All PowToon Reviews

1-25 of 392 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mari

Computer Software, 5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

Reviewed December 2021

Almost perfect

User Profile

Arheer

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Animated videos can be easily created using PowToon

Initially when I started using the platform, the features and functionalities seemed very difficult to understand. Once I understood the same I was able to professional animated videos. The videos made looked like the ones created by an experienced professional.

PROS

- PowToon offers large number of animated templates - Graphic and character quality is good - Royalty free music and objects are available for paid version

CONS

- Much customization is not possible - Downloaded files are heavy - A little expensive

Reasons for switching to PowToon

Lumen5 cannot help you created animated videos.

Mich

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Powtoons is Amazing

I have created dozens of videos for internal comms, advertising, recruiting and training. It has made my life so easy and with great reward and outcome.

PROS

This is a super simple app to create fun and vibrant communications pieces either with cartoons or video.

CONS

I think customer service could be much better. I don't think I've ever gotten ahold of a live person.

Reasons for switching to PowToon

I didn't exactly make a total switch because I still need to edit some video before dropping it in to Powtoons, but the functionality of Powtoons and its ability to drag and drop anything into the video at any time is so cool. And it has a huge database of photos, video, and other tidbits.

riley

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2019

Powtoon

Not great they say they would be creating new content and we have had the service for 6 months with absolutely no content updates

PROS

You can put multiple layers of text on one slide and customize where it will show up.

CONS

They have absolutely zero content. They say they have marketing videos but they are only 10 seconds long and random. We no longer use this software.

Reason for choosing PowToon

We ended up purchasing promo as well because promo has a wide range and variety of videos and music that works a lot better than Powtoon. Very disappointed in Powtoon.

Zach

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Don't Need to Be a Video Production Expert to Make Great Marketing Videos

It has been very positive and was really a self-service platform. I have yet to deal with any person on the customer support side, we purchased the tool and onboarded completely independently and that is a testament to the UX/UI team at Powtoon. It is very straightforward and simple to use right away!

PROS

I liked how straightforward the use of the product was. I created 10-12 videos in a two-week span that were all ~60sec animated videos for usage in video advertising. It was very easy to learn, the platform auto-saves your progress so there's no fear of losing information, and it saves your video in whatever format you require. The templates are typically all I needed for videos, so I didn't have to start from scratch on any of my ideas. It has been a good experience and I will use the tool whenever we need to create a quick animated short!

CONS

The pricing was a bit confusing. We initially signed up for a base tier where we thought we'd have more functionality based on the description. When we got into the system we realized that immediately we'd need to upgrade from "Lite" to "Professional" in order to get the most out of the system and templates. We needed to remove watermarks and unlock key features, so we jumped to Pro. It wasn't outrageous to jump in price, but it was a snag as we had to get the new cost approved again internally.

Reason for choosing PowToon

We liked a couple of the templates on Powtoon for our initial use case better than the alternative solution we looked at.

Joanne

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Indispensable

I don't like being on camera and this solves that by making entertaining informational educational videos. They're all stored on Powtoon so don't have to store them on my computer.

PROS

I've used Powtoon since 2014. It's gotten better because they're always keen on getting feedback and making the product better, and listening to what we want in the software. They have good customer service so problem solving is quick. You can put your videos in folders, which helps when you have so many. I have a teacher package so cheap. You can also make powerpoint/slide shows.

CONS

Branding in corner of film and at end, but I get a cheaper deal because of this . Business deals don't have the branding.

Reasons for switching to PowToon

I had storage capacity problems on my computer. Videos all stored on Powtoon.

Nancy

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2021

Did the job - but ended on a very poor note

My final experience with them soured me on the product and company and thus I cannot recommend. Pick another animation software where they'll at least respond.

PROS

I needed to find software on short order for a volunteer product I was doing. I was able to learn it pretty quickly and product something to help the organization out. It was fairly easy to learn and I was able to make a decent animated video in a weekend.

CONS

I hadn't used the software for like 6 months and wasn't sure I'd use again, but missed the window to cancel the renewal until it hit my credit card. I contacted the company right away to explain that I used it just for volunteering and ask for a refund. They could check my history to see I hadn't been using. Not only did they not refund me. They ghosted me. I emailed a second and third time, but they never even answered. As for the product itself, they mixed in elements that were not included on my plan with those that were, requiring me to backtrack in some cases export my video w/o upgrading. Many of the elements were too cartoony for my taste. The export limits were kind of confusing.

Reason for choosing PowToon

I was in a rush and had to make a quick decision.

Bruno

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

most easy and complete online video creator

very practical online software to create fast and animated videos

PROS

it's simplicity and easy to use with a big media library available

CONS

still, the media library is very limited in a variety of themes, and the max video quality is not very high

Reason for choosing PowToon

its less expensive and easy to use software and simple to export videos

DEYSON

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Very Good Animation Software

I reaaly like this software and using for create good promotionals campaigns for may customers.

PROS

Easy to use for very good quality job results.

CONS

The characters don't have a 'walk' animation as option ...

Reason for choosing PowToon

Because PowToon effer what I need, PowToon is different than others and, maybe need more features, but I believe in the good future for this software.

Natalie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

If you want easy animation software for presentations look no further!!

Excellent!! creating meaningful videos that are young people friendly has been so much easier with this software.

PROS

This has been a recent addition to us, we came across it by accident looking for new characters for our powerpoint videos. This software has everything prepared and ready to go, with any type of animated creation it still takes time but having all the tools built-in ready and to hand saves a lot of time and frustration. Creating mini-presentations for young people has been a lot easier since we signed up.

CONS

The only con I have is that there could be more ethnic characters, this can be a little limiting for us as most of our client base are ethnic we like to use characters that look like them.

Reasons for switching to PowToon

More variety, scenes and characters to hand

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

My Powtoon Experience

My overall experience with Powtoon has been great. It's a new and exciting way of creating animations and videos.

PROS

What I liked most about Powtoon is the ability to create effective and functional video presentations without having to show my face.

CONS

Getting a hang of the various video transitions is not as easy as it seems. Also, creating the characters and getting the right effects is a bit complex especially for a beginner.

Randy

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Great Features and Easy to Use

Overall, I am satisfied with this tool. It has some minor issues, but none of those issues are deal breakers for me.

PROS

Easy to Start: It only takes me ~20 min to gain basic proficiency and ~60 min to gain advanced proficiency. Time-Saving Templates: It has several templates ready to be used, which saves time. Beautiful built-in assets: Animated avatars, objects, short videos, graphics, audios, etc. Basically anything you could possibly want in a multimedia product--PowToon has it already built-in. Ease of Future Maintenance/Update: The way Powtoon's interface is designed allows for ease of future edits. You can easily swap in/out vectors/audio/texts if your video ever needs an update in the future.

CONS

Minor Glitch: Sometimes, objects (vectors, geometric shapes) would move to the wrong place by mouse drags. This is more of a minor nuisance than a real problem. Lack of Audio Editing Feature: It has very little audio-editing capability. Because it has a built-in voice-over recording feature, this feature would be more useful if audio editing ability can be available.

Reasons for switching to PowToon

Powtoon has more features than videoscribe.

Patti

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Fun and easy to use

I am an instructional designer/developer and I use PowToon as part of eLearning courses and to communicate changes to end users. The premade templates make PowToon really easy to use. I find a look I like then modify with my content. Each template has its own music but I may upload my own music and upload images to personalize the video even more. If I have a question, I can chat directly with the support team (and I have had lots of questions). I had some trouble understanding the timing of objects when I first started. (Hint: where the thumbnail displays on the time line has Nothing to do with the exit time) and was frustrated by the lack of technical information about how the product works. This is because they depend on their support team to help users. Generally this is good but I would like to see Some documentation, even if it were just voiceovers on a PowToon to explain something. I found using a PowToon to communicate a recent system change to end users resulted in about a 70% view rate instead of a close to 10% read rate for just an email for a previous communication. I host the video on our SharePoint site and provide a link so it's easy to track the views. I just extended my subscription for another year and look forward to new features, new images, and new templates.

PROS

Easy to use, fun. Produces very professional looking videos.

CONS

It is difficult to select objects and edit if they overlap. I would like to be able to add tags to the images so I could easily find those I want to use multiple times. When changing the sizes of objects, both the width and height change proportionately. It would be good to be able to change just one, especially boxes.

Tara

Professional Training & Coaching, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

A Fun and Creative Way to Make Impactful Explainer Videos

Overall, it's a well-run company and the support is excellent. It's a fun product to learn and use and it really allows you to be quite creative in your presentations.

PROS

They're continually evolving their product and that's what makes it so great. They keep finding ways to make it faster and easy to make explainer videos. They have an outstanding library of tools and elements you can use to really create outstanding videos. They have excellent templates to start with so you don't have to start with just a blank design canvas. Their support team is outstanding -- definitely one of the best that I've dealt with.

CONS

Since I don't use it daily, as I do with other apps, sometimes it takes a while to remember how to do things. You can't always find the design elements you need. It can get quite expensive if you want access to more monthly exports, storage, and customization options.

Ana

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

I love how the presentations are, although it is not as fast to learn how to use it as I expected.

what most took advantage of this application was the use of storyboard because I did not have much knowledge in making animations of this type.

PROS

- It has very nice templates and the icons, images and shapes look very modern. - I can use it for free, with some limitations of course. - the elements on the screen are very well organized and have guidelines to correctly place what you want to show. - allows you to share presentations or videos through popular social networks and download them in various formats depending on the type of account, for free accounts you can download it in ppt or pdf format. - It has good tutorials to learn how to use the application and the help center is good. - It allows to choose between several styles of presentations such as: real, infographics, cartoon, whiteboard and modern edge. - The storyboard function is quite useful and practical since it adapts to the type of person who will make the presentation and guides you throughout the process.

CONS

- In spite of the tutorials and help it is not so easy to use it the first time, you have to dedicate a considerable time in learning how to make animations, if you are looking for something to make animated videos quickly this application or is for you. - the free account only allows videos or presentations with a maximum duration of 3 minutes and pro and agency accounts are quite expensive. - he does not have options of collaboration with other people for the edition.

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

A new, creative way to do aid presentations

Great for aiding presentations

PROS

PowToon is a great software that one can use to create attractive, creative presentations using cartoon characters. The animations are fun and interesting and the great transitions make it more fun to watch and keeps your audience engaged, A major plus is that the character set is diverse and there are a lot to choose from. There is also lot of support and tutorials online for users to learn from.

CONS

Lovely software, but one of the cons that I encountered was that when my projects got too large, its seems to use a lot of CPU power because my computer lags. Another con, for those user who love freebies, the free version has a lot of restrictions.

Rebecca

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Good product for beginners

Overall experience is good. It's a good product for beginners.

PROS

How easy it is to use the software. It's very simple to add, make edits, and download videos in PowToon.

CONS

I wish editing video clips was easier in PowToon. You are required to use the full clip of the video inside of PowToon which is a negative thing, in my opinion.

Reason for choosing PowToon

Ease of use

Jen

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Fantastic - has helped me connect with customers in an awesome format!

Create products that I can sell that are really fun to create!

PROS

My customers are school parents and the cartoon options really grab their attention. I love telling stories through pictures and find it so much easier to put a presentation together on powtoon than any other presentation tool I've used or to write long text.

CONS

It's at the top of my budget limit. But the features are all fantastic and they keep rolling out new ones (like square format and mobile optimized) that help me expand my product offerings.

User Profile

Geoff

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE