User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

All Open Campground Reviews

1-12 of 12 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Sherry

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

OPEN CAMPGROUND...is the Best for Small Campgrounds.

I never have double bookings any more with this system. Love being able to easily send update emails or reminder emails, which is handy when folks book a month or two or more in advance. LOVE LOVE the group reservation. So handy since I have many groups a year reserving 10 or more sites. The fact the Norm is only as far away as my computer keyboard - he is so quick to answer/resolve any issues I am confronted with. He can fix anything.

Pros

1. Ease of entering data 2. Ease of setting up rates, etc. 3. Ease of adjusting it to fit my needs 4. Quick responses from Norm when I have a question. 5. Love using CardConnect for my credit card processing.

Cons

I have no cons regarding Open Campground, now after three years I've got it totally figured out and working for me efficiently.

David

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Campground Reservation Management

I am now able to generate reports that I wanted and needed and I have a database in the cloud for my campers. This makes repeat reservations much easier to make!

Pros

This is the perfect product for campgrounds that want a simple but effective Reservation software. It is easy to learn and to use. The price is also affordable unlike most software packages that want a fee plus a percentage of your site rental.

Cons

I am still learning the product but am very happy overall.

Reasons for choosing Open Campground

Price and simplicity are the two main reasons!

Response from Open Campground

Thank you for your great review.

Replied July 2022

Love

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

May 2015

Good program overall

The main PRO for Open Campground is cost. From there it is ease of use. It does all of the basics you need for a small park. There are some CONS however. Some of the reports don't work like they should and managing measured add-ons is problematic. The one CON that makes the software almost unusable is the inability to extend a stay beyond a single day at a time. This is a major flaw. You are able to set up rates based on one day, one week or one month but the only increment the software allows is one day at a time. So if you have a camper that comes in for a week and then decides to stay three more days, as an example, you have to do it one day at a time. Worse yet, if you have a special rate for a weeks stay and the camper decides to stay another week the software will not allow you to extend the stay at that rate even day by day. So you have check the guest out and then do a whole new reservation for the additional week. This flaw also applies to monthly stays as well. So if you have a park full of guests that want to extend their stay beyond one day you are stuck doing hours of work checking out and checking back in guests! Other than that, it does what it does and for the price, well, it has its uses. However, over time the hours required to do all of the extra work for stay extensions may justify spending the crazy prices for other campground software packages.

Response from Open Campground

The extend button is not the only way to extend a stay. One can simply 'show' the reservation and change the dates of the stay. The extend button is only intended for a one or two day extension. You do not have to do a new reservation to change the dates of the reservation.

Replied May 2015

Lynette

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Exceptional product!

Very inexpensive, Easy to set up, easy to use and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is great to work with!

Pros

This software is easy to set up and use.

Cons

There is nothing about this product I dislike.

Reasons for switching to Open Campground

Not user friendly

Robert

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

September 2021

Misty Mountains Park on Open Campground

Made me realize I needed to make a change. I like RoverPass

Pros

Inexpensive, quite easy to use for hosts not really "computer savvy."

Cons

Not cloud based; Opencamground is probably fine for the traditional "mom and pop" RV Park, but it was not adequate for Misty Mountains Park.

Reasons for choosing Open Campground

n/a

Response from Open Campground

You were using the local version of the system. It is also available in the cloud with the advantages that presents

Replied September 2021

Brian

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

September 2015

saved our butts

We are a co-op mobile home/RV park with 100 homes and 38 RV sites. Managing the RV part was a disaster on paper waiting to happen. We started using camp hosts, which worked great to take off the extra load on our office person. Problem, was every camphost changed/modified our paper system. Going with Norm was fab. Solved our problems with having staff quoting correct prices, finding spaces, being able to describe sites etc. Norm has been great, making minor changes to his program to better fit our needs.

Mike

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

August 2015

Try it, you'll like it!

Great program. Easy to learn. Great service! Quick response to questions. Cloud based. Access from anywhere to see whats happening even if we are away. Does everything we require. Easy to turn functions on and off depending on what you require. Prints a nice receipt for our guests with our logo and other information. Priced for smaller parks like ours. Developer always listening to the users and making improvements at no charge. We are a 50 site park and this is our third season using it.

Jon

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2015

Exceptional Value

While I don't have experience with other campground software, Open Campground has worked very well for us. It has helped us increase sales and with their management of the server, has been absolutely hassle free. The ease of use and remote access on computer and phone has allowed us to have an online reservation system without high costs. Customer service is just an email away. My only issues have been of my own making.

David

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

August 2015

Great basic reservation software

After having used costly software at a much larger campground, I was very happy to find Open Campground. Ours is only 80 sites, with about 1/2 seasonals, but we do have a variety of rates by site type, season and mid-week vs weekend, and the software allows for all of that. As with any program, there are times I need to over-ride a rate, but that is quick and easy. I have had a few minor issues along the way, but the best part is that ANY TROUBLE I have had has been resolved very quickly after emailing the designer. I get a rapid response, and it is corrected shortly thereafter. We have used the cloud based system, and just started taking the on-line reservations this year. Feel free to use the demo program to the full extent, so you can see what you are able to do. Would strongly recommend this program for other campgrounds.

Jill

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

December 2015

Great for our small campground.

We have a small rv park, just 30 sites, so when I started researching software, I was shocked at how expensive they all were. Plus some charged per reservation. We simply couldn't afford it and it didn't make sense. Through research I came across open campground. It is inexpensive, works fine for our needs, and Norm is great at customer service. Sure, it's not perfect, but what software is and he keep improving it. I don't have experience with other reservations software but I'm sure they all have things you wish were a little different. For the price, I'll take this!

Nick

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2016

A Lifesaver!

Able to fully customise to suit our tent campsite requirements, (we charge by the person not by the space). Norm always ready to solve any problem or make any changes we need. Have used this software for several years and could not run the business without it. Fantastic Value, Easy to Use, All the features you need. Great Help.

John

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2016

Easy to use and fun

We are a very small RV park only 28 spaces. This software is easy to use and fun to set-up. Has some limits but I am able to do workarounds. As the owner/operator I wear many hats including the IT portion. I can only praise this software for how it works and looks. Great Stuff!

Response from Open Campground

Thanks for the review!

Replied January 2017

Showing 1 - 12 of 12 reviews