All Appen Reviews

1-25 of 38 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Peter

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Appen Remote Jobs

PROS

The best thing I like about Appen is the opportunity to work on different projects at the same time. They offer great opportunities like Translation, Transcription, search engine evaluators

CONS

They have not con. They are a great company

Dvock

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Leading Provider of AI Training Data and Services.

My overall experience with Appen has been highly positive and rewarding. From the moment I joined as a contributor, I was impressed by the professionalism and efficiency of their operations. The platform provided a seamless and user-friendly experience, allowing me to easily access and complete tasks.Appen's commitment to quality was evident throughout my journey. The clear instructions and guidelines provided for each task ensured that I understood the requirements and could deliver accurate results.I also appreciate the diverse range of projects and task types available. Appen offers opportunities to work on a variety of interesting tasks, which kept my work engaging and allowed me to expand my skills in different areas.In general, Appen's professionalism, commitment to quality, and range of engaging projects have made my experience highly positive. I feel privileged to be a part of their contributor community and look forward to continuing my journey with them.

PROS

The desired features I like are:customizability and diverse task types which include data annotation, data collection, text categorization etc. The ease of use that I like is clear instructions and guidelines as well as support and training.Finally, through integration with other apps, the benefits are;automated workflows and data exchange hence valuable for clients who have existing data infrastructure or want to incorporate Appen's services seamlessly into their existing workflows.

CONS

What I like least about Appen is support and issue resolution.I want to mention the importance of responsive support and efficient issue resolution.This is because when I had challenges with my invoice and payment method when I wanted a request to be followed up on project Crescent, I got a late response and no positive feedback. I would really request the strengthening of customer support channels and ensuring timely resolution of issues or concerns to enhance user satisfaction.

Reasons for switching to Appen

This is due to Multilingual Capabilities: Appen places a strong emphasis on multilingual capabilities. They have a broad language coverage, offering data annotation and language-related services in a wide range of languages. This can be beneficial for projects with diverse language requirements unlike Lionbridge (Data Annotation Platform.)Another reason is due to Customizability: Appen provides customizable solutions tailored to the unique needs of their clients. They can design and implement projects with specific requirements, allowing for more flexibility and adaptability in meeting project objectives unlike Lionbridge Data Annotation Platform.

Amane

Translation and Localization, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2024

Terrible Quality of Customer Support

I am extremely unhappy with the overall experience with Appen for the following reasons. -There are always open projects, however, they often do not seem to be actually available for contributors or disappear even during the application process probably due to a large volume of application. I applied for multiple projects – I filled in forms, took assessment tests, and went through other steps required for the projects. One project just disappeared from my project application list (so I assumed the application window was closed), the project manager or someone equivalent of another project emailed me basically saying that there is no open spot in the project although I passed the assessment and got qualified for it, and I never heard back from anyone in other projects. -The application process is very slow. There is one project that I managed to proceed to a payment setup step, but it took a few months from application to that point. It was disappointing to see my application status unchanged for that long, especially after I invested some time in the assessment test, which requires applicants to read over 100 pages of its task instructions and project guidelines to prepare for the test. -The quality of their customer support is terrible, as I described above.

PROS

There are always open projects and small tasks.

CONS

The whole experience with Appen was terrible, but if I must pick one, then it would be the quality of their customer support. I am very disappointed with the quality of support I received regarding a payment setup issue. I feel that my issue was dismissed without appropriate investigations. I requested support, and described the issue in details with a screenshot of the error message and provided all the information that I was asked to do so, including a copy of a government issued ID. However, I only received general responses (explanation of payment setup process). I also asked what the status of my payment is in the system but the question was never answered, either. I tired the process again, however, I received the same error message so I responded to them with that regard and requested for further support. They replied saying they were unable to proceed my application and closed the case. Moreover, my Appen account was discontinued immediately after that. I invested a lot of time and efforts in the whole application process so the quality of support was very disappointing. I think the support team did not try hard to solve the issue and they decided to disregard the issue because a lack of ability to support their customers.

User Profile

Pratap

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Best earning and crowdsourcing platform

Appen is used to earn some money by completing some easy tasks. It pays average to the taskers. But the payment processor Payoneer charges almost 3 USD for transaction.

PROS

Appen provides the opportunity to earn online by giving small tasks to the contributors on the platform. These tasks are used to train Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning. This platform can be used to obtain data required by client from the contributors. It compensates the contributors based on the work hours.

CONS

Several tasks are unavailable due to high amount of responses from the users. The only payment option available in this platform is Payoneer. We didn't get any response from appen if our application not selected for tasks.

Reason for choosing Appen

Appen has relatively more experience in crowdsourcing than Clickworker. Appen has more trust among the taskers.

Tiurma Vivi

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Appen User Review

Until now, I still use Appen as one of platforms that can generate extra money for me, flexible work time , good payment and easy to operate. There also some tasks that doesn't take much time to finish so I can take several jobs at once and of course I makes more money. So overall i will highly recommend this app to my friend and family who wants to earn extra money from home

PROS

Appen is a platform to find a side job or more pocket money but not fast money. how to use and registration process also very easy depends on their qualifications. They also provide a training forum or event for new users which will beneficial to increase the agents/contractors personal skill

CONS

the weakness of this software is that there is no certainty of long-term work contracts and also not all agents or independent contractors can get new projects / work assignments, and the waiting time for one project can be very long, depending on the project itself. Some are fast and some arent

User Profile

Sai Nirmal

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Best platform for Crowdsourcing and for Remote workers also

My overall experience with the happen is that I started as contributor and earned some income as it provide remote work, flexible timings and easy tasks will be there on the platform. It's great platform for both data collection and earning some extra cash as well

PROS

The best thing about the Appen is that it makes data collection work easier and it provides remote work for micro workers. It is one of the best micro earning sites and the data collection required by the clients can be obtained from the contributors. It mainly works on training AI models. It's best working with Appen

CONS

I don't have much dislikes about Appen but some tasks may not be available for the contributors . And if the client continues for next projects after completing tasks , it would be great. Apart from that I don't have any dislikes.

User Profile

Yanick

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Excellent for Freelancer...

The rules are very strict. You have to pass a qualification exam to have access to the tasks.

PROS

I got to know Appen in 2017 while working on the platform of one of its partners. Micro-projects are constantly published there and offer great ways to make money by offering your expertise to companies and individuals.

CONS

The remuneration is sometimes below the effort deployed, the percentage rating system is sometimes excessive.

Kameisha

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

A good program to get easy money

Its a few hiccups but overall its good

PROS

I like the fact that it has several job listigs and you an easily qualify for.

CONS

I dont like getting paid once a month i be wanting the money now

Reasons for switching to Appen

More money less hassel

User Profile

Sudarshan

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

My usage of Appen

Appen is good platform for users that those wants to earn money by completing various projects and tasks.And it is very reailable.

PROS

1.Appen provide user friendly interface.2.It also provides flexible work opportunities for users to allow to work from anywhere.3.And it is also provides easy navigation tools.

CONS

1.The major drawback of Appen was that the processing of payments may take extra time then accepted.2.The availability some of the tasks are limited.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Appen is awesome

PROS

This software and website has made it very easy to find and hire people for different jobs, there are plenty of jobs available and you can post a gig for other people to work. I myself have used this software and its mobile recorder very easily. The website is easily navigationable and easy for the eyes.

CONS

The most time consuming thing about appen is the amount of paperwork you have to read and fill out before applying for a job.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

Basicamente Appen puede ayudar con cualquier tipo de tareas

PROS

Appen dispone de un red muy grande a través de la cuál se puede realizar cualquier tipo de tarea: Webscrapping, data entry, transcriptions, ...etc A cambio de fees muy razonables

CONS

Estaría genial ofrecer el onboarding y atención al cliente en Español, Francés, entre otros. Actualmente solo está disponible en inglés.

Praveen

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Appen : Earn great deals with simple tasks

It has been a great working experience with Appen. I have earned a good amount of money by just doing very simple tasks that doesn't require any special skills.

PROS

The most amazing thisng is that it help us to generate extra income by applying and doing simple tasks such as image capturing, transcribing, web analytics etc.

CONS

The only thing I like the least about it is sometimes, there are tasks showing in the task list but they are not functional, he reason might be availability of the particular project.

Jhon

Security and Investigations, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Trabajo remoto

En general debemos leer y analizar muy bien las pautas de cada tarea para acertar y te puedan dar un contrato de trabajo remoto

PROS

La cantidad de trabajos remotos a los que puedes aplicar

CONS

Algunas tareas tienen una complejidad la cual tiene muchas opciones de respuestas que al final debes tener mucho análisis para aceptar tu respuesta.

mohamed

Chemicals, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

thank you for this service

very good.

PROS

Ease of search, diversity, and price are very suitable for work.

CONS

I encountered many problems at the beginning of entering the site, the most important of which was linking the Payoneer account.

Heather

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Took a long time to get in the door but once your in it pays

They provide companies with a wide range of technological help from real users without using surveys or user testing like other sites

PROS

It allows me to keep up with technology and put in my educational background to help companies further themselves in technology. It helps the internet become better and more informative.

CONS

It took a long time to get myself in door and sometimes it hard to understand the needs of each project.

Chandrakeerthan

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Great for doing tasks and earning rewards.

My overall experience with Appen is great and i recommend everyone to use appen.It provides us money or rewards for doing some tasks.The users with no knowledge on this can also do tasks and earn money.

PROS

The best feature of appen is that it provides rewards for performing some tasks like web captures and translations.The user interface is very friendly and easy to set up.We can also sell projects on appen.Its like a kind of freelancing platform.Appen is the best for getting incentives for doing tasks.

CONS

The withdrawl of the money which we got by doing tasks is only through payoneer.It becomes difficult for everyone to withdraw money only through payoneer.

rachid

Arts and Crafts, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

appen good for data and surveys

it was good experience

PROS

i did like the easy of use this software

CONS

i did like least that it took long to have surveys

Theresia

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY