Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.70

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

3.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The apps made using this app builder are of great quality and the send push notification feature is great. I am really loving this app builder and also, I give plus points to their support team."
  • icon"It benefits my customers businesses. My customers love their apps."
  • icon"There are many app builders nowadays and this one for me is clearly the best among the rest. I also like the great and responsive support from this company."
  • icon"The Apple submission process can be cumbersome if you aren’t on a Mac. The customer service department is very cut throat if you make a billing mistake."
  • icon"Ve had this app for 2 years and won’t be signing for a third. Also, for being “mobile,” there is no option to get into the app while mobile."
  • icon"This company is very bad it charges the customers and they do not give the product that promise I pay money and I have not received anything from them."

Have you used AppInstitute and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All AppInstitute Reviews

1-25 of 28 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jessica

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wine and Spirits

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Lame customer service

It’s constantly out of date. The owners have to update it and they don’t. No mobility function for responding to customers.

Pros

Easy to use. No experience necessary. It seemed easy and streamlined.

Cons

The app is constantly out of date with Apple and Google Play. The owners took 4 mo this time to update the app in the stores after sending multiple emails to them.... I’ve lost ALOT of business. I’ve had this app for 2 years and won’t be signing for a third. Also, for being “mobile,” there is no option to get into the app while mobile. Everything done must be through a desktop. You can not respond to customers while mobile.

Reasons for choosing AppInstitute

It seemed more effective and secure.

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Brilliant

Businesses are easily communicated with their customers with their push notification service, easy to use loyalty programs and the app builder is easy to use. No technical experience is required. Businesses love it and so do their customers getting updated information at their finger tips.

Pros

It benefits my customers businesses. My customers love their apps.

Cons

Like anything, it's technology and always things can get better. Maybe you can choose the tiered group in editor to not all show and have a plus sign to show them all.

Sara

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Works amazingly

Pros

We got our app built on this software and it works amazingly, i can make changes whenever i need without a line of code!

Cons

Can't find any fault with the software, it works so good

Kara

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

November 2017

Sadly, You will Need to Look Elsewhere...

good marketing material

Pros

I loved the user friendly app platform. I liked that I was able to get a hold of someone overtime I called.

Cons

I signed up with AppInstitute in July of 2017. I read the reviews at that time which were all from 2016 and nothing less than a 5 star rating... so, I went ahead and purchased the annual white label package ($1400). Everything was good. Good communication, they set up my account and platform, EVERYTHING was awesome. Fast forward two months (length it took me to build the app). I submitted my app for publishing on September 1st. 1 week later, they sent me an email saying that they are no longer publishing to Apple Store or Google Play, but instead they are now doing PWA's (Progressive Web Apps) which will be available at the end of September. So, they switched their business model and clients are supposed to be okay with that? Anyways, I waited to try out the PWA. Everything was good, until a link to buying gift certificates didn't work. It took them THREE weeks, THREE WEEKS to fix the link! Needless to say, I lost my very first app client because I wasn't able to perform. I asked for a refund multiple times. They refused to give even a partial refund for the months I haven't used. I strongly advise you NOT to sign up with this company no matter how good it looks. For under $100 I was able to get an awesome performing app published on Apple and google through Fiverr.

Yosef

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Support Like No Other

I’m currently a resseler, and the support I get is like no other.

Pros

AppInstitute has the most features of all template app builders out there, catering everybody’s needs.

Cons

The only thing I think is missing with this software is that they have not got 24/7 chat support, otherwise there’s nothing to moan about.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

June 2018

Too expensive, never updates your app to latest phones or software.

None.

Pros

There isn't much to like. The software is out of date, the features are stale, the customer service is terrible, and they never update the app framework to be compatible with the latest devices. You could definitely spend more per month somewhere else and get a better value.

Cons

It was overall terrible using AppInstitute. This company purchased a company that I previously used to build an app for our company. This new company totally neutered development and has charged the same bloated price for the past three years without any updates or new features. Totally not worth your money and I would advise you look elsewhere for a cookie-cutter app developer. There are many cheaper developers who offer better features.

Jason

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

Links

Pros

It is a great and easy way of having a app.

Cons

The only thing is that there is no way of adding a phone number or web link so people can press it to take them straight there.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Excellent Service

I've been using the Appinstitute Appbuilder for some years now and find the system easy to use and they have an excellent, fast responding team.

Pros

The ease of use and responsiveness of the system

Cons

The preview can be a little restrictive, but it's no great worry.

Jack

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2016

User friendly, does the job

I used AppInstitute's AppBuilder to build an app for my Italian restaurant. It is easy to use with good chat support (they helped me with step by step instructions when I had to solve some problems). Compared to other DIY builders I can recommend AppInstitute for its loyalty features.

Pros

User friendly - Easy to use Good chat support

Cons

Submission took a little long, suppose this is due to Apple's regulations

Carl

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

On first sight of the App Builder it was a no brainer for me to subscribe.

Pros

I'm a creative person, concepts and design, not a web developer and the only code I understand is dress code, so for a creative like me to be able to build Apps says it all. A truly well researched and developed tool. Aside from the App Builder I have to mention the excellent support by customer support they have been nothing but responsive, patient and provided me with some of the best support I've ever experienced in 30 years of being in design and marketing. I think App Institute should be proud of this product and the team and service they have to provide and support clients like myself.

Cons

Apple and Google are now making it harder and harder to have white label Apps so unfortunately the cost of producing these types of apps is increasing, which is a shame. I have often used the App Builder as a door opener to clients offering them a cost effective App which they would otherwise never be able to afford. It is a big positive tool to have for my clients, so hopefully the recent restrictions are the last.

Craig

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Great Apps, Loads of Functionality!

Pros

Easy to use, lots of capabilities such as loyalty, geo based push, coupons. Very realiable software.

Cons

There isnt many issues to complain about. AI have been extremely helpful.

Yosef

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Top Stuff

Pros

Used this app for a few years now and we are really happy with it. It has a whole range of features and doesn't look like a template based app builder.

Cons

I am yet to find something i don't like about this software

Philip

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Pretty amazing appbuilder

Lets me learn a lot about making an app

Pros

There are many app builders nowadays and this one for me is clearly the best among the rest. I also like the great and responsive support from this company. They are very knowledgeable and courteous. They are also quick to respond which is fantastic especially that I am still new at this app building. Giving them 5 stars is simply isn't enough with how great the company is and for their app builder. Thanks for this awesome app builder guys!

Angela

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

This is an easy to use app for beginners

Pros

This is an easy to use app for beginners and best part of this you don't need to have core knowledge about coding. The support is the best. Matt from support was able to guide me in building my very first app!

Cons

I don't find any problems with the app so far. To be honest I really can't find any problems in using this app.

Eliza

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2016

Awesome support and the app builder was so easy to use.

The app builder was so easy to use. I used one of their templates and customised to suit my own needs. The support team were always on hand and answered my queries within a few minutes through the online chat support feature. Really love the additional services like the push messaging feature and CRM. I can interact with my app users with forms, receive chat messages and send push notifications whenever I add a new feature to my app. Highly recommend this company, they have been invaluable to my business. My App has now had over 30K downloads and I'm even making some revenue from mobile ads.

Response from AppInstitute

Hey Eliza, Thanks so much for your review! :) Team AppInstitute

Replied March 2016

Mark

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY