."
  • icon"Our company had a restructure and of which all systems were not aligned for the integration hence reporting was difficult to extract and review."

Have you used IDU-Concept and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All IDU-Concept Reviews

1-25 of 79 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Hlonelwa

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

IDU Review

I would highly recommend this tool to any organisation that is not using it, it has so much capabilities to suit your companies needs. If you need any additional functionality, it is added by IDU. I am very satisfied with the tool, and I believe it even has more capabilities than what I currently use it for and I intending of using those in the near future. The support from IDU is the best that I have ever encountered compared to any other software I use.

Pros

Since using IDU, it has made budgeting so much simpler. There is no need to keep multiple spreadsheets. You have once central easily accessible tool for all elements of budgeting. The software allows for any additional support one needs to attach for budgeting, and should you need anything you don't have to request from different individuals or locations, the information is all there. Not only does it make it easy to complete the budgeting process but also easy to review as well. It has quite number of features that made the budgeting process seamless, eg If a specific calculation depends on a specific variable, the tool has the functionality to make a change in one place it will automatically pull through in all the other respective dependent calculations.

Cons

Uploading the payroll information for budgeting into IDU, I believe is a bit complex and could be simplified. Note: Updating of the information is easy, but the initial upload.

Fatima

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

UCT Feedback

The customer service provided by IDU is excellent. Their staff are always willing to assist and find ways of satisfying the customer needs. The staff are very knowledgable, friendly and quick to respond to queries. Implementation of IDU has definitely improved our budgeting process, and we look forward to now working on the reporting side of it.

Pros

It is web-based so therefore easily accessable. Takes away the need for planning in excel and then transferring those plans to your source system. Minimal clicks to get to where you need to be. Prepopulation of employee data before the budgeting cycle has cut down the time to input employee budgets - the same for depreciation.

Cons

We would like to get to line item detail from a summary cost center group and not have to drill down to each cost center to get to this data. The client must also be able to get to this level and view the total budget in line item format, not only at budget type level.

Reasons for choosing IDU-Concept

Based on their presentation to us, it was the better product out of the alternatives

Reasons for switching to IDU-Concept

One of our Finance Strategies is to provide Agile Budgeting and Reporting, which SAP CO was not delivering

Response from idu Software

Dear Fatima Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of idu-Concept, we really appreciate it. We are so delighted to have received 5 stars for customer support. Thank you, I will pass on your compliments to our team. I have also passed on your comment about not being able to get to line item detail without having to drill down to each cost centre to our consulting team. They will be in touch to see how we can assist with this. Kind regards The IDU Team

Replied March 2020

Natashia

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2018

Idu Financial reporting

overall the Idu team has always assisted and help resolve my queries , so a good experience

Pros

it is user friendly , once you understand the sytem navigation is easier.

Cons

Updateting users acess in every Fiscal set

Delfina

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

IDU - is great!!

We had a successful implementation. IDU's customer service is really good. IDU consultants supported us well and IDU staff are solution oriented.

Pros

It intuitive and easy to use. Running reports is quick. It was easy to integrate with our processes.

Cons

There are a number of customised reports and one needs to go through quite a long list to see what is relevant for needs. Perhaps group into headings.

Reasons for choosing IDU-Concept

total cost and affordability, ability to meet functional requirements, local vendor/local support, user-friendliness of system, installations at other Universities/Higher Education institutions, vendor demonstrations.

Reasons for switching to IDU-Concept

The budgeting and reporting systems and processes, although effective in achieving the desired end result, were cumbersome, hugely labour intensive, inefficient, requiring a large amount of manual resource interface, and time consuming. It was difficult to revise budgets quickly to respond to changes and scenarios, and thus lacked the appropriate agility in our operational and strategic context.

Response from idu Software

Dear Delfina Thank you so much for your review of idu-Concept, and specifically for your comments about having received great service. I will pass on your compliments to our team. Thank you also for the suggestion about the grouping the reports under headings. Our development team will look into how we can make this easier for you. Kind regards The IDU Team

Replied March 2020

Jaques

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Experience Review

Very pleased with the system as it reduce preparation time of forecast and budgets for us. The system also allowed us to budget and forecast at a granule level were we where not possible to do it in the past nor in a short time frame. It also increased efficiency as preparation time has moved to reviewing of data.

Pros

The customization of the system, contiguously improvement of the system, Standardization of reports available, version control.

Cons

The complexity of certain functions, like Activity mapping between attributes, etc. Financial Modeling not allowing multiple structure to be used when top down functionality are being used. Not able to have hybird structure within account and cost centre structures.

Reasons for choosing IDU-Concept

Unable to list reason as I was unfortunately was not part of the team making the decision.

Response from idu Software

Dear Jacques, Many thanks for your great review of idu-Concept. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of our solution. Your review has been shared with both our consulting and development teams. Reviews like these help us improve and drive our client-led development. strategy. Thanks again. The IDU Team

Replied June 2021

Amanda

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2018

Best add-on to you financial system

IDU has made reporting, budgeting & forecasting an administrative dream for my department. I would highly recommend IDU for any business, big or small.

Pros

Easy to use for non-financial users. Ability to adapt and customize system to suit our business on a continuous basis. Easy to understand system & use it in our day to day business for reporting & decision making. Admin ability to create, change or update anything, without depending on IDU consultants. Feedback & assistance from Helpdesk & Consultants are always fast & effective!

Cons

That I cannot see 'back-end' rules to make sure it is in line with my expectations. IDU is very fiscal set restricted (causing duplication of work & errors to occur). Structures is also very specific, again duplication of work (would be nice to have a 'main' set up where all structures feed from).

Masana

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2017

IDU User - Corobrik

I have been working on the IDU programme/software for the last four years and i am impressed with the programme and all the functions that are offered. We mainly use it for our budgeting process and i am quite happy with how everything is structured. We recently upgraded to the latest version of IDU and there are some features that are no longer available and most people struggled to find their way on how to go about using the programme but the overall experience has been awesome and the wonderful team at IDU KZN has been very helpful.

Pros

The reports, i think they a have been designed in such a way that they even if a person has never worked on the IDU programme, one can easily interpret the information.

Cons

We always have to email our queries and not communicate our queries over the phone. I think IDU should introduce team viewer to be able to see on our screens what issues we have.

Antoinette

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Not looking back a second!

It is very user friendly product, easy to understand and maintain. The dashboards in the admin and user sites are very helpful. I've never met a team that is so proud and excited about what they are doing, keeping up with the latest developments in the software environment and their clients needs. In the more than 11 years working with the IDU team I never experience once a negative vibe or unwillingness to give assistance and support.

Pros

The adaptability of the product, it can be easily adapted to your needs when it is coming to budgeting and reporting.

Cons

There is no features that I like least. I would like for us to investigate the option to do workforce planning via IDU.

Reasons for choosing IDU-Concept

Our alternative product was the use of excel spread sheets as many other businesses used and is still using. I love using excel but cannot imagine going back to all those stand alone excel spread sheets.

Response from idu Software

Dear Antoinette Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. I have shared your kind words with our team. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms all the hard work we put in every day. We look forward to seeing you again.

Replied March 2020

Fadwaa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Monthly management review

It save me time and analytical reviews. Reports are on hand with a click of a button.

Pros

Easy to read and understand reporting, able to extract information and easy to drill down and roll up. Export and import function is awesome for quick fix and analytical reviews.

Cons

Our company had a restructure and of which all systems were not aligned for the integration hence reporting was difficult to extract and review

Reasons for choosing IDU-Concept

Easy to use and user friendly. Ability to have real time budgets and forecast numbers for executive members

Response from idu Software

Dear Fadwaa What a wonderful review, thank you so much for sharing your experience of idu-Concept.

Replied March 2020

Hayley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Moving from Excel Macros to idu-Concept

Using idu-concept in our last annual budget setting process allowed the process to be more efficient. With staff able to concurrently access their project areas and add comments or make changes as needed, a reduced timeframe was needed for the process and as well as being less stressful for all!

Pros

The direct integration and daily refresh from our accounting system into idu-concept allows non Finance managers and staff to proactively monitor and manage their areas of responsibility on an ongoing basis, reviewing results against budget without having to wait until manual excel based reports are run by Finance or month end reports are sent out.

Cons

The excel reports do need more tailoring to ensure they are set up to provide the information we need in the format we need

Monty

Time used: Less than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2016

IDU's great budgeting tool will help make the right decisions!

Pros

The budget & forecast application is user friendly and supports driving responsibility for managing budgets to the budget owners, and assists the Finance team to effectively monitor budgets and forecast accurately. IDU has a great culture - the team have the right skill sets & knowledge / experience, understand the budget process (not just good application developers!), and fully support you from day one through to successful implementation and beyond. This is the experience a customer wants with a product and the service!

Cons

There is nothing to complain about - really! Whilst one can always improve on a product and service, I always get the impression that IDU are already one step ahead planning for the next improvements to their product when as a user you suggest an improvement.

Nguquko

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Great Financial Reporting and Budgeting

IDU has made reporting enjoyable and insightful.

Pros

IDU allows for customisation of reports that can dissect various cost centres into a single wide view. The system is also great at budgeting capture and variance reporting on a monthly, YTD or annual basis.

Cons

The initial set up of certain reports requires individual allocation of posting codes and that may require more input, however once it is done, it works seamlessly.

Response from idu Software

Dear Nguquko Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of idu-Concept. We are so happy with the amazing rating that you gave us. We are also delighted that our product has made your reporting so much easier and more insightful. Thanks again. The IDU Team

Replied March 2020

Chris

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2017

Using the IDU Budgeting Software

For years the budgets were done on an Excel Spreadsheet. With 3 Companies, multiple divisions and about 9 branches, it was a constant nightmare to keep everything in sync. Spreadsheet were send to branch managers to modify. These spreadsheets were then sent back for finance to incorporate it into the main spreadsheet, Sometimes there were multiple versions of the spreadsheets and just maintaining the Main spreadsheet was a challenge. Using IDU now allows all users to work on the budgeting software at the same time. Costs that cannot be broken down into IDU are done on a spreadsheet and referred to from within IDU. The time it now takes to complete the budgets has drastically reduced. Comparisons to live data as well as the past year makes complete sense when users are trying to complete their budgets.

Annah

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Easy to use

My overall experience with this product has been excellent. We are very happy with it.

Pros

The thing i like most about idu-Concept is how easy it is to use!

Cons

I can't think of something that i like least.

Morgan

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

User friendly and easy to navigate

Time saving and management of the budget process

Pros

User friendly. Enjoy the simply aggregation at various levels.

Cons

The forecast headcounts don't update. It would help if all the stat accounts would also update in the forecast set

Response from idu Software

Hi Morgan Thanks for taking the tme to write a review of idu-Concept. We are glad to see that you find the tool user friendly and easy to navigate. Your IDU Consultant will be in touch with you shortly as they believe they have a sollution that should be able to assist you with getting your statistical accounts to update in the forecast set. Hopefully this will help.

Replied March 2020

Abrie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY