All Sage Construction Suite Reviews

1-25 of 1,039 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Lex

Verified reviewer

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Sage Helps

We started in 1987 with The Master Builder; which was purchased by Intuit; which was purchased by Sage and became Sage 100 Contractor. So we have grown up with the great grampa of Sage 100. It has run our company for decades and we are very happy with it. As we grow, the program can grow. There is still a lot of the program's capability that we do not use, yet, but hope to.

PROS

Integration of job bidding to job costing to accounting to payroll.....all modules talk to each other in real time. We could not have any software that did not do all these things

CONS

The weak point is the estimating module that comes with it. I don't think it has been upgraded for 20 years.....no...really. They want me to buy the upgraded estimator which I think I will do soon.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Phil

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

2+ years in and we are moving on

Overall, our experience has been negative. Nearly 100% of our users dislike it in comparison to other systems we have used in the past. For the amount of money it has cost us in implementation (over $30k + staff time) and the ongoing maintenance fees (which are more expensive than similar products) we have not had a great experience. Other systems can do the same thing, much more simply, for a lot less money.

PROS

There is a lot of detail in what you can get out of this software, if you have the labor time to put into it.

CONS

Ultimately, the software is too cumbersome, difficult for staff to use, training not able to assist us in getting it working well for our organization. Functionality that used to be supported is no longer available with recent updates.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Cost and features

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Seeking to improve our financial tracking and job costing ability, while integrating with other systems we use.

Chris

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Thoughts in the Second Year

Training wasn't smooth. Our trainer was a good person but we were mislead in regards to the cost of getting started so that was a negative from the beginning.

PROS

That it worked well with Procore and gave us a more detailed accounting system.

CONS

The double entry with using Procore and Sage 100. I also don't like that it isn't very user friendly. Lots of clicks to accomplish a simple task. I will use looking at the checkbook register as an example. I should just be able to click and look at at it. It should take 5 or 6 clicks to get there.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Sage's ability to work with Procore. However, as I said above, there is way to much double entry.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Quickbooks wasn't able to handle everything with Procore

Vendor Response

Thank you for submitting a product review. Your feedback is invaluable to the continued improvement of products and services from Sage

Replied January 2021

Jerry

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Good package for the money

Overall it's a decent software package for the money and the size of our business. Other systems can do more, but you'll likely pay much more.

PROS

The software provides the needed accounting and payroll modules. The optional Inventory modules offers some basic tools to manage your inventory. Reporting tools are rudimentary, but adequate.

CONS

Receiving inventory items works strangely. A Sage invoice is created when receiving. At the point of vouching the supplier's invoice, the same receiving generated invoice can be updated. However, issues occur if you have used any of that inventory before getting the supplier's invoice entered. There's a work-around which involves copying and pasting, but the vouching process should not care what your current inventory level is. The weighted average cost is problematic when working with projects. Any given transaction can result in a G/L record that doesn't match the project record, leading to variances. Need the option of last-cost, std cost, etc.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

We were looking for software that was designed for construction and contractors.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Ray

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

My Timberline Accessment

It saves overall time in lieu of using an excel estimate.

PROS

I've used it in the past when it was simply Timberline (both DOS and Windows versions) with other companies. It is easy to use

CONS

Don't care much for the yearly cost as it seems excessive. Would like to see in lieu of monthly free webinars that cater more for new or potential buyers, webinars for how to utilize the software to its maximum potential.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Used it in the past and was comfortable with it. Less of a learning curve.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Needed something to minimize our overall production of estimates.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Charlene

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Not the greatest

Nothing. We are using this system because we spent too much money on it to just stop using it now and purchase another system. Unfortunately, we listened to the salesman promising that this system would do everything we wanted.

PROS

Not very much...it is definitely not user friendly

CONS

Almost everything. The billing procedure is absolutely horrible and so isn’t the Accounts Receivable module. Even the Contracts module is not the best. Heaven forbid, someone should accidentally link a contract with the wrong company, the module does not allow any changes to be made. If a change order is marked as approved, you have to create a new change order if a GC decides to void or change it. In payroll, there is no way to assign a fixed wage to a particular group so if a pay raise is approved, you just have to enter it in that group instead of having to do each individual employee.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

It was recommended by our accounting firm but it turns out they were mainly specializing in banking not construction. Once we changed accounting firms, they agreed this system was not the best.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Our IT man was getting older and we needed a system that was supposed to have great support.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Sage products and services. We strive to deliver the best experience possible for Sage customers. We would welcome the opportunity to connect with you to better understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future.

Replied May 2021

Ivan

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

End User

Estimating spreadsheet is flexible, easy, and visually understandable. WBS is the best tool to organize an estimate based on project specific design, owner's needs, and estimator's methods.

PROS

Take off items and assemblies Detail Window Totals Window Easy to manipulate the estimate WBS organization Alternate option pricing

CONS

Subcontractor Grid is a mess Job Cost interphase is a mess Alternate calculation on Indirect costs need to be fixed

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Elimination of human errors on formulas Interphase with Job Cost CSI master database organization

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Formula human errors Lack of structure

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied June 2021

Zane

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

The Truth behind estimating

Sage allows all the estimators in the department to work similarly without everyone needing to do them exactly the same. One estimator or company may want 1 line item for windows that includes labor material and equipment. Another might want a line item for furnish while and a separate for install.

PROS

This software is easy to use. Its also been around the longest so its easy to find other estimators with familiarity with the software. Its longevity in the market has created several other software integrations. The product is secure no worry about formulas not working when its sorted a different way.

CONS

The ability and flexibility of the software is so infinite you can spend hours creating templates and short cuts that aren't even needed or actually become to in depth.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Security. Safety & Double checks. The data entered is secure. No worry about the entire estimate being corrupts because one person deleted a formula.

Lisa

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Big Bang for Small Bucks

My overall experience with Sage 100 Contractor has been very good. We've used it almost 4 years and we're still very happy that we selected it.

PROS

Sage 100 Contractor is easy to use and quite intuitive. No one on my staff has struggled to learn it. For the price, I believe it is by far the best solution for my company. I'm generally happy with the built-in reports.

CONS

I would like for the built-in reports to be easier to modify. It's something we struggle with internally. We paid a 3rd party to develop some custom reports for us. However, when Sage has updates it sometimes causes the custom reports to crash. This is highly frustrating.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

We purchased Sage 100 Contractor because it offered the most important features we needed at the most reasonable price.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

We switched products because we needed better job cost detail and reporting, especially for labor.

User Profile

Maria

Verified reviewer

Facilities Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Great tool when working. It has great potential.

It was very useful.

PROS

PO/Bill entry and conversions were seamless. Being able to customize your reports to business needs was awesome. Payroll processing was as easy at it comes. I believe that this software has some amazing potential which is why I would love to see the finished product. I think that is definitely user friend as long as you aren't afraid of software. The customer service is great outside of the IT department. They could use some patience for there customers. I will say that for the most part, they do have a lot of self help options so make sure you utilize your resources before you call. They do have software the exports to most accounting systems which I thought was super useful. We used Quickbooks.

CONS

Because Corecon is still under contruction, you can run into a lot of issues that only one who pays attention to detail will notice. - Reports requiring date spans would pull the day before and the day after the selected dates. -Importing time sheets would not import on the right dates. - After one of the updates in November, you could not copy a PO or Bill to a different project. - If you enter bills dated with future months, it would apply the expense to whatever month the expenses were entered versus what the invoice(bill) date was causing the budget reports to be incorrect. -Error code from Links to QB don't have an index and you have to google them most times.

Lucy

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Sage 100 Contractor is a value adding 'asset'

Real and full visibility and near real time results. Utterly refreshing and makes my job that much easier. Excellent reporting.

PROS

Sage 100 C offers employment costing solutions. Following budgets vs. real expenses is crucial in the construction sector, and Sage 100 Contractor assists us (my client and i) in meeting this demand.

CONS

Data migration form the old software and Implementation was full of glitches but the client support were always available and willing to assist.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

The high level of product support form the service provider. In addition to wanting you to utilize their product, their customer service personnel also wants you to be successful in whatever goal you have for it.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Unreliability. Inaccurate financial reporting as a result of an aged and un-updated software.

Nelly

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Quick Easy Construction Accounting

PROS

We upgraded from an antiquated program called Great Plains we had used for 25 years, there was no way to integrate or move our data to Sage. The process to get started was fairly easy, it was just a matter of reentering all our payable, receivable and setting up our GL. Once we got trained on it we found ways to streamline our work load.

CONS

The thing I liked the least was setting up my GL, they gave me way too many accounts and after entering them all, I discovered that I needed to delete half of them, they did not work for our business.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Ease of entry and the program was 1/4 the cost from Microsoft Dynamics

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Our system was outdated and our GL got corrupted

Sherry D

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Powerful Construction software

love it.

PROS

Job costing, payroll direct deposit, ACH, Reporting, project work center, customized reports, archive features, integration with Outlook, the ability to input suggestions and vote on others ideas, etc

CONS

The initial implementation and setup. Our Consultant was not the best in the implementation process. We have since connected with someone who is FABULOUS and knows how to best help the Client to setup "best practices" from the start. I only wish we had connected with her at the onset. Some of the programming still has "glitches" and boots you out of the program - annoying. F2 should be edit, and pulls up a calendar, Enter key and Tab key don't work consistently with other Microsoft programs - slight annoyance.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Originally thought this was an upgrade to Sage50. At the time of purchase we did not realize it was a completely different software and required new implementation rather than upgrading. The job costing features, additional payroll features, security setting options all were valued and a great add to what had been currently missing from our previous software package. Sage100Contractor allows us to run and manage our business efficiently with updated information at all times.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

Sage 50 was lacking in a number of important areas. Our business had grown and we had designed and used a separate database for job costing. Sage100 has great job costing features, and this was a key factor in the decision to change.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Kim

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Good with Property Management, Mediocre with Accounting

Whereas Sage 300 CRE does have some good functionality for property management, we are also suffering from poor accounting functionality. Some days I'm happy with the software, some days not so much.

PROS

I like the Property Management side of Sage - our office manages a number of commercial real estate properties, and we are able to track the leases, and the PM side of things does link in with the accounting side of things. And I know there are more features in the PM side that we don't even use.

CONS

Sage 300 CRE does not mix well with any outside software. We recently took over management of a dozen new properties and we had to manually input all the data to get the new companies in our system. There was no reasonable import feature available. We could have paid someone thousands of dollars to bring basic information into the system for us, but what they could import was not everything we'd need, and there would be no previous year data option. That was frustrating. And the accounting system is also lacking. As much as all of the modules to integrate with each other, the accounting system does not perform to my expectations. And if you want to export a report into Excel, forget it! Sure it will export the data, but not in any kind of usable format! The numbers don't export as numbers, the formatting is all skewed. I just found out that there is a 'third party' software to use as a fix, but I just spent $2500 on that fix and found out that if we want to export the income statement and balance sheet, that is an extra $800. I'm not happy with the accounting system.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Dee

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2021

Needs More User Friendly Features

We would not purchase it again and would prefer to go back to our old system, but we've invested too much to do that at this time.

PROS

Widely universal so integration software more readily available with management systems and customer relation software.

CONS

We came from ComputerEase, which is very user friendly. Sage appears to be outdated. The installation and upgrade process is very time consuming and for most would require hiring their services to install or your IT personnel. The biggest issue we have is the font size. If you try to change the font size in your screen, the windows will distort and you cannot access certain information within Sage, so it strains your eyes to view the information. My other big concern, is that when processing applications for payment within Billing, it will allow you to go over 100% on a scheduled line. If you don't manually check via print preview, you can very likely overbill. Additionally, when voiding applications, there are some major hassles when it comes to stored materials on jobs that don't carry over stored each month. Lastly, if you do not post in the order and timeframe that you are trained to do, it results in a large hassle and time-consuming elimination process. There are several other items that are not favorable, but these are the top ones on our mind most frequently.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

Because of the Procore Integration and because we could save documents within in as we did in ComputerEase (so we were told at the time). During the end of our training we were told otherwise and were forced to then purchase Sage Paperless in order to keep this feature. We were given it at a discount, but it is not as user friendly as CE.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

The only reason we made the switch was because we purchased the management software Procore and ComputerEase did not integrate with it. Unfortunately, after almost a year of using Procore/Sage Integration, we have now pulled that integration as Procore had too many errors and not enough support staff in this module to timely rectify issues (1-2 weeks to get support for change events). Otherwise, we love Procore, so this was very disappointing since this was the entire reason we made the switch to Sage.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Sage products and services. We strive to deliver the best experience possible for Sage customers. We would welcome the opportunity to connect with you to better understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future.

Replied June 2021

Debora

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Next level accounting

We were able to have multiple users with out them seeing what we don't want them to see. Also it improved the reporting and bill paying process. It has been great to have estimating incorporated in the program and the ability to export into excel. Some parts however are very clunky and take multiple steps (such as entering info twice in change orders or having to create a job after a client. It would be nice to click a button on client that creates the job automatically. Grateful the capability to transfer between accounts was added, however the fact that I have to enter a journal entry to use the vacation time costs on my balance sheet when someone uses it in payroll seems a miss-step.

PROS

Accounting is great. The level of personalization for each user, being able to lock down per line what each user sees and use of PO/SO takes us to the next level of what we were looking for. Also personalization of reports and ability to change things how we need them is excellent. Have been using as our CRM as well. That there are constant improvements and ability to request them. Love the dashboard and how I can customize it. I feel much more informed about our numbers and the auto-reports are very helpful.

CONS

So much to learn and implement. Our onboarding was less than impressive (trainer distracted and taking another phone call while I'm paying for her time) Also very expensive. There was no information as to the set up of the computers required, or even how to go about implementing the program until we were involved with the trainers and they didn't cover that first part. Had to learn by trial and error. We felt like there was very little help and a lot of miscommunications. We need more field access (online) but that is not on the accounting side...all project management. Also, when exporting to word or excel it is in tables and not easy to manipulate.

Reason for choosing Sage Construction Suite

We didn't really look at too many others, Sage100c was recommended by [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and we trust her.

Reasons for switching to Sage Construction Suite

wanted better coverage with PO, better lock downs for multi users.

Paul

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY