User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(22)

22

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse FusionAuth Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -21 of 29 results

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Hendy from Lovia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

FusionAuth is the most fully-featured SSO solution for the price

FusionAuth has been really good and from my first experience with v1.15.8, then I upgraded twice to v1.16 then v1.17, they keep adding more features and convenience like making Elasticsearch optional. (I'm still using Elasticsearch though because I'm still migrating from previous identity provider and we have 200,000+ users to migrate, most of them are free users.) The number of free users we have is making it not cost-wise to use other identity provider products. I have successfully integrated FusionAuth with three WordPress instances and a Rocket.Chat instance. I'm excited to complete the migration and use FusionAuth with our own custom apps. I'm also doing consulting with social enterprises / nonprofits and when they need a login/SSO solution for their constituents/donors/volunteers, I can wholeheartedly recommend FusionAuth for them.

Pros

* The installation and maintenance process is straightforward, especially that they've provided a Helm chart that can be deployed directly to a Kubernetes cluster. When I first installed it, v1.15.8 required Elasticsearch. But in v1.16.0 and newer, Elasticsearch is optional so it's much easier to get started especially for those with less than 10,000 users. * The functionality is complete. It's amazing how FusionAuth can bundle so many functionality in one software bundle AND also make it relatively easy to install. General SSO, OpenID Connect, SAML, 2FA: all the basics are covered, and more. * Multi-tenant. This is unique with FusionAuth: with a single FusionAuth instance you can service SSO multiple groups or even multiple companies. This can dramatically reduce cost if you're need to share resources. Or perhaps you need separate tenants for staging and development environments, you're not required to buy a separate license for this. * Free license available * Support is good even without an enterprise contact (FusionAuth Forum & GitHub)

Cons

* MariaDB isn't yet officially supported. It's a minor quibble and is probably irrelevant to most people, but I do wish FusionAuth would have supported this. It's actually possible to run FusionAuth with MariaDB, just that you'll need to be prepared to potential (current and future) issues, that you don't have to worry if you use PostgreSQL or MySQL. * Not open source. Again this is a minor quibble. I'd prefer if FusionAuth open sources or even made "source-available" the core parts of FusionAuth. It'd make problems much easier to debug especially if there are users willing to help debugging. For businesses getting a support contract directly from FusionAuth it's probably not an issue.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

* Free license available. FusionAuth is not open source, but startups can either deploy FusionAuth at their own server with the free license, or host with FusionAuth's cloud with reasonable pricing (which is actually cheaper than paying your own hosting and sysadmin team to manage). The number of users you can serve is only limited by system capacity. The price/value at this stage beats all competitors I've reviewed. When your needs grow, you can contact FusionAuth to a get a support plan tailored to your organization. So the pricing scales very well. * Support is good even without an enterprise contact (FusionAuth Forum & GitHub). FusionAuth technical team were willing to help diagnose my problem even I wasn't a paying enterprise customer. If you're planning to get a support contract, I'd say you'll get even better support.

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

* Firebase / Google Cloud Identity Platform did not support either OpenID Connect nor being a SAML Identity Provider, that we need to reliably integrate with other services such as WordPress, Rocket.Chat, and future software than we may use. * Pricing per MAU (especially when using an external SAML) is prohibitive because most of our users are free users, and we don't "sell" our users, so ARPU on these users is basically zero.

November 2020

Travis from eConnect, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Don't make your own auth system ever again. Lean on a toolset that has everything you need built in!

Very easy to get started. Used a container image to setup a test environment. Microsoft (netcore) already has an integration with OAuth2/Openidconnect --- so we just had to taylor it the way we wanted in our own application. The docs are very clear / clean. The forums are active. I had suggested a very simple feature, and it was put into a released version 2 days later. We are not even a paying customer yet. That was very revealing that this is an active product, and the feedback was valuable.

Pros

While evaluating different auth systems, we found ourselves scratching our heads about how we would accomplish certain integration points. Options for self-hosting, options for cloud & on-prem applications, custom data and if we have to host a side-by-side database. We wanted to tie all our our separate container applications running out there, into a single sign on, with minimal work. The APIs were very clear, and easy to understand while implementing. We love the transparency of the github repos, so we can comb through the code to see what was being done while doing the integration. In a short 1-2 months of work, we were able to learn about how (with no Oauth/OpenID Connect experience) to integrate our applications in using the standards. FusionAuth has some nice escape hatches for additional information such as their Lambda support and data objects on each entity so you can store arbitrary data for future usages.

Cons

Some of the generated SDKs could benefit from a developer that uses the technology suchs as dotnet/core, where the sdks could be better fit to conform to that development standard, but it wasn't a blocking issue. Just using objects that are camel case is kinda foreign, as if you are using java. But this is about as bad as it gets -- it worked as expected without having us spend a ton of time troubleshooting anything.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Easy of deployment, costs. It seems that FusionAuth has the flexibility / portability that others may not. We wanted the option to be able to self-host and control our dependencies.

May 2020

Varun from Cemplicity

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Review

Pros

Ease of use. Easy to setup. Customisable. Open source.

Cons

Fast moving. Hard to upgrade. Clients are a bit buggy

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Pricing Fine tuned control Self hosted

April 2021

Richard from Research Study Online

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Startup use of FusionAuth

The best thing about FA (other than the freemium model) is the support. The support team is first rate.

Pros

I mostly use the passwordless login. It has taken me considerable time to implement due to my "part time" status as a developer.

Cons

The documentation for the php API could use some upgrading, IMO.

August 2020

Scott from Aeoss Technology LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Feature-packed and easy to integrate

Overall, we feel we've gotten value out of FusionAuth and are happy to be using it. There are some things we've had to work around (like the CI/CD concepts discussed in the cons), but we've been happy with the performance and low maintenance of the solution that this hasn't really affected us too much.

Pros

FusionAuth is API-driven which allows custom authentication flows to be done simply in little time. The whole solution feels well-designed and the team is quick to resolve issues and meet community demands for features as needed.

Cons

The CI/CD-based configuration utilities for FusionAuth aren't quite as great as we'd like. They offer a solution for standing up an environment through configuration (Kickstart), but not ongoing configuration, which means if settings are changed in the live environment they aren't peer-reviewed like what we had with Auth0's Terraform provider.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

The all-in-one solution allows us to iterate fast for our users and we don't feel the burden of a lock-in since our data is controlled by us and can be moved anywhere, including to the FusionAuth hosted platform if we choose to go that route.

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

We were looking to gain more control and feel less trapped in the provider.

Response from FusionAuth

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the review Scott. Just a heads up that the community has provided an open source Terraform provider. You can check it out and learn more here: https://fusionauth.io/community/forum/topic/374/terraform-provider-for-fusionauth-released

June 2020

David from E4S

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

A fantastic auth provider

The team are really responsive, the software has been rock solid and is really quick. It has all the majors features you want and need and the documentation is fantastic!

Pros

The ease of use, the fact it's got a really great billing model, compared to something like Auth0 it's dirt cheap and much better in my opinion. This is the best auth provider by FAR which gives you so much out of the box for free.

Cons

Not much. The team is super responsive and some of my requests have already been implemented.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Price. Auth0's billing model wasn't good for us. We tried Keycloak but it was woeful. FA provides the right balance of cost and features...

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

Price. Auth0's billing model wasn't good for us. We tried Keycloak but it was woeful. FA provides the right balance of cost and features...

November 2020

Maciej from Orbitvu Sp. z o.o.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Customizable, well documented, full of features, and inexpensive

Pros

FusionAuth is very customizable thanks to the templating system used. It is the thing that I found to be the killer feature when compared with the others. There are multiple deployment options including free of charge on-premise one while there is still an option to have SaaS and paid support. This is a commercial product but developed a lot like the open-source one (Github issues) which is great giving direct contact with the FA people and the option to vote for the most wanted features. FusionAuth support is awesome.

Cons

There is no dedicated JavaScript library/client that can help with the SPA integrations but this can be done using some other available tools/libraries.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

FusionAuth was way more customizable (eg. the login page layout) than the other solutions. It is also less expensive and the has a number of the possible deployment scenarios (on-premise, SaaS)

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

We've switched in order to have OAuth2 and MFA support.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Vito from LINKS Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Great CIAM

Working in a non-profit research field, we often need to quickly set up prototypes of web applications and services. FusionAuth helps us saving a lot of time while giving a smooth and safe user experience. The availability of a free community version is very important for us, since it is not easy to justify the costs for such prototypes in advance. Then, if they become products, somebody will likely buy the support for FusionAuth and other components.

Pros

Apart from the top level support for OpenID and OAuth2.0 standards, we like the ease of deployment and the high number of clients available that make it easy to develop with FusionAuth. Furthermore, the possibility to customize the tenant UI produce a smooth UX.

Cons

The suite has a lot of features, and the team is constantly working on improvements. Multi-Tenant SSO and iframe token refresh for implicit-grant, which currently are not supported, would be the cherry on the cake. The logging can be made a bit more verbose in order to quickly debug issues.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Both services have costs that we could not always justify at development time. The availability of the on-premises, free Docker version of FusionAuth, together with its ease of customization, the large set of clients and the top-level support for OpenID was definitely what drove use to this choice.

Response from FusionAuth

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review. As of release 1.19, multi tenant SSO is supported.

June 2020

Michael from Unsupervised

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

FusionAuth is Fantastic

We use FusionAuth as our Auth layer and we have had a lot of success integrating it into on-prem deployments with other IdP's.

Pros

It is very customizable. It is lightweight. The support is the best of any vendor we use. It integrates into other platforms easily. The docs are generally very good, especially considering how often the software is updated.

Cons

There are some minor features I would like to see, such as ActiveDirectory groups mapping to roles in FusionAuth, but it may be possible to do this already. I wish there was better native Kubernetes support.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

The price, and ease of integrating with other IdP's.

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

FusionAuth has the features we need, the support is second-to-none, and the price is right.

October 2020

Lohith from Nouveau Labs

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great product overall

Pretty good

Pros

The easy to use and easy to setup, the admin portal and the user interface are pretty good. Along with this, all the great features that are present to integrate and built authentication service.

Cons

Lack of multi tenant features. Ability to add custom roles where user is only a tenant admin

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Due to the apis provided by fusionauth to build custom design on top of fusionauth! and their clear documentation and your active involvement in github to help resolve any issues that we encounter.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

John from Seegno

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

An easy to use and yet powerful multi-tenant self hosted authentication service

Our overall experience with FusionAuth has been truly positive. FusionAuth had everything we were looking for from an authentication service and therefor it helped us save countless work hours implementing our own solution.

Pros

Integrating with our software was relatively simple thanks to the versatility offered by FusionAuth's multi-tenant feature. And thanks to the great online community we were able to overcome almost every issue we encountered since day one.

Cons

It may be because of our use case being so different from what FusionAuth is normally used but we would love if its performance was improved specially the memory usage.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

FusionAuth's multi-tenant feature.

November 2020

Atakan from Circleboom llc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

A brilliant solution to a common problem

We're using a monolithic approach to manage our current 300K users with simple identity management and we're rebuilding our architecture to put an Identity/Token management system in the middle and build several microservices around it. I’ve been scratching my head to implement IdentityServer4 into our new architecture until I discovered FusionAuth. I’m not upset about the time we spent with IS4 & .net Core Identity; they sky-rocketed our domain expertise. However, FusionAuth is the tool, and I'm a bit surprised to see how they managed to make it easy on a sketchy topic like identity management and tokenization.

Pros

Easy to use, and almost zero time to use the product with a line of code to grab and start docker containers. Once the apps are up, it literally takes 5 minutes to set up a working Identity Management system with security proven protocols support out of the box. The overall management interface is pretty straight forward, and easy to understand. They have great documentation as well to support you along the way.

Cons

Theme management is still in its early steps and I believe they will come up with something more robust. Even the current version of 1.x has a superior management interface than the competition.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Feature-rich, easy implementation and price

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

ease of the use, setup, and management

July 2020

Urs from uhon.tech GmbH

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

You guys make my life easier

I really like the UI (except for Freemarker templating) and the Documentation is just awesome. Being part of the Slack-Channel is great and people there (especially robotdan) are really responsive.

Pros

- Documentation. - Easy configuration trough a well-designed UI. - Adding Social Logins is a no-brainer. - It even suits the needs of very small projects. - Docker-Configration is easy and update procedure painless - Its free without the support. Still i get support on the slack-channel and therefore writing bug-reports and feature-requests is something i can give back.

Cons

Templating (both UI and Emails) is a pain. But it's not an easy task to make it better. At least it works most of the time and is better than other solutions I know.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Because i had the feeling that it is the bes tool i can use for free for my startup.

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

Because I had very painful experiences with Keycloak on a project with my former employer. They didn't even accept bugfixe-PRs for severe bugs referring to stupid merge and test guidlines. The FA documentation and overall website experience made me choose this product. It just gives a good gut-feeling and getting startet is easy!

September 2020

Stefan from Influence-IT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Best Opensource Auth System out there.

Pros

The biggest impact for me has been an immediate understanding of the way the system works, and indeed auth software should work. All the examples are clear, concise and above all actually work! The support via their slack channel is just awesome, they've never let me down. Great product, great company, and above all amazing people.

Cons

Nothing springs to mind, but the distinction between tenant settings and user settings can be a little confusing at first.

Response from FusionAuth

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the review Stefan. Just to be clear, while FusionAuth has open sourced many things (docs, example apps, client sdks, supporting libraries) the core is not open source. The community edition is forever free as in beer but not free as in speech. This is something we continue to have internal discussions about, but as of right now, we're not planning to open source the core application.

June 2020

Whitney from Recon InfoSec

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Recon InfoSec

Love it so far, works great, would recommend

Pros

Ease of implementation Security Stability Well documented Robust API Passwordless login/magic link MFA Responsive and helpful support/dev team

Cons

UI is not immediate intuitive in some cases, like roles and permissions, but docs are great Would love a feature similar to Okta's SWA for applications that still don't have SAML or OAuth

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Money, time, security, self hosted, well documented

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

We needed a lot more features and can't shovel out enterprise dollars right now for a small environment undergoing a lot of dev work, and FA is perfect

August 2020

Laurent from Softozor

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Simplest IAM software for our use-case

Surprised in good. It took some time to master it but now we feel good.

Pros

* authorization features * permissions management * almost ready-to-use helm chart at the time we tried * json kickstart is perfect * no need for elasticsearch

Cons

* unable to export the fusionauth config to json so that I can use it as a kickstart * difficult to deploy on k8s if we really need to expose it (we did not succeed in that; however it's no problem for us, because we don't expose fusionauth any more)

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

* fusionauth has more features than authn (for instance, fusionauth manages permissions) * fusionauth is easy to deploy

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

It was a disaster to setup.

July 2020

Chris from FieldCast

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Great Application

Our company decided to implement FusionAuth to resolve some specific authentication challenges and provide the maximum flexibility for our platform as it evolves. The FusionAuth team has been fantastic in providing us with advice and support when needed, and receptive to new ideas to consider for future updates. We have no regrets about choosing FusionAuth as our authentication provider.

Pros

Integration with our existing services was fairly painless, given we were replacing another authentication engine.

Cons

We have had a positive experience with the product.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

good keycloak alternativ

So far I'm fine :) I did not use FusionAuth on production yet, but going to investigate this opportunity. I believe it may be great piece of software to bootstrap your new services in the internet and be concentrated on the business logic, at the same time being confident that you use top auth technologies.

Pros

I like that FusionAuth popped up on the market, because until today there was only one major player - keycloak. Documentation is complete and good, I have experience contacting the developers, they answer quickly and passionately. Fact that FusionAuth is provided as SaaS from IBM also says something to me. Interface is quite fresh, I like this also. API is consistent.

Cons

- To be honest, I'm not a fan that this is another Java enterprise application; - I know that keycloak is backed by Apache and is open source, so I believe that it'll continue to exist. I don't know the backers of FusionAuth so far and it's plans for the future.

Response from FusionAuth

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review. Regarding your concerns, there's no reason why you couldn't run FusionAuth until you had a migration plan. We also offer source code escrow to customers who want one.

February 2019

Saral from Shree Swaminarayan Gurukul International School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Single solution of Authentication

Good.

Pros

* Easy integration of oauth2. * Central authentication mechanism for multiple application * Excellent API support * Multiple sign mechanism like google, external jwt, facebook .... * Performant. didn' t check at huge user base

Cons

*Default UI provided for login. Would appreciate if you can have materail like UI which is trending. I think you tried to match with Admin portal theme. But it is OK to have differnt look for login so that we don't have to do much customization * Missing Linkedin sign option * Sample application in every client platform like c#, java, javascript (node and angular). A kind of guided by example

Response from FusionAuth

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review. We've been working on creating more example applications and have apps for all the client libraries (except for Dart, and that is in the works). Please see https://fusionauth.io/docs/v1/tech/example-apps/ for a list of example applications.

May 2020

James from AdCellerant

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Good Stuff!

Super positive experience; would highly recommend to colleagues.

Pros

- Easy to use - Great docs - Great customer support

Cons

It does have some bugs but I have yet to run into anything critical and the team is super quick to fix them.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

Better overall pricing model and support plan

June 2020

Anubhav from TV Shows Reminder

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Identity Management for NextGen Apps

Before FusionAuth, we were using our own built-in Identity Management using DB and Code. However, as we grew with our user requirements, log in with Social Identity was one thing, users even asked for an Email/Password-based credential mechanism which was not existing up until now. Now while revamping our entire WebApp, we have plugged in FusionAuth for Authentication and even the App is able to use them. Best is they update the Code regularly. Amazing!

Pros

Since we build lots of stuff using .Net and FusionAuth has the simplest of ways to get deployed on an Ubuntu Server. Just one line and it will be installed easily.

Cons

I wish I could even have Identity Validation for Mobile Number Users and not just Emails.

Reasons for Choosing FusionAuth

It was free, and one of the quickest ways to deploy it with minimum requirements. Client Libraries are available in various languages. To be honest, we have even got our friends to start using FusionAuth as they were struggling with their Identity Management

June 2020

Ken from WatchHabitat

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Best Auth System

So much better than Auth0

Pros

Good docs, integrates well into CICD, good support, good free tier, sensible paid options

Cons

I wish they'd open source the core. It lacked passwordless SMS out-of-the box.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Trevor from FITT Finder

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great hosted IAM solution

I was able to get FusionAuth up and running immediately and without problems for testing. Production deployment with AWS ECS, RDS, ES, and ELB was very quick too. I haven't used it at scale yet, but I'm fairly confident it will handle scale given its architecture.

Pros

Free, full-featured, very easy to test locally via Docker and deploy and scale in AWS with ECS, RDS, ES, and ELB, good documentation and excellent support via Slack

Cons

Interface could be more intuitive and being Java/Tomcat-based makes it a little bloated

February 2019

Anton from Beechy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

All in one authentication

Why I can recommend FusionAuth is that you will not only get a feature-rich authentication solution, but also a strongly improving product developed by a dedicated team which is working in close cooperation with the community.

Pros

I most like to have more time for developing my applications itself. FusionAuth handles all the "boring" stuff like email verification.

Cons

I would like to see more time spend on developing an official (maybe certified) OAuth integration.

June 2019

Omar from Magnus Code

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Self hosted IAM

Overall experience had been quite positive

Pros

User management is built in together with roles and permissions.

Cons

Lack of examples. Documentation is good though.

Response from FusionAuth

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review. We've been working on creating more example applications and have apps for all the client libraries (except for Dart, and that is in the works). Please see https://fusionauth.io/docs/v1/tech/example-apps/ for a list of example applications.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great solution to do away with boilerplate authentication code!

Pros

A free, cross platform, and API centric solution to avoid writing the same boilerplate authentication code is an awesome thing!

Cons

I think documentation, client libraries, and examples could be more flushed out, but they are still very useful regardless.

Response from FusionAuth

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your review. We've been working on creating more example applications and have apps for all the client libraries, except for Dart, and that is in the works. Please see https://fusionauth.io/docs/v1/tech/example-apps/ for a list of example applications.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Chris from Betty Blocks

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Compact and complete platform

Support is fast and responsive. A platform to watch

Pros

Very solid platform, easy to run and install. Feels light weight in usage, but misses no feature.

Cons

None, excellent platform. Nothing to complain

December 2020

Tito from Computer Software

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

1 week Review

Pros

The admin interface and webhook feature.

Cons

The register customization is a paid feature and I missed a "edit profile" interface focused on the user.

Reasons for Switching to FusionAuth

The customization on keycloak is all based on server coding.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Albert from ForgeRock

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

OpenSource

Pros

Glad to see such capability in opensource vendor strong mobile Auth

Cons

lack of smart authentication , which get the user session into multiple authentication control during the authentication phase