All Amazon API Gateway Reviews

1-13 of 13 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Darian

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Review of Amazon API Gateway

API Gateway helped us solve a problem we were encroaching, which was too many endpoints with not enough organization. APIGW let us take our endpoints and isolate them. The routing lets us write specific endpoints which then become simple to deploy, upkeep and monitor. Additionally, the security features available keep our API secure from misuse.

PROS

We liked how easy it was to connect to cloud functions. Previously, our APIs were written and hosted on an EC2 server. It was extremely easy to create a function on Lambda that was accessible to the outside through API Gateway. Also, the authorizations and authentication using Apikeys / custom authorizers allowed us to have multiple levels of users and security, which some of our older endpoints did not have.

CONS

We have a recurring problem with the timeout limit on the API. There are some APIs we want to develop but are unable to due to the timeout limit (30s) Some features I don't think are helpful. For example, the API documentation section I think is lacking and using a different Documentation system is preferred. Also, we wanted to view the usage per api key but to do so required a custom logging solution with Amazon Firehose. I would imagine such functionality should be available through the dashboard or Cloudwatch.

User Profile

Ernesto

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

All your APIs in a single gateway. Secured by AWS!

It fulfilled our needs for centralized and securing all our microservices deployed in the AWS infrastructure. The service price is included and only charges a price on your destination app.

PROS

All of our services were deployed in the AWS infrastructure and to enable communication between them, we used the secured API Gateway service. It lets us customize every method and microservice endpoint in a non-technical interface. The gateway also allowed us to centralize all the calls making the documentation more accessible.

CONS

There wasn't any issue regarding this implementation, everything about the API Gateway is very well documented, and the interface is full of tooltips.

Pallav

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Amazon gateway review

PROS

The interface is amazing and the smooth functioning helps in running the operations of my business gery well and is a great help.

CONS

Interface and customer support are my top favourite features

Sarath

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Cloud Native API Gateway

For business running their workloads completely in AWS, AWS API Gateway is a great fit to be positioned as a n entry point.

PROS

- Seamlessly integrated with quite a few AWS services helping customers to roll out solutions quickly - Extremely easy to onboard a passthrough proxy API - Offers support for a wide range of security options

CONS

- When it comes to addressing transformation requirements, AWS API Gateway makes use of Velocity Template language which is less known and popular in comparison to other popular languages. So there is a learning curve

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

It's the Gateway to your custom API

Like so many AWS products, you never use an API Gateway in isolation. The majority of your work will be with the AWS Lambda and data source. Once you define your Gateway, it's easy to build a stub service for testing and incrementally work on it until you are done.

PROS

API Gateway makes writing REST APIs easy. Combine it with an AWS Lambda and a data source and you're basically done. The end result is easy to test with a tool like Postman.

CONS

I personally dislike the AWS Console interface for AWS Gateways. There's nothing really wrong with it as it is functional, but it could be better integrated by providing a more direct connection to the underlying services and it could provide better "testing data" in the default options to test from the console.

User Profile

Xolani

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

The best service to manage your APIs

We have used API gateway to maintain all our backend APIs and it has reduced tons of work since a lot of features such authentication, rate-limiting , logging , staging is included in the service.

PROS

1. Serverless approach to manage APIs2. Rate limiting3. Advanced logging and monitoring, can be connected to cloudwatch4. Integrates perfectly with Lambdas and other compute AWS services

CONS

Includes a hard limit of 29 seconds which does not work well if you have long-running code.

User Profile

Piyush

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

API Gateway for Several API calls

Overall the experience has been great, its a great tool for all api related tasks.

PROS

I like that it can handle several API gateway calls without affecting the performance, its handling of the api version management is also better. Overall a great tool for API testing and web service development.

CONS

There is not much documentation around how the amazon API gateway works, if they can provide detailed documents that would be a great addition.

User Profile

Donny

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Amazon API Gateway is great at helping us deliver data to our partners!

Overall our experience has been great!

PROS

It is a safe and secure platform that we can use to help deliver data to our partners.

CONS

So far we have had no issues with the platform besides an outage.

Reason for choosing Amazon API Gateway

Price

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Achieving Scalability and Efficiency with Amazon API Gateway for API Management

Amazon API Gateway provides seamless integration with a range of AWS services, enabling customers to quickly deploy solutions that meet their needs. The service is particularly user-friendly when onboarding a passthrough proxy API, and offers robust support for a diverse range of security options to ensure that APIs are secure and reliable. With these features and capabilities, Amazon API Gateway is a popular choice for businesses looking to build and deploy APIs efficiently and effectively.

PROS

Its scalability, security, integration, analytics, and flexibility make it a top choice for businesses looking to build APIs quickly and reliably.

CONS

issues with latency when using Amazon API Gateway, particularly when integrating with other AWS services. also may be debugging issues with Amazon API Gateway can be challenging,

User Profile

Pawe

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Universal tool for managing APIs

Great!

PROS

I thoroughly enjoyed working with API Gateway in one of my projects. It is really easy to configure both manually and with automation tools like CloudFormation or Terraform. I have managed to set up a gateway in few hours, and the configuration is quite easy to maintain and update.

CONS

The cost of the service is quite high, besides that I do not see any cons.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Reliable and flexible

PROS

The Amazon API Gateway is a crucial component/hub in our setup. As with many AWS products, the learning curve can be a bit steep, but once it's setup it just keeps on running.

CONS

Just the learning curve, it took some time to fully understand the optimal setup.

Isak

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Powerful and affordable

API Gateway provides our lambda function with a powerful and affordable platform that satisfies our needs.

PROS

Provides a unified API configuration platform that easily integrates with most of the other AWS services.

CONS

The user interface at times feels messy.

Adolfo

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Excellent and fast payment process

I can easily buy what I want from any device

PROS

the one click option is excellent , also you can see what will be the final price you will pay including the transportation fee

CONS

For me , there is nothing wrong with it. When you want to buy something it takes less than two seconds.

Showing 1 - 13 of 13 Reviews