Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.39

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Axure is a very powerful tool, it has tons of options and for UX prototyping is - in my opinion as a beginner and learner - on top and one of the best (comparing to UX Pin f.e.)."
  • icon"Best tool for creative wireframes which supports many integrations like Jira & Slack."
  • icon"Ease of use, prebuilt functions, third party libraries, the online axure iser community. Someone is always able answer questions."
  • icon"Change color and style of font is sometimes difficult to find."
  • icon"However Axure has lost totally its market appeal."
  • icon"The user interface is very hard to use and there is a big learning curve. The interface itself feels a bit outdated, and the light theme and grey tones makes it difficult to look at."

Have you used Axure and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Axure Reviews

1-25 of 100 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ashish

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

One of the strongest tool for dynamic prototyping

One tool for all your prototyping​ need, be it animation or a simple drop down.

Pros

These days you have dozens of tools available for prototyping but none of them are as strong as Axure, the usp here is dynamism. Whilst most of the prototyping tool lets you work with static screen, Axure allow you to make it dynamic without writing a single line of code. You can build a complete design system in Axure which is a​ one-time​ investment​ but goes a ​long way in saving time.

Cons

No mobile support yet, considering the complexity and logic it lets you handle not sure how possible is the ​mobile version.

User Profile

Joi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

A great interactive prototyping tool for developers or designers with graphic design software exp.

Pros

I love that you can make FUNCTIONAL prototypes with this software! Being able to present a "working prototype" is a huge benefit of this tool. With the use of "behaviors" and "widgets", you can ensure that the stakeholders get a interactive demo BEFORE you start development! I also love the fact that you can have "pages" that when published can mimic a real working website. The publisher feature of Axure allows you to share prototypes with clients or stakeholders and get feedback from an unique URL. There are so many pre-made widgets out there as well that can be imported for use right in the prototype, making it truly adaptable to development frameworks, like Google Material Design.

Cons

It was easy for me to get up and running using this software given my background and experience with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. I think without some background in those applications, this software may have a learning curve. Also, it may have limitations when compared with web-based versions when it comes to portability of your source files. The constant updates can be annoying to keep track of, as I often end up with multiple installations instead of a true upgrade, but that could be user error or lack of knowledge of proper Axure updating on my end.

michael

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2021

Good Until It's Not

I use it daily. Mostly it works well. But when it doesn't, don't expect CS to help.

Pros

Very flexible for diverse concepts.

Cons

Not well tested prior to release. Tends to get buggy as the page gets more complex.

Reasons for choosing Axure

Axure offers the best flexibility. Also, team support was critical.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

Great for UX Prototypes, but has a huge learning curve.

Pros

Axure is a love and hate relationship. It has a steep learning curve at the beginning, but once you are above the learning curve, it gets better and better. The functionality built in the software is awesome and you can literally make an exact experience as if you were coding. Use of libraries and other features can help you get started with basic set of tools and help you speed up your workflow.

Cons

The learning curve is steep and a challenge. You question yourself on why you are putting yourself through the learning when there are easier options available. Axure also allows you to do a lot more than other options, and if you are looking for the perfect prototype, you can spend hours figuring things out on axure needlessly.

Jose

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

The application is to my liking I met it 1 month ago due to the matter Information System.

The main benefit of the application is that it allowed us to make prototypes allowing the progress and correction of the project without the need for a complete development

Pros

I consider Axure as a very complete tool and at the same time, easy to use, during its trial period we use it (my classmates and me) as a tool to design basic prototypes and some more advanced in the matter. Information system 1 belonging to the degree in Computer Science without the need to program the entire system, another of the advantages of the software is its functionality in any browser because it is HTM and allows you to upload the prototype to a server to send it to the rest of the team. In addition you can find on the internet various libraries, modules, icons and other design elements that can contribute many to the project as well as an extensive amount of tutorials on how to use and exploit the tool in our favor.

Cons

As for the tool itself, we do not find great criticism beyond its high cost for developers and students in Venezuela who lose the opportunity to use this tool.

User Profile

Carlos Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

The best professional prototyping tool... from the past

Pros

I've worked with a lot of works using Axure for web projects and it helped us make more professional deliveries, with a streamlined process and great library of assets.

Cons

Today we have more flexible and straightforward tools to create prototypes instead of Axure, with better accessibility and ability to share prototypes. Also these tools can be used to create designs as well.

User Profile

Sukhpreet Singh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Wire-framing

Pros

It is most easy tool to create prototypes both functional and conceptual. A user can create HTML prototypes with this tool. It is very simple to use and it has inbuilt codes which will run the HTML functionality.

Cons

In this too, Image cropping is difficult.

User Profile

Oscar

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2018

It seems to me that Axure Rp is a versatile and friendly tool for high quality prototypes

It helps me to develop part of my work

Pros

Axure is a prototyping tool that allows you to simulate web applications, with similarities of a real web page

Cons

The tool is a bit complex to learn how to use it, it has many functions that you must learn to simulate a specific behavior, although user support is fast, sometimes you should make several queries if your problem is a little complicated

Vera

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Amazing tool for wireframes

love it, have been using it for years and have introduced so many people to it

Pros

I'm a long time fab of Axure and have used it for so many projects! it is a very easy to use, yet has so many featured and customizations. I also really enjoy collaboration tool which helps a few people to work in the same project effortlessly

Cons

sometimes animations can be tricky, but other than that it is amazing tool anybody who works with prototypes can ask for

Mike

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2017

satisfaction guaranteed

Axure is more likely to work if you are working in a robust environment. The best feature about axure is its ability to be shared with a click. so sharing is not that redundant. It allows us to test things before they are incorporated int he final product.

Pros

Axure is a sweet spot between a prototype and a working product. sharing is easy.

Cons

The learning curve is very bizzare, you need to have extensive knowledge before using this product.

User Profile

Inguna

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Axure RP 8 - still going strong

I was trained on Sketch at the beginning of my career, and when I transitioned jobs, I argued for Sketch, since I wasn't familiar with Axure. Now that I have been using Axure for 2+ years, I don't think I'll ever go back to Sketch. Axure saves me time while allowing me to communicate design concepts and information architecture.

Pros

One of the best things about Axure is that you can write text within elements. In comparison, in Sketch, you need to add an additional text element. For low-mid fidelity wireframes, Axure is way more efficient than Sketch. The second best thing is how well balanced the features are- everything is there in one place. You got your creation covered (complex interactions included), you got the generation of a share link without needing to export the screens to another app, you can also collect feedback via the discussion panel. Widgets are customizable, there's plenty of user help available on the web regarding how to do various things... Axure is great for rapid prototyping.

Cons

Collaboration features are mostly non-existent, but that can be solved by storing the .rp file in a cloud, such as Google Drive Stream. I wish the widget names would save when pressing 'enter' on the keyboard instead of clicking out of the field, but that is a minor issue. In Sketch, I do still prefer the way they use symbols, in Axure the masters vs panels seem to be a bit convoluted.

Reasons for switching to Axure

At first, because my employer argued that Axure is better than Sketch. But after trying Axure and seeing what it can do, I didn't need any more convincing.

Elaine

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

Very proprietary look and feel.

Interactive prototypes rather than plain jpg mockups.

Pros

I like being able to create interactive prototypes, not just simple mockups. Letting stakeholders click through to see the navigation and flow of an application is infinitely more valuable than static images.

Cons

Seemed like a steep learning curve. It was a bit more complex than I would have liked. Balsamiq proved much easier to pick up on the fly.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

One of the best tool for Interactive wireframing and prototyping

Pros

This will give you exactly the same output whatever you want to get it in your final product.

Cons

Complexity, learning curve is more, there are tool many features and they are dependent with each other. Suggestion to the team - would be great you will give user manual as well.

User Profile

Javier

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

Great tool loosing its market

Honestly, it is a great tool of its purpose.

Pros

It is by far the best tool to create hi-fi interactive prototypes. No other tool comes close to its features to create interactive behaviors. These prototypes are so good they can be used for intensive user testing, as users are not able to tell them apart from real apps or websites. I can mock with Axure in a couple of weeks what would take a dev team months to code and deploy. And that can save huge amounts of development costs.

Cons

Learning to use Axure is complicated. Mostly because of the ton of options, and partly because it is difficult to discover how the internal mechanics operate. But the biggest con is that when I look into the UX design job market, practically there are no positions requesting knowledge of Axure. Everything is Sketch or Figma, that while great to create UI mockups are no rivals of Axure when creating interactive prototypes. However Axure has lost totally its market appeal. Probably Axure should have bought Sketch or Figma when it realized it was going to be overwhelm by these tools in the UI authoring arena. Also unlike Sketch, Axure does not have a 3rd party plugin market. And this closedness has reduced further more its utility.

User Profile

Lukas

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

A really good tool for prototyping and creating wireframes

Pros

I like the ability to express ideas to my customers by easily creating wireframes for websites, prototypes, etc.

Cons

After I make changes I need to upload files to server. I'd like the ability to instanty see changes online.

User Profile

Jose

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Axure RP

I think it is a very complete tool, designed to design wireframes and basic or advanced prototypes easily and has a wide range of widgets with which you can easily and quickly design interfaces for websites or mobile applications.

Pros

It is very easy to start working with Axure, the tool is very intuitive and we can start producing almost immediately without needing to follow a manual, although if you are new to this sowtware I would highly recommend reading manuals or at least watch some videos on the internet

Cons

Considering all of the available softwares and the cost / benefit, I believe that Axure its a bit pricy, at the end if you get to use all of the features it might be worth it.

User Profile

Pablo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT