All SiteLock Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Traoré

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Protect your website with Site Lock.

PROS

Site Lock is very useful, an excellent tool to protect against cyber threats.

CONS

Despite Site Lock is a very good tool it need to be upgraded. And can be less expensive for beginners.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Great tool but pricing too expensive

Site Lock is easy to setup and the 24/7 support is great. If you are in a mind and your site is already hacked go to them now without pause. The service is solid and has worked and protected us from many attacks. The only issue was the DNS records changed and we missed the notification which caused some downtime. Support is the shining star at SIteLock.

PROS

The dynamic patching of old CMS systems is a life safer for sites that are out of date and can't update.

CONS

The price has gotten really expensive in recent years, this not a issue for a single site owner but for people with many sites to manage. I have seen prices go up a lot in recent years. The add more features but it is hard to justify the cost.

Reasons for switching to SiteLock

Client did like like Sucuri and was able to lock in good pricing to start.

Ja'Keya

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Will Use Again!!!

PROS

What I liked most about this application is the ease of use. I also like how it keeps secure information very well. I like how its easy for my team to implement as well.

CONS

I really don't have anything that I can say that I don't like about the application.

Tom

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2021

An unethical company - They do not even follow their term of agreements

I agreed to a 12 month subscription 5 months ago with SiteLock due to my hosting service not being able to connect them properly to my Managed WordPress website. Ok, no problems. So I want to transfer the subscription from one site to another as the old site was killed for a new site after 5 months of use. Ok, no problem another 7 months to go. NOPE I have to sign for another 12 months of service. I asked why, they said it is in their term, of service that a new site is a new service. I reviewed the term of service with them on the phone and it is not stated that a transfer of domains starts a whole new service, not even covered. So I am forced to agree to another 12 months illegally breaking their term of service with me. That to me is a major breach of ethics for a security company. I can not trust that if a digital breach occurred I that I can trust their terms of the agreement for their liability. On top of that, I see I have to request 30 days prior to the contract ending that I wish to terminate the contract before renewal. I said, OK start the new 12 months and I am officially declaring that we will not renew. I was told I could not do that as it has to be 30 days prior. (Me venting - Not 365 or 29 days, 30 days exactly prior). I pointed out to the manager that she does not even know her terms of agreement twice and that I was not pleased at all. I would probably stay with them if they honored their agreements. This company has a decent product but they are unethical

PROS

They have a decent product but cannot be trusted.

CONS

They do not agree to follow their own terms of agreement. That for a security company is a major breach of trust.

Reason for choosing SiteLock

It was already part of my hosting package that got screwed up but trusted the hosting company.

Germie

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

SiteLock is the best!

I run four websites and all are protected with SiteLock. Anytime I have a question, they have 24/7/365 support and I am able to reach someone immediately. I am notified of any potential concerns (if any). They make me feel like family.

PROS

The software is easy to use and install. I can monitor my website through my SiteLock dashboard to view traffic and bots in real-time. Thank you SiteLock!

CONS

I cannot think on any cons to this company.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review, Germie! We work hard to exceed customers expectations, and we¿re happy to hear you¿ve had a positive experience. Stay secure!

Replied September 2018

Dale

Photography, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Disappointed with customer service

I renewed the Sitelock account as normal and paid for one year of service. However, decided to allow the subscription I paid for to lapse after the current term, while I reviewed other protection services to possibly use later. Sitelock customer service told me I could not do that and that I would have to call them within the 30-day window prior to the expiration of my current year's subscription - not before - to cancel. I was told that "It is in our terms of service". This type of arrangement is typical of many, in my view, unprofessional "auto renewal" services that require you to remember to cancel within a certain short period of time and if you don't they charge your card. The only other option, short of cancelling the card I had on file with them, was to cancel their service 10 months early and not receive the full year's service I paid for. Therefore, I cancelled the service since services that I needed were available for free or at much less cost from other vendors. Buyer beware.

PROS

Set and forget. Good easy to read dashboard

CONS

Had my site hacked, the hack was not prevented by the level of service I paid for and Sitelock could not assist me with the remedy unless I paid more money. I ended up resolving the problem myself. Fortunately I had a backup.

Anonymous

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2018

Horrible customer service, does not care about customers

PROS

Sitelock was a good idea at the start as my website was hacked with malware installed on my hosting account, they were able to scan it and ensure that "all" the malware was removed.

CONS

Before signing up with Sitelock, the rep I spoke to was amazing and went out of his way to help me. After I signed the 12-month contract, the service and the representatives I spoke with went, for a lack of better words, downhill. I found out that I *still* had malware on my hosting account. I ended up moving hosts and with my previous hosting company, Sitelock said they would need access to my FTP account, but once I had a new host, I generated new access credentials and they said they weren't working and couldn't login to my new FTP. I did this THREE TIMES. I asked if there was someone who could call me because I knew for a fact I was doing this correctly and the credentials were correct, nobody called me. When I called to terminate my Sitelock service they tried to talk me out of it for 10-20 minutes even though I had stated that I didn't want to work with them any longer and I just wanted out of the contract. It was VERY frustrating. I should have read other reviews online about the service before signing up with them, but the malware issue was something I was impatient about getting resolved.

Vendor Response

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your experience with SiteLock. We are sorry to hear you haven't had a positive experience. We would love to speak to you further to help resolve the issue and improve our internal policies and communications. May we reach out to you this week to help resolve the issue? Could you please provide the website name you called in about, as well as, the best phone number we may reach you at? Kind Regards, SiteLock Customer Experience Team

Replied May 2018

Matt

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2021

The worst company you could ever support

Unless you love suffering through this life, do not choose SiteLock.

PROS

I loved wasting my money and time, for absolutely no reason. They broke my email server, do not give refunds, and make it impossible to cancel. I love that

CONS

This is the worst company I have ever done business with. They crashed our email for 2 weeks, and claimed it wasn't our fault, then eventually realized they didn't set the records correctly. Trying to cancel their bad service? Good luck. You can't do it online, they have to CALL YOU, and after 2 weeks of trying to get ahold of them, they promised me it would be cancelled, although they would not refund my money, even though we decided they fixed nothing and solely crashed our email for our business for 2 weeks. Fast forward a year, and the BILLED ME AGAIN. I called to get it refunded, they said they had no record of my request to cancel, that I had to give 30 days to request cancellation, and that I should just call back in 11 months and try to cancel it then. Basically," get wrecked, I don't care, and no you can't talk to a manager, I am the manager" After ripping the sales rep a new one, berating him, his company, and what they purport to do, they all of the sudden "found a note that it was indeed supposed to be cancelled", and that they would take care of it. I still have a $300 pending charge on my card, and have little faith that they will refund it-- I intend to make a fraud claim through the bank instead. Good luck, these guys are the worst of the worst.

dunstan

Music, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

adequate - until I tried to get out

PROS

Sitelock provides some useful, albeit rudimentary, information about my web site health. Made me aware of a couple of issues.

CONS

Sitelock may perform a useful service, but be wary of giving them your credit card information. When you sign on for the paid service, Sitelock: 1) hides (makes it difficult to find) the fact that they default auto-renew (you can't sign up without agreeing to have them automatically bill your credit card every year); 2) hides (makes it difficult to find) how to stop auto-renew: a) you can't just stop auto-renew from your billing panel, the way you can with reputable businesses; b) you have to hunt their web site for a link (in extremely small font) to the page which contains instructions for cancelling; c) when you get to that page, turns out it's the 5000+ word "Terms of Service" document which you have to scour to find the - get this - PHONE NUMBER - you then have to call and get put on hold (or if you like, they will call you back 3 days later.) Once you finally get through, you have to jump through a lot of security hoops. All that just to cancel the service. Their product may or may not be OK, but be forwarned that with Sitelock, it's not easy to get out once you're in.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

On The Fence

PROS

Very quick at detecting malware on your website and warns you about it on time. Customer service readily available with very quick responses. Solutions possibly tailor made (depending on the information you provide them with)

CONS

1. SiteLock is not very specific with diagnosing the malware on websites. It just detects malware. However, where exactly the problem is or what the problem is, sitelock is unable to do. 2. The solutions given to me were actually really expensive and impossible for me to explore leaving me with no other option but to find a solution myself.

Vendor Response

Thank you for joining the SiteLock family! We¿re grateful for your customer loyalty and appreciate your business. Let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Replied September 2018

Fatih

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2023

Not satisfied - Not worthy

We experienced that It's doing nothing except monitoring. If you want to pay to see you are infected only, you can. First, we will leave SiteLock and request a refund from Hostgator because it is the provider. Then we will leave Hostgator because they also don't do their job and request additional payment.

PROS

Nothing to say positive. Maybe just the front end/dashboard.

CONS

We have been paying for them for 2 years or more over Hostgator but recently our website is infected by malware. SiteLock didn't work properly. It didn't provide protection. The team requested additional payment for manual malware removal even though our plan offers automatic malware removal.

Michael

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2023

Terrible customer service

Terrible. Customer service is non existent. Doesn’t resolve security issues.

PROS

Nothing. They cannot do the security that is required of them.

CONS

Lack of customer support and inability to solve malware issue when I’ve been using them as a company for over 3 years.

Richard

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Great service to protect your websites

Great website security

PROS

This service protects your websites with a firewall to help protect you from Hackers, Bots, and Scripts. They also scan your web server for harmful viruses and scripts. They also have great support. The service also can make your websites load faster.

CONS

It can get a little pricey but it does do what it is meant to do and lets you know if it finds anything suspicious.

Donn

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2022

Website Gone Twice in a Year

Awful! They do NOT LOCK YOUR SITE! I have woken up to my 15 year old website GONE TWICE IN A YEAR. They do not protect or "lock" your site. NO HELP WHATSOEVER. Worthless customer service.

PROS

None. Promises to lock your site but clearly does not

CONS

Does not protect site. We were hacked even with a highly encrypted password. Worthless.

Reason for choosing SiteLock

Referred by Bluehost

Rich

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Does what it is supposed to

PROS

Completely independent, works without any need for extra work. Very efficient and effective at working as advertised. Great customer service.

CONS

Only issue is more expensive than some other options

Vendor Response

Thank you, Rich, for your kind words! We¿re happy we could help and truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Replied August 2018

Freddie

Environmental Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

Multiple virus while having Sitelock

I've been in communication with Hostgator support for weeks, interacting with nearly a dozen support team members. Despite numerous claims that the PHP was terminated, it seemed like they were providing generic responses. It wasn't until I spoke with a supervisor who admitted to killing the PHP and mentioned that we could have done it ourselves. However, due to cloud hosting restrictions, we lacked access. Frustrated with the ongoing issues, I'm currently in the process of transferring all my domains away from Hostgator. Unfortunately, I'm facing challenges in this transition as well.

PROS

There were no pros to having Sitelock. It was a waste of my money.

CONS

I encountered multiple issues with viruses when using SiteLock. The first instance involved Hostgator support initially denying my SiteLock subscription, but eventually, the technical team was able to resolve the issues and fix my website. The second occurrence, more recently, resulted in my entire website going down.

Reason for choosing SiteLock

It was recommended by Hostgator support.

Daniel

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

saved my website! my site was infected with malware and viruses

PROS

They were prompt in removing all viruses from my website and keeping my website safe. I got reports on the health of my website

CONS

Honestly my only issues i have with this software was the pricing. Even though I was a go daddy customer and they gave me a better rate, it was way too expensive

Vendor Response

Hi Daniel! Your awesome review made our day! We strive to deliver great customer experiences and we¿re glad to know you¿ve had a positive one.

Replied August 2018

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: