User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.71

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The product is easy to use. It is installed on public computers and is very successful in keeping the children at the library safe while using a computer."
  • icon"The ease at which you can get started with SafeDNS is amazing. So simple to implement to the edge routers and just like that your internal network is covered."
  • icon"It is a great product for exactly what we need. It is also affordable for small organizations with small budgets as well."
  • icon"I am having occasional trouble updating the software."
  • icon"The one frustrating time was that none of the students could access Teams. One we realized that SafeDNS was blocking Teams it was a quick fix."
  • icon"End user does not know what is wrong or if something is being blocked; and yes, there is a blocked page warning configured."

All SafeDNS Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Edward

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

SafeDNS is a better alternative to Cisco Umbrella

We can easily have end users maintain the content filtering if needed due to the simpler interface.

Pros

Very easy to install and integrate. The service allowed for more flexible options - such as a longer whitelist of websites - as well as less complicated than Cisco Umbrella.

Cons

The ability to disable the content filtering for maintenance or troubleshooting had been an issue, but an update corrected it.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

SafeDNS offered less complicated management with features that the more expensive Cusco product did not offer.

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

Cost was better and Umbrella had certain feature limitations and was unreasonably complex.

Response from SafeDNS

Hi Edward! Thanks for such a positive review. We are happy to be making content filtering simple for you! Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied March 2022

Troy

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

There are lots of DNS based security products out there

Pros

Safedns does a great job of making DNS based administration quick and easy. Safedns also does a great job of allowing administrators to define a list of allowed sites and deny everything else. Some of the big players in this space surprisingly don't have this functionality.

Cons

I didn't care for the SafeDNS agent software. We tried it on a few systems and decided to apply at the network level for filtered vlans.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

Umbrella didn't offer (at the time) the ability to block all sites except whitelisted sites. This may have changed as we've been with SafeDNS for several years now.

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

DNS Filter was much more expensive and didn't offer the level of features that we get with SafeDNS.

Response from SafeDNS

Good day Troy! Thank you for leaving such a detailed and positive review. Sure, it's up to you to choose between router or agent installation, but we always recommend the router option. Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied April 2022

james

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

February 2021

Constant issues

Pros

product worked perfectly for a year, now constant issues every week we have 2-3 outages and support has not stated anything other than to let them know if it happens again, am under huge pressure from division managers to fix once and for all, unfortunately, safedns still cannot find the issue so I am now shopping for other providers :(

Cons

product no longer works , support seems to not care about fixing at all

Response from SafeDNS

Hi James! Thanks for honestly sharing your thoughts. It's been some time, and we have taken this period to improve and learn from our mistakes. Our tech support is 24/7, always online, and the average response of our team in tech support chat in March was 67 seconds. Reviews like yours help us become better, so thank you again. Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied April 2022

Frank

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Quality DNS software at a Reasonable Price

Very satisfying - set and forget - until a user says why is this site blocked?

Pros

Great support during set up and use by our company. Very helpful when fixing those settings which I didn't read up on in the guide - had a "man" look.

Cons

Not a "known" elite brand but I feel this to be a good thing. Not expert in all things IT but expert in this field.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

Quality reviews about a company that specialise in this field.

Response from SafeDNS

Hi Frank! Thanks for your kind words. We do try to stay focused on our main product improving the quality and keeping it affordable at the same time. Reviews like yours help us feel even more motivated to work harder! Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied April 2022

SHERMAN

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Secure, Safe DNS for everyone

Pros

Easy console to use, the service does work.

Cons

At times, searches are slow or look ups are slow across the network SafeDNS is securing, some frames don't return properly, if at all, on a web page. End user does not know what is wrong or if something is being blocked; and yes, there is a blocked page warning configured. Doesen't show up.

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

When cisco bought them; the sales was quite aggressive bordering on nafarious. I had networks configured and if I didn't upgrade to what ever tier they were pushing at the time, they would 'turn off' the filtering. I said I would reduce the foot print of the networks configured, but cisco said that there was a minimum. I did not go for it and the filtering was turned off. 'Oddly' after I moved to SafeDNS and a about 5 weeks go by, all my settings started functioning again - in other words, services were turned off to try to force me to sign up for a larger than needed package.

Leonides

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Exactly what you need for the most inexpensive price.

We have several scanners that need to work with our network, and they must have access to the Internet. Even the scanners have limited access to the wan, our personnel found a way to navigate to not work-related webpages. SafeDNS it's a great tool to have restrictive control on this matter. At the same time, it is a great way to get control of the webpages the administrative personnel has access to, all this, without using an expensive proxy. And the most important thing for us. SafeDNS allow us to accomplish specific requirements from the CTPAT program (U.S. Customs and Border Protection rules).

Pros

SafeDNS has an easy way to administrate all the rules on our network. I like the way that has the filters for a safe google search. The pre-rules are extensive but flexible at the same time if you want a restrictive network without sacrifice speed and functionality. All these advantages for a great value price.

Cons

I would like to have more number of domain registers on the white/black option lists. I think 40 entries it's not enough.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

All the options they have are great. Costs. Easy to use and administrate.

John

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Affordable, Cloud-Based Web Filtering

Pros

I've been using SafeDNS on the school network I manage for a number of years. Here's the pros: 1. The cost, especially for educational institutions, is very affordable. 2. Implementation is simple if you're well versed in router configuration. 3. The interface is simple. Preset categories seem to be fairly effective. 4. Forced Safe Search for search engines and Forced Restricted Mode for YouTube is a great feature for implementing in a school. 5. Changes in configuration can be made from any web browser at any time, so management is remote.

Cons

1. At the present time, the SafeDNS agent, which automatically sends your IP information to SafeDNS, is available for Windows only. macOS users are out of luck. For my application, this isn't a huge deal because I have the network set up on a static IP, but for those with a dynamic IP address, the only way to keep the filtering working 100% is to use the agent app.

Brett

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

SafeDNS- Low Maintenance Web Filter

We've been using SafeDns for several years. We are a school and we do not have personnel that can dedicate to Web Filtering management, hardware & software installation and maintenance. We also cannot afford to spend much. But, of course, we need the webfilter protection with hundreds of students. With SafeDns, you set it and forget it. Check once and a while to make sure it is securing your network. Very easy to use. Easy Web Based product with easy to use management. No heavy lifting from the user perspective, but delivers a solid protection.

Pros

Very easy to setup. No additional servers, software. Short learning curve. Effective delivery of Web Filter Security. Very easy to Maintain.

Cons

A few years ago, products like this were free. Now the annual fee goes up every year.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

Ease of Use, No onsite hardware required, Cost Effective.

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

OPENDNS was no longer free. We needed to find another solution that was very cost effective. SafeDns was the best product for the lowest price we could find.

Paul

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Great features and good pricing!

Excellent - moved to SafeDNS when our previous internet filtering solution was dropped by the vendor.

Pros

Great central management of multiple accounts, with plenty of customisations for the block page etc. We use SafeDNS on customers’ firewalls, including campsites, hostels and garden centre Café’s!

Cons

It would nice to be alerted if the service has received no dns hits for xx hours - this can happen if a dns record is changed, but I forget to update SafeDNS

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

Dyn no longer supporting Internet Guide (SafeDNS has more features anyway)

Response from SafeDNS

Good day Paul! We really appreciate the kind words. As to the alerts you mentioned, noted! Will be sure to tell our tech team and see if that's possible to implement. Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied March 2022

Thomas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2021

Content filtering simplified

Cedars of Lebanon Academy is a K - 12 non-profit Christian school. SafeDNS has provided consistent good content filtering.

Pros

SafeDNS is a solid DNS based content filtering solution. The reliability and consistency is great.

Cons

While there are Windows and Android applications there is no Chromebook extension. This limits our content filtering effectiveness to on the school network.

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

The cost for updating Censornet was too much for our very limited budget.

Response from SafeDNS

Hi Thomas! Thank you for your review!

Replied September 2021

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Web filtering made simple

SafeDNS is a really great product, we have been using it for over 5 years now and it's really robust. We deploy for all our customers internal networks and this includes our Azure infrastructure and it just works.

Pros

The ease at which you can get started with SafeDNS is amazing. So simple to implement to the edge routers and just like that your internal network is covered.

Cons

Deployment of the client version was tricky but a quick call to support sorted it no problem

Response from SafeDNS

Hi Jason! I'm glad you felt good about our tech support. Very pleased to hear our efforts resonated with you. Thanks for leaving such a positive review! Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied March 2022

Scott

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Highly recommend

Safe DNS is a company that accomplishes what they commit to offering. They have great customer service and competitive pricing.

Pros

We are an internet provider that puts a good faith effort towards blocking content committed to pornography and explicit content. Safe DNS enables us to do that effectively.

Cons

At times it blocks content that isn't pornographic but Safe DNS is responsive if you need them to whitelist a website.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

I don't exactly remember.

Response from SafeDNS

Hi Scott! Happy to hear SafeDNS has been working great for you! We appreciate you helping to spread the word about us. Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied March 2022

Anthony

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Great way to improve the internet safety at home.

I have been very happy with SafeDNS. It has significantly improved the network safety and it requires relatively little maintenance. I don't need to require access to every device. In addition it is very easy to manage when needed.

Pros

I needed a simple and affective way to manage our home network and filter out the trash from all the good that is on the internet. I work in the IT industry and so I explored a number of options including locally installed software like Qustodio, NetNanny and many others. The issue with all of the locally installed software was the constant maintenance and performance issues. They were also too intrusive. I knew about DNS options and tried OpenDNS. This worked but it had poor management options and no ability to schedule. The ability to schedule was a huge issue for me. With SafeDNS I can schedule between School/Work vs Free time automatically. I setup SafeDNS on the router so the entire house is covered automatically. All mobile and physically connected devices. They have an app you can install but I don't use that. I use SafeDNS on a router with DD-WRT installed. You need to ensure that you have the router block or redirect port 53 requests to ensure that network clients don't bypass the SafeDNS server entries. SafeDNS is not a perfect solution but it has made our network much safer without compromising or slowing down the workstations. I initially used their web categories which were pretty good. SafeDNS staff were very responsive whenever I asked for corrections to the categories. At the moment I am exploring the use of a WhiteList only. This has been very affective in really focusing our internet usage.

Cons

DNS blocking is not fool proof. At the same time it is relatively easy and economical to implement and the problem cases can be dealt with on an individual basis. Some users have figured out that they can use TOR to get around DNS blocking, I am currently exploring router updates to prevent that. Use of a VPN will also bypass overly permissive DNS blocking. That is one reason why I switched to using a whitelist. A thought for SafeDNS. Consider allowing categories to be used as a whitelist instead of a blacklist. e.g. Rather then allowing everything except that which is blocked... Instead, block everything (including the unknown/uncategorized) except those categories that are known to be good.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

Pricing, No local install, Has Scheduling.

Reasons for switching to SafeDNS

I switched from OpenDNS because the price was right and SafeDNS had scheduling.

Response from SafeDNS

Hi Anthony! Such a nice review, thanks so much - we really appreciate it! We do have "allow-list only" option! You are correct, for some cases it works much better. Cheers, SafeDNS

Replied March 2022

David

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

SafeDNS offers good protection, at a reasonable price.

Generally, we use this to prevent accidents. An accident might be someone opening a site that is inappropriate for the workplace, and expose the client to workplace harassment claims. It might also be one that prevents someone from going to a malware site, and infecting the network. Overall, our experience has been good.

Pros

Once the software is set up, it's simple. The end-users don't have to really *do* anything. It just starts taking affect, and preventing them from accessing the sites we don't want them to access. This is true even where the users are distributed, and not on the same network.

Cons

This product is not, at its heart, designed for the MSP model. It's designed for, "I'm using this to manage my network." And so, licensing is not as clear as I'd like to see it. Managing licenses, or license groups is also not as clear as I'd like. There also doesn't seem to be a very clear guide as to what command-line options are needed for a push-out deployment.

Reasons for choosing SafeDNS

Mostly price, and licensing issues.

Jorge

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3