All IntelliJ IDEA Reviews

1-25 of 1,217 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Phil

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51 - 200 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2024

IntelliJ IDEA Review: One Stop Shop.

User Profile

Dylan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Jetbrains Tools make me 10x the developer I am

IDEA is like going from using hand tools to using power tools for the first time. It's a learning curve, but when you see what you can achieve with it, you wonder how you ever wrote code without it.

PROS

I love that it indexes your entire project, so that intellisense actually suggests methods that exist and make sense rather than fuzzy matching like other IDEs do.

CONS

It is expensive. If you're a developer that has to pay for these tools personally instead of paid for by a company, it's a tough pill to swallow, but very worth it.

Reason for choosing IntelliJ IDEA

The enterprise-grade tooling that comes with the IDE. It's not just an editor, but it's also a version control viewer, a database inspector, diagram generator and more.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

The in-depth understanding the IDE has of not just the language but the databases, build tools and frameworks around the language, that make using the language easier.

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Powerful IDE worth the investment

A number of the other IDEs on the market are resource heavy and sluggish. IntelliJ also does a very good job with memory management on MacOS and doesn't need any fancy configuration to get up and running. Unit testing software, database plugins, memory monitors are all a part of this tool.

PROS

Jetbrains packs a lot of features into one IDE. If you are searching for a tool to do something very specific in Java - usually there is a plugin for it. I've grown up using netbeans and eclipse, but have always needed to rely on external tools to provide additional features. But intelliJ is very feature rich.

CONS

The cost is very heavy especially for a startup company. It works out if you are a large company or a teacher/student. The costs rule out a lot of people from using this tool over something free like eclipse/netbeans.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

The integrated toolset, the number of plugins, the support and the speed of intelliJ puts all other java IDEs to shame.

MIKHAIL

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

It was good, now it worse

This is my main (yet) IDE for last 6 years, so it is my kind of Swiss-army knife for development .

PROS

IntelliJ IDEA is JAVA IDE and unified platform for other languages IDE like PyCharm (Python), HTML/Javascript (WebStorm), C/C++ (CLion) etc. Back in the days it was the most powerful and flexible IDE with a lot of features out of the box, modular structure that allows to extend functionality using plugins, very convenient editor with autocomplete and syntax highlighting, tools to run, debug and profile code and many more. Last not least it had reasonable price and discounts.

CONS

Now days it becomes a little monster working pretty unstable and slow, with regular freezes and crashes. Developers communication with user community is pretty poor, requests for highly-demanded features are actually ignored for years, fundamental problems (like freezes) not fixed from release to release. Price model was changed, so fast-growing Visual Studio Code becomes more and more attractive alternative to JetBrain IDEs.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

A must for every Sofware Engineer

PROS

Ease of use. It always works. It improves my working experience and productivity. It enhances the quality of my software.

CONS

The fact that the AI assistant has a different pricing model.

Sami

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

10 months of experience working with IntelliJ IDEA.

I have created several programs and one of them was about managing employee information (records and roles) using Java. my productivity has increased through provides right method at right time and get syntax quickly, no need to do Google search. It was smooth to work on than other programs like (Eclipse IDE).

PROS

The debugging feature allowed me to easily check variables and evaluate expressions. productivity and variable syntax and options have increased with the help of auto suggestion. I find it fascinating how we can write unit tests, run test cases and debug separately.

CONS

One of the applications that affected the speed of my system, especially when I open many instances.

User Profile

Ravindu

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

A thought on IntelliJ IDEA

I used this for more than 5 big projects in spring boot framework. I never had any issues. Easy configuring maven dependencies and can run or debug the application with a small simple configuration. Also support frondend frameworks without any issue.

PROS

Quickly adjusting the project along with indexing files. Can found huge no of plugins for this software. Great support from company. Perfect for JAVA as suggestions and highly supports for the java. Can easily run or debug the application. Highly support for GIT and for all new major frontend frameworks also. Light weighted compared to other java IDEs'.

CONS

A bit complicate for beginners to use the software. Slow indexing in large projects.

Reason for choosing IntelliJ IDEA

very fast, easy to use, minimum configuration, recommended by alot of people.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

very fast, easy to use, minimum configuration compared to netbeans.

User Profile

Samuel IsaĆ­

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

The ultimate IDE for devs

It was nice and comfortable, I felt myself more productive

PROS

The awesome GUI and all lenguages and frameworks that supports, It made my coding experience nicer and faster

CONS

Performance would be a weak point as the size that takes from the disk and memory. A lite version would be wonderful

Reason for choosing IntelliJ IDEA

Because intellij idea has a improved support for Java and kotlin

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

GUI was a motivation

Nuno

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

One of the most complete IDE in the market

PROS

The base product is very robust and allows for a lot of languages, and the plugins available allow it to go even further with connection to Docker, AWS, and Databases.Even for beginners, it's a good tool due to its learning plugins.

CONS

Sometimes it may be a little confusing to get to the specific setting that a person is looking for, but there is a search setting feature that improves the experience there.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

Mainly because it was the main IDE used in the company, but after working with it, I'm not going back, unless forced to.

NOMPILO

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Comprehensive Review of IntelliJ IDEA

I love IntelliJ IDEA its amazing. I enjoy using.

PROS

The IDE offers advanced code completion, smart suggestions, and context-aware coding assistance, significantly speeding up coding and reducing errors. IntelliJ IDEA provides powerful and safe refactoring tools, allowing for easy code restructuring, renaming, and other optimizations without compromising code integrity. The IDE seamlessly integrates with version control systems like Git. I appreciate the ability to customize the IDE's layout. User friendly interface.

CONS

New users, especially those transitioning from simpler IDEs, might find IntelliJ IDEA's extensive features and settings overwhelming initially, requiring time to learn and adapt.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

I started working with java and I found intelliJ IDEA more accommodating and easy to use , I could incorporate OOP easily because I could create and easily manage all my classes and just the overall structure of my code.

User Profile

Wasif

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

IntelliJ IDEA Review

Its amazing. I am a daily user of it and would highly recommend it to developers.

PROS

Clean GUI, fast search and debugging. Build-in features so that you dont have to install extra stuff for development.

CONS

More free addons should be available in the store for it

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

Because of lots of built-in feature, fast and cleaner look.

User Profile

Vishal Samuel

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great IDE to start your coding journey

For this price range, this would easily be in the top 3 IDEs out there. Would definitely recommend.

PROS

As a beginner to coding, this software was the easiest to write code, debug lines of codes, and even the code completion feature helped a lot when I slowly got more advanced in Python coding.

CONS

The software is slightly heavy. I mean the startup is a bit slow compared to most IDEs in similar range. If you are completely new to coding, the UI might be a bit confusing to navigate around because of the number of features the software offers.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

Features offered in IntelliJ IDEA were of more use.

Arturo

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Great software but too heavy on resources

Overal is a great tool, but for the price paid I would expect a bit more care on the resources consumption section, since not always you are able to use a machine with 64 GB of RAM and an I9 CPU.

PROS

Intellij is a really complete tool for java development; It offers great integrations to work with Maven, Hibernate and so on and the git integration for version controll is great. On the configuration side, it offers a really great amount of options, for example for the code formatter, code generation and other code-cosmetics stuff. Besides you can also create config for another great bunch of stuff such as a proxi configuration, Sonarqube integration and so on, but this is something more common among all java IDEs. The configuration of the environments for execution is really complete and is really useful in order to have different running option depending on your needs for the same project. It also allows to code Node.js projects and xhtml, without lacking any option. And in case of missing something, the integrated terminal is a really useful tool. Regarding the debugger, is really good, you can navigate directly from one class to another just by clicking on the variables and so on, which is very usefull to quickly set new breakpoints during the debug session. There are a lot of more capabilities that makes Intellij a great tool for java devs.

CONS

Well, the main cons are the high amount of resources needed for this software, which makes that sometimes the IDE itself stuck for several minutes while it finished processing something. Also I found out that when you have multiple breakpoints set in the code, it also consumes a lot of RAM even when you're not debugging. Besides this, the great amount of features of the software makes complicate to learn how to use it. Also at some point after close the program it fails on terminating the Java process, so you ended with a bunch of java executions on the background

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

I made the switch mainly because my new employer already had some Intellij licenses

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Best IDE Ever!

It's best IDE for Java and Maven platform. Also, I've been using it for Spring Boot developments.

PROS

IntelliJ IDEA is one of the products of Jetbrains. Most powerful thing for IntelliJ, all IDE has same features and user experience with user interface. Maven repository usage is very powerful. Also, autocomplete and intellisense are great.

CONS

I was .NET developer and used Visual Studio more than 15 years. I really struggle to find some setting on IntelliJ menus.

Reason for choosing IntelliJ IDEA

Jetbrains has several tools. So, for example, after you use PyCharm, you can get adapted easily to use Intellij for Java development. Maven package management is better than other alternative products.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

IntelliJ has enterprise support. Also, PyCharm also same features and same UX, UI. So, in the company, we use Python and Java. Jetbrains ecosystem is the best choise.

Mirza

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

An amazing IDE, make my life so much easier!

I have been primarily using it for test automation, UI, and API and I can say that it's a really powerful tool, very helpful as it speeds up writing code. It's stable, reliable, well supported, and highly customizable. JetBrains makes excellent IDEs and IntelliJ is fine proof of that!

PROS

Code predictions and suggestions, a ton of customization options, a lot of plugins, and a supportive community.

CONS

The number of available options can be a bit intimidating for a first-time user, but it's not much of a con as after using it for a while you will come to appreciate its rich features.

Reason for choosing IntelliJ IDEA

Better support for my langue of choice - if C# was my go-to language I'd prick MS Visual Studio most likely.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

After comparing IntelliJ with the other IDEs, I realized that it's the best choice for coding in Java.

Piotr

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Java IDE you deserve

IntelliJ Idea is certainly one of the best IDEs I was working with. It is packed with features and functionalities. The software is fast, intuitive, and reliable. Native support for various external tools and plugins makes work much quicker and easier. Direct link to documentation and sources allows to code faster and more efficiently. Prompts and 'intelligent' suggestions save a lot of time. IDE is flexible and fully customizable. A lot of external tools can be used from inside of IntelliJ (e.g. git). Also, good documentation, customer support, and a vast community guarantee that any problem with the app is solved with ease. On the other hand, you get what you pay for - this great tool is rather expensive, especially for freelancers. The community version for students and private use is available, which allows getting familiar with this tool for free. Sometimes it may be resource-consuming and could have better documentation for certain functionalities. All in all, despite small flaws, IntelliJ Idea is an amazing piece of code that makes life (and a job) easier and more enjoyable. Definitely worth it!

PROS

An enormous number of features and functionalities. Intuitive and easy to use. Vast native support for external tools. Many plugins are available, each easily managed from within the application. Good documentation and customer support. Large community across the internet.

CONS

IntelliJ Idea is quite expensive, especially for freelancers. It can be resource-consuming, in particular when indexing files or compiling. Some features could have better documentation (functionalities that require extensive knowledge to use)

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

Much better functionalities and features. Better cross-references and plugin management.

Shadi

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Designed for addiction...

I started with the community edition then I found out during the trial period of the Ultimate edition, is that it has so many powerful utilities and not only with but with other high level programming languages like groovy, Kotlin, etc. Also, I impressed with the integration with other CI tools i.e. GitHub, Team City, Jira, Docker, etc. In a nut shell it it is a beautiful and power IDE that's why I decided to buy a license for only 10 Euros a month, it's worth it.

PROS

The way it was designed, made me addicted to the tool, and I love to use it on a daily basis. To be honest I found Java more appealing to interact with using IntelliJ community or Ultimate edition.

CONS

The only Cons I find is if you don't use it you do not know what you are missing out... Sometime other integrated plug-in appear to issue messages but this is a minor issue as IntelliJ IDE is controlling the behavior of these plug-ins.

Reason for choosing IntelliJ IDEA

Because of the built in addiction with the IDEA. You can not not like the product. Just fell in love with it.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

It makes you appreciate IntelliJ IDEA more, and understand it's value. How the the Jet brains team doing a marvelous job for giving us such a wonderful product.

Travis

Broadcast Media, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

The 100 Year Java IDE War

It works, its a full blown Java IDE. If you're building a Web App or a Game Server, it'll do it. It works, looks, and feels, just like netbeans/eclipse/etc. You have a file dir window/panel then the code editor. you can run builds and bug checks. It auto reads classnames n such to cross reference your code live while typing it.

PROS

Default darkmode, the sexiest IDE with a default install (no plugins/themes). Also Android plugin, to make transition from web jar app to apk app easier.

CONS

TBH I just don't feel that there's anything that sets this apart from Netbeans or other IDE. Oracle manages Java JDK's/JRE's for Debain/Ubuntu repo's as well as Netbeans. So that alone is why for NEW Java developers I suggest Netbeans. IntelliJ I offer as another solid alternative. Just their marketing of all the different IDE's for other languages they offer, then versions of those... Can be overwhelming/confusing for NEW users, so if I refer someone that way... I'm almost guaranteed to have a heap of questions of what version to use, should I be coding this is Java vs Python vs C.

Reasons for switching to IntelliJ IDEA

A ) A is for Android, the android plugin is how I found this IDE B) Their suite of IDE's for various other code languages C) Alternatives, right now these IDE's are all about head to head with features, optimizations, and such... but... one day... one will step ahead...

Harshil

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT