All Altar Live Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jonathan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Very Good

They listen to our feature quests and are genuinely interested in making AltarLive better.

PROS

The AltarLive team is responsive to feature requests and really know the needs of churches for online ministry.

CONS

The Apple App doesn't work well in landscape mode.

Reason for choosing Altar Live

AltarLive offers the same functions and is easy to use.

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

It has all the features of Zoom plus more that fit churches and ministries.

Andy

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

This is the way online church should be in 2022

Wonderful. I find the team supportive and helpful and responsive, and I really like what they have developed.

PROS

That there can be interaction between attendees.

CONS

Some of the technology issues. We had issues with streaming, and in the beginning there were some issues with the video chat function. I’m eagerly awaiting the custom sized tables function.

Reason for choosing Altar Live

It’s made for churches.

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

Because Zoom has some distinct disadvantages for churches.

Elizabeth

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2021

Experimenting

Mostly positive

PROS

Allows members to "go to church" from the comfort of their home.

CONS

It's not intuitive for many members to name themselves and take a seat. Most stay un-named and "stand" and don't participate in chat

Reason for choosing Altar Live

Interactivity of attendees

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

Hoped people would interact more with each other

Dave

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

The Bells and Whistles of online church

PROS

There are so may features that Altar live provides to help make online church feel exactly like that...church online. From rows to sit with your friends to tables to sit together in the lobby.

CONS

There definitely is a learning curve. I am still adjusting to the fact that it is a little more complex (because it can do so much more).

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

Better features; more opportunities to use this product.

Bryan

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Couldn't be happier!!

I couldn't be happier with my experience. The development team is reachable and will work with you to make integrating Altar Live a success!

PROS

I have been an Altar Live user for over 6 months. Our digital congregation considered Zoom, Facebook Live, Youtube, and other means of hosting worship but did not feel that any other product provided the features that Altar does.

CONS

Honestly, there were some limitations when it first came out, but the development team has worked closely with users and continuously makes updates based on user needs and experiences. There are some users that have difficulty with technology and have had challenges using Altar Live, but the users would probably have challenges with other software as well.

Sharon

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2021

Altar Live Review

Quite frustrating. We have stayed with it, as we want to support this type of platform as we see its value longterm. The Altar Live staff have been very supportive, quick to respond. They have honestly been one of the reasons we have stayed with Altar Live.

PROS

That our congregation can interact during a worship service.

CONS

Very unstable. Many of our users have had trouble logging onto the platform.

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

We liked that Altarlive was more interactive.

Joel

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Dynamic platform for engaging online participants

The folks at Altar Live have been responsive and super helpful. They have been a delight to work with.

PROS

The responsive developers at Altar Live have created a product that makes it possible for us to engage our remote participants in real community. We have found it to be a flexible and intuitive tool for discipling people, empowering small group leaders, facilitating conversation, and enjoying real interaction. We love Altar Live!

CONS

Initially I found some of the constraints (four people in a row, for instance) to be an irritating challenge. But those "constraints" became features as we creatively adapted to the medium and the ongoing improvements to the software have made it easier to do that. Now I'm grateful for those things.

Reason for choosing Altar Live

Using Altar Live with our preferred live stream platform (streamyard) gave us the most potential interactivity by being able to incorporate participants on the participation end through streamyard, while involving participants on the experience end through Altar Live.

Chloe

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Innovative platform to engage and build relationships virtually

PROS

We began hosting worship online after pandemic began. We originally streamed via Facebook, which was great visibility, but did not seem like a sustainable solution. Now that we are able to gather again in person with precautions, Altar Live has allowed us to continue engaging those who can only access worship from home (due to their geographical location, traveling, health, etc.). Different from social media platforms, Altar Live allows us to virtually sit with one another and share camera/ audio. At first I wasn't sure how this would feel, but have found this feature to be a beautiful way to build community across distance and time. I now know and have worshipped with people who I have yet to meet in person. It's hard to navigate this time of in-person/ virtual, but Altar Live (and their awesome team) are working hard to find creative solutions.

CONS

The primary challenge with Altar Live is that it is a new type of platform that people have to learn. I've found it very easy to navigate; however, in order to participate in the chat and to sit with others, people need to sign in. It's simple and easy to do, but I think it may feel like a barrier to some people. I think it's a growing edge and the support team has offered tips on how to deepen engagement with those who choose to log in and participate more actively online.

Ashley

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Altar Live Great for Church Online

I really love this program. I love the goal of it. I love the overlapping functionality of it. I think it has a ton of potential and I’m looking forward to watching it grow more.

PROS

I love that it creates space for people to see each other and interact over audio and video online for church. It makes the experience a much less isolating one.

CONS

The chat feature could be a bit better. I wish I could add someone else to a chat after I’ve created it. I wind up having extra chats going because someone joins late and i want to include them in a conversation. For example - we make a chat for all of our greeters and if I miss someone, we have to make a new chat but I can’t delete the old chat. I’d also love if there was a tab that only greeters can see that we can add notes too for them.

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

We liked the option to video chat while watching online and the group room functionality.

Michelle

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

We love Altar Live

We have only used Altar Live for one week and being able to engage participants is a game-changer for us. Our online broadcast was primarily on Facebook and it was so limiting - some people aren't on Facebook, those that are on are hesitant to comment for the entire world to see. Altar Live allows for confidential conversations when there is a need, but also public meeting new people in the lobby after the service.

PROS

Love the ability to choose a seat and have a conversation with someone in the sanctuary. Also appreciate the lobby where you can label tables for people to have somewhere to ask questions.

CONS

Would like for set-up to be a bit more intuitive. The videos are good but it feels like it is still a bit clunky on the setting up people's roles and also events.

Reason for choosing Altar Live

additional features that allow for engagement

Daniel

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2022

Review

Overall is experience good. During technical difficulties we had people step in and assist even on the weekends.

PROS

I love that people can come in and select a virtual seat. I love the fact that after church services people can interact with one another. It's affordable and easy to access.

CONS

I don't like that once the event is over people can't go back and have access to the event. It has several glitches that takes you in and out of the service.

Joshua

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2021

Good, but maybe not there yet.

Love the concept, but found it lore Difficult to use and a lot of people ended up tuning off, running a zoom Call and steaming from YouTube separately.

PROS

The idea and concept is great. The design is nice. The functionality, if administered properly, is great in terms of being able to receive stream from different platforms. The people splitting up into smaller, virtual rooms is cool too!

CONS

In our context, it felt there were too many hurdles for users at home to jump through until they could use it. The room function was a bit frustrating. Would prefer if the altar experience was led more by an administrator type facilitator that was the one who who had the capability to be sorting people into their rooms rather than people picking and choosing.

Tyler

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Helped us with our online groups

PROS

This helped us save money and create one streamlined option for our digital church small groups and events to meet. It is one easy link to send out for all participants to join.

CONS

Saying and explaining the name to other users has been a bit of a challenge. Overall, this company responds great to feedback and feature use.

Reasons for switching to Altar Live

Price and ease

Jay

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Great Program for Small Groups

PROS

I love all the features of Altar Live. Especially the ability to have organized break-out rooms and the ability to assign hosts to those tables prior to meeting. Altar is easy to get started and to get people to sign up and register within the correct community. Excited to see what's ahead for Altar. My ministry excels greatly with this software and we plan on using it for years to come.

CONS

One feature I would like for Altar to provide is the ability to record meetings so others can watch them on demand if they miss the session. I am sure they will have this capability soon. Love the Altar team.

John

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

A Great Kingdom Resource

Altar Live has been a God-send in this pandemic environment. It has allowed us an opportunity to put a new face on an existing way of our church viewing virtually. The product, customer service, and overall experience with Altar Live have been nothing short of amazing!

PROS

The features of Altar Live are very intuitive and are not difficult to train or teach. Our church volunteers love the training guides and tutorials that accompany the product!

CONS

While we have thoroughly enjoyed Altar Live, we anxiously await more APIs for the software. We would love to keep integrating existing tools into the processes we already utilize.

Chan

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Change of pace for virtual worship

Overall, we've liked our experience thus far with Altar Live. It has allowed us to produce a good quality livestream while maintaining some semblance of interactivity in worship.

PROS

We had previously been using a combination of a YouTube livestream and Zoom for our Sunday services in order to get an interactive feel to worship, but AltarLive allows us to combine that on one platform.

CONS

It seems that some of our users have experienced computers slowing down after some time on AltarLive. My best guess is that it might take a decent amount of RAM to get everything running.

Bevis

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Altar Review

We are a music school and Altar Live is acting as our Virtual Performance Center. We will soon be switching from our current software that allows us to have virtual music classes to Altar live as well as we are currently testing.

PROS

I like the virtual performance center look and feel. I also like the tables and rooms.

CONS

I would like to have more hosting features and to be able to invite someone to the stage to present. Ability to share documents from your computer and whiteboard features.

Reason for choosing Altar Live

It started with the look for me.

Justine

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY