About Function Point


Function Point is a cloud-based solution for advertisement agencies that features project management, project accounting, team collaboration, data visualization and data analysis. The solution is suitable for agencies of all sizes.

Function Point’s project management feature enables managers to track upcoming tasks, create interactive Gantt charts and assign workflows to team members. It also allows team leaders to calculate quantitative metrics such as return on investment, and they can forecast budgets and pricing. The platform facilitates collaboration between team members, as it provides a single platform to communicate messages and share documents.

The solution’s analytics feature enables professionals to collect, clean, visualize and summarize data in real time. Function Point integrates with Quickbooks Online to provide accounting capabilities.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

184 Reviews of Function Point

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.34 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(87)

4 stars

(75)

3 stars

(20)

2 stars

(2)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 184 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

July 2018

Darla from Practice Cafe

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Not the most "functional" project management software but definitely keeps us organized

Pros

The company pages in Function Point provide us with all the information we need because we're able to customize them to our needs. We can include the client information, but we also have team information so one page tells everyone who is involved with that client's projects. The customizable dashboard also allows each person to view things that they feel are important to them.

Cons

I find Function Point to not be as "functional" as its name might suggest. It is often laggy when you click on links. Getting to pages that you want to be on takes many clicks instead of just one (for example, it seems strange to me that clicking on the name of a "schedule" within a company takes me to a jumbled list of tasks rather than the actual schedule page where I can see things laid out in order). There isn't a good calendar view that allows a person to drag and drop tasks (and since I manage our company's design calendar, it would be great if I could do this since it's basically like putting together a giant puzzle).

The customization seems to have stopped with the "dashboard" type of views of the main page and schedule pages. If you want to view, for instance, the time allotted to people within the company for a day, you might visit the Work Planning View, which overall is a great view (shows tasks assigned and a total number of hours allotted to each person). The downside is it always only shows everyone in the company, which isn't ever what I need. Being able to choose who I see in this view (and others like it) would improve the functionality a lot.

There are also too many different ways to view things. There are at least three different ways to see how many hours of work a person has scheduled for the day. There are a couple of different views for tasks within a certain project. It can be overwhelming.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied July 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Darla. Your Customer Success Manager will be following up with you on a couple items you mentioned. Keep an eye on your inbox!

April 2018

James from DePersico Creative

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I use Function Point every day for project management and organizational purposes.

Function Point has helped to consolidate and digitize a lot of the things that would have been done either in physical, print form (such as recording time worked on each task), or in a less efficient way (such as creating estimates).

Pros

What I like most about Function Point is the ease of creating estimates and saving templates. It allows us to provide very in-depth estimates to clients and prospects, which we have received compliments on. Very rarely do I see estimates that are as detailed and clear as the ones that Function Point allows us to create with relative ease. Likewise, the simplicity of creating an Invoice from an existing Job also streamlines the process tremendously.

We also make extensive use of the Notes function to create easy-to-follow instructions for our artists to follow. The fact that these are then saved automatically with the Job and are easy to go back to and reference is very helpful. It makes organizing them and trying to keep track of them much less of a hassle.

Cons

One thing I don't like about the Function Point software is that, when a Job is "closed," any tasks that remain un-completed just sit on the Tasks/To Dos page on the homepage of FP. Sometimes we find that tasks we initially think will be required are not needed in the end. Once the Job is closed, I'd much prefer that the "left over" tasks automatically get marked in some way as to indicate that they were not completed, while still being removed from the Tasks/To Dos list.

My list is constantly cluttered by Tasks for Jobs that were finished weeks ago, but which I know nothing about because I was never required to actually complete that task. It ends up that someone has to manually close out every individual task that is not needed. Feels like a waste of time.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied April 2018

Hi James, thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We've passed your great feedback to our Product Team for consideration!

August 2018

Lauren from White Rhino

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2018

FP Review

Mostly we are utilizing FP for time tracking and project budgeting. The other tools aren't comprehensive enough for us to bring everything into FP - we use Smartsheet for scheduling (because it's a big-picture thing - not just about individuals hours), and currently customize a resourcing document that we export out of FP but it takes so much time to noodle, it's not really efficient. Generally speaking, it works well and it's easy to access. We understand one tool can't solve all problems - but if you could get resourcing reports to be more useful that would be huge.

Pros

Pretty clean interface. Like that it's cloud-based so it's easy to do my job on the go. Customer support is good.

Cons

The resourcing view is really difficult to use. I'd love if it there was a clean way to see someone's availability utilizing the full project timeline and hours assigned. Currently it pulls in vacation hours into that view (which is not helpful) and does not extend long enough to forecast team availability. Improving this would be a huge help and make using FP much more useful. Currently it's being used as a budget and time tracking tool. The scheduler is not that useful - the view is a little convoluted so we don't use it much to schedule projects - we use Smartsheet for that for it's simplicity. If you could improve your schedule view and process that would also be useful.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied August 2018

We've passed on your feedback to our Product team for consideration, Lauren. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us!

September 2016

Priscilla from Veugeler Design Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Function Point is giving us a better understanding of our company as a whole.

It was a company goal to find a project management software that would connect many different aspects of our business. From graphic design, to digital and award winning event marketing to publishing our own community magazine - all aspects of our company, from designers to account executives to our accountant were using separate systems. Not to mention most of us were project managing out of email. Things were falling through the cracks and it was difficult to track how much time we were actually spending on projects. Function Point has given us the capability to have us all on the same page and access the same information easily and quickly. It quickly minimized confusion. We moved from a simple time tracking software that was from the 1980's to a robust system that does more than we were looking for (a didn't know we needed.) There has been a learning curve, because let's face it - no one likes change - but we all have quickly adapted to the new system. The customer service has been outstanding. From our talented and persistent account exec Darren, our sweet on board trainer Marissa to our Customer Success Manager Sophia to our accountant's favorite person in Support, Thomas. If we put a request in for help, in a matter of minutes, someone from fp. is calling or e-mailing us back. The training documents provided are a wealth of knowledge and provide easy clarifications and answers to most, if not all of our questions. I look forward to the continued updates fp. strives for as they make this product better and better. The continued webinars are super helpful. We're able to provide a better service to our clients, thanks to fp.

Pros

The speed and interface. Ability to track time simply, pull reports in multiple ways.

Cons

The accountant integration was a bit of a challenge.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied September 2016

Hi Priscilla - thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad to hear that Function Point is really helping keep your whole team on the same page. Please reach out if there's ever anything we can do for you.

September 2016

Drew from United Creations

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Great Software and Outstanding Customer Service!

We are a small (10-20 employees) creative marketing agency and Function Point has been a great tool for our business. I particularly like the schedule feature which we use to develop "plans of attack" for prospective work that can easily be converted into estimates and then executed as tasks. Schedules can easily be duplicated and adjusted for repeat projects and they help keep our team on the same page regarding the vision for execution of our work. There is a small learning curve for some of the functionality in Function Point, but once you become familiar with the terminology and processes, everything makes sense. If you do have questions, Function Point's world-class customer service resources are second to none. They have an extensive amount of training documents online and regularly hold live webinar training sessions on a variety of functions and features. Their team of customer service representatives are also quick to respond to any direct communications and work diligently to resolve issues. I also appreciate how they involve their customers in upcoming feature enhancements and updates by letting them test beta versions and asking for feedback. It really makes us feel like we have an impact on how the product evolves.

Pros

Schedules

Cons

The smartphone app, wish it had more functionality.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied September 2016

Drew - thanks so much for sharing your thoughts here, I really appreciate it. Please continue to bring forward ideas as to how we can make fp. better for United Creations - we're always ready to listen.

July 2017

Carrie from ABZ Creative Partners

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Overall we've been very happy with FP and are really enjoying all of the functionalities it offers.

Much happiness.

Pros

The connect to email feature is fabulous, as is the Campaign view especially for viewing financials across several jobs at once. Just being cloud-based is a huge plus too. Very customizable which has made our team's immersion great, support is fantastic and very fast. We all love it!

Cons

Sometimes the organization is a little irritating, ie if I click into a job's Notes from the icon on the Summary page (as opposed to the Notes "tab") I'm now in an overall Notes space and no longer under the umbrella of the job I started from. Even with the breadcrumbs, I find I have to do a fair amount of backward navigating to access info I'd already navigated to. If I click into a task, to get back to the main task list I have to navigate back to the job, then back to the Tasks tab/list. I know we can use the browser's Back button but that doesn't feel like true navigation and sometimes needs a refresh to update which is just another added step. Just seems funny to me that sometimes while navigating within a job, you are taken outside of it even if you are still just viewing its contents. Overall this is minor and we've gotten used to it, and I'm sure there are reasons why things are the way they are, but if I could change it I probably would. Only another thing I'd say is that more text formatting options would be huge, being able to set a text to even just one other color (red?) or highlight portions of text would make tasking things out even better.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied July 2017

Hi Carrie, thanks so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Please continue to reach out with your feedback - we're always ready to listen for how we can make Function Point better!

October 2016

Amy from Street Level Studio

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Function Point Creative Agency software: great help for workflow

We have been using Function Point for two years. Overall, it has been a terrific upgrade for us. Our time keeping and job management are all in one place, whereas previously we managed those two things separately. Onboarding was very smooth and easy. We felt we had adequate training and that the software is very intuitive for new users. I like that it is customizable for each user and that different level employees have different permissions/views. Being a creative shop, some employees long for something more visual like Trello for project management. However, Trello and the like do not have all of the back-end time tracking and accounting that Function Point does. Overall, we really like Function Point. It has been a time saver for time tracking, estimating, invoicing, and workflow management. We do not have a client portal and do not plan to in the near future. We are just beginning the process of linking to Quickbooks and look forward to the benefits that will bring. Customer Support is super responsive and helpful for troubleshooting, every time.

Pros

Time tracking, Job Management from Estimate to Invoicing.

Cons

Lack of visual interest (i.e. would be great to look for like Trello cards /boards at a glance to see all project status at once) - also would be nice to have a thumbnail of the project (i.e. of the ad, brochure, etc.) next to the job name on all dashboards.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied October 2016

Thanks for sharing your thoughts here, Amy. Please reach out if you have any other suggestions for how we can make fp. even better!

December 2016

Megan from Studio136

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Function Point helps us Function better!

We have been using Function Point for a little over a year now and we are very happy with it overall. It definitely takes some time to learn the product... as with any software, you have to learn the different functionalities. However, the main commitment is figuring out what works best for you and your company. What one company might love, another might find pointless, but that is the great thing about the program! You can customize it to fit your needs. Our company manages Associations and we do a lot of print and design work for them. Our Associations use the Function Point portal to submit and track their jobs. They can also use it to reference past jobs so they always know what paper something printed on, who the vendor was that printed it, and the quantity that was printed. We can track proofs and keep files all organized in one place, rather than in emails and filing cabinets. On the art department side, we can track what jobs we have in progress, assign tasks to different designers and web developers, and even invoice the job when it is completed. I can tell you that we save so much time just being able to locate jobs and all the information about them rather than digging for information! We also use the time clock to track non-billable work so we can see how efficiently our team is working and where improvements can be made. Going back to invoicing... this feature has helped us and our accounting department tremendously. We are able to use the time clock to track time spent on a job so we know we are billing accurately. We can apply different hourly rates to different clients (such as not-for-profits) and see what our profit on a job is immediate. The invoice also looks more attractive than a lot of programs because you can brand and customize it.

Cons

Their customer support team is really great and always willing to help you figure out how to accomplish your ideas. They also have a great suggestion board where users give ideas on how to make the product better. They have used a couple of mines already! It's a great community that works together to continuously improve and perfect the program.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied December 2016

Hi Megan, thanks so much for your kind words here. Please continue to reach out whenever you have ideas or suggestions. We're always ready to listen.

September 2016

Madeline from Jam&Co

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Amazing team, amazing platform!

Overall our experience & journey with FP has been amazing! Being based in Australia we were slightly concerned about the on-boarding/training process happening remotely, but the team at FP, especially Marissa, made it seamless. We felt so well equipped to deal with using the platform ourselves in day to day agency life almost instantaneously. The platform itself is very intuitive & allows us to have greater visibility over every aspect of a job from workflow through to financial management. It's completely customisable and has saved us a lot of time through automation. Key to this success was setting everything up correctly from the beginning. The support we received from the team at FP (specifically Marissa) is second to none. Nothing is ever a problem & you always finish a call far more educated than when you started and she leaves you with a big smile on your face. We cannot thank the team at FP enough for all they've done for us!

Pros

The organisation and workflow process. Quoting & invoicing is now so simple.

Cons

We have a couple of clients that like to attribute multiple POs to the one job, i.e. multiple estimates to what is ultimately the one job. We've had to create projects for all of these but it then becomes confusing which job number we're referring to. It would be ideal if you could have multiple active estimates for the one job.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied September 2016

Madeline - thank you for your kind words here. I'm so glad you found that the onboarding program properly prepared your team to use fp. daily. If you ever have other suggestions for how we can make fp. even better for Jam&Co, please reach out!

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Cures the timesheet entry drudgery.

I'm not particularly good about keeping my timesheets current, but Function Point makes it a lot easier to keep on track.

Pros

I like that I can access it anywhere and on whatever device I happen to be using. I rely on the weekly timesheet for most of my time entry stuff. The TAB through interface makes it really simple.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that when you make a mistake or key something that needs clarification, a dialog box requiring an action comes up nowhere near where you're currently working on the page. And you have to click the OK button to close it. It won't accept the return key or tab key.

Say you're looking up a job. You type in a few letters, hit TAB and a list comes up. That list is at the bottom of the page and you have to mouse over your selection and click it in order to move on. Even if you don't see the job you're looking for in the list, you still have to mouse over and click OK.

It's a small thing, but compared to all the other software I use each day, this is a pretty clunky issue for me.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied August 2018

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! We'd love to understand more about this behaviour you're experiencing in your searches. You can reach us at heretohelp@functionpoint.com

September 2018

Amanda from Eclipse 360

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Review

Pros

- It's fairly intuitive
- It does keep all information on a job together, in one place
- The customizable dashboards based on how you will use it in your role
- Timesheets are straight foward and easy to use (makes for easier tracking on a job)
- Dashboards on where a project is sitting financially are nice

Cons

- The amount of clicks it takes to get to certain areas (ie - hours assigned on a job or getting into an estimate when you don't recall the job number)
- Scheduling could be so much better! Incorporating a scheduling system similar to SmartSheet would be amazing
- Tasks could also improve. I'd like to see the ability to add sub-tasks or the ability to cc another person on tasks (think Trello)
- Google Doc integration would be AMAZING! While function point is a great place to store things, the lack of formatting and the the chance of losing all your work by going 'back' in a browser is limiting.

Response from Function Point Productivity Software

Replied October 2018

Hi Amanda, we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We're always working on making FP better, so keep an eye out for some upcoming releases.

April 2017

Ruth from IDealogic® Brand Lab

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use