All WhenToWork Reviews

1-25 of 110 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Greg

Higher Education, 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

Reviewed January 2022

It's an Ugly Scheduling Tool that works rather well

User Profile

Malecia

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Working Made Easy

For as long as I've been working I've enjoyed this scheduling software the best and that says a lot because I've come across a lot.

PROS

It is so easy to use and very effective. I love the fact that if a shift needs to be dropped everyone (if opted in) can see that a shift has been offered up and whomever can take it. It's like a working mass text platform.

CONS

I actually have no bad things to say about this software and feel as though every company should use it or at least test it out for effectiveness in their scheduling methods.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

WhenToWork Scheduling Software

Overall I am happy with W2W. I would recommend to others because it is so easy to use.

PROS

All of our student staff (approx. 120) use WhenToWork to schedule, set preferences, trade shifts, and request time off. What I like most is the ease of use. Our staff are quick to pick up how it works. The preferences portion of W2W is most important to our operation. The students will simply block areas they are unable to work and show areas in green that they are unable to work. This helps the pro staff avoid scheduling conflicts.

CONS

WhenToWork has not changed much over the past few years, although it may not have to. What I like least about the software is that it does not have a timeclock function. A simple clock in/out function would help the pro staff compare when the staff were scheduled to work and when they actually worked.

Kevin

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2017

Not keeping up

We have been using W2W for more than five years, we just switched to a different scheduling platform that has provided what W2W has not. the platform works ok, but its old and clunky. It's taken way too long to get an actual app that works for phones and tablets. Compared to many other scheduling software companies W2W feels like opening a spreadsheet in 1997 compared to today's modern scheduling platforms.

PROS

It was a reasonable starter program especially when there were fewer options. If functions fine.

CONS

Compared to other platforms, for the cost, others are integrating and innovating better and providing more bang for the buck. Others are also offering additional companion software/apps that can work with their scheduling software.

Amanda

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Best scheduling software out there!

I have used When to Work for about 6 years. It started just online, but now that there is an app, it makes like EASY!

PROS

This software is so easy to use! It is the best thing that has happened to scheduling. All I do, is download the app to my phone and I can see my schedule and who is also working. Working for a company with 3 hotels, this makes communication easy. You can send a message to anyone on your team so you don't have to give your phone number out to everyone. Your boss can also post a message to everyone to see too. Now there is no excuse for someone to say "Oh I didn't know I had to work" because it is literally on your phone that you look at everyday!

CONS

There really isn't anything that I don't like about When to Work. I think it's great!

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Use this for staff scheduling and organizational flow.

Our scheduling would suffer greatly without this software. I like the mobility benefits that allow for use on a hand held device.

PROS

This software is very simple to use and efficient. I find that it easy to search for staff member by name, position, or telephone number. It is also very easy to export lists for email and other communications.

CONS

I think that when a shift has been "picked up" pending approval it should let others know that there are already a bid to pick it up, often there are five to six people trying to pick up the same shift when one is on the trade board.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Great software

Great experience! Helps me keep organized and prepare for my shifts.

PROS

My organization uses this software to send out schedules and keep track of our hours. I love it. It always tells me how many hours a week I am working and I can also see everyone else's schedule. It also allows me to see what area I will be working before I even get to work so I can prepare.

CONS

The mobile app has a few difficulties. Unless I'm just looking up my schedule or see who else is working, I do everything else on the desktop version.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Great for Scheduling and Communication!

Pretty positive, very user-friendly and though it doesn't have a ton of extra features it does exactly what we need it to do.

PROS

This product makes it easy to communicate schedules, open shifts, and any changes to the schedule without having to send a million emails.

CONS

Setting up and changes schedules can be tedious and can take a lot of steps.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

This is a wonderful tool for employee scheduling!

PROS

We have been using this for years now and it is an invaluable tool. The employees are able to log in themselves to view schedules, request time off, send messages, etc. It has saved us countless hours of work and paper!

CONS

There really is not anything negative to be said about this software

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Simple Employee Scheduling

PROS

Ease of employee management and scheduling. Mobile website. Allows employees to switch shifts with each other in a controlled environment.

CONS

Slightly dated and clunky interface, with no mobile application.

Preston

Museums and Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Use it daily

PROS

I love the ease of access with this program. Makes building staffing schedules very quick and easy. The interface is very user friendly as well.

CONS

I wish there was a way to be able to see all recipients on messages. There are times that staff members will message me and I forward the message to someone else who tells me that they already received the message,

Peter

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Essential to The Busy Workplace

PROS

I must say that the ease of use of this software and the mobility that it allows one to have is incredible. To be able to create an entire schedule for the staff at the office and the ability for them to review and approve their schedules remotely from their smartphones make this scheduling software a must for any workplace environment that requires people to be on the move constantly. Staff can also request time off, check compensation time balances and also send messages to each other in order to get shifts covered.

CONS

The only thing that I can say that I do not like about this software of ease of use when replacing someone on a shift. It can be a little confusing so you do have to pay extra attention to making sure someone is placed in the correct category.

Sarah

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Best Software that I have ever bought

I have been using When2Work for 4 years now. Prior to that, we used excel spreadsheets. This product has greatly decreased the time it takes to produce a schedule, and the headache of distributing the schedule to all employees. This product put the responsibility of scheduling on the employee, not the manager. I sincerely mean it when I say this product has increased my productivity and decreased my frustration. My employees love it as well. They can swap shifts, put in time off requests and message each other.

PROS

Price, Easy of use Customer support Functionality

CONS

The messages that you send to your employees do not automatically save, instead they disappear after 1 month.

Chris

Computer Networking, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Works for scheduling

It works good for basic scheduling and remote viewing and allows people to bid on shifts that are open.

PROS

I can see my schedule remotely. It lets me know where to be and when. i also know who I will be working with and who will be working at other locations.

CONS

It doesn't let me easily see openings so I can pick up time where I want to. I shows openings but not necessarily where they are. I don't want to take a shift if its too far away or with someone I don't mesh with and I have to "do the math" to figure out where its and who with.

Natalie

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Whentowork Review

I love it! Works great for our needs. Employees can see there schedule immediately. They can request off, trade shifts, etc all from their phone. When working with teenagers this help there be no excuse about “not knowing”. We love using it!

PROS

I love how easy it is to use for me and my employees. It’s easy for them to schedule off, trade shifts, as well as for me to see that too.

CONS

I wish there could be more communication between employees other than the messenger board.

Alissa

Recreational Facilities and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great tool for scheduling

It's been pretty great so far. I really cannot complain.

PROS

I love how easy it is to use and how useful it is overall. It sends reminders too, which is super helpful.

CONS

It's great, but I do not like the mobile version of WhenToWork. There have been times where I have needed to update my availability on the go, through my phone, and couldn't.

Sean

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Top Notch Customer Service and Tech Support

I reached out to customer support after one of my users was having issues looking at the web based application on her new phone. Since she was so used to accessing through the website on her old phone, switching to the app was a bit of a challenge. The text visually was not how it appeared on her browser previously. I contact support and they were able to resolve the issue when it would have been easier to just make us use the app. I appreciate their willingness to accommodate us greatly.

PROS

Easy way to manager numerous employees in different group with at one time.

CONS

I don't really have a con. I don't use this product as much as people managers in my company, and I know they have been pleased overall.

Kathy

Museums and Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Employee Friendly

PROS

The phone app for this program is great. It has all the tools I need to check my schedule, submit time off requests, and send messages to my managers.

CONS

Getting set up on the program is a bit confusing. Linking multiple accounts isn't as straightforward as I'd like.

Donna

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Love this employee scheduling program

PROS

My staff loves having their schedule available at their fingertips . Very user friendly

CONS

I have no complaints . It’s very easy to use

Bruce

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT