All Cohesity Reviews

1-25 of 49 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Evan

Computer Networking, 10,001+ employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2022

Your workload kept safe with Cohesity

User Profile

Joshua

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Cohesity solves your backup and storage problems!

We have been very happy. We have eliminated tape backups, eliminated our legacy NAS devices, and added new features we didn't know we would even get at the time we purchased... like O365 backups and AD backups. The engineering team is aggressively working to extend the product to more use cases in the data management realm.

PROS

Cohesity has been a quick and easy win for our department. Setup and installation was quick and we were able to start backing up our VMs and legacy NAS devices. We have been able to eliminate time consuming and costly tapes by replicating our monthly's to a remote Cohesity cluster. In the future we will utilize cloud via Cohesity as well.

CONS

There have been a handful of patches that need to be administered from the command line vs the gui process that normally makes updates a snap.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

Cohesity offered file shares in addition to backup capabilities so that we could retire legacy NAS devices. Rubrik was substantially more expensive. The Storage Craft offering was an intriguing budget option, but didn't seem quite as fleshed out as Cohesity who had much larger market presence.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

Tired of dealing with tapes both in terms of cost and time. Legacy file servers needed replacement.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Peace of Mind

Cohesity has been excellent to work with. The local team is always helpful and responsive, support is excellent, and the product exceeds all expectations. We started small because we were uncertain that they could do all of the things we heard about during the pre-sale process, but we couldn't be happier with the product. We are currently in the process of tripling our capacity and adding additional features because we were so impressed by every aspect of Cohesity.

PROS

Backups were always a pain point for us and required constant attention prior to moving to Cohesity. Cohesity makes backup and recovery simple to manage and requires no attention. It just works. This had freed up resources to focus on improvements to other areas of the business.

CONS

Integration was painless. When we first implemented Cohesity there were some reporting features that were lacking, but each new release has addressed this and we now have access to all of the reports and features that we were missing.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

There were many factors, but the culture and philosophy of Cohesity was a big part of the decision. The price was less of a factor, but it was much cheaper than the competition.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

We were looking to replace an aging file server and Cohesity was a perfect fit. They were able to easily migrate the data and provide additional features and functionality for a much lower cost.

scott

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2023

neutral

The tool seems like it is in it's infancy - restoring is more difficult than it needs to be and the "instant recovery" seems great in theory, but the vMotion aspect takes way too long to be usable in our capacity.

PROS

support is very helpful for all of the issues that seem to creep up daily.

CONS

There are so many features that we ( and support ) do not seem to know about. IT would be very helpful if these features were easily accessible rather than hidden away. Furthermore we have requested this several times from support and we seem to get back generic documentation rather than insightful feedback. Many of the features are flaky and require constant monitoring / case opening to resolve. We have opened a lot of cases in our timeline thus far... many.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

not my decision

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

lifespan of the product ended

Mark

Machinery, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Mark's Cohesity review

Over the the Cohesity is a set and forget it solution.

PROS

The easy of setup and use and having in all in one applicance (software and hardware).

CONS

The process for patching the appliance is a little clunky.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

It was easy to use solution, an appliance based solution and it was more cost-effective.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

It was expensive and very difficult to administer.

Fabian

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Cohesity... 18 months later

We had so many issue with our old backup tool that I won’t know where to start. Now with Cohesity I can finally spend my time doing something else then firefighting. Also, As a backup administrator, I know that the backup we do every day can be restored quickly in case of issue.

PROS

Our journey with Cohesity started about 18 months ago and we are still so happy with the product. It’s working perfectly, it’s still fast and reliable as from day 1.

CONS

We are waiting for some new features to be added, like cluster support for Windows and RedHat cluster, it’s taking some time.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

It was not only a backup tool but an hyperconverged platform for our backup and archives

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

We had so many issue with NetWorker’ it will take too long to list them all.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Scalable and high performance back-up solutions and more!

Great innovator that really listens, if you provide feedback.

PROS

Being a platform for secondary data opens up a lot of possibilities: back-up of workloads, NAS, applications, but also being target for archive data combines nicely. Additional analytics on data, combined with a great scalable solutions gives everything needed for solving secondary storage challenges.

CONS

Currenlty not supporting complete MS365 stack.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

More functionality regarding storing secondary data.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

Scalability and performance

Brian

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Cohesity is a great backup solution that can do much more, and the feature list is growing.

We have been very happy with our relationship with Cohesity. The company listens to users and I have seen features I requested added to the product. Reporting used to be a weak point, not it is very good comparatively.

PROS

The software has a nice interface and a very concise dashboard. Backups are completed consistently and we have not had trouble with restores. We also back up OneDrive and Sharepoint data with the software. Support is very good.

CONS

There are a few things which are handled differently from our previous backup software. When restoring a VM you must manually delete the existing VM from vCenter; the old software would do that for you. One approach may not be better than the other, but it did take a bit of sleuthing to figure out why we were getting an error on a VM restore initially.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

Cost and the perceived ability to deliver the features we required.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

Our back end storage was getting too slow and too expensive to increase each year.

Cazi

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Centralized and Simplified Data Management and Protection

Cohesity has greatly improved our data protection from our previous backup solution. Being able to centrally manage and protect our data, as well as the advanced security features to protect from ransomware attack, helps us all sleep better at night.

PROS

A modern data protection solution built with virtualization and cloud in mind and hyperconverged infrastructure. It helps simplify the backup software and hardware into a single solution.

CONS

The reporting is a little basic, although they do have a custom reporting module for more advanced reporting, although that requires developing your own custom reports.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

We selected Cohesity because it was an all-in-one solution, collapsing the backup hardware, software, and cloud into a single solution with centralized administration.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

CommVault was much more complex and required supporting and maintaining both the backup hardware and software individually.

Tim

Utilities, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Cohesity back and restore

Great. We had issues deployment but that was related to the servers. But cohesity support was very helpful and did a great job.

PROS

Having access to Helios is feature. And the setup and install of Cohesity was seamless. Choesity support is one of the best support teams.

CONS

I wish there were report or custom reports option.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

I worked with Cohesity before at a previous job.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

evault backups kept failing.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Head and shoulders above the competition

We were able to implement greatly reduced backup windows and enhance how many backups we take throughout the day giving us a much better ability to recover and various points.

PROS

Cohesity is an amazing platform that greatly reduced out data management and backup footprint. I really like the ease of use and ability to have one place to go for all of our data protections needs.

CONS

This can be a little difficult to size and configure initially. It can also do a ton of stuff so getting your head around how it works and then be able to move forward with it can take a little time.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

The usability of Cohesity is far easier than Veeam.

Shawn

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Love my Cohesity!!!!!

PROS

For us the speed/performance of backup and restores was a great feature of Cohesity. My previous backup was not completing on a daily basis; because the backups were taking way to long to completes. I could not backup everything in a 24 hour time period (with multiple appliances running).

CONS

There have been no complaints with Cohesity. We have been very pleased with the product.

Erwin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Cohesity for easy scalable back-ups

From a daily basis it really lowered the time we were needed to manage our back-ups. Even when we had issues their support is top of the game and really helpful.

PROS

Cohesity was for us the perfect solution in providing back-up as a service to our customers. It is easy to scale, easy to configure and very easy to manage.

CONS

It was somewhat behind on features compared to the likes of Veeam for example, but they have been implementing the missing features at a rapid pace. They also value feedback a lot so when requesting a missing feature their development team will look into it.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

Mainly because Cohesity was easier to scale

User Profile

Brian

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

A great solution for so many workloads

Overall Cohesity has been one of the best vendors we have ever worked with. Their support team started very small and I usually got the same 2 or 3 customer service reps. Now they are much larger but I still get the 1-on-1 attention I need from their team.

PROS

Cohesity is first a fantastic backup product. We went from four backup solutions to just one. It gives us full off site DR capability by archiving to Azure. We protect many workloads such as VMware, SQL, Office 365 and file shares. Beyond that Cohesity is an amazing platform for test and development, file services and marketplace apps.

CONS

Getting up and running had a few glitches and it took a couple days to fully grasp the dependencies but once those were taken care of it has run very smoothly. Occasionally bugs will surface during new feature releases but I have not had any problems staying on the LTS track.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

Ease of use and available features in GA

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

VDP was being discontinued

Dustin

Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Look no further

Overall experience has been great, no complaints anywhere.

PROS

The visibility of your total foot print and management tools there of saves hours per day.

CONS

Its fast growing company so the update speed is fast. If you are looking for a static software for backups...this is not the one.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

all inclusive pricing, not piece milled.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

manageability and visibility

Adam

Law Practice, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Not only a protection platform

Storage, compression, deduplication, backup and archiving combo like no others.

PROS

Cohesity redefines secondary storage, providing not only for robust, tamper-protected backup and archiving solution, but also allows to consolidate various secondary storage options and devices under single 'pane of glass' management platform. Ability to centrally manage and assign storage shares has been a great addition. Backups and restores also work as a breeze, including amazing capability to run the restored resource from the platform within seconds, without waiting for full restore.

CONS

Somewhat fast release cadence causes a little problems with dependencies and documentation, but that's palatable.

Justin

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

A solid product with room for improvement

Backing up entire VM's through vCenter is a breeze and works well. Application backups (Exchange, SQL, AD) will all require an agent and the agent management is very poor in my opinion. Replication works fine and restore times from locally cached data is quick. There are still a lot of little things that keep this from being a polished solution but the overall product is good.

PROS

Profile creation makes scheduling very easy. Very fast restores from local appliances Excellent deduplication/compressions ratios.

CONS

Agent management is cumbersome and feels like an afterthought. This is my single biggest issue with this application Agent installation application doesn't open necessary firewall ports No centralized credential manager No global options for backup exclusions - have to manually set options for each policy you create Software claims immutable backups, but anyone with admin credentials can delete all data on the appliance. Maybe the term 'immutable' is open for debate, but if I can go in and delete all the data on a protection run, then this does not qualify for immutable in my mind. You can put legal holds on data, but this isn't the same thing.

Reason for choosing Cohesity

Rubrik sales team didn't try very hard and their solution was more expensive. Cohesity was talking to me each week, offered POC trials, demos, and on-site technician visit.

Reasons for switching to Cohesity

Was having major issues with Veeam and cloud backups. Tried for over a year with Veeam and two different cloud providers to get our cloud backup jobs stable and could never achieve it. Veeam does not offer immutability directly through their product but requires you to create and manage your own linux appliance that you have to set up correctly.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY