All Cato Networks Suite Reviews

1-25 of 39 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Alexandra

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2023

The first SASE

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Very Easy to Use and Install Software

PROS

Cato integrates very smoothly with Windows 10 and is non-intrusive. Users will barely know it is running, except that everything works. From an Admin perspective, it has easy to use dashboards to get an overview of your services. The support from Cato through all stages of set up and use are frankly excellent.

CONS

Nothing noticeably awry with this product.

Casey

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Great for admins, Learning Curve for end users

Overall the experience with Cato has been great. Our prior VPN and firewall solution were hosted on-perm and back-hauling some traffic while split tunneling other was a consent game of cat & mouse. It has also solved a bunch of communication issues we had with our Site2Stie VPN. Converting them to Cato Nodes really improved performance.

PROS

The solution was easy to install, configure, and deploy, from the administrators perspective. The ability to have it auto start when a user logs in to their endpoint has saved countless hours on my service desk troubleshooting the issues that arise when an endpoint is off the domain for too long.

CONS

Currently the feature that gives me the most grief is the re-authentication sequence for the VPN client. If a user is actively using their system and the client goes to re-authenticate it opens a the SSO portal in a background tab in their browser, and then users are not sure how to proceed and our service desk gets calls. It would be nice if either the SSO portal was opened in the foreground, or there was "captive portal" behavior where if they tried to open up another site, they would get redirected to the SSO portal. Really it comes down to user training, but its not exactly intuitive as it stands.

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

The ability to use a cloud firewall solution that with integrated VPN and supported Azure SSO with MFA was the biggest attraction.

michael

Computer Networking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2021

beware of cancelation policy they do not allow this to be done even if its their fault

i was not happy with the service. their NOC always has a downtime (for philippines, not sure with other countries) at least once a month there is some sort of network issue when connecting with their NOC aside from the weekly downtime mentioned for maintenance issues. this is a SD wan product, so if thier side is down then you will be down as well even if you have multiple internet connections. defeats the purpose of redundancy. though you can switch from one of their NOCs to another NOC, the switching itself is a downtime and has to be manually done. when i decided to cancel my 5 year contract because of said issues, they are insisting i pay in full for the 3 years of service despite the fact that they violated SLA due to numerous downtimes etc. not happy at all and im still stuck now trying to figure out what to do with this pending bill they insist i should pay despite me cancelling.

PROS

easy deployment and simple admin panel to learn.

CONS

you will have a weekly maintenance downtime of about 15 mins. they do update the software which is a good thing, but you will be down for that said period weekly which is a pain for operations who require 24/7.

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

i thought they were a better solution depsite the higher price, turns out i made a huge mistake in engaging wtih this comapny.

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

reasons indicated above. not happy.

Andy

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Cato Networks SASE

Implementing Cato Networks has increased our security baseline footing by moving traffic management farther away from our internal network, decreasing the attack surface. It also strengthened our remote user access restrictions and control, and increased our internet bandwidth and network availability.

PROS

- Edge firewall protection as a service rather than on-prem hardware that requires constant updating and lifecycle replacement/support. - Remote access methods that connects remote users directly to private backbone network and from there to resources. Lessens requirement for all traffic to flow through main office network for resource access, removes insecure split tunneling for internet access. - Ability to aggregate multiple WAN sources and software defined network QoS and traffic management, and redundancy should one WAN provider experience outage. - Local PoPs mean users connect to closest/fastest ingress to Cato Network, including Ashburn AWS PoP and MS data centers for our cloud-based resources. - AD directory sync to import VPN users and groups and also provide directory awareness (traffic can be labeled by specific AD user and/or machine).

CONS

Like any other change between vendor offerings, there is a learning curve on migrating existing policies and routes/uses to the new setup (for example, firewall setups and NAT/port forwarding were different than our Fortinet equipment). Frequent usage and help from deployment specialists have lessened this and increased our self-reliance and understanding for day-to-day use.

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

Ease of use, value proposition for Komori America, full suite of product range in one purchase from one company (not add-on products to a separate vendor's offering, often lacking security component in SD-WAN), global private backbone.

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

Keeping the physical firewall updated with current firmware and need to replace models every 3 years was getting difficult to manage and costly to maintain. Firmware updates meant network downtime and sometimes major reconfiguration as features would be deprecated and have to be redeployed when the new firmware is installed. Also, as this hardware was directly connected to both the internet and our internal network, the chance of compromise was increased if bad actors could exploit any weakness in the physical firewall itself. Deploying MFA was an added expense with the Fortigate, plus the cost of maintaining a separate FortiAnalyzer instance for full reporting capability.

Josia

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Review of Cato

very good! What I like most is how easy and helpful it is to get customer support!

PROS

The interface is very easy to use. During down time I get the notifications I need to make sure things are running, and overall it's a very reliable system

CONS

It would be nice to make it easier to do network packet test on specific ip addresses to see if anything is getting blocked

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

The Sd-WAN features and the multi site management

Jon

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

CATO SASE is very good

Some of the benefits I noticed migrating from Cisco firewalls / IPS / VPN and Velo SD-WAN to CATO SASE: - My connection to Azure is no longer a somewhat buggy Cisco ASA to Azure, site-to-site VPN, and the remote access VPN users no longer have to tunnel through the main datacenter to get to Azure. Instead with CATO, you can stand up a set of CATO virtual appliances in Azure. The virtual appliances connect out to the CATO cloud, your datacenter, offices and VPN users connect out to the CATO cloud, and all the things talk (if your WAN firewall rules allow). If you need a way to connect into Azure, this is a nice setup. - In the Cisco world, updating a firewall meant looking through several firmware versions, reading the release notes to make sure the firmware is compatible with the IPS and the VPN clients and the ASDM. The process always seemed overly complicated, especially when these systems are mission critical and outage windows are small. With CATO, firmware updates, IPS updates, SSL certs updates, VPN client updates are all done automatically. - The tech support so far has been good to work with. I always seem to have suggestions with any new security product and CATO has been receptive to them.

PROS

I came to CATO from the Cisco world. I had 20+ years managing Cisco Firewalls/IPS/VPN/etc and one thing I required in a new solution was customization. The ability to fine tune security products to fit the specifics of different environments is critical in my opinion. CATO does require time to learn the system to get the most out of it, but it's no more difficult than Cisco firewalls.

CONS

I'm very happy with CATO. One thing I would like to see in the future is the ability to write custom IPS rules.

Emiliano

Machinery, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

The definitive SASE

We use Cato for routing and QoS over several sites and cloud datacenters, and the overall experience is great. We don't use instead security services, so I can't express myself for that. The product is inexpensive compared to MPLS or competitors, so it defintely worth the investment. Highly recommended.

PROS

Cato offers a complete SASE suite that you can bring up really in a few hours. By choosing to connect your sites with the hardware appliance (Cato socket) you can have them online by simply connect the WAN port to the Internet. Alternatively, you can connect your exisiting infrastructure using IPSec or, in case of cloud subscriptions, using the virtual version of the socket. All the traffic and security rules can be defined using the cloud console, same thing for the network ranges to connect through the cloud router. Eveything is super-simple and super fast, leaving all the complexity of a global SD-WAN behind the curtain. Support team is available for any need and very fast in answers.

CONS

QoS rules are applied at the Cato PoP, sometimes we had slight issues over the last-mile where the traffic shaper failed to avoid line congestion. Especially the "Limit only when the line is congested" feature resulted ineffective in those cases.

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

Ease of use was the main driver. As icing on the cake, the required budget for the implementation turned out to be much less that competition.

Chris

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Cato's SASE offering is a top notch SDWAN/Security/Remote Access Solution-

Looking to combine SDWAN with a high quality network security solution, that has easy to use secure remote access software. CATO is able to accomplish this!

PROS

I like it all. To be able to consolidate critical services into to ONE, with a single pane of glass to monitor and manage from...it's a winner. ZTNA is now needed more than ever, and to be able to include that with SDWAN, is a great way to go.

CONS

I think the user interface could be made to look a little nicer and user friendly. Also, on smaller accounts, more user friendly billing terms would be helpful. Other than that, no issues about the service offering, the quality of the install and support teams, or the pricing. It's all top notch.

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

All is one, cloud based, very reasonable price point and easy to work with install and support teams.

Jason

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

CATO

The best experience so far from a security supplier

PROS

Has desired features, ease of use and integration with other apps.

CONS

Want to be able to order direct and configure with CATO

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

needed less hardware

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

Juniper and Cisco were too complex to manage and very expensive

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

CATO -A networking Solution that works

I would recommend CATO to anyone looking for a networking solution out there. It's quite affordable and actually works. It makes the whole experience of using a VPN memorable.

PROS

1. Security - CATO VPN guarantees a secure connection when accessing client platforms 2. Single Sign On Feature saves a lot of login time (available for Windows, Google, etc) 3. CATO VPN is really fast and reliable compared to its competitors out there 4. They have an awesome support team. Always ready for feature requests.

CONS

1. The GUI can feel a bit cluttered. It's hard for a beginner to find what they are looking for 2. The Bulk/Mass user update feature is still missing 3. The CATO Client can keep on disconnecting sometimes

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

1. Networking Solution 2. Security 3. Cost 4. User support

Ahmed

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

CATO SASE

Perfect product with enhanced offering and many new features in no time

PROS

Unified console for all SASE components

CONS

lack of complete security for BYOD users only monitoring through API currently

Muhammad

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

A complete and proven SASE solution.

PROS

The integration with our network straight forward.Dashboard provides a clear picture of top-level events.

CONS

Support lacks the enthusiasm and can be improved.

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

More effective due to its SD-WAN and SASE approach.

Gerry

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Cato Networks Simply Removed All Concerns we used to have about Network connectivity and reliability

This has been one of the very best technology decisions we have ever made. After living with Cato Networks for a few years I can’t imagine switching to another provider

PROS

Deployment was quick and easy. After that we basically ignore it because it just works, all of the time. Problems and outages don’t happen any more. When we want to make a change we can do it quickly and easily and expert support is available 24x7 when we are doing something new and need some help

CONS

There is very little to complain about and nothing major at all.

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

All of these competitors did less for higher cost and were nowhere as capable or easy to use.

Thomas

Food Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Cato Networks Suite for small and medium Business

I have done a complete Network and infrastructure overhaul, Cato is a key component and it works well!

PROS

Ease of use, remote accessibility. Clear crisp and easy to use Dashboard.

CONS

Reporting functionality - to cumbersome, not enough details no download capabilities.

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

n/a

Reasons for switching to Cato Networks Suite

Technology overhaul in general.

leonard

Machinery, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Ulbrich's cato

PROS

Dashboard, the fluidity of navigating to where you want, the management piece of it, the help section but its mostly self explained to get to where you want to get to as long as you have some basic understanding. Some onboard training helps out as we had and once you use it you are pretty much up and running or use the help section

CONS

Nothing really, it can be intimidating when you 1st see it but its really not. I suggest taking the time to really click through all the options and visualize how the options can protect your network

Reason for choosing Cato Networks Suite

vendor relationship suggested it as we were looking to replace our mpls circuit

philip

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Leader in its field.

We did POC's of 10+ providers before deciding to use CATO. They were exactly what we were looking for in a easy to use and affordable package.

PROS

The ability to detect abusive traffic, and tie our systems in together with a SASE solution without compromising performance.

CONS

a few domains are blocked as parked domains even though they are valid.

Fernando

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT