User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(225)

225

4 stars

(108)

108

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse OutSystems Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 342 results

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Mel from City of Shawnee

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Outsystems Game Changer for the City of Shawnee

Excellent outcomes. Product was a game changer for the City of Shawnee by replacing our legacy applications in less than 2 years.

Pros

Rapid Application Development Model; Time to develop and deploy.

Cons

Costing; AO model. Currently using only 66% of AO's.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Product performance and Rapid Application Development model ; Mobile Device programming ability

August 2020

Lucas from Meta3

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Best Low Code platform out there

Despite the pricing category, OutSystems get the job done in a oustanding way, It's really a fun and intuitive way to get your heads into programming.

Pros

What make us choose OutSystems was it's simplicity and the speed up, when you are developing new projects. The ability to use the same base code for both mobile platforms was a big thumbs up too. We also contacted a indenpendent code review company to check the generated code base and they liked what they saw, it's generated with good pratices and putting the performance in the right place.

Cons

Definatelly it's cost. It's a very expansive platform and it's only suited for big companies. They offer a free option but it's just for test purposes.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

The easy of use, support and also the community behind it.

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

We were trying to get a more easy to use/develop platform.

January 2022

Nivaldo from NTT DATA Portugal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

An Amazing platform

I have been very happy using OutSystems. It's simply an amazing platform and for users that what to test the IDE is completely free.

Pros

The IDE is amazing. The forge, where you can find pre built components. Community that helps in everything you need.

Cons

The pricing still as the place were OutSystems have more room for improvement.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2018

Suficient

We are using Outsystems to create insurance related apps.

Pros

You can build basic sw in little time SoC is easy to implement Easy to monitor issues

Cons

Search functionality isn't user friendly It "crashes" too many times, specially when detaching eSpace tabs(originating another instance of outsystems) Has the number of components grow inside, lets say an action, the "messier" looks

October 2019

Natanael from Manuel Rui Azinhais Nabeiro, Lda (Delta Cafes)

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

TPM. S&OP and Retail Execution made easy

We've streamlined the whole Trade Promotion Management process, putting all into one platform, getting rid of e-mails and excel sheets and integrating all the info backwards towards production/demand planning and forward towards retail execution monitoring and compliance

Pros

Time to deploy, ease of adaptation, customer focus from 3rd party vendor, user interface and user experience

Cons

It's not cheap but if you consider that time to develop also adds a cost, then it's a fair deal

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Ease to implement and to adopt from a very broad set of users and profiles

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

Much more user friendly, much more tailored to the whole process needs, much more complete in terms of functionality

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

one of the best low code platforms in the market

overall, a very positive experience with the platform, the vendor personnel involved in the sale activity and also the community that was very helpfiul.

Pros

it is a very easy to get started product with very minimal or no prior programming experience. In addition, the platform is very intuitive and self guided and hence one can do very well on the platform if they know their use case and have a good systematic approach to leveraging the platform. There is also a very active community to help and the vendor personnel are also there to handhold along the way.

Cons

very honestly speaking, there is nothing that I dislike about the platform. It is very intuitive and one can learn to use and leverage the platform very easily and quickly.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

when we did a use case with both products side by side, we found the user interface of outsytems to be simpler and at the same time it was more self guided for a non-technical personnel.

October 2019

Raymond from Stemcell Technologies

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Quick development and Quality Deployment

Outsystems has allowed our team to very quickly develop and release a production application in a matter of months with the inclusion of business units testing each feature along the way. It allows us to really adapt to an iterative development approach.

Pros

Outsystems uses the latest UI designs so we can focus on building out the business process. We are able to deploy in on environment and then quickly send it over to a test environment for our customers to be engaged in the SDLC. Code changes and security enable quality deployment into our production environment and minimizes any breaks in our application.

Cons

You can sometimes reach a roadblock and the customer support might take a bit longer to answer your questions if you did not purchase the higher SLA support package. Certain bugs can occur when using the Service Studio but patches usually fixes it in a timely manner.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Sales and demo was done very well. The personal environment to run a free environment and make a POC app also helped us make a decision.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Best in Class Low Code Enterprise Class Platform

We have been very pleased with the overall results, we have found that once applications are built, they are extremely easy to update and push out new relieases.

Pros

The software has all of the Development, DevOps and Management capabilities all built into one single platform.

Cons

The software has so many features and capabilities that it takes a while to learn how to navigate and use effectively.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

The Outsystems product has better features and overall capabilities. There is no lock in to the product. The company is well funded and well managed.

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

The OutSystems Platform was integrated and the pricing model was very simple to understand and consume.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

OutSystems is a nice platform to learn how to make applications in less time with less people

Pros

The ease of use. It is easy to use this platform, but hard to master.

Cons

The license model. We made choices regarding the licensing model (application objects) that were bad architecture chooses we had to fix later on.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Integration with our integration landscape in .NET.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

OutSystems in companies

Pros

Due to the current context, I believe that the possibility of programming with greater agility is a great competitive advantage for companies and OutSystems provides this possibility.

Cons

I do not identify negative points in the use of OutSystems, as the company works to be in a process of continuous improvement and to be a pioneer in the sector.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

OutSystems invest a lot in innovation and worry about being a pioneer.

October 2019

Matt from Bentley Motors

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Implementing with outsystems

very good, it has the ability to solve a lot of our business problems once we have upskilled

Pros

the speed of delivery the ease of scoping our project from vision to reality the look and feel the functionality

Cons

the licensing model and the cost of application objects, hard to justify future projects

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Cost and functionality provided, there is more freedom with outsystems

October 2019

Floris from Mainenergie

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Good system but not perfect yet

Good learning curve, the mobile part is evolving rapidly.

Pros

1.Ease of use, tutorials and learningpaths, mobile part, it resemblance coding more than for instance Mendix which makes the transition back and forth more easy with OutSystems, when coming or want to go to real coding. 2.You can educate people faster to become a developer, but still finding the right person with surten qualities is important, not for everyone, but low coding definitely enlarges possibilities in finding personnel. 3. Mobile part becomes better and easier works charming and straight forward.

Cons

The pricing which makes it impossible as a small entrepreneur (enterprise focused pricing) to afford it or start your own business as a developer with it. For me that's very important, because if possible i could build some useful/ profitable things in my leisure time for my future, which will improve my motivation to become better and pays off at work as well. The free account deletes your DB after 2 weeks which makes practicing building big things a pain. This is a big deal for me personally. To be honest many low coding platforms miss out on this part and often lack focus on small businesses making it purely for big companies. Further there should be a possibility to work locally when in developing mode so you are not dependent on internet. Other than that and also this count for every low coding framework at the moment I would personally be scared to get locked in, cause you never know how prices are evolving, but again that counts for all as we speak and until now OutSystems didn't do a bad job in this perspective and they wouldn't wanna loose clients and been reliable in my experience. I hope low coding frameworks in general will create possibilities to buy off compiled code in the future making the locked in possibility no argument no more.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

They chose it because it was the only real professional low coding environment at the time.

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

Coding has a steep learning curve and just coincident that I was looking for a low coding job and one company gave me the opportunity to learn on the job.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Manish from Netlink Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Best RAD (Rapid Application Tool) available in the market

I was core .Net developer but when i learned this tool development become fun for me and you feel craving for learning more n more every day. Community is so helpful and full of experts who always motivates you to achieve the best. In few years, i am become tech lead in this technology and passed the professional certification as well. we are in a position to deliver the enterprise level application in few months & customize any feature in few hours. It's flexible enough to implement your ideas into reality.

Pros

You don't need to be technically expert to work on this tool, its easy to learn, if you are logical & having development experience in any technology - all tutorials with practical implementation & study material are available online over the Outsystems Portal. Easy to implement the responsive design with complex features using ready made template & tools available over the forge library. Community with Outsystems experts is 24x7 is available to help you. You will always get best solutions through this community & expert advice's as well. Development is fun with Outsystems, if you have ever worked in .Net or Java you can easily compare the features offered by this Tool like consuming & exposing API's, Integrating with Other systems, Asynchronous services like Timers to process the heavy job or large amount of data. In terms of security, you don't need to take care mush about it, platform itself take care of most the things by simply enabling & disabling it at platform level. In terms of performance, you can easily maintain the multi-tenant application with tons of records. Flexible enough to customize and reuse. Having the option to create your own component using .Net extensions and compile the same in your environment and use it in form of action/functions. No need to have separate Dev-ops team, Outsytems provide the Lifetime Inbuilt tool to manage the release and deployment at single robust platform, also provide the concrete analytical report of production environment.

Cons

There are few restriction while using Outsystems Platform like you cannot play with systems entities or core platform components. Sometimes, it become challenge to migrate data or application from one platform to Outsystems. Performance & scaling can only be achieved only if you are expert in Outsystems otherwise it's difficult to achieve the bench mark for large application.

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

It's fun to work in Outsystems and easy implementation because of available features. It saves your time as compared to any other technology. In today's world time is money and if you want to save it, Outsytems is best option. And most important you will never feel like boring because platform is growing every year and releasing eye catching features every year.

July 2019

Travis from Accelerated Focus

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

The software delivery platform that is all about BUSINESS VALUE!

I have been in the low-code/RAD space for over 16 years, even developing and selling a RAD tool that was targeted at a specific vertical, and nothing checks all the boxes like OutSystems. It is a large system, and it needs to be. When I read how people identify Price as a Con, I felt that they had missed the point. Sure, OutSystems is not inexpensive but the value provided far outweighs the cost, especially to the business users! The time saved by the platform solving your IT problems will most likely cover the cost of the OutSystems License. Simply put, OutSystems takes care of the IT problems and allows you to spend a lot more time with the business solving real business problems!

Pros

I want to talk about the platform! Organizations spend millions of dollars trying to maintain information such as master data, application lists, component usage (jQuery) etc., or the developers and architects must pull this information together in a mad scramble, while interrupting many projects. In seconds, OutSystems can not only identify which applications are using any object, it will also show where it is being used. How many application documents to you think exist that have never been opened after the sign-off? Millions? Multiply that by the hours spent creating them. Millions of wasted hours providing zero business value. OutSystems is the documentation! The OutDoc app is real time app documentation. If you do not like the look of the OutDoc report, change it! Ask your users what drives more value to them: IT people solving IT problems by creating rarely used documents? Or, would they prefer the platform take care of the IT problems while you spend much more time helping them solve real business problems? One Click Deployments: Gone are the days where you spend hours or sometimes days deploying and promoting your applications through each environment every few months. 4 Layer Canvas promotes proper architecture to ensure current and future applications are scalable and maintainable. The Discovery app will identify architecture issues. Without proper architecture and reusable components, you cannot even think about DevOps.

Cons

Lacking the ability to encourage highest quality apps in the Forge App Store. Many of the apps in the Forge App Store are easy to use, very helpful and well documented. However, many of the apps lack documentation or examples, making them very difficult to get full value. Compounding the problem, this often results in having to ask the community how to properly use the app, which is now impacting other people. Many people will say the apps are free, “stop complaining”. I argue that they can be far from free and I would be willing to purchase a well-documented app if I knew it would save time. This might lead to a nice competition within the app store where everyone can win. Searching the content on OutSystems.com needs to be fixed! OutSystems has A LOT of documentation, but the site does a bad job searching it, especially if your search criteria has more than one word. Although in the last couple of days, the search has improved so it is possible this was a addressed. OutSystems isn't perfect, but from a big picture perspective we are splitting hairs at this point. Besides, how many hours of IT projects are spent splitting hairs? The few items mentioned above are fixable and what is great about OutSystems is we can add them to the Ideas list for OutSystems to consider in a future release.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

John from IT Vision Australia Pty Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

One of the most efficient Mobile device application development environments

Outsystems was chosen as a platform to rewrite a legacy product developed over 30 years and bring it into the cloud. It has been a really good choice for an organisation that had no web or cloud experience and has helped avoid many of the basic mistakes that could otherwise have been made. Whist there are some limitations on flexibility and price the benefits and speed to market far out way these.

Pros

The Outsystems development environment it very easy to use for anyone with previous development experience as well as being a great place for those with little or no development experience to come up to speed quickly. • Allows fast prototyping whilst keeping good consistency and a polished appearance • Provides a good balance between continual deployment and traditional dev-qa-prod staging • Enforces inter module dependency integrity • Enabled good UI-Business-Data separation whilst still allowing for RAD • Good merging and conflict detection when multiple devs are working within the same module • Projects and applications are rock solid and stable once released • Easy to bring non Outsystems developers up to speed • Realy good certification and training material

Cons

• Priced at the high end and not cost effective for small scale development • Shows some signs of instability in the publishing process with very large and complex projects • On the PaaS version you are heavily restricted on access to the infrastructure and cannot get access to simple functions such as SQL replication or database maintenance options. • Lack of skilled developers with pre existing Outsystems knowledge.

November 2016

Ritchie from ICE Edge Business Solutions

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

A really slick RAD tools with some particular strengths

I've actually had occasion to make RAD-style tools in the far-flung past. This is the sort of platform I would have made if I could. Some of the initial steps are a little harder than you would expect, but once you are used to where everything lives, it's easy to find it again. Coding is done via flowcharts, and these are pretty easy to use, not to mention fairly easy to use straight up as diagrams to show other people what's going on. OutSystems is pretty good for only showing you matching options, e.g. if you need a date, it will show you everything local with a date and important functions, like the current date. If you adopt certain naming conventions, OutSystems will fill in the type for you: IsSuccess will become Boolean on account of the "Is" part. JobEntryId will become a Job Entry Identifier. Database design is extremely easy, just add, adjust and publish in a tree or diagram and migrations are automatic, though when you remove things, it won't remove them from the database automatically. Using the databases is even easier. Drag and drop the columns, join whatever is not automatically joined, add sorting and filters and OutSystems will try to choose a sample of your data. This sample can be changed by changing the test value, e.g. let's see UserId = worker1. There's a "business processes" that looks strongly inspired by BPMN 2.0, though it is not identical. These can be used for long-term states or even just simple asynchronous programming. The web interface side of things is pretty slick, though it can be quite ornery about exact placement. I would recommend using the widget tree view instead when this happens to avoid frustration. There is some pretty good support for Responsive Web Design, especially if you choose a theme designed to show on many devices. If you are missing some functionality, one option that is available is to make extensions. I've made a few of these. The programming side is a bit esoteric , and there are some odd holes (can use a list of records but not a list) but it's pretty good once you get the hang of it. A few complaints or improvement opportunities: it would be nice if it was a bit more object-oriented. Built-in tools for data migration, especially between Development, Testing and Production, would be most welcome. I also found myself desperately wishing for a try...finally construct. Java versions of components are a bit neglected. It's been very, very productive all said.

Pros

The hard things made easy - the BPMN capability, the tree editing and republishing of data entities, the Responsive Web design. Also, the fairly intelligent guessing about properties, the rather speedy resolution/propagation of name changes, deletions, etc. The monitoring software is pretty good.

Cons

If you're developing an extension, it's a four-step manual publishing process to update. No try..finally. The licensing model per certain kind of object encourages bad coding to try to save costs. The visual editor for interfaces goes crazy far too often, making the widget tree the only consistent way to edit them. The lack of built-in data migration is my biggest sticking point right now.

September 2016

Esther from Grant Thornton

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Development Game Changer

The business landscape has rapidly moved to digital operations. To be successful your business needs not just to be resilient, but also to embrace a resilient culture. The technology that supports business operations should be agile enough to embrace the continuous changing market landscape and enable business to move at the speed of change. The Outsystems platform reduces development time by up to 75% and accelerate time-to-market by a factor of three. This provided our organization to cost effectively implement locally developed solutions and other businesses in a significant shortened time. Our main focus is now more on the user interface and interaction, which provides the value expected.

Pros

The speed to develop and making changes to applications developed Development is done logically with very limited hard coding Ease to develop mobile applications and submissions to the app stores Ease to use the native features of devices Built in change management and control of the development and release process with a one-click publish feature Built in security features in the platform Excellent support and community forums Technical aspects very well documented and user friendly The true change and debugging features are invaluable Notification and guidance on dependencies for changes made to modules Cloud hosting option The investment by Outsystems to provide annually new features, functionalities and keeping up to date with technology trends and providing their customers with the tools to easily stay abreast Pre-build modules provided, which eliminates the need to develop commonly used functionality

Cons

Cost in South Africa is expensive due to weak currency and exchange rates Difficult for developers used to hard coding to change their way of thinking to grasp how the platform works. However, this is not a flaw of the platform, but rather a change required in the mindset of traditional developers.

August 2016

Yukie from BlueMeme, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Review of OutSystems Platform

I was able to start use ServiceStudio though I have a little knowlege of Database and SQL. OSP allows us to get pleasure and fun by starting developing applications first, and then we are interested in the back architechture such as SQL sentence, server and client structure, and so on and start learning. It will be good tool to start learning of developing web application, and fill the requirement of professional developer.

Pros

VIsual Modeling, Beautiful Screen Design with default theme, free design with javascript and CSS, SmartPhone and Smart Device support, Cloud/OnPremise support, Auto-implemented performance logs, robustness of application, real time bug detection, auto-versioning of application, no-lockin architechture, multi-language support, etc.

Cons

- Localize problem - many of Japanese developers are not good at English, therefore it is difficult to increase the number of OSP developers easily. So it is expected that all documents and videos are translated to Japanese. - Need cooperation feature with printing format like Excel diagram and PDF. - Need cooperation feature with accounting system. - To get the approval to purchase subscription license in Japanese companies, it will be better there is many license structure not only with AOs and Users but also type of purpose such as "For create Portal Site", "For create internal attendance and leaving system", and so on. - Need product loadmap which describes wchich version of OS will be supported in the future and how many years current version of OS or Java will be supported.

August 2016

José from ENGIE Electrabel

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Built-to-change

After spending some time working with other web technologies, such as .NET, python and Java, it's difficult not to feel some enthusiasm while developing a brand new web app with the OutSystems platform. But why? ... some may ask. Well, if you spend 5 minutes looking at its IDE (Service Studio), you will quickly understand. The way the fundamental concepts are organized on it - Data Model, Business Logic, Interfaces and Processes - they easily allow you to materialize the business requirements into each layer, creating a thriving application. At the end, if the business needs change or if requires some adjustments, the complexity to change the application, in order to be compliant with the needs, is far more simple with this technology. In a nutshell, it's a real built-to-change technology. Driving the focus to my latest experience with the platform at ENGIE, the applications developed in OutSystems are actually allowing the end-users to perform both day-ahead and intra-day nominations to the Electricity Transmission System Operators (TSO) - Elia and TenneT. In one hand, knowing how critical it is to have an energy imbalance of zero all the time, in order to avoid any energy disrupt of the network grid, and in the other hand, given the floating energy market prices and the unexpected interventions to the power plants, it's critical that the applications be constantly responsive, enabling the end-users to adjust the Production Plans and to communicate these changes to the TSO within 15 minutes. This kind of business responsiveness, allied to the fact of having new versions of the applications going live every 2 months, demands a zero-downtime during each application deployment. With the OutSystems platform, the goal of having a Go-Live without any runtime interruption can be easily achieved.

Pros

Well, the motto is not mine, but I surely have to apply it in here: "The IDE of my dreams!" This is certainly a good reason to drive the adoption of the platform. Any developer keened to fulfill the business needs on time will surely understand the advantages of using it for development. The simplicity allied to the legibility of the written code in this IDE, reduce the gap between the business requirements and its materialization into lines of code. For last but not least, the built-in application Lifetime - which is part of the platform - is surely a gem for any DevOps team, providing them a powerful mean to control and to revert any deployment between environments.

Cons

Knowing that the road to perfection always ends up in the horizon, there are definitely two points that should be mentioned: the first concerns the lack of legibility of the application's Javascript and the second one, the lack of built-in Unit Tests. If your application is mainly a client-side application, written in Javascript, the platform may not be the right solution for it. In the other hand, if it's intended to execute all the business logic at the server-side, you should definitely spend some time evaluating it.

March 2016

Curt from New York State Education Department

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

March 2016

Outsystems Platform for Agile Development

I was hired for a project to help convert a license and permit system from a legacy mainframe system (my expertise) to a web based system. The original plan was to use a Common Off-The-Shelf (COTS) product to do this but realized that the legacy solution was so specific to this organization that it would have taken many millions of dollars to customize the system. When looking for alternatives I found Outsystems and was able to quickly put together a prototype and plan that would give them all the capabilities they needed at a reasonable cost and time.

Pros

1) Learning curve is very quick - after watching the videos I was productive within two weeks. 2) DevOps is built-in - many developers never think about the additional issues and concerns related to deploying fixes and improvements to a working application. The DevOps capabilities of the Outsystems platform removes these concerns. 3) Extensibility is a huge issue with any platform and Outsystems delivers completely in this area. From the Forum components that are available to the ability to write your own extensions in .Net or Java, there is nothing you cannot do with the platform. 4) No lock-in - many enterprise customers are concerned with being committed to a platform 'forever'. The Outsystems no lock-in capability eliminates these concerns.

Cons

1) The built-in menu system is weak - while it's adequate for simple menus it can't do anything complicated. For example, implementing a Mega Menu type of menu is challenging though anything can be implemented with some work. 2) Outsystems is very receptive to ideas from the community but there's no way to know when/if those ideas will ever get implemented - some of the best ideas have been around for over 5 years with no feedback from Outsystems. A rough roadmap of what will be implemented in the future (with no guarantees) would help me plan work to take advantage of those features. 3) Pricing has been a sore point in the community for quite some time. While a base price is listed on their web site, the base price would rarely cover a full enterprise application. Also, pricing is geared to enterprise clients making it almost impossible to be used for small applications.

Response from OutSystems

Replied August 2016

Thanks you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review Curt - it's because of users like you that tell us what is working and what should be improved that our product and company continue to grow and evolve. Thank you.

October 2019

Carlos from Estafeta Mexicana

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Reduce Time To Market

We are totaly involve, and we are migrating a lot of the organizations solutions into the plataform, our POS solution, delivery hand held solution, our transportation manager application (Oracle TM), and we also create a custom CRM levaing behind the SAP CRM solution.

Pros

The plataform enables us as a company to colaborate and implement agile solutions, innovations all across the organization, IT is not longer the bottleneck to promote that innovation, we are now a strong arm that the company relay on to create new technology, solve company issues and bring agile solutions to our customers (internal and external)

Cons

We are using de Paas solution and that by definition "retrict" the core in depht administration of the infrastructre, but we are working with Outsystems in order to have more control or visibility of the complete infraestructure, we need that 'cause we have core company solution on the plataform and need to monitor in depth the transactionability and guarantee as much as we can the availabilty

May 2018

Sujan from Marina Bay Sands

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Excellent software and very well thought about the end to end process of software development

Eliminates lot of issues encountered in traditional software development. Helps to build really quality applications. Piece of mind after deploying to production.:D

Pros

-Easy to use and built in ui and template gets people up and running in few mins. -Structured development -Built in widgets prevents developers from developing the same components again and again (like pagination, menu bars, navigation and many more) -Focus on solving business problems instead of technical challenges -Code reuse is encouraged as AOs are tied to licensing -Deployment is nothing to worry about. Database scripts, versioning of code and migration all taken care by the platform -Refactoring is piece of cake with TrueChange. -Developing CRUD applications is a breeze but complicated applications can also be developed with ease. -Monitoring and logging taken care by default no setup is needed.

Cons

-Although custom code can be written via integration studio, it would nice if we could write code inside of the service studio itself. -Some features like event based programming or reflection or looping fields of an object could be supported as out of the box features -Updating shared extensions will result in all the applications (that are using the extension) being redeployed -For the mobile apps, it will be good if the apps converted to purely native. (only an opinion) -Could have licensing for individuals (free lancers) :D

January 2021

Jinal from BookMyShow

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

I am happy to have this perfect system!

It does not require a large learning curve. Developing applications quickly and easily is very enjoyable with OutSystems.

Pros

The OutSystems platform is a state-of-the-art product developed to accelerate development for our core applications as well as provide flow flexibility, allowing developers to implement and develop as business and technology trends evolve. In addition, it does not need a large learning curve and is very simple to use. I like that they provide quick solutions to the business needs of users without technical knowledge. He helps us with the various projects we have in the Company, which is the most important part of my job. It perfectly supports project flow and helps us create flawless projects. With the arrival of Outsystems, the sales team can make demos faster and reach more customers. A very lucrative product.Another favorite feature of the product is that I love the whole ecosystem created by Outsystems ... so having a design system in the UX part, easy drag and drop components, easy development flows and a perfect system to interpret and follow them. .

Cons

There is nothing I can criticize for not having a bad experience.I am very satisfied with this product.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Juan Manuel from Estafeta Mexicana

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

How we Survived and Then Thrived Through the COVID Crisis with Outsystems

It's been really good experience. We have been working with Outsystems for more than 5 years. At the beginning we had some doubts but now, we do have lots of apps including core business apps. Honestly, without Outsystems, I just cannot imagin how can we would face covid crisis. The market in Mexico changed dramatically, and we needed to create 8 Apps from the scratch in just a few weeks. We were able to do it and Release them to Production. Right now, we are still being market leaders in our Industry.

Pros

Is extreamly easy to: write or reuse code, integrate with different sort or services or platforms, develop a single mobile app and submit it to different platform stores, review Architecture and code best practices and. Also, it has a wide learning portal in which you can find all the training courses COMPLETELY FREE. Because of that, is really easy to onboard rookie developers with not knowledge in Outsystems .

Cons

At the beginning, I did not feel very comfortable with Support team but, now, they got really better. We have a weekly meeting in which we can follow up all of our tickets and issues. The response time is very good.

October 2019

Martin from FirstBank Puerto Rico

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Outsystems for End User Developed Applications

Certainly a great experience, its benefits, easy of use, quick adoption made Outsystems our go to solution for end user developed applications

Pros

Outsystems has a short learning curve, allowing non-technical users to quickly develop solutions for their business needs. Also provides a consistent user experience, where different solutions look and behave the same.

Cons

There were some development roadblocks to create workflow based solutions, while the platform provides workflow design capabilities, it may be cumbersome and complex for non-technical users. Also there are some limitations to generate standard printed reports, with column values, grouping , subtotals, etc.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

faster learning curve

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

Access did not provide a robust platform for mission critical applications

March 2016

HÉLDER from Capgemini

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Simple and Powerful!

Build applications fast powerful, change them even faster, accelerating the development with existing resources, simplify the process of change Integrate with all existing systems and data sources and maintain order with the management and analysis The cost to make a change to an application during development increases exponentially with time, complexity and versions With agile methods becoming standard, application development has become a continuous exercise in change quick Productivity OutSystems platform was built to be fast so you can start working immediately Are obtained in applications in less time and with less risk than traditional solutions Speed and Code Combining visual modeling with your code to deliver high-quality applications at the speed your business demands Extending a powerful modeling environment in all layers from the UI to the complex logic for modeling and database processes With a JavaScript UI code, your own CSS classes, Java or C # code, APIs multiple database technologies Development of Multi-Channel It helps reduce the time and cost of development once for all devices Can be created beautiful and advanced UIs that perform well on all platforms, devices and the Web Get engaging experiences with drag and drop simplicity with Open Platform open platform that provides standards-based code and accumulates with extensibility You can extend the visual models with standard or custom code such as JavaScript, Java, C#, SQL, CSS and HTML Integrate with any external database and use APIs rest or SOAP web services for integration with their existing mission-critical systems Enterprise-Grade Platform It is scalable, allowing you to build and manage large portfolios of applications, created by teams of developers working on separate modules simultaneously Scale applications linearly as they grow from hundreds of millions of users It generates highly secure code that passes the audits of large financial and government institutions stricter safety reduced costs Significantly more time, money and resources are often spent on maintenance of an application than is spent on application development To save time and simplify the tasks that are done quickly and simultaneously tested so that the process is easy and fast No Lock-in Most platforms on the market can only be used and changed with the platform built OutSystems is the only platform that offers non-lock in truly can separate Java applications or C#.

December 2019

Nuno from Theros Digital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

OutSystems, on the way to the future

With outsystems, we solve all internal application-level problems, which are all developed internally on outsystems, and also provide the customer with a variety of custom solutions through outsystems.

Pros

For those who have some logical reasoning skills it is affordable to learn how easy it is to implement while ensuring safety guidelines. An application can be obtained in a short time.

Cons

The level of training and information for people with some knowledge is weak. They are either very confusing documents, or it is all very vague.

February 2017

Ravi from V2Solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Very Good Product. Very Fast Development.

This product is one of the best cutting edge tool in the market for Rapid Application Development. This product shines if you to want to create web applications or mobile applications in a fast paced manner. There is some learning curve involved if you want to do lot of customizations on the front end but back end business logic implementation should be a piece of cake with lot of training material (videos and documentation) available on outsystem.com

Pros

Rapid Web and Mobile Application Development. You can create a basic web application or mobile application within minutes. Managing Deployments has never been so easy. Managing security framework for an application has never been so easy. Managing environments infrastructure, Load balancing, Elasticity, DB setup and object creation has never been so easy. There are lots of good features that platform provides will definitely overcome some of the cons listed below.

Cons

Heavy customizations in cloud environment is not possible. For example if you want to enable CDC options or Full Text Search Options in SQL Server is not possible.

February 2017

Christian from MedVinden B.V.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Positively suprised; and that is still going on

Working / developing / creating with the OutSystems platform for a year now .. Sceptic as I always am about the promise of low-code and then "getting a lot of magic" ... OutSystems does a very good job in actually keeping their promise. Yes there is a learning curve but you get into it very fast. Yes it is more for developers than for business people ... but we can now both work together much faster in creating something we need / like. Also very impressed with the deployment process. It is a breeze. And I actually perform updates without sleepless nights because the platform helps me check several dependencies during development but also at deployment time. By the way .... this is platform not a tool. You can use the platform to support companies with a lot of users .. it is serious shit ;-) Only thing that is difficult to get an idea of is what type of license you need. For my client we had to buy additional points because we needed more ... that is of course a bummer ... so OutSystems if you are reading this ... this would help customers ... getting a better estimate of the license they need. But the pro's out weigh the con's by far. Good luck choosing your next platform!

Pros

See my review ... And let's not forget the amazing community that has been very helpfull ... it is alive and kicking

Cons

See my review; difficult to get an idea of the license you need as a starting company

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Jon from Fiberutilities Group, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

So much capability, while still being easy to use

There's so much available to use and so much acceleration available we heavily rely on this platform every day in our organization. Users who are note developers are very pleased with the speed at which we can deliver, the look and feel and how easy it is to give feedback to us as well.

Pros

In short, what I titled above. There is so much available to take advantage of from connectors, prebuilt integrations, screen design accelerators and even user feedback options. There's almost nothing I want that isn't already a part of Outsystems, and if there is I can use custom code integrations as well! I don't know if our team will ever have enough time or project to explore all Outsystems has to offer.

Cons

Some of the training was lacking for some advanced components at first (api creation, etc). That has improved with more training options, but also building more accelerators into the tool. (i.e. enter the url end point and it can automatically create functions and variables for you)

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

They were clearly the most comprehensive product, which is what we were looking for.

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

Outdated, and limited functionality

March 2016

Remco from Vopak

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Best experience ever with a development environment

I've used the Outsystems platform for more than 8 years now. Over the years you can see the quality of the platform and speed of development improving. I use the product to improve business processes and to reduce human interaction during processes by automation of repetitive tasks. The problems that can't be solved by the platform directly can always be solved by using a 3rd party extension that can be integrated into the platform. Outsystems can handle all types of applications from single user to large usergroups (more than 3000 concurrent users accessing the same application). I've not yet seen a competitor of Outsystems that works as good or better and has the same or better support (from the company as well as the community). So for me this is still the platform to work with.

Pros

There is not just one thing I like about the Outsystems Platform. I like the ease -of-use to build applications and the speed of deployment to production, The out-of-the-box Analytics to monitor the performance, the quality of the supportdesk and the active community.

Cons

The only thing that I don't like about the platform is the mystery around new versions. I would love to see a roadmap with a timeline for new functionalities and bugfixes. In relation to this I would also like to see from the Development Team which Ideas that are posted on the forum are put on the backlog and which will never be delivered.

Response from OutSystems

Replied August 2016

Remco, thank you so much for your review and for ranking OutSystems so high compared to the the competition. We strive to continually deliver better product and services and to really partner with our customers, therefore we really appreciate your support.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Vitor Emanuel from Wodify

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

10 year software development with Outsystems

Pros

Outsystems enables software development to be way more faster compared with common development using C#.NET or other languages. Integrations with external systems with SOAP and REST are easy to be implemented off the shell, but a developer can always implement specific libraries for other integrations. It's easy to make simple queries but it's also possible to create specific database scripts (T-SQL, etc) and run them from the platform, if necessary. It's also easy to implement a good framework architecture with Outsystems, since modules can be easily reused by different End User screens.

Cons

As it is very simple to develop applications with Outsystems, it can also be the source of some performance problems if the developer does not have much experience. But that's not a specific and unique problem of this technology.

November 2018

Grayson from Thrivent Financial

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

OutSystems makes life better for tech and business teams

Pros

OutSystems truly does live up to the promise of 10x development. The cost of the platform is offset completely by freeing up developers to provide vastly more value for every minute spent working on projects. Perhaps not obviously, it also improves the quality of products significantly. Developers get time back to actually work with customers in the target markets and operate on feedback. Divisions and companies can become more agile and keep up with an ever changing world.

Cons

There are some limitations with collaboration amongst teams. Because the platform uses a modeling language which exists in three dimensions, typical version control features like branching, merging, and pull requests do not currently exist. This issue can be overcome by changing the way you organize your teams and how they do work.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Brian from Scientific Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Powerful tool for moving from ideas to prototypes to MVPs

Overall I have enjoyed the time I've spent developing in Outsystems very much. It takes a lot of the tedious mind-numbing work out of the process and lets you focus on creating awesome solutions.

Pros

I really like how easy it is to get a prototype up and running in days or even hours/minutes. To be able to put something in your clients hands that they can see and interact with so quickly is very impactful. From there, making changes/improvements in an iterative fashion is very comfortable.

Cons

In multi-tenant applications I've found that scaling can be an issue in regard to views generated for each tenant and those being updated with each release. In a traditional sense the read uncommitted setting on SQL server is something to adjust to and not exactly something I felt comfortable with (but I understand why the platform does it).

October 2019

Orlan from Stedin

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

The Low-Code System

Very good, I've never seen a developers tool which allowed a new user to start developing so quickly and beneficially to active and new projects.

Pros

The excellent learning curve and smooth experience with which you can quickly learn the basics and start developing almost immediately. The clean interface and avid promotion of the use of a 4 layer architecture makes it very easy to read and understand what your peers have done.

Cons

The separation of web and mobile apps, I would prefer to see them more as a whole which should be coming with the new Reactive Web. Though keep in mind that you can link the two as is.

Reasons for Switching to OutSystems

The speed and ease of development.

October 2016

helder from capgemini

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Build applications fast powerful

Build applications fast powerful, change them even faster, accelerating the development with existing resources, simplify the process of change. Integrate with all existing systems and data sources and maintain order with the management and analysis. The cost to make a change to an application during development increases exponentially with time, complexity and versions. Combining visual modeling with your code to deliver high-quality applications at the speed your business demands. Extending a powerful modeling environment in all layers from the UI to the complex logic for modeling and database processes. With a JavaScript UI code, your own CSS classes, Java or C # code, APIs multiple database technologies. It helps reduce the time and cost of development once for all devices. Can be created beautiful and advanced UIs that perform well on all platforms, devices and the Web. Get engaging experiences with drag and drop simplicity with. open platform that provides standards-based code and accumulates with extensibility. You can extend the visual models with standard or custom code such as JavaScript, Java, C #, SQL, CSS and HTML. Integrate with any external database and use APIs rest or SOAP web services for integration with their existing mission-critical systems. It is scalable, allowing you to build and manage large portfolios of applications, created by teams of developers working on separate modules simultaneously. Scale applications linearly as they grow from hundreds of millions of users. It generates highly secure code that passes the audits of large financial and government institutions stricter safety. Significantly more time, money and resources are often spent on maintenance of an application than is spent on application development. To save time and simplify the tasks that are done quickly and simultaneously tested so that the process is easy and fast. Most platforms on the market can only be used and changed with the platform built. OutSystems is the only platform that offers non-lock in truly can separate Java applications or C # code.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Development Platform that brings a new experience and speed of delivery

Pros

really like the idea of being more focused on the business than in the code, but at the same time, if we want/need to be innovative and push our geek-side to create new components and integrations, we can also do it rapidly, using all the C# / Java / Javascript / ... capabilities. This, allied with the greater stakeholder engagement and satisfaction, the fast time to market, speed of change and full lifecycle maintenance and great community and support, are all keys to several successful projects on all kind of industries, top companies and all over the world.

Cons

What I like least about Outsystems is the fact that the licensing price is too high and it could help more the smaller and medium businesses.

October 2019

Victor from Koole Terminals

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

User friendly web applications

Good tool to quickly create web based applications. Defects and changes can be done quickly. The user interface is great and give a lot of opportunities. It is a great tool to examine for further developments

Pros

Able to create user friendly web applications, being able to minimize the user interaction to achieve a specific goal. An action in our legacy system using 14 clicks we could reduce to 3 clicks. Also the easy upload of documents, pictures is real advantage. By introducing a web application we were abbe to reduce the time to complete processes with more as 50% In our mobile app we had difficulties to synchronize with our database. It took only few day to completely change the architecture.

Cons

The accessibility of the database itself. In numbered cases we need to intervene due to defects. Need to do real effort to access the data. Outsystems is a great development tool; but the design of the requirements and the data model still need good thinking and is a basis for the discuss.

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Actually I was not involved in the decision making.

October 2018

Daniel from www.isengard-solutions.nl

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Why didn't I started with LowCode platform OutSystems earlier?

The customers for which we deliver projects are from many different industries, we build solutions for field service companies, insurance companies, pension administrators, business consulting companies, etc.

Pros

The speed in which we can deliver web and mobile applications for our customer, and the developer experience, where most repetitive work is taken care of by OutSystems. Also the fact that it is a complete platform with all the DevOps build in is great! Last but not least the OutSystems community is a very active community of professionals, help is always available very promptly why you get stuck.

Cons

Debugging capabilities not (yet) up to par with traditional development tools like Visual Studio, especially the ability to change values on the fly and to alter execution path. Then again visual debugging mobile application in an iPhone or iPad from my Windows developer laptop is amazing!

October 2019

Jane from CMS

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great to use if you can get past implementation

Overall good - the international scale of the business and partner means that we can look to create a global centre of excellence using a single product

Pros

Easy to use to build attractive apps quickly

Cons

Difficult to do an on premise implementation and dealt with disaster recovery

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

Easier to work with and more professional. True global scale and experience particularly compared to Fliplet. Interesting roadmap.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Garth from Clientele Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Simple To The Point Review

Overall I highly recommend it for business projects and people who need to develop fast. But for those who like writing the code themselves like me. You will probably end up using the platform and coding stuff on the side like me. So I really like what they have built and highly recommend investing some time into learning a bit about the platform. :D

Pros

Speed of development is insane. Outsystems really cuts dev time to a minimum. The speed that you can build things from the Functionality that is built into the system is really good. I use the platform at work for web dev. But it offers app dev as well and for android and ios in one build. No need to build different builds or versions for different platforms. One build covers android and ios. Overall there functionality is fantastic.

Cons

It get's kind of complex as you get more in depth as to what it is you are capable of doing with the platform. But like everything you can be average or great and if you wanna be great you gonna have to put in the time to learn. The biggest personal downfall of the system is that it takes away a lot of the actual coding. For me this is more of a preference as I personally love to sit and crunch code myself. And you can build with code in there program but there's really no point unless you doing something extremely custom because they have already built in the functionality. The system overall is great, really simple and drag and drop.

March 2016

Nick from C. Steinweg Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Outsystems rocks!

I got introduced a little bit more than 2 years ago to the Outsystems Platform. Since that day I fall in love with the drag and drop system. It's so easy to just create a small app in just a couple of minutes. Where using the platform to build applications for around 25+ users to use. With some application used by over 150+ users there getting pretty big!

Pros

It's nice to see that OS is improving each day. The training videos and webinars are a real benefit for the new developers. The easy drag and drop technique is so nice to work with. I don't hate coding but this is just some much better. For around 1.5 year I started with the OS Cloud service that is free available for everyone. OS did a real good job to open a free possibility to let you play around with their software.

Cons

I think the main market for OS are the big companies with 250+ employees. By opening a cloud environment they let you use the application for free. Only if you have a company with for example 1 till 50 employees there is no solution for you. The license is that expansive that it's not possible to pay for small companies and the cloud environment is not for production use. I think this could be improved to also fill the gap in between free and real expensive.

Response from OutSystems

Replied August 2016

Thanks for the kind words Nick. It means a lot to us when our users say they are in love with the product we've crafted with so much care.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Christian from OutSystems Architect

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Implement business value with the speed of light in a beautiful way

I love it. .. I was sceptical at first but it has proven me wrong. It is a way to talk about business value instead of code and deploy this fast to your customers

Pros

Visual modelling of data / Integrity checks (nothing is deployed when it breaks something else) / SilkUI (standard UI components so yuo doný have to make them all) / Ease of deployment between environments / Ease of integration with the rest of the world (REST, SOAP, database connections, extension with C#)

Cons

When using the correct architecture (4-layer) and you have a lot of espaces/modules ... you have to refresh a lot modules (rebuild manually) ... this can take some time ... So when you want to test your code you sometimes first have to wait for a rebuild

October 2017

User Profile Picture

José from Glintt

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

It a fantastic development tool, easy to learn and easy integration with other programming languages

Pros

The holistic view of an agile project of IT. Easy implementation of Rest and Soap WebServices . Easy integration with Database, safer and faster production climbs through Lifetime. Migration of new versions without complications in stack C#. Front-End user friendly and updated. Back-end It's all about business knowledge, easy to understand , develop and debug. It requires a smaller IT team meeting the requirements of the Scrum methodology. It has a fairly large community Outsytems components repository and excellent Webinars to learn and consolidate knowledge.

Cons

Stack java with more complicated migrations. It is not an ETL tool for now, but it is possible to implemented.

March 2016

Justin from FICO®

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Love to develop with OutSystems

I started using OutSystems in September of 2009. At the time, the learning curve was really high... few video tutorials, the community only had a couple of active members who were working for OutSystems, the Forge had a very limited number of components, etc. I gave it a shot on a personal project, and I was hooked. It just WORKED. Since then I've been involved in some of the biggest OutSystems customers (in terms of usage) and biggest projects (in terms of scope & size) out there, and I am still delighted with the product. It does exactly what I need it to do. It makes the easy stuff trivial and the hard stuff easier. It is not a perfect product (really, what is?) but it is the best way to write Web apps that I have tried.

Pros

It is easy to use and easy to learn. The visual logic layout simplifies development and troubleshooting, and allows the business team to participate at a lower level than traditional coding models. The entire team at OutSystems (and especially the support staff) are just really good, smart people who work hard to help their customers and users.

Cons

Some use cases are still hard to implement. The library of UI widgets still needs to grow. A native reporting solution is really needed. Automated test options are weak.

Response from OutSystems

Replied August 2016

Justin, thank you for taking the time to review OutSystems. It's great to have users like you in our community, using the product for so many years and helping it evolve and grow with new ideas and feedback. Keep it coming!

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Remco from LINKIT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Long term low-code OutSystems user review

I've been working with Outsystems for the last 12 years and I've built a lot of different systems while working for different employers. From automating business processes to rebuilding complete core systems. I've also built several mobile applications for different user groups. The overal experience on all projects is that the platform is very stable and improves continuous with every update. Nowadays they split the Studio from the Platform and this results in even faster delivery of new functionality. I've never had any regret from the switch I made 12 years ago.

Pros

Speed of Development Ease of technical implementations Open Community around Outsystems

Cons

Since I'm an expert Outsystems users, I don't like the initial responses of the support desk. It takes time to get to the right person at the support desk.

June 2021

Chetan from Persistent Systems

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

One of the best low code Platforms

Many companies have used Outsystems to build web and mobile apps. I have worked on a project which create a high UI density , responsibe web app for a world famous investment bank in UK. For most business usecase, the Outsystems platform is a very good choice. The Outsystems team is also very talented and they listen to community feedback.

Pros

The intuitive development experience which makes developers highly productive as well as brings a joy working with Outsystems platform.

Cons

The pricing is slightly on a higher side and it's bit complex. Compared to Appian(another low code platform) the pricing is slightly complex. Also Outsystems used to have a way to target Java for code generation which was removed since Outsystems 10

October 2016

Patrick from -

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Next Level Software Development

As an experienced programmer I had some trouble to make my life easier. Trained to use code I can create anything. But as I got used to OutSystems, I cannot think of an easier way to create solutions for business problems. It reduced the time spent on a lot of things, leaving time in projects for the new next thing to implement:) Beside that, the model driven development ensures code quality and control. Combined with the excellent usage of LifeTime, going from development, testing, acceptance and production is a breeze. And when it does give some problems, a roll back is just as easy.

Pros

- Speed - Quality - Flexibility - Business Processing Tools

Cons

- Rethink software development - Loosing control of the underlying technical things - SQL is managed by the system, so tuning and in depth control is harder

October 2019

Sem from Rijk Zwaan

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great tool to develop quick apps

I'm really happy about my experience, we have multiple apps running in production. Customers (internally) are happy to use them and it's relatively easy to adapt and maintain apps. Also

Pros

It's great to develop quickly apps, without having the hurdle of any legacy problems. Fun to learn! Nice environment design studio to develop in Clear and gives overview Mobile apps with offline functionality are great

Cons

It's hard to design UX/design stuff yourself, it can be time consuming

Reasons for Choosing OutSystems

More options for Mobile apps

March 2016

Kilian from MAIN Energie

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

The best RAD and Agile tool on the market

Our company (a relatively small energy supplier in the Netherlands, less than 100 employees) has used the OutSystems Platform for over five years to solve almost all of its business needs. Sales, sourcing, CRM, billing and (e-)invoicing, intrabranch communications, the customer portal - it's all developed using the Platform, without any third party software (safe the software the Platform runs on). We work in an agile fashion with short delivery cycles, providing user benefits and company value every two weeks. This shows the versatility of the Platform in providing everything we need for RAD - both for new development and for maintenance.

Pros

Easy, intuitive IDE; easy deployment and maintenance; highly productive; easily scalable; free personal edition in the cloud; ever evolving, embracing new technologies fast, new major versions at least once a year, bugfix releases regularly; excellent support staff; active community.

Cons

Pretty hefty licence fees, not suitable for small businesses. Needs additional licences for the infrastructure it runs on (MSSQL or Oracle DB). Still limited design patterns for UI design (no problem for business software, limiting for creative minds).

Response from OutSystems

Replied August 2016

Kilian, thanks for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear that you're using OutSystems for 5 years now, and delivering such a wide range of applications to support your business.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 342 reviews