User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(35)

35

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Browse 3ds Max Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -6 of 44 results

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Nabin from Curl Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Easily create 3D models with best rendering

3ds Max is a must-have tool for architects, engineers, and game developers to create highly detailed models with real-looking textures.

Pros

With 3ds Max you can easily create complex 3d models and maps. Best suited for architectural and game rendering that requires premium graphics. Inbuilt support for visual effects and animation.

Cons

The pricing of 3d Max is quite expensive starting from $215 per month. The user interface looks old, makes difficult to find important tools and features. Needs heavy computing power.

Reasons for Switching to 3ds Max

3ds Max offers better rendering and ease of use.

August 2021

Sofia from FAUD-Unmdp and UTN

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Impresionante herramienta para renderizar

In my case I have used it more than anything as a complement to some architectural renderings that I do, but in the future I am very interested in using it again as a video game developer, I think it is a software that has much more potential than what I could use.

Pros

I am fascinated by the results that can be achieved with this software, it is very customizable down to the smallest detail, without a doubt I was quite surprised.

Cons

I do not know if there are things that I do not like, it is definitely a product that should be used with time, and with all the characteristics it has, many things I had to find how to do, it is not very user-friendly in the sense in which As soon as you use it, you can guess where to click for each thing you want to do, but I don't think it is something negative since that would remove many aspects of customization from the 3d models.

Reasons for Switching to 3ds Max

I switch to see what other options there are in similar softwares

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Father Of All Geometry

9 out of 10 . because it crashes some time :D

Pros

it's like an open arena to achieve all your imaginary world in it ! so all you have to do is just to use it ! and the results will blow your mind every single time

Cons

need a really strong hardware as some projects or files get really heavy to be rendered with normal PCs

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Victor Conde from Media Partners

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Way too expensive for people

I wont use it again unless i have to, but its still a good software.

Pros

The amount of tutorials, and the high class support from the autodesk team. Its a very powerfull software.

Cons

Its way too expensive. I get its worth that to big companys, but you need to learn it somhow. I was lucky to have a student license, but otherwise you only have 30 day trail to learn it.

October 2021

prashant from Lallooji & sons

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Always needed for my visualization

My love

Pros

I used it for the last 8 years and always wonder about learning new things there is no end for your mind to visualizes your creative idea

Cons

Just they removed my mental ray default render option from software

May 2021

Carlo from seropian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

need patience!

i have already been using 3ds max for 6 years, and i am still discovering new tools, new ways of using it. this software is really great! because i was always able to do what every shape and ideas i had in mind. there is always a way to mold and to sculpt in it, and their are no limits at all. like mostly every architecture software, we have to try it and experiment it to know if it fits our workflow. once i got used to it got my work done with very professional results, and i hardly recommend getting vray! so in conclusion download the free trial, test it as much as you can, because its a great software, ut it is about the way you're comfortable with working on it!

Pros

I use 3ds max for architecture classical and simple projects, as well as experimental and organic. the construction on this software is not always the best option, but the rendering with vray is great! it is the reason i keep using this software. it give a very professional result, and the effects are perfect and impressive. so that is the best feature in 3ds max for my personnel use.

Cons

building a project on 3ds max with precision will end up needing a plan from autocad to extrude the volumes from it. it is not fast and easy to be able to draw base lines directly on this software. the interface is not very user friendly. it takes time to get used to it, many function can be hidden. it will take time to get used to it. and finally, this software is "becoming" expensive, relatively to some software that are very professional and completely free!

October 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

3ds MAx

Pros

the ease of using it . the great outcome at the end . the great ability of the software.

Cons

the long time of rendering . the need of sophisticated and expensive Computer to get the adequate outcome.

October 2021

Mina from self employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

easy hard program

The 3ds Max program is mainly used in all artistic and design works. The wonderful tools and effects give designers the opportunity to unleash their imagination and come up with innovative designs in various fields.

Pros

There is no doubt that it is one of the most enjoyable programs used in design and creativity. One of the most important features of a free version for students for 3 years, it gives the student an environment for imagination and creativity. Displaying artworks in a realistic image.

Cons

For a program that needs a computer with special specifications, and here are these specifications: A powerful and very fast processor (Intel Core i5) and above. Very strong and fast RAM (Ram 8GB) and above. A strong graphics card and suitable for the specifications of the device. Large storage space on the hard disk.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

3ds max calidad superior

Mi experiencia con este programa ha sido fenomenal, sin duda llevo mis proyectos a otro nivel.

Pros

Lo que mas me gusta es que te permite hacer modelados 3d en un nivel profesional, la calidad de renders que se puede alcanzar es de otro nivel y sin duda en nivel de detalle que te permite el programa es definitivamente de maxima calidad.

Cons

Lo que menos me ha gustado es que es realmente difícil de usar, los patrones para editar cosas en el modelo son realmente difíciles de comprender, no es buena idea usarlo sin una capacitación previa.

January 2022

Anthony from A J Ross

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Animation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Amazing results for film and games

This is one the most effective ways for designers to use for modeling Architecture, game design and animated film assets.

Pros

It can generate fantastic picture quality results. You have the ability to import/export files from other applications such as Autodesk Maya or Zbrush. This is an industry software used for animated feature films, rigging and creating special effects. The rendering is fast and the animation is clean. What I appreciate about it most of all is the layout of the interface, because it is neatly organized.

Cons

This is ever so expensive for one month alone and it may well be a challenge to learn at first for beginners. It is a powerful software that will require a lot of space on the user's hardware. Some of the plugins are not always kept such as "Mental Ray."

December 2021

User Profile Picture

David from Mase Contractors Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

The ultimate Autodesk render software I've used.

Pros

It's finished results are really amazing and realistic.

Cons

It's sometimes really difficult to track an error. You can be puzzled for days if you don't know what you did wrong.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

A good 3D modelling tool.

This is really doing good and there are plenty of things to practice with.

Pros

I have been using this for about 4 years the student version and yet getting to know new features. this very advanced in 3D modelling and rendering. I could go for whatever the idea I had with this. This is great as I felt.

Cons

It took me a while to get to used to this other than that this is fantastic and perform very well. I see nothing bad to consider.

July 2021

Alma from UDG

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

One of the best software for modelling and rendering

I've always used it for architectural modelling and rendering, it's one of the most complex programs I've ever learned to use, and while it's totally worth it, it was a tiring process. It has tools that you rarely get to use and you can get lost and frustrated when you are just learning. Sometimes it has taken me hours to apply certain parameters to the model, but the equipment I have has a lot to do with that. The features that your computer should have to run the program are very complex, but somehow you are aware of that because of the use of the program. The evolution of the software is constant and it adapts to the different needs that you have, at least in my case in the area of architecture. And at the end of the day it is a program for professionals, if you are not willing or do not have the time to learn to use it, you may not like it or believe that it does not work when it is not the case.

Pros

It is complex but becomes a fast and easy workflow once you know how to use it, it is accessible for students and it is one of the "basic" programmes that you will have to use in your working life. The final product in both modeling and rendering is complete and professional. Both at school and at work it is used all the time. It is adaptable and compatible if you want to work with other programs, both for importing and exporting. And it becomes indispensable for the production management of a final architectural project.

Cons

The time it can take for a person to learn how to use it is very long. You have to do constant work and have knowledge in other areas so that the tools make more sense and you can work more easily with it. Start to slow down with complex projects and it can take a considerable amount of time to get a good end result.

April 2021

Rob from NVision4D

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

3ds Max is Unrivaled as a 3D content creation application.

3ds Max has allowed me to have a business for the last 25-years. Max has been the foundation of my business and without out it, I'd never have been able to compete in the very, very competitive 3d visualization industry. From animations for small websites to feature film, Max can handle it and many of the top tier movies you know and love were made with it. It's power can't be overestimated.

Pros

3ds Max is powerful. That's an understatement. It can be used by anyone but it's particularly useful to professionals who need all the features. It has been around over 20-years so it's robust and mature. There are 1000s of tutorials for it and the user Forum is one of the best I've ever seen.

Cons

This is not a Con of 3ds Max but is a reality of all powerful software, it takes time to get really good. Max is one of the best for intuitively being able to get around and get started, but to really use it well, you have to pay your dues and take a course or self teach by doing lots of tutorials. That's my experience. I'm self-taught and online tutorials were my guide.

August 2021

Ibrahim from Decova

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

''3ds Max: Architects dream''

This software enables me to work faster and more effectively than others, allowing me to complete my assignment inside the time frame I've set. The process is easy to follow, and the results are excellent. The only drawback is the cost, so after my paid subscription expires, I'll be returning to Blender.

Pros

I utilise 3ds max for architecture projects that are both traditional and straightforward, as well as experimental and organic. This software's architecture isn't always the best option, but the rendering using Vray is fantastic! It is for this reason why I continue to use this software. It produces a very professional outcome, with precise and amazing effects. So it is the most useful feature in 3ds Max for my team.

Cons

It is true that anyone can use it, but as many who have tried it know, it has a very steep learning curve. And unless you have a student licence, you'd have to pay a large price plus costs for online classes if you want to learn rapidly. And it eats quite a lot of your PC's resources, so you'll need a good setup.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Pragya from Sensyblee

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

3D Studio Max - Honest Review 2021

3d Studio Max is the best 3d software for creating interior designs and architectural visualizations. Used by industries and gaming studios.

Pros

1)Simple Interface: 3ds Max interface is comparatively simpler than other advanced 3d software. 2)User-created scripts and plugins.: 3ds Max’s can be customized using Max scripts which can be used to create incredible designs with simple codes. Max Script is relatively easy for artists to learn. 3)Edit Poly Modifier: 3d studio Max offers edit poly modifier which allows you to stack modifiers and is comparatively better for 3D modelling than other 3d softwares. 4)Strong Renderer: 3D studio max has super rendering capacities, time-saving animation options and mapping workflow tools. 5)Viewport: It has Perspective Match tool, vector map support and better particle system.

Cons

1) Stiff learning curve. Need training for learning the software properly. 2) Expensive. It offers a student license though. 3) It's not cross-platform. 4) Works smoothly on high-end systems.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Abdelmalek from SAMarketing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

My n1 go to software when doing any 3d work or project

Obviously, nothing is perfect and that's the case for me I don't say it's perfect but unique for my standards, I'm still using it to this day and never changed my mind about it, although it would seem old school for those who've started working 3D with recently released 3D softwares.

Pros

At first, I was just learning to start making projects for video games and interior rendering and so, but then I started liking how the interface is simple yet professional and detailed. It has a very large data of tutorials for beginners, and anyone can work in it since there are lots of tutorials provided by the company or on the internet.

Cons

It's true that anyone can use it but that defers for one to one for as it is known for those who've tried it; it has a very stiff learning curve, And unless you have a student license, you'd have to pay a generous sum plus fees for online courses if you want to learn quickly. And it really consumes your PC so you'd wanna have a decent setup.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Simeón from Freelance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Great Software, high price

The experience overall is great. This software allows me to proceed quicker and better than with others, allowing me to finish my project in the stablished time I have. The workflow is smooth and results great. The only disadvantage is the pricing, therefore taking that into account, once I finish the paid period, I'll be back to Blender.

Pros

From the point of view of a 3d printer hobbyist, the pros of course are ease to create parts and being able to try them in virtual models. This software allows you to check if the part will collide with another part in the model when it is moving, simulate the movement of a complete system, and so on. Basically you're able to create the whole project as a 3d model, check how it fits, how it behaves and then you can export each one of the parts to STL models to be printed. About modeling, it provides tens of tools to create parts in any shape needed. And the learning curve if you come as me from software like Blender, is not steep at all.

Cons

The main con of this software is its price. Paying a monthly fee of more than 200 USD is prohibitive for most users unless they're professionals on the area. In my case I just purchased a suscription for a year, since I need to use it for a project I need to finish ASAP and Blender is, although capable to do anything, slowing me in some aspects. But definitely for personal use and if development time is not an issue, I would consider Blender over this one.

Reasons for Switching to 3ds Max

Ease of work and faster results.

January 2021

Nishant from zee Entertainment

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Best Production software For CGI

I had long time experience working in 3ds max and I still use for architecture Rendering. Vray 3ds max been developed and updated to the date..

Pros

3ds Max has a vast Interface and clean, Fast modelling Work than compared to rivals, now with Arnold and advance Vray 3ds max have improved much better than the previous versions, including the render time has been optimised for better performance and crisp render

Cons

there is nothing to dislike in 3ds Max it has a different identity in the industry

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Robson from Arq Rob

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

A software to model, render and animate

it confused me at the beginning, but then I started to understand it once I used it more.

Pros

The product is complete and complex, it has a bunch of features, like 3d modeling, animation with engaging light physics and camera set up, render images, etc.

Cons

Because of the complexity of the program, it gets hard to know how to use all the features.

Reasons for Choosing 3ds Max

It is more complete software than Blender.

August 2021

Fabian from self-employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

3ds max one of the best programs to make 3d

Modeling and rendering photorealistic projects

Pros

allows you to do the entire creative process of modeling, lighting and texturing in one place

Cons

the new versions have the characteristic of being very heavy programs when loading

Reasons for Switching to 3ds Max

To adjusting shadows and color correction of luts, etc.

April 2021

Ornella from 3+ Arquitectos

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

3ds max para arquitectura

Mi experiencia usando 3ds max ha sido algo turbulenta parece que siempre tiene herramientas que aun no entiendo, pero vale la pena seguirlas descubriendo los resultados que he logrado con este software son sin duda superiores.

Pros

lo que mas me ha gustado de este software es que combinado con otros logra crear renders de una calidad muy superior, es superior a muchos otros programas en cuanto al manejo de texturas, luces, sombras, etc. por lo que realmente es una herramienta para usar totalmente a nivel profesional ya que los resultados son magnificos.

Cons

Lo que menos me gusta del software es que es bastante dificil de usar y sobretodo modificar caracteristicas en los volumenes, es casi imposible aprender sin una instruccion previa, pero realmente la calidad del software vale tomar alguna capacitacion.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Modeling and Fx

Amazing

Pros

Modeling tools very easy to use there are lots of Shortcuts to make easier . For the dynamic u got the best output as u want .

Cons

According to me everything there to do any thing

April 2021

Ailsa from Edinburgh Napier

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Great software, but expensive

This software has great potential, but with the cost being so high to buy and the learning curve so big I would not recommend this to first time users, however I’d you have experience with 3D software this could help take you to the next level and opens the possibilities of design.

Pros

I own a student licence for this software, making it free to use. It is so versatile in what it can do and create.

Cons

Very difficult to learn, and with not many up to date guides it is a huge learning curve. The user face is extremely daunting, and though I have used this product for 2 years I feel I stills don’t have a grasp of its full potential.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Outstanding 3D Package

I love the quality of the Rending and Animation, I've used this software in the past when I was a Teenager, and it really helped me excel my knowledge and skill of 3D Modeling, Animation and Rending. 3DS MAX is absolutely one of the most fun and intuitive 3D Software packages I've ever used. Thank you so very much AutoDesk!

Pros

I find the wide selection of animation, rending and 3D modeling features very useful. And I also like how realistic the quality of the rending is, it truly looks professional and clean.

Cons

I love ithe software, however, I find the price a bit too high for regular usage.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

3d modelling has never been easier

Overall Max can make working a lot easier not just for professionals but beginners as well.

Pros

Max is well-rounded software with a lot of tools and functionalities to make modelling and animation easy and reusable. It is used in gaming as well as industrial areas.

Cons

The software is very heavy, it is because of the variety of functionalities it provides but if it could be made to decrease the load on the CPU a little it would be even great.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Pablo from UCA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

El mejor programa para modelado y animación 3D

Particularmente uso la versión educativa que es completa

Pros

3Ds Max es sin duda el mejor programa para modelado y animación 3D, las opciones de cada actualización son cada vez más evolucionadas hasta poder hacer, con el manejo adecuado, producciones hiperrealistas y con la misma calidad de las películas de Hollywood, aunque para eso se necesita muchísimo trabajo. Las mejoras en los renders, texturas y luces son impresionantes

Cons

Al ser un soft tan completo es bastante difícil de manejar, incluso con tutoriales o clases, creo que existen modos de modelado que son más amigables pero se entiende que es imposible unir tantas formas de trabajo distinto

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

3ds Max is nice software 3D for profesional

nice & perfect software for 3d makers.

Pros

all tool & 3d rendering is nice and perfect for work in the project.

Cons

so expensive, so I don't recommend it for a beginner

Reasons for Switching to 3ds Max

because I want to use software with lower pricing.

December 2020

User Profile Picture

vijay from Labyrint cinematic solutions pvt.ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

3ds max is best for modellers to make complicated models easy

Overall its a good software for modelling heavy and granger sets

Pros

Models modelling heavy models and Retopo models from zbrush

Cons

Can improve interface more better like maya

May 2021

Piotr from freelancer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

my feelings about 3dsMax

Pros

easy to learn, easy to combine with other programs

Cons

thinking it could be improved the render section. maybe more preset.

January 2021

Sridharini from PKA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Quality is the best

I mainly love the quality of the models I create of 3ds max.

Pros

I love it’s rendering quality for models. It has a wide range of materials and model looks very realistic compared to other softwares

Cons

It takes time to learn the softwares. Not very straightforward and takes time to get a hang of it.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Navil from Nefos

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Most quality renders

I use it all the time, good quality

Pros

I like that the renders looks very realistic

Cons

Sometimes it is a little difficult to use

May 2021

amine from Clover

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

"Expensive but powerful 3D modeling apps"

I'm most proud of the accuracy of the 3ds max models I make.

Pros

3ds max is a highly recommended program for creating fantastic 3d animations.

Cons

Expensive for a once-in-a-while use. I wish I could buy this commodity for the rest of my life.

December 2020

fathia from archihome

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

tres important

very fantastic

Pros

the quality and reel resolution of images

Cons

Too many icons and complicated icons and there are many icons have the same fonctions

July 2021

ROBERT from Welch Printing Co.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

3DS Max Review

I really like it, but I wish it would cost a lot less!

Pros

The ability to key frame and animate quickly for prototyping. This makes showing progress on an animation way faster!

Cons

The Object mapping is a little confusing it took a while for me to figure out how to map a skin to an object with texture.

Reasons for Choosing 3ds Max

I had used it in school some in the past.... 2009.

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

One of the best tools for 3D modeling

As a simulation software engineer I often have to create and edit 3D models and 3ds Max is my go to tool. I am not so capable as a modeler but 3ds Max has made my life easier.

Pros

The best thing about 3ds Max is that its user interface is not cluttered like other similar tools. It has a huge user community and a plenty tutorials out there. Finally, autodesk provides a one year free trial for students and educators.

Cons

Well, like many other people I don't like the monthly subscription fee based system. No complain about 3ds Max.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

The best for objects and environment modeling

Overall has been great for modeling and render helps me a lot, i save a lot of time now with the quality of render.

Pros

I use this software for object and environment modeling, and makes the process process super fast and easy. I love the quality of the materials that you can get with V-ray, the details on things like wood or concrete are incredible. I love it for my work.

Cons

Even though is a 3D software, the animation part of it is not that intuitive like other software. And also is hard to get good information about animation process using 3ds Max covering the whole pipeline for videogames or regular animation.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Ach from Hadda Mohamed Achref

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Animation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2021

3Ds is your classic Software but today it feels outdated

I never get how people still use this app, yes it is the industry standard with Maya but there's a lot better out there From Maya to Cinema 4D

Pros

The main Pro of this one is that big companies still use it but other than that this one feels like using a Windows XP in today's time, it may be useful for some architects but that's it

Cons

On it's on it lacks a lot of features that you would need to speed up your process that you may find in Maya and Blender for example. So if you get it today be ready to pay even more for extra plugin to get what you want out of it.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

3ds max review

you can do whatever you want but it need someone with a lot of experience not easy for beginner

Pros

3ds max is a highly recommanded something excited to create a wonderful animation 3d

Cons

3ds max very useful software you can create all what you want like an art

September 2020

Saida from Arketipo

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Using this software for over 15 years

Love it

Pros

I started using that long ago before sketch up and other apps. Can’t see myself in other software.

Cons

Expensive for using ones in while. Wish I could by this product for life time

December 2020

User Profile Picture

Harsh from Tff

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

To understand the concepts of 3d animation, you need this one!

The camera tweening is to the point and the most easy to use and important feature that helped me with a lot of basic point to point camera movement understanding and experimentation.

Pros

The easy motion tween animation is one of the most critical features that let me to work with 3ds max.

Cons

3d basic physics settings are far too unrealistic in 3ds max for my usage. So I had to use 3rd party plugins with 3ds max to improve the physics of natural motion of objects.

September 2021

ossama from Maalouf Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

3D to the MAX

Pros

As the name refer, its 3D to the MAX. Amazing tools to create amazing 3D renderings and scenes with maximum efficiencies and ease.

Cons

There are ton of tools so it maybe a bit too much for new users.

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Manvir from Oati

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Design

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Awesome 3d application

It’s very good 3d application I recommend to everyone to ise this application and especially it’s very good for architecture 3d visualization.

Pros

It’s very easy to use and lots of plugin are available in market to do work with with this application.

Cons

I like the vray plugin workflow with this application

December 2020

Levan from Innosoft

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Powerful but expensive 3D modelling software

Pros

3ds Max is a powerful modelling software for big companies. It has many tested and established features for professional use.

Cons

Costs are very high if you are looking to use 3ds Max as an individual.