All SlideDog Reviews

1-25 of 87 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mike

Religious Institutions, 11 - 50 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2023

SlideDog is the Dawg!

User Profile

DG Garcia

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Slidedog is the perfect presentation software for you!

PROS

The slidedog helps me a lot in terms of my presentation in school, in discussion and even in our church worship services. Slidedog provides easy presentation features such as its video support, audio file management, screen sharing, and multiple screen that helps me in many ways.

CONS

Slidedog seems to be a perfect app for me.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, DG Garcia! Glad to hear that SlideDog is useful for your school and worship activities.

Replied June 2022

Joe

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Slidedog is a valuable tool for Ministry.

I and my wife help lead worship at our church. I started using this software six years ago for our Contemporary service on Sunday afternoons. We have expanded using it during Covid lockdown and after for our morning Traditional service since we could not use hymnals or printed bulletins when Covid first hit our area, so we projected the readings, prayers, and announcements on a video screen instead which was safer for everybody. At first, the older generation was not a big fan of changing how the traditional service was done but after a while, they accepted it and even look forward to it as we can show wonderful religious graphics which enhances the service and understanding of what is being preached and taught. We also now use it during Bible Study groups. We also live-stream our church service so now that the bulletin is projected the people at home can watch and follow along as the words are on the screen. The morning service is also recorded, submitted, and shown on our local Public Broadcasting TV channel. Slidedog is a valuable tool for Ministry.

PROS

I like Slidededog because it can support all kinds of media files, and it is easy to load and rearrange slides within a presentation, which I do often.

CONS

I use the Free version, although I have tried the Pro Version. BUT, the free version has a limit of 100 slides per presentation, and for long church services sometimes I need to use more than 100 slides so end up using two computers each with Slidedog on them each with half the service presentation on it and switch the cord to our projector in the middle of church service. This is less than optimum but workable. I did try the Pro version as I wanted the feature to be able to live-stream the worship service but some video files would not work when I tried this, so we went back to the Free Version and used another streaming option.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your detailed review and comments, Joe! I'm going to investigate the one hundred slides per PowerPoint limitation. That sounds more of an unintentional limit than a deliberate one. Cool workaround you found, nonetheless. It would be interesting to know what live streaming solution you are using together with SlideDog. Maybe it's something we can recommend to our other users as well?

Replied June 2022

arnoud

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

Nearly impossible to buy the live time version

limentation off the trial version is a problem

PROS

trail version let me use only small posibles featurs

CONS

I like the easy way of creating a presentation

Reason for choosing SlideDog

Yes

Vendor Response

Hi Arnoud. Thank you for the review. I'm not really sure what you mean by "Nearly impossible to buy the live time version". I assume you mean "Lifetime"? It's listed on our pricing page - https://slidedog.com/pricing/

Replied June 2022

Luis

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Slide Dog great alternative for multi format content on presentations

Slide Dog is a great product. Provides a good solution when presenting with different types of files. Layout should be improved.

PROS

I think the best feature of SlideDog is that is supports several types of files. PPT, PDF, images (PNG, JPG), video files... etc. and that you can create a linear playlist of different content. Second monitor option is great. I believe ProPresenter or QLab dont support PPT files.

CONS

Layout can be improved. On the playlist font size is too small and scroll bars are too narrow. It is hard to see where the scroll bar is located on an advanced presentation. You should improve layout of the playlist, also evaluate implementing some kind of layer or overlay feature. When using the second monitor option, main monitor screen refreshes too late when changing a slide, causing confusion to the user. I wonder if the "Load Presentation" functionality can work different. So changes can be made on the way and not "Unloading the presentation" first.

Reason for choosing SlideDog

Capacity to create a linear playlist or timeline of different types of content PPT, PDF, images (PNG, JPG), video files, ... etc.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Luis. You have a lot of valid points, but I'm not sure what you mean by "When using the second monitor option, main monitor screen refreshes too late when changing a slide, causing confusion to the user". The live view of the 2nd screen on the primary screen should be instant and real-time. Isn't that the case on your computer?

Replied June 2022

Lisa

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Excellent programme and customer service.

SlideDog has enabled to give me a professional edge to my presentations and making it super easy. The company is one that cares about each customer and I believe goes above and beyond, no matter who the customer is.

PROS

As a childrens' worker I wanted a programme that would allow me to incorporate videos, pictures and powerpoints as a seamless presentation. SlideDog did exactly what I wanted it to, I love the drag and drop feature for adding the different elements. Over time there were several problems as new versions came out but problems were quickly solved according to my specific problems- customer service is very personal and excellent.

CONS

The only downside I had was the difficulties I had incorporating it with Zoom over lockdown but this may have been to my lack of skills.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Lisa. Happy to hear that SlideDog helps making your presentations seamless. SlideDog should work out-of-the-box with video conference software like Zoom and Teams, but there are a couple of pitfalls to avoid. Firstly, one must make sure to share the whole screen and not an individual app, secondly, using the 2-screen mode makes it a lot easier to manage SlideDog alongside Zoom or Teams, as you don't have multiple apps fighting for being the "top-most" application window. We should probably write a blog post about this. Thanks for reminding us! :-)

Replied April 2021

Gary

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Single use license for computer change or no internet;

Used for a year then bitten by a archaic policy that will literally cost them nothing.

PROS

It's handy to use so many formats - like that a lot. Nice controls.

CONS

Given the price, using only one computer for a license is ticky-tacky these days. Inconsistent with other software. I had a computer go down or have trouble a couple of years ago ad they offered nothing but deactivate. Sure - how? Name a big company who doesn't offer a second or backup use when not used at the same time. So - when I have no internet, or a computer breaks, or has troubles, please allow them to ruin an important presentation. Success on your part. Nothing was offered to help me out. When this happens an hour beforehand, it's disappointing. Software is nice, but policy is questionable.

Vendor Response

Hi Gary, thank you for your review. We changed our licensing model in February, 2021 (see https://slidedog.com/blog/updates-to-slidedog-pricing/) and sent out an email to all our newsletter subscribers that Pro customers got an extra activation for free, effectively allowing them to use SlideDog Pro on two computers simultaneously. We saw the need for this in situations like the one you described and I'm sorry that this change in policy didn't occur earlier, while you still were a SlideDog Pro customer. Feel free to contact me (Dag) directly for a returning customer discount. Would love to have you back on board!

Replied April 2021

Jeff

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Slidedog for Cable TV

PROS

Slidedog was a great solution for our cable tv channel. Other options we looked at were more complicated and expensive. We have used the software for years without issue.

CONS

No complaints now that you brought back lifetime license

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Jeff! Would love to hear more about how you use SlideDog for your cable TV channel!

Replied May 2021

Efrayim

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Excellent product

We have been customers for years and have consistently been impressed. We purchased the lifetime package and are happy with that decision each time we use it.

PROS

During school presentations we would often like to combine multiple assets into one seamless production. Slidedog allowed us that flexibility without compromising in what we were able to include.

CONS

There are a few things I feel could be improved: the web remote is a little glitchy, no support for GIFs, and occasionally, rarely, an audio issue with video files.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Efrayim! Happy to hear that SlideDog provides value for your school presentations! Would love to know more about the occasional glitches with the web remote that you mention, and if this is something you've experienced lately (in 2021).

Replied April 2021

Joseph

Religious Institutions, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Rock solid

I don't use the fancy features. I just want to reliably get the slide show up there (slides and video clips).

PROS

Rock solid presentations with no glitches or embarrassing technical problems, whether slides or video clips.

CONS

Cannot just copy a folder containing scripts to a new computer and have it work, even though all the folders and files are duplicated on the new computer. For each script, you need to reload each slide or video into the slide dog script again. (Maybe that's why it is so rock solid?)

Reason for choosing SlideDog

More reliable video clip presentations

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Joseph! Glad to hear that SlideDog has been rock solid for you these years!

Replied June 2022

User Profile

Hannah

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Cool features and simple to use

SlideDog is a handy, simple tool to make presenting easier and run smoother. There are some really cool, interactive and useful features that it offers.

PROS

-It's a pretty intuitive design. Even on my first use, it was pretty easy to figure out where everything is. -The interactive features are awesome. You can super easily create a poll, or ask an open ended question for doing a live presentation (audience gets a link and can participate) -I really appreciate that you can put a web-page into the slideshow and access it without leaving your slides. Super convenient and makes the presentation process go a lot smoother -You can download your slideshow to a Powerpoint file. I haven't used this feature myself, so I'm not sure how it affects some of the more interactive functionality, but still a nice option. -I like that you have the option to either automatically advance or click through your slides -Cool that there's mobile integration!

CONS

-The software ran really slow on my computer. Although the interface is simple, it feels a bit clunky and dated. -In my opinion, it would make more sense for this be a web-based program rather than one to download on your computer due to the live-presentation nature. I prefer to use web-based software for things like this.

Pawan

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Easy to use and rock the presentation

Easy to use , easy to present anything , variety of content, and just loved the product.

PROS

Presentations which I had made with it are rocking. The clients loved the Presentations. It is actually due to ease of use of this software and rocking features.

CONS

Till now I didn't got any hard problem. If I get sometimes, then also I get it easily solved by Customer support. Thanks to them...

Reason for choosing SlideDog

Slidedog seemed to be more easier than others and also the features attracted me.

Vendor Response

Thanks Pawan! Glad to hear you enjoy using SlideDog for your presentations!

Replied June 2022

Scott

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Does what it says.

PROS

The ability to stick nearly any type of presentation (ppt, video, web page, audio, graphic) into a playlist and not have to switch between applications is great. It is super easy to use and very intuitive. We have not had it crash on us a single time and we use it a minimum of twice a week for Sunday morning worship.

CONS

My biggest con is that you can't control how many ppt slides that you can preview in the playlist. When playing a ppt you can only see the next slide and I haven't been able to figure out any way around that. Secondly, if you have a ppt that automatically changes slides, slidedog has to be the "active" window, otherwise slides don't change.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Scott! And thank you for sharing that experience regarding the number of slides you can preview, plus the thing about slide timings in PowerPoint in SlideDog. We should probably make that thing clearer to the end users.

Replied June 2022

Aaron

Chemicals, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Meets my application as initially envisioned

PROS

Easy to install, easy to manipulate playlists, almost instant customer service

CONS

Did not encounter any after initial installation and fine tuning to my need

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Aaron!

Replied June 2022

Diego

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Professional Level Presentations!

SlideDog was the perfect solution to presenting slideshows, videos, placeholders, and just making our events have a level of professionalism that simply just did not exist prior to finding it.

PROS

I love the fact that you are able to use multiple types of media from different sources. Absolutely love the customization that I can bring to my presentations and events.

CONS

Wish I could use three screens instead of being limited to two screens.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Diego! In the lastest version of SlideDog, you can actually use it with three screens :-)

Replied May 2021

Sandy

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Glad this product exists!

The customer service is EXCELLENT. When one feature was not working as expected, I submitted a help ticket. The developer communicated quickly and effectively, found the bug, and issued the software update within days. As of this writing (1/22/21), this product has someone actively maintaining it and providing the best customer service I could ask for.

PROS

1. I can navigate my presentation from one screen while seeing what the viewers see on my other screen. Being new to doing online trainings for clients, this was hugely important to me. 2. I can insert a website into my presentation and the viewers only see the website content, not my entire screen full of way too many tabs, my bookmarks bar, etc. 3. No worries about viewers seeing my desktop image while I navigate between powerpoints, websites, etc.

CONS

The user interface isn't as polished as some software, however this is only what I see and what I care about is what my clients see.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review Sandy! Glad the software update made things work for you. Don't hesitate to contact us again if you encounter any other issues or have questions regarding SlideDog :-)

Replied January 2021

L John

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Old Faithful

It is fast and easy to deploy For events large and small

PROS

Ease of use and speed to set up and supports most media formats

CONS

Only Drawback at the moment is lack of NDI Integration

Vendor Response

Thank you, John! Maybe NDI Screen Capture is something to look into?

Replied June 2022

Mackenzie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Perfect for outdoor services

Awesome customer service to get me what I needed

PROS

The ease of our people able to see our worship lyrics and scriptures on their phones

CONS

I wish I could use it on my Mac. No slide limit would be nice too. A bigger preview before playing too.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review Mackenzie!

Replied May 2021

Mark

Religious Institutions, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY