What are Deltek Maconomy users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Deltek Maconomy software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.94

59 Reviews

5
18
4
25
3
12
2
2
1
2
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It has what we need as a company and is organized in a very simple, neat way. It's clean and provides us with the basics."
  • icon"Processing is quick and very user friendly on the tracking and data entry side. Technical support was wonderful."
  • icon"There are a lot of features that support project management. Iaccess is a nice touch for those who like visuals vs data."
  • icon"The way our system is configured makes data entry and retrieval a very arduous and painful process."
  • icon"It is extremely cumbersome to use, slow and sluggish, when errors occur it is not clear what exactly the error could be, projects do not show up in the search etc."
  • icon"Need to review for 1099 forms. I had a big problem when I tried to print 1099 forms for every year."

Jump to:

Browse all Deltek Maconomy Reviews

  • Have you used Deltek Maconomy and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 59 reviews

Robert

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

A very powerful tool...a must for Government contractors.

Overall it is a great product. I have been a part of the implementation team for two companies and it was night and day once deltek came online. Things I learned: Tips: 1) Run at least a 3 month if not a 6 month parallel with your old system, with your old system generating the live invoices. 2) Work out any bad numbers or problems in your old system, the one you know well, before migrating to the new system 3) Project set is the key. The system is based on how the project is originally set up, so make sure your staff is 100% comfortable in performing the project set up. 4) Have someone on staff who has gone through an implementation before, is very helpful.

Pros

Project detail - The ability to understand the financial picture of your project or company from the highest level down to the charging level. Government bids - Allows the company to bid on Cost Plus type contracts with the confidence that the cost will be tracked and be reported to the Government's satisfaction.

Cons

It is not a system you can sit down and in a couple of days figure it out intuitively. It is conceptually difficult to understand, if you have never used a system like this one.

Tami

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Deltek user since about 2005.

I would recommend this software. Honestly, I can't imagine business without it!

Pros

I'm a full service office manager in the Architectural / Engineering / Construction industry. I worked with Deltek Vision first and I absolutely LOVED the software! We updated from a very antiquated system to a full CRM and it was mostly seamless and allowed us to really clean up our data before migrating over (which was so valuable because it's a 70 yr old company). After about 6 months, I was chatting with the president of the company at a holiday party and he asked how I liked Vision and was very happy to hear me gushing about how much I loved it (I worked for a branch office). I never understood the old system and felt very lucky just to get my time sheet entered each week without 'issues'. It was so amazing to have our project marketing data connected to our accounting data! In 2013 I took a new job with a company that had recently migrated to Deltek Ajera (although, at the time, I'm not sure if Deltek owned it) and we only have the accounting system. It makes time sheets, payroll, and project accounting very easy but it does not incorporate marketing and leads and that sort of thing. I'm not sure how important it is to track that information from a financial standpoint but I feel very disconnected not having that information in Ajera (full project descriptions, project photos, employee photos and resumes, etc.) This is a small office and the President handles most of the marketing and he has a system that works for him but if it comes time to update I will definitely push hard for the full system! Customer service is great for the most part! I get someone on the phone within minutes and it's rare to have a problem they can't fix right then or remote into my computer to show me how.

Cons

With Ajera there are a few glitches but they're constantly updating and trying to work things out. There's a few annoying functions like when you try to get out of a screen it will make you hit save or cancel to get out (maybe just annoying for me because patience with tech is not my strong point). The one other issue that really bothers me is that we pay per year for support for all 7 employees but I'm the only one that ever uses it and not often. They told me that there's no way around that and I can't pay for just me. I think that's way too much money, especially considering I call them about once a month max.

Jennifer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Deltek First GovCon - GCS and T&E modules

Administrator on the Deltek First GovCon - GCS and T&E modules for approximately 2 years. There was very little training or support offered. If you needed help you had to log into their customer service portal and submit a case - and of course you had to make sure you had enough cases available (i.e. you have to pay to have cases to use for support). Although I did get a few customer support agents who went above and beyond, the majority of the time the support was slow and they just directed me to printed training guides which were not easy to follow. The system is not user friendly at all, it takes several steps in different parts of the system to make sure things are done rather than having automatic work flows. The time sheet module worked well on the employee side however a lot of setup and maintenance was necessary on the back end. I would not recommend this product except as a last resort for government contractors, if you do purchase it, make sure to have them include extra training and support cases up front.

Pros

Timesheet system has good features and is easy to use on the employee side. Some of the customer service reps were great and went above and beyond for help.

Cons

Very little training or support offered and only through customer service portal case submission. Not user friendly on the admin side with no automatic work flows and a lot of extra steps for anything that needs to be done.

Cara

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Great Software for Time Entry, Not the Best for Accounting

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use. I think you can get by with using this software with very limited training on it. The search bar function allows you to look up by client number or name when entering time, which speeds the time reporting process. Also, the expense entry is a great design. I love that you can easily attach a receipt to an expense line, and even just snap a picture from the app. It is a great system to use across a large firm with many different jobs, whether performing billable or non-billable work.

Cons

Specific to my industry (accounting), I would prefer a better timer system. In other software I have seen, you can go straight from a timer to posting it to the client with ease. However, there are a few more steps from going from a timer to posting it to your timesheet in Deltek. In an industry that works on less clients each day, this will be less of an issue.

Kris

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2015

Information Powerhouse

Pros

Maconomy has proven to be an information powerhouse, giving us access to information that was outside our grasp in our legacy system. Due to Maconomy's core project management focus, we have gained better visibility on contribution margin. This has lead us to new initiatives to optimize leverage on client projects and fine tune realization. What is great about working with Deltek's consulting team is that the possibilities are endless. We were fortunate enough to be one of their first clients on their CPA solution and as a result we have seen so many of our ideas come to life in the core product.

Cons

With a system as customizable as Maconomy, the ideas may be endless but the time you need to devote to testing new upgrades can be taxing. However, Deltek has been great at walking us through new functionality and is always there as a resource to help us through any issues that arise.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Clunky Time Tracking System

Maconomy is not the easiest software to use, but it gives us the basics of project health and time tracking for the big agency I work at. Because everyone uses it, it's nice to be able to pull time and budgets across teams. However, I do think it could be improved from a user standpoint and could see some value it making it a little more robust.

Pros

For time tracking, Maconomy gets it done. It has what we need as a company and is organized in a very simple, neat way. It's clean and provides us with the basics. It is also very easy to look up projects within Maconomy to see how they are doing and pull project health reports – again, it's very simple so nothing fancy or other bells and whistles.

Cons

Maconomy is SO oddly configured that there are a handful of things from the user perspective that are just quirky or make it more difficult for me to do my job. It's just not as intuitive as other time tracking software. Sometimes if you do not log out before closing your window, you have to wait 5 minutes to get back in to track time. Other times, it makes you enter certain inputs before others in the project/time tracking process – which is not always what I want to do – and gives you an alert if you don't. It seems like an old software/interface but again, it gets the job done – I just think it could be improved.

James

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

C-Suite View on State of the Business

Deltek provides a great single source software solution for managing and running a medium to large size professional services firms such as those in the engineering and architectural fields. It is important that the platform be used as closely to "out-of-the-box" as possible. While the system is customizable, it is best to use the configurability capability of the system and avoid significant customization of the product to reduce future pain from updates and system fixes.

Pros

The Deltek Vision platform provides an "One-Source" integrated package for the Executive team to understand the state of the business which combines data from accounting, sales and business development, marketing intelligence, project management, resource planning and HR and staff information and management tools without the need to integrate separate software solutions. The developing mobile platform and apps will further enhance this platform solution.

Cons

Prior to the introduction and development of the iAccess portal, the systems were cumbersome and difficult to use for the user that did not spend a majority of their time in the Deltek Vision Portal. Those challenges are quickly being addressed as iAccess portal is further refined and developed.

User Profile

Joe

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

long implementation time, clunky

Pros

online time entry option is good but flawed expense reporting on the app is good

Cons

Plan on a 2 year implementation time if you have any customizations. The web interface is very clunky and requires a ton of menu click through to accomplish basic tasks. Doesn't seem to be setup to handle the volume of projects that we are trying to track in the system. error messages on time entry do not always pop up when submitting time so you end up with un-submitted time that you don't know about. searching for projects in time entry is difficult as the search does not always return the expected results even when everything has been setup correctly.

Reasons for switching to Deltek Maconomy

firm was looking for a better time/entry and project management system

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Maconomy User Review

Pros

Maconomy is a great program for any medium to large size company that deals with a wide range on clients. From the employee side, on Maconomy you're able to track jobs, track invoices, submit expenses, and do time sheets all in one platform. It's great since you're able to access so many resources all in one program.

Cons

I find that the overall look and interface of the software is very outdated and could use a refresh. Another con is that often times the software crashes, making you loose your progress and having to restart again.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Effective although old-fashioned

As an HR user, I register new users. Also, I use it for holidays management. It works fine but is not the most advanced and user-friendly software, for HR at least.

Pros

Very stable, complete, and customizable to the company.

Cons

It's not the best software for HR. Very poor performance. It requires some training and some experience to use it confidently.

Reasons for switching to Deltek Maconomy

To integrate all the business unit

Elizabeth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

My experience with Deltek Vision

I overall enjoy the product, and have enjoyed it for many years now. I do recommend this software for project based industries, but I would like to see some reporting enhancements and more customization features.

Pros

It's a one-stop-shop for project management and HR. There really isn't a need for other software programs, and minimizes the use of Excel. It's so easy to use that it's hard to use, but once you understand it's basic functionality, you pretty much understand the way the software works.

Cons

If there's an option that I want, like adding a new billing status, that is not easy to do. Report writing should be an option all of the time- there are very specific reports that I want and it's not easy to get that-I usually have to pull 3-4 reports, export into Excel and format myself. I don't want to have to active the cloud, learn SQL server/Vision studio and reporting, and upload to be able to get the report that I want. Other than those things, the software is brilliant.

Peter

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Integrated ERP

Pros

Maconomy's best feature is that we have one software for our back office meaning everything happens in real-time. It has proven to be an information powerhouse, giving us access to information that was outside our grasp in our legacy system. Due to Maconomy's core project management focus, we have gained better visibility on contribution margin. This has lead us to new initiatives to optimize leverage on client projects and fine tune realization.

Cons

With a system as customizable as Maconomy, the ideas may be endless but the time you need to devote to testing new upgrades can be taxing. However, Deltek has been great at walking us through new functionality and is always there as a resource to help us through any issues that arise.

Ashmit

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Great ERP software for Accouting Firms

Pros

Maconomy is an excellent ERP with all the modules built right into it. With its latest version, it is very easy for users to do billings and time entry. It also provides users with IT background to do their own extensions and make a modification to different workspace within Maconomy. It also has a built-in General Ledger feature where you can do all your financials from one place. Maconomy utilizes Business Objects as its reporting platform which makes it easier for users to get to the data they want in effieicnt manner.

Cons

Maconomy can be tricky to use sometime. Its a bit tough for the users without training to get used to all the different workspaces, modules and popups.

Margaret

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Great, easy to use software!

The software works well, and if you take advantage of the workshops and learning tools, it can do a myriad of tasking for you, with reporting at your fingertips.

Pros

I love the windows based functionality. The product works well for all company sizes. We use it for government contracting and it is easy to set up and maintain. The support services are very good and the experts typically know their stuff.

Cons

It's expensive, and you pay extra for the top level support. Training does not come with the software package so you have to take their classes (for an additional fee) or hire a consulting team. We went with a consultant. Next time, I'd go with Deltek...

Jill

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Not a functional Marketing Tool

In my position, I'm trying to use Vision as a Marketing Tool, and it simply does not work for that purpose. I'm hopeful the implementation of iAccess will solve some of our above mentioned issues, but right now this software is mainly beneficial as an accounting software.

Pros

With propoer training, it's not difficult to use. It keep all the information in one place, making it easier to locate.

Cons

1. Limited accessibility to retrieve/merge case studies and resumes 2. Not a user friendly Database – Hard to navigate 3. Outdated – has too many limitations (mobile apps, workflow) 4. No ability to track and categorized incoming leads for appropriate follow-up

Dana

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Senior Accountant Likes the Software

It's been a few years since I have used the software but from what I remember it was a great product.

Pros

There are so many different modules that can be set up and all used together to get reporting done accurately. I liked that the employees travel reports could be entered and reviewed. I liked all of the different options for what reports we could run. It has a lot of options you just have to figure out how to use the product to get the most out of it.

Cons

Setting up some of the modules was time consuming and a little difficult. Maybe a better training or a video could be done for hands on help.

Ola

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

My Deltek Review

Pros

I've been using this software for over 11 years for Accounting, Time sheets and Expense Reports. The system is easy to navigate and I only had to walk through the steps one time when showing a newbie how to navigate the system. I give it a thumbs up.

Cons

The only problem that i have discovered is that a few of our employees using the mobile app upload their receipts on their phone. that shows indicates its in the and there might be a glitch in the system that once it shows you have an attachment but when reviewing it i get an error message that there is no attachment to view.

Erin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Deltek in a nutshell

Pros

There's definitely some ease of use here, and reporting on large volumes of data has been pretty easy. As a super user, I do find the security and time configs to be very easy (new users are super easy to set up). I've yet to set up some automation, but I know that once I do, my job will get quite a bit easier!

Cons

I wish there were easier ways to configure some of the presets (like report outputs), and the ability to run audit reports in a more functional manner. Historical records would be great to have, if you want to use this fully as a system of record.

Brady

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Programmer/DBA/Appication Specialist

Pros

It's the standard by which most of the architecture world operates. Once put in place correctly with the right amount of resources it will remain stable. It covers all of our needs and continues to improve over time.

Cons

The primary product is still bound to the IE browser. For a large firm with lots of power users it requires a great deal of resources for it to work with any level of speed and reliability. There are many defects that are not corrected in new versions. It still looks boring and basic, very Windows 95.

Karen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

This product has made invoicing and project tracking a breeze!

I enjoy working with this software. It has made a huge impact on efficiency in our office. I have recommended to others and will continue to do so!

Pros

The software is user friendly and reporting is on point. The Project Command Center makes getting information on a project easy.

Cons

We have contracts with multiple tasks. Each task under a contract has to be entered into the system as a project. Which is fine because we need to track each task but it would be nice if we could track the contract as a whole too.

Terri

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Long time Ajera/Axium User

The software is becoming a little more layman friendly with widgets, etc. It is very helpful for project managers to be able to access their data easily.

Pros

The product is very robust and can be used from small firms to larger firms. Deltek purchased this software from Axium and appears to be improving the product vigorously.

Cons

The biggest con is the inability to split out closed jobs from the database. The database just continues to grow and grow and becomes a problem for server storage.

Nina

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

A users perspective

Overall, Deltek is an efficient tool for production of mass invoicing as is used in my department. If some of the data entry screens could be minimized and yet produce the same outcome, it would save time to focus on other tasks.

Pros

Extraction of invoices is quick and efficient. It is a tool that can be used throughout the entire accounting department.

Cons

There are too many screens for the set-up process for client invoicing. Some screens require the same information to be entered multiple times.

Michael

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Have been using and implementing Deltek for nearly 20 years. I have extensive experience in using it. Overall is a solid solution but does not compete with modern ERP such as oracle EBS, SAP, Netsuite etc.

Don't dislike but feel there are better solutions out there.

Pros

Good for government and institutions including NPO as well as government contractors. Been around for decades and has a good useage base and good name with users. Customer support is fair but. It great.

Cons

Old, lacks modern UI and true SaaS model. Does not play nice with Salesforce. Built for 20 years ago, not for today. Customer service and support needs a major overhaul.

Summer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Marketer looking for project details in Deltek

Pros

The software seems to be powerful. It combines project accounting, resource management, project management, time/expense management and business development in one product. Deltek is easily accessible in it's web-based format.

Cons

Too many places to look for the information that I need. Reports generated include far too much irrelevant information. Not NEAR user-friendly enough for 'general use'.

Steven

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Deltek Vision - The good and the bad

Pros

Vision is very user friendly. For accounting work, there are a lot of reporting options and customization. Also, being able to export reports into Microsoft excel or a PDF is very helpful. Interactive Billing is also a great tool.

Cons

Even with all of the customization, sometimes there are too many options to choose from. It makes it tedious sometimes to get to the right options for reports.

Showing 1 - 25 of 59 reviews
Deltek Maconomy

Deltek Maconomy

3.94/5 out of 59 reviews
Learn More