User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(12)

12

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "The pros this puppet enterprise is central place where can manage the status of your infrastructure provide a web interface for the master server."

  • "Easy to manage and deploy your config on the fly. Its much easier to manage than its competitors like chef/salt/ansible etc. I like the partial deployments and on-demand deployment."

  • "* Relatively easy to use * Web interface * Very customisable * Lots of modules in the Forge"

  • Cons

  • "Not very user friendly. Require deep and detail knowledge about the tool to get started. Prior knowledge is must have skill to use this tool."

  • "Running a masterless setup is more complicated than it should be."

  • "Learning curve to start a bit steep, some feature could be more intuitive, but once familiar with it it's easy enough to use"

Browse Puppet Enterprise Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -29 of 21 results

April 2018

User Profile Picture

shaik from Loyalty Methods

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great application for end-to-end continuous delivery and automation of entire software delivery lif

Pros

Best Part of this software is it involved in building the end-to-end continuous delivery and automation of entire software delivery lifecycle, from the time developers commit application code to the deployment of those apps wherever they run complete information is seen and recorded for future enhancements.Automatically trigger application builds and continuous integration workflows on any code commit or pull request. Its Excellent dashboard system shows the complete life cycle of the software delivery from the time applications move from development to production

Cons

There is nothing least about this to say this has brought enormous changes in the sdlc. But need a change in the UI part. Customization is being looking for various version need a small improvements in the customer support regarding the product relaease

October 2019

Binujaya from Sysco LABS Sri Lanka

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Management and deployment

Overall, I like this software, it’s easy to use it has everything that you need. It might be a bit complexed, but all software that is similar to this is complex and you need to have some education and experience if you want to use them. All in all, I would recommend using this software for its simplicity and customer service.

Pros

What I like about this software is that it keeps everything perfect and in its place, plus I can control the changes that are needed for my business to grow. Furthermore, the customer support that they are providing is amazing. They are always open to help and are very communicative. Plus it is very easy to use and track the changes that were made about anything. Another thing that I like about this software is that reduces my time spent on building the software. If you know what you are doing on Puppet, you can easily do the job in a short period.

Cons

I don’t like that they don’t have more examples of how big companies are using Puppet. While is great to use and very helpful, I think that the price is too expensive. Other software is less expensive than Puppet. Furthermore, you should be very careful when selecting the community, because it is hard to switch from one to another. Another thing that I dislike is their dashboard. It is complicated and it should be reworked to be easier to use. It is also a bit hard to learn the software because it uses Ruby language which means you need to have some Ruby knowledge.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Proby from Lincoln Financial Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2020

Don't use this software - use Ansible (Tower) or Terraform

Poor - due to the custom Ruby coding (engineering level expertise required) it just doesn't scale for our enterprise.

Pros

Our use-case is NetApp storage cluster configuration management and conformance reporting. There was some puppet modules out on GitHub that are good for NetApp storage cluster management.

Cons

Puppet requires custom Ruby code to operate. Also it has very few NetApp-specific modules to make the transition successful. A lot of custom Ruby coding is require. Ansible has that plus the development and the support.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Puppet Enterprise - A Enterprise level Automation Configuration

The role based access control help in managing the permission and access across different teams. With the help of Puppet Enterprise we deliver the product more faster and efficient way. It help in managing the application with simplified container-based software delivery. The best thing I like in it is configurable dashboard where we can put the things as per our priority and view the complete infrastructure and flow of the production line.

Pros

Puppet Enterprise is a complete configuration management tool that help us to deploy and get system ready. Earlier on same task it took week, now same can be configured in hours. By using the Puppet Enterprise we can focus on new problems face while configuring the system and make all the platform in sync. It is a productive tool which helps in automation and setting the IT infrastructure. It also helps us in adopting the DevOps practice like version control, code review, testing and in integration. The best thing in it is real time reporting with graphical dashboard where we can know the infrastructure and services configured. Task management help in executing script, automatic scaling when needed.

Cons

The number of feature and large capability of adopting the software life-cycle make it complex, Implementing & adopting the Puppet Enterprise also need efforts. Managing event should come with the authentication and logs. Node Management is an area where company should focus more. Writing the Puppet book should support some universal language.

October 2020

Dan from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Puppet Enterprise review

A positive experience, really changed the game when it easily managing a growing number of machines which comes hand in hand with scaling of a company.

Pros

A very solid and functional configuration management tool that allows consistent management and configuration of a wide fleet of servers across multiple Data centres. The choice of modules for a wide range of products is very impressive. Also appreciate the open source community.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve before being comfortable, not to mention the initial setup and implementation is quite a large task. It would also be great if we could have more examples of large companies puppet implementations and workflow.

December 2019

Chathuri from IFS

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Puppet is the best

Puppet Enterprise is useful software. It makes deployment easy.

Pros

Puppet Enterprise is automation software. You can easily deploy various systems with Puppet. There is a clear map to understand configurations.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve for beginners. Other than that puppet is an excellent software for deployment automation.

September 2019

Eranga from Sysco LABS Sri Lanka

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Puppet Review

Puppet revolutionized the way of deploying application code releases.

Pros

One of the things I like most about puppet is application installation can be automated. Moving the code is extremely easy.

Cons

Even though there are no obvious issues with puppet, here are a few. The dashboard is not available. There is huge learning curve.

August 2020

Rajesh from Supreme Tech

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Puppet Enterprise Review

Puppet Enterprise widely user as automation task.

Pros

Nice Automation tools . Puppet Enterprise widely user as automation task. It has better support and help.

Cons

There is no huge complexity than other automation tools like salt, ansible. one drawback is agent installation of each node.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Andrey from Atos IT Solutions and Services A/S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Good Configuration Management Solution

Was able to automate configuration process in CI-CD based projects

Pros

Allows automate configuration of newly deployed servers and avoid configuratio drift on existing ones. Single interface to conrol activities across entire environment

Cons

A bit hard to learn for system admonistrators as it uses Ruby based language and requires some knowlende of Ruby

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Mike from T. Rowe Price

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Simple endpoint policy enforcement

Pros

Useful for medium-scale domains. Very verbose and versatile. User interaction is simple, and errors are usually pretty well explained.

Cons

Not as scalable as other solutions. Requires a central server. SSL certificates can get messed up, causing issues with deployments & agents running.

January 2018

Biswajit from Yahoo

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

The configuration management tool industry looks for.

Managing our hardware infrastructure easily.

Pros

Easy to manage and deploy your config on the fly. Its much easier to manage than its competitors like chef/salt/ansible etc. I like the partial deployments and on-demand deployment.

Cons

Exported resources conflict most of the time. It takes long to troubleshoot the conflict errors. I wish puppet to based on Python library instead of Ruby. I personally feel there are more python developer than Ruby and pyhton developer feel home using Ansible rather Ruby based puppet.

April 2018

Aman from IIITB

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

excellent tool

Pros

Puppet encompass every operating system and offering deep tools for the main OSes. Initial setup is relatively simple, requiring the installation of a master server and client agents on each system that is to be managed. So it is must have tool From there, the CLI (command-line interface) is straightforward, allowing module downloads and installation via the puppet command. Then, changes to the configuration files are required to tailor the module for the required task, and the clients that should receive the instructions will do so when they check in with the master or via a push that will trigger the modifications immediately.

Cons

Not very user friendly. Require deep and detail knowledge about the tool to get started. Prior knowledge is must have skill to use this tool.

December 2019

Peter from HPE

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Good for Configuration Management

Huge benefits of managing configuration of servers as code, although there are other products available

Pros

It's a Very powerful tool for managing configuration of large estates, can be adapted to suit many different use cases

Cons

Learning curve to start a bit steep, some feature could be more intuitive, but once familiar with it it's easy enough to use

January 2019

Tiberiu from Netcentric

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The most common configuration management tool

I'm in the middle of a migration from Puppet 4 to Puppet Enterprise 2018.1. When I started this, my Puppet knowledge was basically 0 and I followed a Puppet 4 training course which was a great overview. After that things got clear and I was able to do my job. I think Puppet is one of the best devops tools out there.

Pros

* Relatively easy to use * Web interface * Very customisable * Lots of modules in the Forge

Cons

* The documentation is somewhat hard to follow if you're a beginner. It's great if you know exactly what to look for but if you want to learn from scratch you need to look for a tutorial or follow a course.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Puppet is great!

It's awesome, makes it so fast to setup a new box.

Pros

Makes it so much easier to provision new machines.

Cons

Running a masterless setup is more complicated than it should be.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great tool for server management!!

Pros

Puppet is a very manageable application with YAML syntax. I can apply changes in production in one shot in 1000's of servers.

Cons

Sometimes it will break or skip some target hosts. need more efficiency. Also, need easiness in scaling puppet master.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

The original version with steroids!

Pros

I've been a puppet users for years now in order to automate my devops tasks, Puppet Enterprise was the needed extension to compliment this.

Cons

The pricing is high so I would most likely stick to a cheaper solution that covers my basic needs rather than switching.

December 2018

Arthur from DUOSHIRO

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

This makes the Sysadmin life waaay easier

Pros

You just need to learn how Puppet language works and then you can start working with it and configure thousands of servers with one command. How amazing this is? This tool for sure helps sysadmin to make their lives easier.

Cons

Well, as I said you need to learn how to program in order for puppet to work properly but once learned, you´re read to go.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Easy to use

Pros

The ability to go back and look at previous reports to see what changes were made during previous puppet runs is really great, and it's easy to track the changes on machines.

Cons

I wish that some of the puppet supported modules would continue support (rather than losing support as they start to be picked up by other vendors).

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Mohamed Jamal from VATNAF

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

With puppet I manage my servers with ease, it makes preparation and management a one click effort.

Pros

The pros this puppet enterprise is central place where can manage the status of your infrastructure provide a web interface for the master server.

Cons

The con with puppet enterprise is that it requires a lot of effort due to its complexity, and requires a daemon to be installed on all machines and a central authority to be setup.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

a proven solution for admins

Pros

I use puppet to automate the installation/configuration of new servers mainly as web and mail servers, it has a very good gui and it's very easy to install.