Planning Center by Ministry Centered Technologies is a suite of cloud-based applications that are used to support team leaders and members in planning, scheduling and managing church programs and events. The solution’s “Services” module supports tools to keep media organized. Users can upload and tag media and files to locate the right song or video for your service, then schedule and stay in contact with team members overseeing or participating in that service.

Planning Center provides a “Resources” module that allows leaders to reserve rooms and publish event calendars to manage church resources. The events, rooms and resources have their own calendar feed that syncs with calendar programs, including Outlook, iCal and Google Calendar, to remove scheduling conflicts. Calendar feeds can also be set up to display on kiosks, so church members can see upcoming events displayed on tablets, touchscreens and televisions in common areas.

Planning Center offers multiple packages and price levels to fit faith-based organizations of different sizes.



487 Reviews of Planning Center

Overall rating

4.65 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 487 reviews

January 2019

marissa from york university

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

planning center review

Pros

i like how it plans out a couple of weeks or months in advance so i know when i am scheduled for something

Cons

no training is really offered except for videos online which are a bit long

January 2019

Chelsea from Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

I am thankful for Planning Center!

Pros

As a user, I appreciate being able to see when I am scheduled for events, being able to block out dates, connect with people, and look up songs.

Cons

I do wish I could add my Planning Center schedule to my Google Calendar from the app, but overall, the software covers our small church needs.

Response from Planning Center of Ministry Centered Technologies

Replied January 2019

Hi Chelsea! Thank you so much for your honest review and kind words! As far as your Google Calendar is concerned, you should be able to link to it from the Services app. If you are unable to, make sure you email in to our Support Team through the Help menu in the app. We'd love to help you troubleshoot any issues you are running into!

January 2019

Mark from Family Life Assembly of God

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Great for Scheduling

Pros

The scheduling function for people is the best feature!

Cons

I wish the price breakdown didn't start at 400 people.

Response from Planning Center of Ministry Centered Technologies

Replied January 2019

Hi Mark. Thanks for taking the time to write us an honest review. We just wanted to touch base to clarify that while we do have a 400 Team Members plan for the Services app, we do also have a 25, 50, or 150 Team Members plan as well.

January 2019

John from Providence Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

The Absolute Standard

Planning Center is the best CRM software for the price. It manages all areas of your ministry extremely well.

Pros

Planning Center is the perfect software for churches to use to manage service planning, member databases, finances, and more. It is the most feature-rich CRM of its type, and the bang for the buck is incredible.

Cons

There aren't many cons to Planning Center. The one you have to watch is that the price goes up as you grow and add modules.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2019

Great for Service Planning, Still Growing

Pros

The services feature is excellent. If you work at a church and aren't using this to plan services and events, you're doing it wrong. It organizes people, songs, creative elements, and more.

Cons

They have branched out to be a more "full" database church management system and are still in growing pains with that.

January 2019

Russ from Brush GMS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Planning Center for Church services

Pros

Our church music ministry uses Planning Center to plan music, singers and musicians for each of our services each week. It notifies and selected people and shows exactly what will happen that service. The user can then view the sheet music and listen to the song ahead of practice. This software makes planning so much more easy. The recent upgrades to the interface have made it even easier!

Cons

I truly cannot think of any cons with this software.

January 2019

Nathan from MachMotion

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Great Product!

Pros

I'm a volunteer that uses both the Services and Music Stand products at church. It's so easy to plan services, people, and resources for our worship team. The Music Stand app works great and the best thing I love is the ability to change a key on the fly.

Cons

There's really not anything I don't like about it. Pricing-wise, I'm really please that they have some small, very affordable plans for small churches.

January 2019

Maria from Health,Wellness and Fitness

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2019

Good tool for organizing teams, mobile app only OK

Overall this program does what it needs to- helps organize volunteers for our Sunday services. The additional functions like accessing music and files isn't the best and still needs work.

Pros

I appreciate being able to see plans and serving requests from our worship leader. I think it's a great tool for him and the church as a whole to organize the services and volunteers. I mostly use the app which is pretty easy to use but the website is far easier.

Cons

The app is layed out a bit oddly and isn't the most functional- specifically viewing lists of teams and trying to go between teams or dates, there isn't an easy way to go back or get back to where you were before. Also, trying to listen to the music we are supposed to learn isn't the easiest to work with - often the controls for the music aren't viewable on the screen and sometimes it just plays the music without being able to stop/control it.

Response from Planning Center of Ministry Centered Technologies

Replied January 2019

Hi Maria, Sorry to hear that you're having trouble with the app. If you'd like to reach out to us at Support@planning.center we'll be glad to troubleshoot these issues with you.

January 2019

Justina from Intermedix

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Great tool

Pros

The Planning Center service page contains detailed information about the notes and people we need. There is a great application for iOS with excellent functionality. Automatic integration with Google calendar.

Cons

Without a thorough knowledge of the software, it was problematic to use, so our employees needed to devote a certain amount of time to studying it.

January 2019

adrienne from york university

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

planning centre

Pros

great for coordinating tasks/roles/dates for many people

Cons

no updates for the design and structure (could be more intuitive)

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Planning Center Review

I like it if I knew how to use all sides of it. I need some training.

Pros

It's easy to use to communicate with other teams. It's easy to edit flows and access. As well as scheduling.

Cons

I don't have any idea how to change the times of an event in a service or how to add weeks.

Response from Planning Center of Ministry Centered Technologies

Replied January 2019

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! The best way to get started is to check out the "Getting Started" section of our help documentation. If you have any questions that you don't find the answer for please don't hesitate to email our support team at support@planning.center.

January 2019

Nicholas from University.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Church Teamwork Dreamwork (2)

Planning out church services is our main use of this product.

Pros

This made organizing events, resources, and people very easy. The church was able to lay out events completely; the band could upload music files and chord sheets; people could be assigned tasks and responsibilities.

Cons

The mobile version is NOT intuitive at all. Very difficult to access different folders and the calendared events.

Response from Planning Center of Ministry Centered Technologies

Replied January 2019

Hi Nick, Thanks for reaching out and giving us an honest review. We would love to hear more about your thoughts regarding our mobile app. If you haven't done so already, would you mind emailing us at support@planning.center?

January 2019

Rachel from Acts 29 US West

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Great solution for volunteer coordination

Pros

It was very easy to create a calendar with available dates and blocked dates for church volunteering abilities. It was easy for church leaders then to create volunteer teams based on these calendars.

Cons

Though it was nice to be able to note how many times a month I was willing to serve, I wish there was a greater ability to make this unique for each team I was serving on. For instance, instead of saying that I was only willing to serve every 6 weeks overall, I would prefer to have been able to say on Team A, I was willing to serve 2 times a month, on Team B, I was willing to serve weekly, and on Team C, I was able to serve 1 time a month. Also, it would have been nice to be able to specify serving with different people depending on the team. For Team A for instance, I'd like to serve with my husband, but on Team B, I needed to actually serve opposite weeks as my husband.

Response from Planning Center of Ministry Centered Technologies

Replied January 2019

Hi Rachel, Thanks for writing an honest review with lots of great ideas! If you haven't done so already, would you mind sending in those ideas to us so that we can track them as a feature request? You can send us an email at support@planning.center. Thanks!

January 2019

Rachel from Rachel Edgington Photography

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Great Place to Keep Everyone on the Same Page

I have primarily used it in a church setting but I don't know how we planned church services without it before.

Pros

This program is very easy to use. You are able to see the whole service, hear the music in order the practice, or view the sheet music if you play an instrument. It cuts down on paper and allows music teams to work together.

Cons

It can be hard to know exactly where to find some of the information if you aren't familiar with the program, but they do provide a pretty amazing tutorial.

January 2019

Ben from Mosaic Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Planning Center Review

We've been using Planning Center for years, and we use it for everything from scheduling volunteers, to our kids check-in, to online giving and we've never had any real problems. It is intuitive and simple to use, and since they are all under the same platform they integrate very well together.

Pros

My favorite thing about this software will probably always be Services. We have over 100 volunteers that we are able to schedule for our weekend services, and it gives them the ability to accept or decline for any particular day. They can also block out dates they know they will be unavailable.

Cons

The only real issue I've had with it is can be difficult to navigate at times. It just seems like options for things (like creating a new position, adding a position to a service, and several other things) are in odd places. However, those are relatively small issues, and it only takes once or twice before it makes more sense.

January 2019

Kaylin from Blue Ridge Community Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Planning Center Review

Pros

We have most enjoyed using planning center for planning our worship services.

Cons

Cost. There are some great softwares out there for churches that are close to being as good but they don’t charge.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Great for scheduling

Pros

+Automation text message reminders
+Ability for volunteers to self-schedule

Cons

-Managing users is clunky
-Must know mobile provider to send text messages

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Planning Center Services - easy for volunteers to use

I volunteer at a church that uses Planning Center Services. Planning Center makes it as easy as I can imagine to coordinate my volunteer time and communicate with church staff.

Pros

-Service details page intuitively shows people/notes/attachments/order all in one place
-Great iOS app with feature parity with web version, push notifications in addition to SMS alerts are a nice bonus
-Integration with Google Calendar and iCloud Calendar automatically puts services in your calendar
-It is easy to communicate with team leaders about blackouts and reminders

Cons

-It is difficult to create recurring blockouts as it's unclear what info (reason/times for blockout) is repeated
-Message delivery can be flaky (particularly with custom non-automated messages), requiring the users to manually check the web dashboard

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

The Gold Standard in Church Service Planning

I've been a Planning Center user for about 8 years at a few different churches.

Pros

Planning Center changed the worship planning game. I've served on a variety of worship teams over the past 20 years, and I don't know how we all stayed on the same page before PCO was around. Having setlists, service flow, audio files, chord charts, lyrics, media files, etc all in one place where everyone can see it is so beneficial, and makes rehearsals and prep go so much smoother. (And that's just ONE of Planning Center's world class tools)

Cons

Searching is sometimes a little clunky. I don't do admin stuff very often, but it's not always intuitive.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

Solid Volunteer Coordination Tool

Great at coordinating volunteers in a simple easy way, one stop application for all needs.

Pros

Many useful features that allow for easy coordination of volunteers for events and services. Web interface and iOS app are well designed and easy to use.

Cons

Navigation between different events is a bit counter intuitive to me, but not bad once you get used to it.