All Happy Scribe Reviews

1-25 of 37 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Fraser

Marketing and Advertising, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2022

Easy good quality transcription

User Profile

Olga

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Powerful and Impressive

It is useful, helpful, effective and applicable, but I have not tested this tool enough. I need more opportunities in trial versions or lower pricing policies.

PROS

Powerful and impressive software which can be extremely useful as an accent coach. However I really dislike huge restrictions in a trial version. I use Linux, Ubuntu, there are a lot of installed extensions and plugins in my browsers and I need more time and resources to check up all the functions. But looks like it is pretty user-friendly and effortless to use, however I managed to check up only by using 4 videos (2 accounts of my friends and two are mine). The transcriptions are almost ideal, detailed, precise and accurate. I did not manage to test huge files or different formats. I have not activated a paid option yet -- but I am looking forward to that. Hopefully, the website provides the services of the same quality for premium access users. I am going to check up all the options and functions of this tool in the near future.

CONS

I cannot judge basing on 4 transcriptions. Yes, they were detailed, precise and accurate, yes, the service is careful and adequate, but I cannot be 100% sure about performance, speed, adjustability and compatibility of the tool basing on the extremely limited trial version. I don't know how fast, efficient, effortless and practical this thing would be if I used large files or some funny file formats.

Reasons for switching to Happy Scribe

They insisted on inserting my card digits before even providing me to check up all the functions. I did not manage to check any function yet.

Deb

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

automatic transcriptions and subtitle files

I have several transcription services that I use, but Happy Scribe is the only one that let's me export as .vtt file.

PROS

What I like most about Happy Scribe is that I can export subtitle files in vtt format. I also like that it's easy to use. I also like the human polishing option.

CONS

The automated transcription is a bit pricy compared to others, but the price of having a human do the polishing is a good deal.

Reason for choosing Happy Scribe

The possibility to export subtitles as .vtt as well as the quality of the transcriptions. I also love the option to have a human do the clean up of the automated transcript.

Reasons for switching to Happy Scribe

Otter changed their plan. I used to get 6000 minutes a month and could upload as many files as I wanted as large as I wanted. Now, for the SAME PRICE, I only get 900 minutes (10 uploads of a maximum of 90 minutes each).

Vendor Response

Hello Deb, It's fantastic to hear that Happy Scribe is fitting so seamlessly into your workflow! We understand the importance of flexibility in file formats for our users, and we're delighted that this feature stands out for you. Also, thank you for acknowledging our human-made service. We believe in combining the best of technology with the human touch to deliver high quality results, and it's great to know that this service is valuable to you :) Regarding the pricing of our automated transcription service, we appreciate your honest feedback. We aim to strike a balance between offering a competitive rate and maintaining the high standard of our services. Your insights are invaluable as they guide us in evaluating and improving our pricing structure to better meet the needs of our users like you. Thank you once again for choosing Happy Scribe and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're excited to continue supporting you in all your transcription and subtitling endeavors!

Replied January 2024

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2023

false advertising with the free trial

see. above.

PROS

nothing, as i didnt get to use my file at all.

CONS

the fact that they claim to give you a free trial. allow you to waste your time editing a video. and then lock it behind a paywall.that is NOT a free trial. and you should have stated that CLEARLY before making someone waste time using your service.even if i did choose to pay for your upgrade, all this does is put a very unpleasant feeling towards your company out into the universe.

Reason for choosing Happy Scribe

because your website claimed to be capable of giving me a free copy of one video with no size limit. you lied. for just a few dollars more than your asking price, i could use many companies that didnt use false pretenses to get me to try their product.

Reasons for switching to Happy Scribe

size of file.

Vendor Response

First and foremost, I want to extend our sincerest apologies for the frustration and disappointment you've experienced. It's clear from your feedback that there has been a significant disconnect between your expectations of our free trial and the experience you had, and for that, we are truly sorry. We strive to be transparent and clear in all our communications, and it seems we've fallen short in your case. Please be assured that we take your comments seriously, and I will personally ensure that your concerns are communicated to our team for review and action. Regarding the issue with the trial and the editing of your video, I would love the opportunity to make this right. Could you kindly reach out to us directly at hi@happyscribe.com? We are committed to understanding and resolving your situation, ensuring that you receive the service and experience you expected when you chose Happy Scribe. We are here to support you and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust. Best,

Replied January 2024

User Profile

Hossamudin

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

A Great tool, but kinda expensive!

Good, but I couldn't really continue cuz of the price.

PROS

The quality is the main thing I liked! Just providing an MP4 or video file, and getting a High quality transcription is super useful, especially, that it works well with the Arabic language (compared to competitors)

CONS

What I liked the least in the price... It is kinda over priced (for me and many people like me). As a youtuber I need this too so much, but I cannot really afford it. So, I had to consider alternatives...

Reason for choosing Happy Scribe

The higher quality.

Reasons for switching to Happy Scribe

for cloud-based app and higher quality with the arabic language.

Matthew

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

For transcription/captioning Happy Scribe is a fantastic option for most people.

PROS

Happy Scribe is a real help when it comes to captioning your videos. The text-to-speech is comparable to any other big-name brand, and in some instances gives better results. Where Happy Scribe excels for me is the ease with which you can edit videos that have been transcribed. It is extremely simple to do, and there is no aspect of the UI that isn't there for a purpose. The Happy Scribe team regularly brings out updates, and the product seems to be constantly improving.

CONS

The biggest downside of Happy Scribe is cost. It isn't the cheapest solution out there, but I'd argue it's one of the most fully featured. If you are needing to do a lot of captioning it may become cost prohibitive, but I think for most people this wouldn't be an issue.

Vendor Response

Hi Matthew, Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review! We're thrilled to hear that Happy Scribe is making a significant impact on your video captioning process. We deeply appreciate your recognition of our regular updates, we are committed on delivering a top-notch product that evolves with our users' needs. Regarding the pricing, we understand your concerns. We strive to balance offering a feature-rich service with competitive pricing. Your feedback is invaluable as it helps us consider how we can provide the best value to our users, especially those who require extensive captioning services. We're glad to hear that, overall, you find Happy Scribe to be a valuable tool. If there are any other ways we can enhance your experience or if you have further suggestions, please don't hesitate to let us know. Best regards, - The Happy Scribe team

Replied January 2024

User Profile

Diego

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Happy Scribe became my favorite tool for transcribing audio and video

Happy Scribe has helped me never run out of ideas. I'll always be able to transcribe a video and turn it into different pieces of content for my posting strategies, even blog articles.

PROS

I'm constantly creating content for different social networks and blogs. On many occasions I extract the text from some videos to build my content curation process, using this platform. Happy Scribe is accurate, even in my Spanish language. The accuracy percentage is high. Every time I transcribe an audio or video, I realize that the tool is more accurate in interpreting the words. Also, I like the simple and easy-to-understand interface.

CONS

The negative point that I perceive in Happy Scribe is the price of their personalized transcription services. Sometimes I extract texts from videos in English, and I'd like to have an expert review the result and correct it. But the cost per minute is expensive.

User Profile

Muddaser

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Happy scribe review

Amazing experience

PROS

I like how accurate it is and how it can get like 95% of the spoken words correctly in my case. I am quite happy with it.

CONS

I wish it had more subtitle design options and also Kareoke style subtitles. where they are highlighted when you speak.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Happy Scribe gives you happy transcriptions

Overall, I have tried many different transcription software. While nothing can beat a human transcriber, Happy Scribe's AI transcription comes pretty close to perfect.

PROS

Happy Scribe's AI transcription offers you high-quality results that I haven't seen with other transcription software. The editor makes it easy to review and tweak your transcriptions as needed, and the ability to share your transcriptions with others to review/edit makes it super easy to work with a team. Combine all that with the easy-to-use interface and the various ways to export the final results, and it's truly a great product for anyone who needs transcription services.

CONS

There aren't many cons to this product besides the fact that it doesn't have a mobile app. Most of the transcriptions I have are voice memos, and while I can upload them from my phone on their website, it isn't as streamlined as if they had an app.

User Profile

Lucas

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

A realistic alternative to human transcription services

I tried this because of a lifetime deal, and must say I'm very pleased. In the past we've used Rev.com and GoTranscript, both worthy services. They cost more, though, and even so do not produce perfect transcripts. HappyScribe does nearly as well for a lower price.

PROS

This voice recognition is better than others I've tried, including from Otter.io. That talent is wrapped in an intuitive editor to make for a powerful transcription service.

CONS

I like using human transcriptionists, not least because I resist the idea that AI can do as well as we can. However, for the price I find this to be reasonable. The editor, while very nice, is not flawless. A few more performance tweaks could make it even more user-friendly.

Reason for choosing Happy Scribe

As I've already mentioned, price was the primary advantage of Happy Scribe. Their interface and accuracy helped close the deal.

User Profile

Garrick

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Hear Me Now, The Only Scribe For Me

This product has made me more productive and able to address the needs of my clients better. I highly recommend this.

PROS

This software is so easy to use and you don't need any sophisticated recorder, I use my cell phone and it works just great. It is amazing for dictation. I also use it for youtube videos so that the audience can read what I am saying.

CONS

It is expensive, but you are paying for excellent quality. In my mind it is well worth the cost.

rachid

Arts and Crafts, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

happ scribe good for texts

it was a good experience

PROS

i did like most that you can easily upload files

CONS

i did like least that can take much time before they repond

Vendor Response

Hi Rachid, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you had an overall good experience with Happy Scribe. Regarding the responsiveness, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by our previous delays. We've taken your feedback to heart and have since made significant improvements. We now aim to reply within the same business day to ensure prompt and effective support. Your experience has been instrumental in this positive change, so thank you again for sharing your insights with us. If there's anything else you need or further feedback you'd like to share, we're just a message away. Best regards, - The Happy Scribe team

Replied January 2024

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2022

Easiest to use transcribing tool I have found

It helps me easily transcribe my audios and videos before sharing them on social media. Generating transcription files for my learners. Would suggest them increasing speed of processing.

PROS

transcription tools I have tried. I can add about 1000 words to my personal vocabulary. I like that I can sort and organize my transcriptions in different folders. It offers me the ability to transcribe audio and videos. I like how I can modify the colour of the subtitles to match my branding. The transcription work gets done a lot faster due to their easy to use intuitive interface.

CONS

It does not have a mobile app which prevents me from using it on the move and get my work done even faster. If they could bring an option to remove noise before transcription it would really improve the quality of transcription even more.

Eliza

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

It saves you tons of time by automatically transcribing your files!

Overall, I think this is a great tool that can save you a lot of time and hassle!

PROS

It's been a great transcription tool for me and is so easy to use. The UI is straightforward and easy to navigate, and the tool does a great job of transcribing your audio files into text. You can save a lot of time because it automatically transcribes your files- just as long as your video or audio file is high-quality. Otherwise, you'll spend a lot of time making changes yourself. It also supports other languages which is a huge PLUS for me.

CONS

Sometimes, the transcription is not accurate and you'll have to spend time transcribing yourself. Also, the video duration or time is limited. You have to pay for additional hours if you need more than the allotted free hours. That's a big drawback for me.

Vendor Response

Hi Eliza, Thank you for your detailed review! Our goal is to save you time and effort, and it's great to know we're achieving that. We take your comments on transcription accuracy very seriously. Accuracy is paramount to us, and we continuously work to enhance our transcription algorithm, especially for lower-quality audio. We truly appreciate your overall positive view of Happy Scribe! If there are any further suggestions you have or assistance you need, please feel free to reach out. We're here to make your experience as smooth and effective as possible. Warm regards, - The Hapy Scribe team

Replied January 2024

Erik

Media Production, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great for subtiteles

PROS

The integration with Google Drive, the amazing looking interface & personalised vocabulary.

CONS

I would like to see an integration with FCPX.

Reason for choosing Happy Scribe

Special lifetime offer. The integrations and special features.

Reasons for switching to Happy Scribe

Price & ease of use.

Jolene

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Supportive tool for online course creation

PROS

What I liked most about the Happy Scribe is that it saved me a lot of time and money getting all of my video and audio from my online courses transcribed so that learners could have the messages in written form as well.

CONS

The main hiccups I had with Happy Scribe was that at times the uploads would not work and there did not seem to be an identifiable reason.

Vendor Response

Hello Jolene, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with Happy Scribe! We're thrilled to hear that our platform has been a valuable tool for you, saving you time and money – that's exactly what we aim for! We understand the importance of accessibility in education, and it's wonderful to know we're contributing positively in this realm. Regarding the upload issues you've encountered, we truly apologize for any inconvenience caused. Our team is continuously working to improve and streamline the user experience, and your input is crucial in this process. We'd love to investigate this further and ensure a smoother process for you in the future. Could you please reach out to us at hi@happyscribe.com with some details about the upload hiccups? We want to make things right. Once again, thank you for choosing Happy Scribe! Warm regards, - The Happy Scribe team

Replied January 2024

User Profile

Davide Isidoro

Verified reviewer

Research, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

buono però...

PROS

permette di trascrivere i documenti in maniera facile e veloce

CONS

come per altri programmi simili la prova gratuita ha delle funzionalità limitate e per avere risultati privi di errori si deve pagare...

Vendor Response

Hi Davide, Thank you for your honest review and the solid rating! We're glad to hear that you find Happy Scribe quick and easy to use. Our goal is to streamline this process as much as possible, so it's great to know we're on the right track with your experience. Regarding the limitations of our free trial, we understand your concerns. Our goal is to give users a taste of our service, balancing functionality with the opportunity to experience the full benefits of our premium features. We strive to be transparent about what our free trial offers and always welcome feedback on how we can improve this experience. Thanks again for choosing Happy Scribe and for your constructive review. If there's anything we can assist you with or if you have further suggestions, please don't hesitate to reach out. Best, - The Happy Scribe team

Replied January 2024

Juan

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Good for speeding things up

We use it to subtitle standup comedy videos. It makes the process faster than going from zero and friendly for non tech-saavy team members.

PROS

It is easy to use, automatic transcription is acceptable and it has a friendly interface.

CONS

Transcriptions are far from perfect unless your speech is impecable and the recording is too. Everything will requiere editing. Sometimes, very heavy editing.

Karen

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Happy Scribe makes me a Happy Camper

This software is pretty much plug and play. I upload my video, ask it to do subtitles and it does it. It is very easy to go back through and check for accuracy. So very low learning curve and great accuracy. I am very pleased.

PROS

I am delighted about how well this software does with voice recognition. It is usually spot on unless someone says a proper name or a theme.

CONS

At this point I don't see any actual negatives. I do have one video that has a lot of outside noise and it was harder for the software to be accurate but I am not surprised by that.

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Happy Scribe has made me very Happy!

In addition to creating my captions and transcribing my own videos, I've loved using Happy Scribe to save time. I appreciate being able to transcribe other people's videos so I can read the script rather than have to watch a video when I'm pushed for time or need to go back and refer to detailed information. Also they are a really friendly team with great communication!

PROS

Happy Scribe is a pleasure to use! I have been so impressed with this software - the dashboard is intuitive and the options are just what I was looking for. Transcribing videos and creating captions is a breeze with Happy Scribe. You get highly professional results without any tech hassle. I love the options provided and it's saving me loads of time.

CONS

There really isn't anything I dislike about this software. It's easy to use, great dashboard, doesn't take long to process and produces lovely results.

User Profile

Vincent Po

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE