User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(26)

26

4 stars

(40)

40

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Product is easy to use, and i love that it can easily export into excel"

  • "Excellent tool with lots of potential and capabilities"

  • "I like the ability to compare budget versus actuals. It is a great consolidation platform."

  • Cons

  • "Besides the good features and services, the product has lack of the customer care and email integration. I think with little improvements and updates it can become the beast in market."

  • "The e-mail functionality currently does not support a hosted shared environment requiring user ID and password, as it uses a generic name: anonymous. IDU are currently looking into the situation."

  • "Nothing, really! I can simply not think up anything!"

Browse idu-Concept Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 71 results

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Budget management and monitoring made easier

The IDU system has addressed the major issue of accountability and ownership of the budget by managers in the organisation. It has also forced managers to take the process seriously as the budget team has better tools to analyse all submission.

Pros

Takes the responsibility of costing away from the budget office and makes the cost centres take accountability for their budget. The budget process is reduced as there is no longer a need to utilise spreadsheets. What is also appreciated is that requests for customisation are always accomodated

Cons

No cons, complaints from users relates to mon ability to copy and paste information that was captured incorrectly.

February 2020

Grant from Mainland Group

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Idu has real depth of functionality

The system is helping us drive business ownership of budgeting and reporting processes

Pros

The software has many levels of detailed functionality to deal with most budgeting and reporting scenarios

Cons

The screen layout and design is fairly dated

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

The system design will allow us to implement a structured approach to budgeting while retaining the flexibility required

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Grant Thank you for writing a review of idu-Concept. By driving ownership of the budget process within an organisation it leads to greater buy-in and accountability. I am sure your team are experiencing this. We are constantly updating and upgrading the features, functionality and look and feel of our product. We will send more information as these enhancements are released. Hopfully you will find the design and layouts more engaging.

September 2018

Natashia from Legalwise

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Idu Financial reporting

overall the Idu team has always assisted and help resolve my queries , so a good experience

Pros

it is user friendly , once you understand the sytem navigation is easier.

Cons

Updateting users acess in every Fiscal set

February 2020

willie from Gauteng Provincial Legislature

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great budgeting tool!

automated budget tool. this assist the organisation during the budget process

Pros

easy to use as well automated process. the interface with SAP also assist in ensuring that the data we utilise for reporting is accurate.

Cons

I do not have much to report on. We have just introduced the project reporting module. we will provide feedback at a later stage.

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

we required an automated budget tool

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Willie Thank you for your great review. It is really important to us that our software is easy to use and understand and so it is great to hear it. We are sure that you will find the functionality in the project bugeting module very useful. We look forward to hearing your experience of it. Please do not hesitate to contact our helpdek or your account manager if you have any queries. Thanks again The IDU Team

February 2020

Fatima from University of Cape Town

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

UCT Feedback

The customer service provided by IDU is excellent. Their staff are always willing to assist and find ways of satisfying the customer needs. The staff are very knowledgable, friendly and quick to respond to queries. Implementation of IDU has definitely improved our budgeting process, and we look forward to now working on the reporting side of it.

Pros

It is web-based so therefore easily accessable. Takes away the need for planning in excel and then transferring those plans to your source system. Minimal clicks to get to where you need to be. Prepopulation of employee data before the budgeting cycle has cut down the time to input employee budgets - the same for depreciation.

Cons

We would like to get to line item detail from a summary cost center group and not have to drill down to each cost center to get to this data. The client must also be able to get to this level and view the total budget in line item format, not only at budget type level.

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Based on their presentation to us, it was the better product out of the alternatives

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

One of our Finance Strategies is to provide Agile Budgeting and Reporting, which SAP CO was not delivering

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Fatima Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of idu-Concept, we really appreciate it. We are so delighted to have received 5 stars for customer support. Thank you, I will pass on your compliments to our team. I have also passed on your comment about not being able to get to line item detail without having to drill down to each cost centre to our consulting team. They will be in touch to see how we can assist with this. Kind regards The IDU Team

February 2020

Sian from Gordon Institute of business science

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Empowered managers and improved financial acumen across the organisation

It has been terrific, I am glad I pushed for the implementation of IDU. I look forward to seeing my organisation improve its use and use this tool to manage the changing education environment with valuable information at their finger tips.

Pros

The real time access to financial information across our organisation as changed the financial acumen of all managers, they are more accountable for their actual results. There is increased ownership of budgets. the finance team has seen a decrease in requests for reports and more time for the finance team to send on analysis of results.

Cons

The maintenance of the security access for me cost centers has become a huge task, I believe there are rules which could in place to automate this process. I also find the remuneration and employees section a bit tedious with the amount of duplication in reports.

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

It was a local company and this was important to us as an organisation. The cost of the system and the user licences affordability was a big factor

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Sian Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of idu-Concept. We really appreciate the feedback. We are also delighted with the positive changes you have noticed since using the tool. You mention you have experienced some frustration wtih the maintenance of security access for cost centres. I believe your consultant has been in touch with you in this regard and that our development team are busy working on an enhancement that should solve this problem for you, and we believe will actually benefit all other IDU Administrators as well.

February 2020

Delfina from University of Cape Town

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

IDU - is great!!

We had a successful implementation. IDU's customer service is really good. IDU consultants supported us well and IDU staff are solution oriented.

Pros

It intuitive and easy to use. Running reports is quick. It was easy to integrate with our processes.

Cons

There are a number of customised reports and one needs to go through quite a long list to see what is relevant for needs. Perhaps group into headings.

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

total cost and affordability, ability to meet functional requirements, local vendor/local support, user-friendliness of system, installations at other Universities/Higher Education institutions, vendor demonstrations.

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

The budgeting and reporting systems and processes, although effective in achieving the desired end result, were cumbersome, hugely labour intensive, inefficient, requiring a large amount of manual resource interface, and time consuming. It was difficult to revise budgets quickly to respond to changes and scenarios, and thus lacked the appropriate agility in our operational and strategic context.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Delfina Thank you so much for your review of idu-Concept, and specifically for your comments about having received great service. I will pass on your compliments to our team. Thank you also for the suggestion about the grouping the reports under headings. Our development team will look into how we can make this easier for you. Kind regards The IDU Team

February 2017

Maria from CRAN

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Journeying with IDU

Started using the system in 2014. It is a user friendly system with amazing functionalities. It has really made our work processes more efficient. The support/helpdesk is very efficient as Users' needs/queries are addressed as soon as possible.

Pros

The analytical reporting and the Recodes and Accruals are excellent functionalities available on idu Version 5. The idu-Concept Administrator is very user friendly which makes it easier for any person to manage the admin environment, no IT/system developing skills required hence no support agreement is needed.

Cons

No cons that I can think of, the system offers functionalities that meet the needs of businesses. It is responsive to business needs especially the latest Version 5 has made a significant move in addressing business needs. The system provides value for money and its implementation cost is reasonable.

May 2018

Amanda from Southern View Finance (Pty) Ltd t/a Capfin

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Best add-on to you financial system

IDU has made reporting, budgeting & forecasting an administrative dream for my department. I would highly recommend IDU for any business, big or small.

Pros

Easy to use for non-financial users. Ability to adapt and customize system to suit our business on a continuous basis. Easy to understand system & use it in our day to day business for reporting & decision making. Admin ability to create, change or update anything, without depending on IDU consultants. Feedback & assistance from Helpdesk & Consultants are always fast & effective!

Cons

That I cannot see 'back-end' rules to make sure it is in line with my expectations. IDU is very fiscal set restricted (causing duplication of work & errors to occur). Structures is also very specific, again duplication of work (would be nice to have a 'main' set up where all structures feed from).

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Ramin from Upper Education

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Good product

Pros

Really is not easy to find budgeting and expense application which provides good quality tools like idu-Concept. It's being used for forecasting and budgeting purposes by our organization for 1 and half year. And it was one of the must application in any companies.

Cons

Besides the good features and services, the product has lack of the customer care and email integration. I think with little improvements and updates it can become the beast in market.

March 2017

Masana from Corobrik

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

IDU User - Corobrik

I have been working on the IDU programme/software for the last four years and i am impressed with the programme and all the functions that are offered. We mainly use it for our budgeting process and i am quite happy with how everything is structured. We recently upgraded to the latest version of IDU and there are some features that are no longer available and most people struggled to find their way on how to go about using the programme but the overall experience has been awesome and the wonderful team at IDU KZN has been very helpful.

Pros

The reports, i think they a have been designed in such a way that they even if a person has never worked on the IDU programme, one can easily interpret the information.

Cons

We always have to email our queries and not communicate our queries over the phone. I think IDU should introduce team viewer to be able to see on our screens what issues we have.

February 2020

Antoinette from North-West University

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Not looking back a second!

It is very user friendly product, easy to understand and maintain. The dashboards in the admin and user sites are very helpful. I've never met a team that is so proud and excited about what they are doing, keeping up with the latest developments in the software environment and their clients needs. In the more than 11 years working with the IDU team I never experience once a negative vibe or unwillingness to give assistance and support.

Pros

The adaptability of the product, it can be easily adapted to your needs when it is coming to budgeting and reporting.

Cons

There is no features that I like least. I would like for us to investigate the option to do workforce planning via IDU.

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Our alternative product was the use of excel spread sheets as many other businesses used and is still using. I love using excel but cannot imagine going back to all those stand alone excel spread sheets.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Antoinette Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. I have shared your kind words with our team. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms all the hard work we put in every day. We look forward to seeing you again.

February 2020

Meeschal from Hirt and Carter

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

IDU software review

Really happy with the product and there is always new updates and innovation.

Pros

- Easy interface - Good reporting and budgeting features - Now integrated with Draftworx making statutory financials easier - Great support from IDU

Cons

- Front end interface not easily customisable. - No standard historic cash flow report.

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Yes

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

Lack of support.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Meeschal Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of idu-Concept. It was great to read that the Draftworx integration is making your statutory financials easier. It really works well and is a very useful tool. I have also passed your feedback with regards to customer service on to our team. They will be delighted with the positive response. I have asked our team to look into assisting you with your concenrs over the front end interface.

February 2020

Fadwaa from Communicare

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Monthly management review

It save me time and analytical reviews. Reports are on hand with a click of a button.

Pros

Easy to read and understand reporting, able to extract information and easy to drill down and roll up. Export and import function is awesome for quick fix and analytical reviews.

Cons

Our company had a restructure and of which all systems were not aligned for the integration hence reporting was difficult to extract and review

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Easy to use and user friendly. Ability to have real time budgets and forecast numbers for executive members

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Fadwaa What a wonderful review, thank you so much for sharing your experience of idu-Concept.

May 2019

Hayley from Royal Agricultural & Horticultural Society of SA Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Moving from Excel Macros to idu-Concept

Using idu-concept in our last annual budget setting process allowed the process to be more efficient. With staff able to concurrently access their project areas and add comments or make changes as needed, a reduced timeframe was needed for the process and as well as being less stressful for all!

Pros

The direct integration and daily refresh from our accounting system into idu-concept allows non Finance managers and staff to proactively monitor and manage their areas of responsibility on an ongoing basis, reviewing results against budget without having to wait until manual excel based reports are run by Finance or month end reports are sent out.

Cons

The excel reports do need more tailoring to ensure they are set up to provide the information we need in the format we need

February 2020

Moses from CRAN

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Budgeting

The IDU system is a cost saver

Pros

The IDU software is very reliable and efficient software

Cons

I can not really think of any problems at the moment

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Moses Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. 10/10 - we couldn't have asked for a better rating! Thank you!

February 2020

Dylan from Foodlovers Market

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

IDU Software - Excel

Pros

Love the excel reporting, and the customising of the reports. the use of mutiple account structures and cost centre structures are use full as well.

Cons

We have restriction with the break down of department data within the Sales grouping.

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Budgeting process was much more useful

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Dylan Thank you for writing a review of idu-Concept. We are so glad you love the ability to customise reports and the use of multiple cost centre and account structures. I have passed your comment with regards to your issue with the breakdown of departmental data through to our consulting team. We will see if can assist you with this.

February 2020

Lauren from FPT Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

IDU Review

Great tool but additional development / maintenance to be done to enjoy all the benefits

Pros

Excellent tool with lots of potential and capabilities

Cons

A lot of back end clean up required and need to use it to its full potential

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Lauren Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of idu-Concept. We appreciate the compliment on the tool and on its potential and capabilities. Your frustration with the backend clean up process has been noted, and as far as I am aware our consulting team are workng with you to resolve this issue. Hopefully you will be enjoying IDU and using it to its full potential very soon. Kind regards The IDU Team

February 2020

Mirjam from Communications Regulatory Authority of Namibia

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

IDU software review MMM

support is excellent nad consultants are friendly

Pros

A very user friendly software, versatile, great for both financial and non financial managers

Cons

the software is customised to your preference,

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Its the only product i have experienced that's tailor made for financial management

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Mirjam Thank you very much for taking the time to review idu-Concept. We are so happy that you and your team are finding it so easy to use. I will pass on the compliment about our team and customer support on to our consultants. Kind regards Rochelle

February 2020

Sivegan from Old Mutual

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Simple and efficient Budgeting tool

It has been a very good experience and quick to learn its unique features and capabilities

Pros

It is brilliant in this niche space, catering for all budgeting and forecasting needs companies may have. Keeps things simple and easy to use

Cons

lack of out-of-the-box integration adapters

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

NA

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

moved to a different company

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Sivegan Many thanks for writing a review of idu-Concept. It is important to us that our software is easy-to-use and understand, so that this can be used by both financial and non-financial managers involved in the budgeting process.

April 2019

Katlego from Botswana Accountancy College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The Best Budgeting Software

With various departments, IDU has assisted with budgetary control - spend monitoring. Looking forward, we hope to have the managers query financial transactions for more accurate management reporting.

Pros

The fact that its excel based makes it easy to use. The user flexibility and customization makes IDU perfect for reporting.

Cons

Still trying to figure out how the CAPEX tracking can work best for our organisation (reporting especially). If IDU can have the ability to assist in CAPEX spend tracking it will be superb.

Response from idu Software

Replied April 2019

Hi Katlego Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on idu-Concept it is much appreciated. Your IDU Account Manager will be in touch with you to assist with your CAPEX query.

February 2020

EMMANUEL from Total South Africa

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

IDU software review

The effectiveness of doing the Budget in IDU, having to move away from very long excell sheets

Pros

idu is very adapting to the forever changing environment for example activity based budgeting module can be modeled in such way that it can our needs most of the time.

Cons

as administrators we still have a lot of manual intensive work to maintain the tool

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Emmanuel Thank you for writing a review. We are delighted that you gave us such amazing ratings. It is much appreciated. Kind regards The IDU Team

February 2020

Rene from Hire and Carter SA PTY Ltd

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Leader in Budgeting and Reporting

Idu has revolutionised the way we budget and report in our business.

Pros

Idu has revolutionised the way we budget and report in our business. Our requirements change often and it is dynamic and easy to handle with all our changes and reporting requirements.

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about idu.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Rene Wow! What an incredible review, we are blown away. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We really appreciate it. I will pass your amazing feedback on to our team.

March 2016

Monty from Cape Consumers

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2016

IDU's great budgeting tool will help make the right decisions!

Pros

The budget & forecast application is user friendly and supports driving responsibility for managing budgets to the budget owners, and assists the Finance team to effectively monitor budgets and forecast accurately. IDU has a great culture - the team have the right skill sets & knowledge / experience, understand the budget process (not just good application developers!), and fully support you from day one through to successful implementation and beyond. This is the experience a customer wants with a product and the service!

Cons

There is nothing to complain about - really! Whilst one can always improve on a product and service, I always get the impression that IDU are already one step ahead planning for the next improvements to their product when as a user you suggest an improvement.

March 2016

Willem from University of South Africa

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2016

A brief testimonial of Idu-Concept

Pros

Proudly South African, developed with our unique requirements and collective character in mind. Keeping up with the latest technological as well as other related developments at all times, responding positively to the requirements of individual clients as well as clients within a specific industry (in our case, the Higher Education (HE) sector). Finally, a helpdesk as well as other technical and client support services operating at the speed of light.

Cons

Nothing, really! I can simply not think up anything!

February 2020

megan from Communicare NPC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Budgeting

Pros

Product is easy to use, and i love that it can easily export into excel

Cons

Admin could be easier to navigate, especially when a company structure changes

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Megan Thanks for the review of idu-Concept, we appreciate the time and the feedback. I have passed your comment about the Admin of changes to company structure to our team. We will see if there is a way we can assist you with this.

September 2018

Brenda from LegalWise

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Easier financial results

IDU is very user friendly, efficient response times when we have queries.

Pros

The budget process and monthly forecasting is much easier and efficient within IDU. Monitoring monthly actuals against budgets. Assets are managed and handled within IDU no manual asset registers anymore.

Cons

There is not really anything we don't like.

September 2018

Annah from Eazi Access Rental

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Finance information now has integrity

Definitely improved our integrity as the finance department. In our current loss of info, analytics developed by IDU came to the rescue as it stored all info from prior years to future forecasts.

Pros

It enhances the integrity of financial information by eliminating manual intervention Better storage of information Simplifies the budgeting, forecasting and reporting functions

Cons

There is no option to create standard reports for various users Inability to copy and paste or duplicate activities for some functions

February 2020

Nguquko from Johannesburg Housing Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great Financial Reporting and Budgeting

IDU has made reporting enjoyable and insightful.

Pros

IDU allows for customisation of reports that can dissect various cost centres into a single wide view. The system is also great at budgeting capture and variance reporting on a monthly, YTD or annual basis.

Cons

The initial set up of certain reports requires individual allocation of posting codes and that may require more input, however once it is done, it works seamlessly.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Nguquko Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of idu-Concept. We are so happy with the amazing rating that you gave us. We are also delighted that our product has made your reporting so much easier and more insightful. Thanks again. The IDU Team

October 2018

Katlego from Botswana Accountancy College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

IDU

The benefits of IDU if rolled out properly in the organisation can optimize processes within the Finance office. IDU assists managers in making up to date and informed decisions.

Pros

The fact that the system is excel based. I can customize the presentation of the financial information to managers understanding.

Cons

The dashboards should allow for more customization to project user beneficial information. The CAPEX budgeting and tracking could be improved.

September 2019

Kasha from Total SA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

A great consolidation platform

idu-Concept is a great tool, it is user friendly and changes are quickly implemented.

Pros

I like the ability to compare budget versus actuals. It is a great consolidation platform.

Cons

There is nothing that i dislike about this product.

February 2017

Esti from FPT Group (Pty) Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

IDU software

Wonderful product with vast applications and functionalities

Pros

It's adaptability - we are not a cookie cutter type business and IDU could still adapt to meet our needs.

Cons

The admin side can be a bit confusing for users.

April 2017

Chris from Kargo Group of Companies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Using the IDU Budgeting Software

For years the budgets were done on an Excel Spreadsheet. With 3 Companies, multiple divisions and about 9 branches, it was a constant nightmare to keep everything in sync. Spreadsheet were send to branch managers to modify. These spreadsheets were then sent back for finance to incorporate it into the main spreadsheet, Sometimes there were multiple versions of the spreadsheets and just maintaining the Main spreadsheet was a challenge. Using IDU now allows all users to work on the budgeting software at the same time. Costs that cannot be broken down into IDU are done on a spreadsheet and referred to from within IDU. The time it now takes to complete the budgets has drastically reduced. Comparisons to live data as well as the past year makes complete sense when users are trying to complete their budgets.

February 2017

Ashraf from Old Mutual

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Ashraf Hay Review

None

Pros

I find IDU intuitive and easy to use. Everything is where you expect it to be and also works in the way you expect it to.

Cons

No Cons. With the ever changing landscape, there are always opportunities for enhancements in functionality

September 2019

Annah from Eazi Access

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Easy to use

My overall experience with this product has been excellent. We are very happy with it.

Pros

The thing i like most about idu-Concept is how easy it is to use!

Cons

I can't think of something that i like least.

February 2020

Morgan from National Health Laboratory Service

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

User friendly and easy to navigate

Time saving and management of the budget process

Pros

User friendly. Enjoy the simply aggregation at various levels.

Cons

The forecast headcounts don't update. It would help if all the stat accounts would also update in the forecast set

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Morgan Thanks for taking the tme to write a review of idu-Concept. We are glad to see that you find the tool user friendly and easy to navigate. Your IDU Consultant will be in touch with you shortly as they believe they have a sollution that should be able to assist you with getting your statistical accounts to update in the forecast set. Hopefully this will help.

February 2020

Jacques from Sun Slots

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

IDU software review

It really assist with getting the budget done faster and it reduces the turnaround times for forecasting

Pros

Web Based, and you can run this from many locations You can obtain a live group view of companies

Cons

New developments are tedious to implement and setup (Balance sheet 7 cashflow)

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

cost an easy to use

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Jacques Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience of idu-Concept, we appreciate the positive feedback with regards to the ease of use, reduced budget turn around times, and cost effectiveness of our product. I have chatted to the consulting team with regards to your concern over the process of implementing upgrades to the system and new functionality. We apologise that this was your experience. Upgrades and implementation of new functionality is usually a quick and seamless process. That said this process and the time to implement can depend on the extent and complexity required by the client. Our team will be in touch with you to chat about how we can make this a smoother process going forward.

February 2017

Hilbert from Intercape Ferreira Mainliner

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Versatility

IDU enables us to really automate the budget process (in so much as it is possible) by providing multiple approaches that work together.

April 2017

Flynn from Rohlig-Grindrod

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Overall experience was good although the number of cost centres can become very time consuming with any changes that are made.

The system is not very user friendly when working with many cost centers and an expense account across all needs to be reviewed. The changing and creating of reports also needs to be simplified. On certain functions, the number of import files required is very time consuming.

Pros

The structure of the system is good and the multi-user function allows overall teamwork. The different account types contribute to overall control and accuracy of input.

Cons

The percentage allocation option can become very complicated with the levels of calculations required. The balance sheet and cash flow options have served no purpose due to setup and training.

February 2020

Jack from La Sentinelle Ltee

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Recommended Budget and reporting tool

It's too early for me to have a fair evaluation.

Pros

not many budgeting tools around and do like the reporting tools therein.

Cons

Have not really use the software so fare.. from the presentation i had i would suggest the numerous and paste that need to be done for the employee remuneration.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Jack Thank you for taking the time to write this review, even though you are fairly new to the system. We hope once you have used it for a longer period of time and that you get more comfortable with the features and functionality you will be able to harness the full power of the idu-Concept system. Remember our Account Management and Consulting team is always available to help with training, and answering any queries you may have. We are also very excited to let you know that we will soon be launching an online idu-Concept training tool. Kind regards The IDU Team

May 2018

Abrie from Schoonbee Landgoed

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Business Transparency

Pros

Up to date reporting info everyday within GL accounts. Ease of budgeting process. Data in easy to read format.

Cons

Speed improvements on SQL queries, loading of data, and capturing data. 13 Companies in total consolidated.

September 2016

Shaun from GPi Slots

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Budgeting made easy

Pros

The user interface is easily understandable and requires minimal training of staff to understand. This does however assume the staff has basic computer skills.

Cons

The administration of the product is a bit cumbersome and the vast number of settings available is a bit daunting at times.

February 2020

Nadeem from La Sentinelle Ltd

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

IDU software review

N/A as we are still in the implementation phase.

Pros

The software seems to be a robust budgetary and reporting tool. It can help you get to the detail of your GL and be very useful as an analytical tool.

Cons

The set up seems very complicated, especially as an admin user. It is sometimes confusing as the same wording appears on different menus / sub menus.

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

We used to do our budget on Microsoft excel, which is quite a headache, especially to link different schedules as well as putting in place controls so to ensure completeness of figures.

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Nadeem Thank you for writing a review of idu-Concept. We hope that once the software is fully implemented and that as you start using it more, that you will find it easier to use, and administer. Our consulting team and helpdesk are always available to answer any questions you may have. Kind regards Rochelle

February 2017

Maeez from SACU Secretariat

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

GREAT PRODUCT

It is unusual to find a budgeting system that caters for budgeting and reporting. IDU offers the solution.

Pros

The ease of use and integration capability.

Cons

It is not specifically designed for the public sector, and its presentation design is largely private sector based.

September 2016

Stephen from Eskom Pension and Provident Fund

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Review of IDU Budgeting and Reporting

Pros

The budget and forecast application is user friendly and supports driving responsibility for managing budgets to the budget owners, and assists the Finance team to effectively monitor budgets and forecasts accurately. The IDU team have the right skill sets & knowledge / experience, understand the budget process, and, full and speedy support is available from day one of the implementation process.

Cons

The e-mail functionality currently does not support a hosted shared environment requiring user ID and password, as it uses a generic name: anonymous. IDU are currently looking into the situation.

August 2016

Brenda from LegalWise

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Brenda's review

Pros

Ease of Budgeting & Forecasting. Managing monthly actuals against budget.

Cons

Nothing really, wish I had more time to spend on IDU to see what it has to offer, that we don't use. Unfortunately I hardly get that time.

March 2016

Clinton from Coronation Fund Managers

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2016

Definately recommend

Pros

Simple to use product with lots of flexibility to do slice and dice information how you want to see it. Staff are extremely helpful and always willing to help or look at different ways to do things

Cons

Haven't had any issues worth noting with the product of vendoe

September 2018

Carla from Lightstone

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

New at this!

We needed a budgeting and reporting tool to take away all the manual creation of spreadsheets. The client module is great and so easy to use. The admin module has proved challenging in terms of understanding the reporting structures, correctly setting permissions as it seems one tick box in one place doesn't over ride another in a different section. Getting buy in from the team to actually use the system is the most challenging part of it all.

Pros

The client module. It is really straightforward and user friendly

Cons

The admin module and permission settings

September 2019

Nushen from Incledon (Pty) Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

IDU is a brilliant business tool

I enjoy using the system. I am still learning and understanding it

Pros

idu-Concept allows us to do process reporting with ease

Cons

Manual intervention i.e. open/close periods etc

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Hi Nushen Thank you very much for the great review of idu-Concept, it is much appreciated.

February 2020

daniel from Wits university

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Recommended Budget and reporting tool

We have used Idu for budgeting and for quick reporting information

Pros

Budgeting. very easy to interface. Quite easy to get the users to train on it

Cons

Drill down to general ledger only gives summary and not sub ledger detail

Reasons for Choosing idu-Concept

Good fit for financial people and transition from excel

Reasons for Switching to idu-Concept

Excel too cumbersome

Response from idu Software

Replied March 2020

Dear Daniel Thank you so much or taking the time to review idu-Concept. We are delighted with the scores you gave us. It was also great to read the comment about how easy you find it to get new users up and running on the system. We pride ourself on IDU's ease of use. Thanks again.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 71 reviews